Abel Loza's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComiConverse Reviews: 12
9.0Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Batman (2016) #8

Oct 16, 2016

Batman #8 helps transition the previous story to the next upcoming arc. This issue raises more questions than answers, but it does help build up momentum towards the new story line, "I am Suicide".

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #9

Oct 24, 2016

This issue is simple, but does a fairly good job of laying the out premise for the upcoming arc. Although it is a simple premise, it does not make it any less exciting. Really looking forward to seeing where this story ends up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #11

Dec 26, 2016

…237 dead. What am I supposed to do?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 21, 2017

Overall I think that Batman #14 brought me back from being underwhelmed from the final issue of I am Suicide and really has ne excited for this upcoming arc, which I can safely assume will also involve Catwoman. Tom King did an excellent job humanizing not only Batman but Catwoman as well, and made them much more relatable to the readers. King also continues to use little known villains in his story arcs which bring some much needed villain-diversity in the Batman universe. Rooftops Part one sets up a very intriguing story line that will no doubt involve Catwoman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 30, 2017

What then did she steal, sir? The night, Alfred. The night. She stole the night.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 18, 2017

Batman #16 started off light and humorous but ended up with a much darker and more serious tone. It looks as though the I am Bane story arc will bring an end to the story that has been building over the past 3 to 4 story arcs. Batman #16 starts off slow but ends with a bang. For the most part, I have enjoyed Tom King's take on the characters and I can't wait to see where he goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 26, 2017

The ride that King is taking us on I am Bane picked up on Batman #17. The tension that has been building up for the better part of two issues, was finally broken. This then is building towards the inevitable confrontations between Bane and Batman. This is a must read story arc!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #20

Apr 15, 2017

Batman #20 was fitting ending for what has been building up for 19 issues. King makes some fundamental changes to the Batman character that make a much more well rounded person. This Batman story arc was a good start for Tom King in Batman and it has me excited to what he has coming up next!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 21, 2017

Batman #21 did a good job of setting a tone for the rest of the mini-series. Its script and art made the story come to life, and it really showed of the brutality and anger that came of Reverse Flash. Although no Watchmen characters were physically scene, their presence in the DC Universe has never been stronger and that is perhaps the most important part of this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #23

May 22, 2017

Batman #23 was perhaps the best single issue of Tom King's run so far, and that is saying quite a lot since he has had some really good issues. I absolutely love when Batman and Swamp Thing team-up and when left in good hands, those characters can work very well together. This issue peals back so many layers in only a few pages, and this is true talent at work.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #24

Jun 12, 2017

Tom King has taken Batman in an entirely new direction, one that we have not seen Batman in before, and is really reinventing on how we think of Batman. This is the most vulnerable Bruce has been and we can't wait to see where this plays into for the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) Annual #1

Dec 26, 2016

The anthology of stories in this first annual edition in Batman;Rebirth took a swing at something original and it hit a home run. Along with the issue having some very good and interesting stories, these stories are tied in with the holiday season and makes for a great read for the holidays.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More