Alan D.D.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GAMbIT Magazine Reviews: 86
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9.0
4001 A.D. #4

Aug 30, 2016

Regardless of the very minor things I dislike, this is one of the best issues I've seen from Valiant so far! 4001 A.D. #4 is an exciting and beautiful experience that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #6

Aug 15, 2016

I already know that humor based comics are not my forte, but I must say I'm having a really good time with The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong. I'm comfortable telling everyone to give "A & A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong" a chance, even if you're not a usual reader of the genre. I know you won't regret it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #7

Sep 7, 2016

This sort of book isnot my forte, but this is a really good issue in a seriesthat keeps getting better and better. The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong keeps getting better issue to issue which is something hard to do. If you haven't yet, I really suggest you all give it a chance!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #9

Nov 11, 2016

A new arc sees The Adventures of Archer & Armstrong continue its high quality while being a great jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #10

Dec 11, 2016

A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong is definitely a series that you need to be reading

View Issue       View Full Review
10
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #12

Feb 2, 2017

I'm sure you can guess, but yes, I highly recommend you read A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #12. I feel we're getting closer to the final chapter of this story, which I'm eager to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #15

Jul 9, 2016

Fast paced, marvelous art, great script and a good developing of the classical Spider-Man we all know and love. Why wouldn't you read it? Even if you don't like Peter Parker's story you should give this a chance and see how you change your opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 3, 2016

Batman Rebirth is a fantastic start for a new series that brings some much needed life to a media battered Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Oct 26, 2016

Bloodshot USA #1 has real potential

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #2

Nov 23, 2016

Bloodshot USA #2 is a darn entertaining read that will have you hooked for more

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #3

Dec 21, 2016

So, to summarize: Bloodshot USA #3 has great plot, great art, with some very little flaws here and there. I think we may have a great conclusion on its way, and it seems like it's going to be worth the wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot U.S.A. #4

Jan 25, 2017

A perfect end to a fantastic arc from Valiant

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 22, 2017

If you are coming into this one with a good understanding of Bloodshot and the world building that's been going on, then you are going to really dig this one. On the other hand, new readers are going to feel like they are missing something.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Bloodshot: Reborn #15

Jul 15, 2016

I definitely had a good time reading Bloodshot Reborn #15, despite small issues I found with it, so give it a try to and maybe you'll like it if you're into war, military, science fiction or similar topics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn #16

Sep 2, 2016

Bloodshot #16 is avery solidand surprising issue that features a stunning script and amazing colors. To put it in short: Bloodshot Reborn #16 is the best issue so far in this seriesand I strongly believe things will geteven better as they develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #17

Sep 30, 2016

This comic series was a little strange at first sight, even more so if you start reading it as a newbie as I did, but it has been getting better with each issue, and I'm well on my way to considering myself a serious fan of this arc. I really suggest giving this one a try before the next chapter comes out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Britannia #1

Sep 20, 2016

Britannia #1 really isthe perfect choice for history geeks! If you are a fan of history, magic, mythology and stunning colors, then Britannia is the right choice for you. The best news of all is that there arethree more issues coming, even if we do have to wait an entire month for the next one. Hopefully Valiant willexpand this series as it's off to a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia #2

Oct 12, 2016

Britannia #2 Is not your normal comic fare to be sure, but boy does it work!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia #3

Nov 16, 2016

The only downfall to Britannia #3 is that there is only one more issue left for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Britannia #4

Dec 13, 2016

Britannia comes to an end firing on all cylinders

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain America: Road to War #1

Apr 22, 2016

A great lead in to Civil War that fleshes out essential backstory

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #1

May 28, 2016

It's damn disrespectful to take this symbol, this emblematic American hero and throw it away his 75 years of story and character development, just because Marvel wants to sell and compete with the DC films that will see the light soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War II #0

May 22, 2016

Civil War II #0 lays the groundwork for what could be something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II: Amazing Spider-Man #1

Jun 10, 2016

Iron Man, Black Panther, the Fantastic Four, and now Parker. He was one of the very few humble characters and one that struggled with the same this us regular people did. I know this is supposed to be the typical work-hard-and-you-will-succeed message, but it just doesn't suit him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #8

Jun 11, 2016

Daredevil #8 is one of those comics that makes you wonder what the protagonist is going to do next, what their next move will be. It is not the kind of story I'm used to reading, but it's certainly something worth the money and time. This is a book that you should give a real chance, especially as this new story arc has just begun, so you won't be that lost in context if you only know a little about the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool (2015) #10

Apr 22, 2016

I know many of you are going to like this story because of the Deadpool brand. The booksreliesmore on smaller, funny moments than on a solid overall plot. It's still an enjoyable read and promises better ones down the line, even if, as me, you're not acquainted with the main character as the rest of the world seems to be. I haven't yet seen the movie, I know, shame on me, but I'm living in South America and i'll get to it eventually.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Deadpool (2015) #11

May 12, 2016

Deadpool #11 offers up some light reading. Like last issue it moves really fast (maybe faster than i'd like) but the story never really goes anywhere. Let's just hope things pick up soon or I may be dropping this one from my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool: Last Days of Magic #1

May 20, 2016

In short, Deadpool: Last Days of Magic #1 is some good reading filled with great art, well worked overall story, but has some small holes in the script.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Divinity II #3

Jun 23, 2016

I think this is for people interested in more adult-like topics, fans of the Preacher could dig this, and readers that are looking for a story more graphic and with strong themes should enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse #2

Jan 27, 2017

Divinity III: Stalinverse #2 may be far from being the perfect comic book, but is does not present many cons, as far as I can see. It's just a matter of really polishing some details here and there in order to have something really special, which I'm sure will happenif things keep going this way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse #3

Feb 23, 2017

Did I like it? Sure! Am I anxious about the fourth and final issue? Oh, heck yes! Do I want more of this story? Why not? Divinity III isn't really my kind of read, and not the world I'm used to travel into, but it's a very entertaining proposal with lots of potential.Valiant keeps putting out solid titles and I'm looking forward to what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Escape From Gulag 396 #1

Mar 18, 2017

This comic is already on its way to becoming a very valuable one that can I can already see leading to some interesting ends. Motivational stories about faith and the likemay not be the kind of reading material for everyone, but Valiant has made sure that this one is,no matter their faith or background.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Shadowman #1

Feb 10, 2017

This is a full-octane ride from begining to end on all fronts

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Komandar Bloodshot #1

Dec 30, 2016

Despite being entertaining, this new chapter was a bit little confusing for a number of reasons, mostly on the story, but I'm sure the people working on it will make sure that everything makes sense sooner than expected. Valiant has already surprised me before, and this series could be one of those times. Let's keep an eye on it just in case something really great develops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #8

May 29, 2016

I highly recommend people pick this one up and keep an eye on this series. It had a great start, good development and it's going down the right track.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Strange (2015): Last Days Of Magic #1

Apr 30, 2016

Doctor Strange: Last Days of Magic is simply excellent from beginning to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #3

Sep 13, 2016

In short, the comic is a very good, light, and enjoyable read. With Faith #3, this seriesis on its right track and should be on your must-read list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #4

Oct 19, 2016

Faith is one of the most charismatic heroes in all of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #5

Nov 2, 2016

Faith continues to forge a new path in modern comics

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Faith #6

Dec 6, 2016

This may not be the best issue in the series and it might even be considered the weakest when looking back on the series. It doesn't quite have the love we saw given in past issues, or in the script department at least. However, that doesn't necessarily mean we shouldn't keep reading to see what happens next. Valiant has shown they can correct these kind of hicups. And even at its worst Faith is still better than most.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #8

Feb 1, 2017

Faith is what comic books are all about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #9

Mar 3, 2017

I can say that on the whole this was one of my favorite issues so far. It's maybe not the best one because of little personal likes and dislikes, but it's enjoyable for those who like humor, action and stories with a good dose of morality thrown in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Faith (Mini-Series) #2

Aug 28, 2016

Faith, in short, is a good mix of old school and modern social issues. It's not as dramatic as these things tend to be in these cases, but the opposite; It's active, energetic, with a strong protagonist and cool superpowers. I'll be waiting to see in some real fight and what happens next. Faith #2 is a book you should keep your eye on!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #1

Aug 26, 2016

Original, creative, and with an interesting main character Generation Zero is a book you need to be reading. I'm definitely reading the next issues and have high expectations for this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #2

Sep 27, 2016

I said it before and I'll say it again, you need to be reading this comic. Things are on track for an exciting next issue and I'll sit back counting the days until release.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #3

Oct 25, 2016

Generation Zero is the best thing going on in comics today

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #4

Nov 30, 2016

Generation Zero is hands down one of the best comic series of the year, if not one of the best things about all of 2016 period.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #5

Dec 27, 2016

I'm eager to see what this comic will be offering us for the next few issues, but if there's something I've learned about Generation Zero, is that is will always surprise. I find it needless to tell you to go buy your copy of Generation Zero #5, but seriously, go buy it right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #6

Jan 18, 2017

It's great to see that the people at Valiant taking risks with Generation Zero #6, as the natural response is to keep doing the same thing. I'm not surprised, however, because the standard they have set is pretty high-quality. We just keep getting the same great quality storytelling and the same solid art since we got in issue #1. Generation Zero is on track to go down in history as something truly special.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #7

Feb 15, 2017

There were some ideas in early issues of this comic series that are begining to develop that you can spotif you have been followingalong which is nice. Despite the fact that there aren't many surprises this time around, Generation Zero #7 isstill a great read and still one of the best comic books in recent memory.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #1

Jun 19, 2016

Green Arrow #1 has potential, but most will probably want to wait to see how this develops. This issue is recommended for Green Arrow fans only, people that really know the character's background even though this is a Rebirth" Shit, there's some good material inside for those needed their Aroow fix.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lanterns #1

Jun 18, 2016

Should we continue reading this or not? Well, that's up to you. If you are a fan then give it a go, but those on the fence may want to wait and maybe go for the trade when this arc finishes. I'm not sure I will (at least, not by my own will kidding), maybe I'll give it chance for another issue to see if things improve since things could still work out. Fingers crossed this one finds its footing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 5, 2016

The concept of the ring and the whole Green Lanterns Corps are not my thing, but I'm pretty sure fans will really enjoy it because I certainly did! So if it can grab a non-fan like me this is great way to start a new series. I'm, looking forward to learning a thing or two with this arc continues, which seems to be prepped to be full of surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harbinger: Renegade #1

Nov 19, 2016

If you like different stories with unique proposals, as well as something that can, and probably will make you feel a little uncomfortable while reading, then Harbinger Renegade #1 is the right choice for you. It's not perfect, but I really want to see how this continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harbinger: Renegade #2

Dec 22, 2016

Was the wait worth it? Yes, definitely. It could have been a better book, sure, but this one did a darn fine job with some nice details and a pretty interesting story.Harbinger Renegade is still in its early stages, but there is enough here to keep you coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger: Renegade #4

Feb 26, 2017

Maybe Harbinger Renegade #4 is not what I was waiting/looking for, and I may have some issues with it, but the book is still a very enjoyable read and a solid chapter in a great overall arc. I can't wait for July, when the next issue comes out, andluckily it seems we'll get what we/I want when it hits. Let's cross our fingers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jade Street Protection Services #1

Jun 27, 2016

Jade Street Protection Services #1 is an exciting start to a promising series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel's Doctor Strange: Prelude #1

Jul 10, 2016

I couldn't stop reading for a single moment, and we're speaking about a single issue of a limited series, so we can get an idea of the quality level for the rest. Great, cool, amazing, and all the adjectives I'm not able to think of right now easily describe this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Moon Knight (2016) #1

Apr 15, 2016

In summation: Moon Knight #1 has a great art style, great cover, promising plot, and a real sense of originality. This new Moon Knight really deserves a chance, so pick it up as you won't be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #17

Jul 16, 2016

There also some good ideas and concepts I saw that were drawn from ancient mythology along with classic and contemporary comic ideas. I can't say if I'd keep reading this, but since it's a unique concept and story, I would like to see how this evolves.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #18

Aug 13, 2016

In summation Ninjak #18 may not the best issue ever of the series, but it was solid all around. I'm definitely excited to see where things go from here as I have a feeling there are good things on the horizon from the people responsible of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #19

Sep 6, 2016

So, to summarize: Ninjak #19 has one of the best scripts of the series, even if light on action,aswell as a couple of great illustrations throughout. It's not perfect, but it does enough right that fans of the series are going to love it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #20

Oct 18, 2016

Ninjak #20 could be considereda kind of weak issue, but there's still tons of cool material, characters, plot lines and mystery to work with

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #22

Dec 10, 2016

Ninjak #22 is about as perfect as a comic gets

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #23

Jan 12, 2017

In the end, we know nothing is perfect, but you can say that Ninjak #23 is pretty is about as good as it gets on aquality level in both art and story. The script was simpler this time, which was the right choice, and despite the minor issues on the art, I'm sure you'llhave a blast reading this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #24

Feb 8, 2017

In the end, despite some very, very minor problems Ninjak #24is a great issue that will leave you wanting for more! The mix between new elements and traditional style in this comic is what makes it attractive and so captivating. Ninjak #24 may not be my kind of read when I'm out picking up comics, but" man, I really enjoyed this!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rai #14

Jun 20, 2016

I find the concept with Rai one that is very original and an interesting idea I'm excited to see evolve and develop. I'll be waiting for the next issue with great anticipation! I'm going to keep an eye on this one and read try and track down the previous issues. Pick this one up as you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rai #16

Aug 28, 2016

I'm not going to say that Rai #16 disappointed me, but this issue was a little weak in comparison to the others, both in story and art, although I must admit both were good in general terms. The ending is promising as it sets the ground for something better and so I will be waiting just for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage #2

Dec 31, 2016

If experimental material and new, fresh story froma different point of view is what you're looking for, then make sure to read Savage #2. It took me longer than expected to get to it, but it was worth it in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage #3

Jan 26, 2017

Savage #3 is an intense and rewarding experience

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Savage #4

Feb 16, 2017

Valiant brings to a close the main arc to one of their most interesting new books

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 4, 2016

It's an inconsistent start for Superman, but it's strong enough to recommend you stick it through to see how it all develops.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Survivors Club #7

Apr 7, 2016

Fast paced, original, different, with a weird, bizarre and attractive style that I'm still trying to understand AND figure out.I'll be on the look out for futureissues because this one really intriguedme with how all this mess started. If Internet doesn't lie, it'll happen on May 4th; look at the eighth issue's cover and tell me it doesn't give you goosebumps. Vertigo, you rock!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Survivors Club #8

May 7, 2016

Needless to say I still have high expectations for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #6

Mar 31, 2016

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #6 is a very funny and enjoyable read from beginning to end! It's a book that's very different from many of the superheroeswe constantly see in the media, and has s likable main characterwith a very nice group around her. Kids will love this type of family friendly hero, while adults will enjoy the humor the book has on offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #7

Apr 29, 2016

I'm going to still keep reading a couple of issues in this series as the lastone left me very enthusiastic, and there's still a part of my mind telling me "it's just a bad issue, no big deal."

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Valiant Universe Handbook #2

Aug 31, 2016

There isa lack of balance between text and art, and I consider this is a risky option if you don't already like a number of the currentcomics from Valiant. But if you are a fan, thenValiant Universe Handbook 2016 Edition #1 is right up your ally and will fill you in on all the goings on in the universe. It's best for serious fans only, but those interested in the expanding Valiant books might also enjoy it, especially if you like lots of background.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vision #7

May 13, 2016

Mature, interesting, a must for real fans, but perhaps not the best worked issue for newcomers. I'd summarize Vision #7 as a basic teen story portrayed in an adult way. It's worth keeping an eye on this one to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #10

Aug 17, 2016

That said, both script, lettering and the art style suit the story overall. It wasn't the best one ever and has some little mistakes here and there, but it's still enjoyable. Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #10 might be more for serious fans of the series than newbies, but its a solid book all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #12

Oct 13, 2016

Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #12 weaves a fantastic story that's backed by some really solid art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #13

Nov 13, 2016

Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #13 is one heck of a good time

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #14

Dec 15, 2016

Hands down in the upper echelon of comic book series

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-O Manowar #47

Jul 2, 2016

Maybe this issue didn't have the best start, but it certainly had a great end and solid promise for the following issues. As I said, sci-fi is not my thing and I really can't relate to that genre, but this comic has an underlying fantasy theme that makes it easier to read and draws in new readers..

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #49

Sep 1, 2016

Having to point to one small gripI would have liked it even more if the romance here were a little more well developed. It works alright, but I had to find something to nitpick as no book/project is ever truly perfect. X-O Manowar #49 it's definitely one of the best issues I've red so far and I'm eager to see what Valiant will bring with the next issue. They have set a high bar and there will be high expectations going into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #50

Sep 28, 2016

There are a few small problems thatI can't quite overlook in this massive issue, but it wasoverall still anamazing readand great way to end. I hope this is not the last time we see X-O Manowar as another mustrise as the new savior and king of worlds!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 10, 2017

I'd like everyone to keep an eye on Valiant and especially X-O Manowar so you won't miss this promising story! If you like adult-oriented, wild fantasy stories with Sci-Fi elements, then X-O Manowar #1 (2017) is the right comic book for you!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More