Aaron Kessel's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 17
9.3Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Adventure Time Comics #13

Jul 18, 2017

For those who love Adventure Time and non-canonical adventures, I can consistently recommend this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aliens: Dead Orbit #3

Jul 11, 2017

Aliens: Dead Orbit is an outstanding addition to the Aliens saga. Stokoe's brilliant writing and astonishing art will keep readers, new and old, on the edge of their seats to find out what comes next. I highly recommend Aliens: Dead Orbit 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ducktales #0

Jul 18, 2017

The first issue of Ducktales is a welcome introduction to new fans of the series. Ducktales will be a highly recommended read for new readers and fans of the show!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
East of West #34

Aug 2, 2017

East of West is the post-apocalyptic, sci-fi book that fans could only dream of. Phenomenally written, gorgeously drawn, I can give few other books higher recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #1

Jul 2, 2017

Be it this Groo adventure or one of boatloads of others, Groo is always a fun adventure. Plenty of comedy, great story and art, and a fantastic story for all ages. I can never not recommend Groo, and I don't intent to start now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Kill the Minotaur #3

Aug 15, 2017

An absolute delight for horror and adventure fans, or even just fans of Greek myths.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lazarus: X+66 #1

Jul 26, 2017

Lazarus is a series that genuinely improves your comic book reading experience. It's a phenomenal, action packed story, that reads like a building storm, and is definitely a need in your subscription. I HIGHLY recommended it, buy it now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magnus #2

Jul 11, 2017

Overall, another great issue of Magnus! I can deeply recommend this book to anyone who likes sci-fi detective stories! The only complaint is that Turok will make no sense unless you've been reading all the Sovereigns titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens #4

Jun 13, 2017

This closing chapter of the Predator vs Judge Dredd vs Aliens story is a delight. It is well worth your $3.99 and will certainly entertain fans of any or all of the titular characters and new readers, alike!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redneck #4

Jul 25, 2017

Redneck has been a fantastic read since its debut and this issue is no different. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadows On The Grave #6

Jul 2, 2017

Corben's work is consistent in its quality of both story and art. While he is an artifact of a past era, his work still clearly holds a place in any medium he chooses, and I am always happy that he chooses to create more horror. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sovereigns #2

Jun 10, 2017

Despite the confusing plot, the story holds together okay, but the art is absolutely fantastic. I love the characters in this book, so I'll be sticking around. I'm sure great things are coming for this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spy Seal #1

Aug 12, 2017

While not intended for all ages, Spy Seal is a delight to read. Definitely recommended for people who love animal action and spy shenanigans!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #72

Jul 25, 2017

I've said this before, but man, I love being a turt " wait, I mean, if you're not reading Turtles, you're doing yourself a disservice. The entire series is well collected and so easy to start, but I do recommend the beginning. Amazing series, highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Monday Murders #6

Jun 21, 2017

I was going to say that Black Monday Murders is a diamond in the sand, a hidden treasure you only need find. However, a ruby may be more appropriate. It's sharp, cutting, incredibly deep, and blood red. Plus, if you have it tastefully on your person, it is clearly a sign of good taste. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Shadow (2017) #1

Aug 2, 2017

I felt that this debut issue of the Shadow was a great start to this incarnation of the character. Reasonably solid story and excellent art!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #28

Jul 11, 2017

If you like the Ducks, and, like me, you're looking forward to the upcoming DuckTales show, then this is the comic for you. Great read, great story, and this is before I realized the age of the comic. HIGHLY recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More