Andrew McGlinn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 102
8.1Avg. Review Rating

10
'68: Last Rites #1

Jul 21, 2015

Image are pumping out some wonderful stuff lately, and this is no exception. After everything Ive just said there is no way I cant give this a perfect score.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
'68: Last Rites #2

Sep 17, 2015

Not quite as impressive as its opening Issue, part two of 68 Last Rites continues to build on the stories of the Flatiron residents, and the fight-back against the zombie apocalypse. Issue two closes with us about to find out the contents of the film recovered from the Government envoy in Issue one, and, with that, the promise of answers to why the zombie outbreak began!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D. #1

May 3, 2016

I really am a little in awe of Valiants crossover event here, I wasnt sure what to expect when I chose this title to review and I am so very glad that I have discovered this. As an introduction piece I have to say its pretty much flawless, anybody could pick this up and read it with no prior knowledge of the Valiantverse and thoroughly enjoy it. The writing and art are of the highest caliber and you can immediately tell that this will be a critical story, there will be a significance here to those familiar with the world of 4001 A.D. I think. And yet, at the same time, for people like me who are not completely up to date on the happenings here, this title is no less enjoyable. Its an event story too, so Im pretty sure that two other Valiant immortals Armstrong and Bloodshot are somewhere in this era and Im sure theyll pop up. So, while I wait for that to happen, Im emailing my comic book retailer to get Rai Vol 1-3 added to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
4001 A.D. #2

Jun 1, 2016

4001 A.D. is big, in every way possible. Its a giant event thats proving to be a fly by the seat of your pants fight as Rais small band of allies try to take down the godlike presence that Father has become in New Japan and it doesnt disappoint. This really is shaping up to be your comic summer blockbuster, and the slick writing and incredible visuals make this a tasty treat for one and all. You lucky, lucky people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Bloodshot #1

Jun 8, 2016

Valiant's summer event just keeps spilling out riches, and this Bloodshot chapter may just be the best part yet. Not only has Jeff delivered a truly touching self-contained story (don't worry folks, there is plenty of ass-kicking too), but he's setup the character in the 4001 A.D. universe proper. The implications of this are exciting, we have Geomancer, The Eternal Warrior, and now a new Bloodshot firmly ensconced in Rai's world. Suddenly our future seems just a little bit brighter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
A.D.: After Death #1

Nov 23, 2016

After Death is an incredible piece of work by two creatorson the absolutetop of their game. Ive read and reviewed some emotionally powerful comics this year, but nothing has come close to the fallout this story has had on me. There is a powerful beauty in the solemnity of Scotts writing, and a kind of desperate hope that Im not sure will be realised. This story has all the markings of a poetic tragedy that I am desperate to complete, with some of the most viscerally affective artwork Ive seen in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Airboy #1

Jun 1, 2015

This comic read like Charlie Kaufmans Adaptation script, but the NSFW version set in the comics world thats way, way more fun. Hinkle uses a great two or three tone colour pallet throughout the issue, only varying the pallet from page to page and the artwork rocked my socks. The work is distinct, and having now been introduced to Hinkles style itll sit with me and Im sure Ill be able to spot his work anywhere its just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Airboy #2

Jul 2, 2015

This comic is outstanding (you get that I like this, right), and Im actually pretty heartbroken there are only two issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Airboy #3

Aug 4, 2015

Airboy three carries on brilliantly from the first two issues, whilst completely flipping the story James Robinson has managed keep the momentum, humour and interest without missing a beat. Greg Hinkle's work is not only exceptional, but very complimentary to a story by holding up two contrasting styles denoting past and present without making them look too polarized.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Airboy #4

Nov 10, 2015

Airboy number 4 is a great conclusion to the mini-series. The end may be a rehash of a tried and tested conclusion, but James has engineered it in a manner that has enough sparks of originality that you dont feel let down. There isnt as much of the balls-to-the-wall crazy humour to this issue, but there are several really clever little jokes throughout that I found very, very funny. I also found it quite a poignant climax that, for all the raucous drug taking, sex, and debauchery from the start of the run to the penultimate act, the conclusion itself is quite innocent and raw. In the end Airboy does manage to save James from himself, and there is something quite beautiful about the payoff that I was not expecting. Robinson, throughout Airboy, has been highly critical of the past work he has done but, James, as a comic book reader and fan I think you can be proud of this. I loved it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Monster #1

Jan 19, 2016

Aftershock's catalogue is setting the bar high; each subsequent release exploding into the comicsverse like a high-caliber round. This title is probably one of the most anticipated new releases that people are waiting for. I'm delighted to confirm that anticipation is more than realised in American Monster. It makes for grim reading, and will not sit well with you in places. The content will ask some searching questions of the reader and this is exactly what will make this a compulsory buy. The script and art is top drawer, and you get the feeling Brian Azzarello is just warming up with issue one. Grab your tin hat and get your bunker ready, we're in for one hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
American Monster #2

Feb 16, 2016

After two issues I am completely impressed with American Monster. This installment, while perhaps not quite as impactful as the debut, is no less resonant. There is a real sense of construction of a story here, and I'm happy Brian Azzarello isn't rushing this. The pace – for now – is quite pedestrian, but the sense of building malevolence in the background is much like an impending thunderstorm. He is teasing the reader just now. He's building a steady foundation for this tale, but you can't help but feel that the hard questions are coming, making you thankful that you have this time to steel yourself. Epic is not a word I like to throw around, but two issues in you can sense a palpable significance to American Monster.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
American Monster #3

May 14, 2016

American Monster is something special, of that I have no doubt. There is an emotional resonance in this title that speaks to the darker nature of the human condition, and I think its this very thing that makes it such a compulsive read. Brian Azzarello has created a truly terrifying titular character, his own version of Frankensteins Monster, with a singular intelligence and the potential rage of the Hulk. Brian and Juan are exploring the darker sides to humanity; places we know are there and where bad things take place. They are shining a light onto this most forbidden of fruits, and its a truly fascinating and terrible read, one you cant stop yourself from partaking in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Americatown #2

Sep 10, 2015

Americatown is good, but I feel it should be great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animosity #2

Sep 29, 2016

I have to say that this issue of Animosity took a direction I wasnt quite prepared for more because I hadnt properly thought through the scope of the idea that Marguerite has hatched. For such a simple idea there is an incredible range of scope for this story, and folks, Im excited. If this story is cultivated as well as the author's other recent titles, then Animosity will unquestionably be a hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animosity #3

Nov 4, 2016

Ive fallen hard for Animosity this issue, Im completely invested in Jessie and Sandor now. This wonderful creation of Marguerite is starting to take on a life of its own and is chock full of promise. The Jessie/Sandor dynamic does remind me somewhat of early Walking Dead with Rick trying to protect Carl from the inevitability of their world, and I feel very much the same applies here. I know that ultimately this is not going to be an easy journey and itll be heart-breaking watching Jessie change, having to adapt to the violence of this world (so far Sandor has managed to shield her, but that can only last so long, right)? I also get a bit of a DMZ vibe from Animosity, and in truth those are two helluva good stories to take influence from. Go and buy this issue, fall in love with Jessie and Sandor like I did, and I promise you will not regret it. Not one bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Beowulf #1

Dec 21, 2016

I could go on and on about just how good a reading and visual experience Beowulf is. I should think it's obvious from what I've said just how much I enjoyed the title. Not only enjoyed it, but I am genuinely excited to review it. Don't be like me; don't pre-judge this as simply a resurgence of an old tale. Take the time to look at it in your book or comic store, because if you do I'll guarantee you'll want to buy it " and you should.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 16, 2017

Black Hammer Giant Sized Annual is a resounding success. It works for all the right reasons; a complete story that fits into the canon without messing anything up, providing a chance for different artists to realise our favourite characters with some interesting (and inspired) interpretations. All this and Lemire, more than ever, has managed to keep true to the sense of wonder he expresses in the universe of Black Hammer. Namely, the fact that each character is an homage to comics in their purest form, and its the success of that expression which (when shared by the reader) makes Black Hammer such a wondrous thing. All of that is condensed into this annual, and you would be well advised not to miss out on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #3

Sep 20, 2016

Black Hammer is the Russian Doll of comics. It's a comic about comics, written by comic book fans, for comic book fans and is based on all comics. It's unashamedly obvious in its references, and by not trying to be too clever about this it gives the reader an unmistakable thrill in discovery rather than being a cheap knock off. Additionally, Jeff Lemire is weaving a touching and honest story about these five trapped characters, all dealing with their own unique demons and you can't help but invest in this. I said in my opening paragraph this was potentially on of the best things Jeff has written to date and it is, but it could so easily by THE best thing he's written.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #4

Oct 19, 2016

Black Hammer is fast becoming one of my favourite titles. Its rare to find something that is so fun to read, yet still has an unmistakable gravitas to the story. The fantastic characters are delightful creations and there is a beautiful element of tragedy in each one (so far) that makes it surprisingly easy to invest in, and Im all in. Im finding it hard (so far), to pick something I dont like about Black Hammer. All I can come up with is the fact that I felt in this issue Im missing references to comics and characters that I dont know, although thats hardly something to get upset about, if anything it just makes me want to buy more comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #1

Oct 27, 2015

Ruckas script is flowing and subtle in a manner that immerses you quite without you being conscious of it, and the art of Scott is simply fabulous, its like a watercolour, but in black and white. Except of course when magic is being used and the object of that magic is painted with the most captivating of primary colours. The panel of Rowans face as she utters a spell to defend herself actually made me do a double take, it was that good. Black Magick is quite simply a beautifully crafted comic, and is something to be savoured, Im really looking forward to finding out more about Rowan Black and her family of Witches.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Oct 26, 2016

So its a bittersweet pill the start of Bloodshot USA. Jeffs swansong into the world of Bloodshot begins and there is a sense of finality in the telling of this story. The impression that things are not going to be the same after the conclusion is evident, and in what direction Bloodshot (and the Valiant universe) will go is anyones guess. Every story arc, from Colorado to Bloodshot Island has been leading up to this and you can feel the strands of the storylines tying together here, but who knows what the final picture will reveal. One thing Im sure I can confirm, it couldnt be more fitting that the final stage of Rays regenisis – under the watchful eye of Jeff Lemire – is kicking off an event that is titled The Future of Valiant. I cant wait to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #4

Jan 23, 2017

Bloodshot U.S.A. is a great story, brought down a little by some unanswered or redundant pieces. As a conclusion to the Bloodshot Reborn story the actual ending is brilliant. The reader has come full circle and has learned much on the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #10

Jan 25, 2016

I'm completely on board with the direction of this new arc. It's not what I expected and having consumed this issue several times I'm now here for the long haul. Bloodshot is a fantastically exciting character, and the new setting Lemire has put him in – having Boodshot as the obsolete tech – is an interesting twist on the canon. I think this new story has some mileage, and it's going to be lively seeing what Jeff Lemire has dreamed up for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #11

Feb 23, 2016

Over the eleven issues so far, Jeff Lemire's reboot of Bloodshot has added layers of complexity that other franchises have taken years to achieve. There is so much flawed humanity to this character, and once again Jeff is putting Bloodshot through the wringer. The Analogue Man is proving to be an interesting twist on a fallen/reluctant hero storyline and I'm not completely sure what is coming next. It's Bloodshot we're talking about so it will be undeniably brutal, but this Bloodshot is also a lot more than violence and that is what is keeping me interested. That, and some truly sensational art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn #12

Apr 18, 2016

Part three of The Analogue Man is quite simply one of the best issues of a comic I have read in a long time. Coming from someone that reviews comics that statement should be taken with the gravitas it implies. I actually cannot think of one thing to criticise in this issue, except that when I finished it I wanted more. The creative team have hit the sweet spot with this issue and the portrayal of Ninjak and Bloodshot at the most basic levels levels of these characters are gives the reader genuine elation. Such was the impact of this penultimate episode I may require some kind of body armor to read the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #13

May 23, 2016

Part four of The Analogue Man is a great conclusion to the arc, and definitely not what you are expecting. Jeff Lemire has been really clever here, there have been some clear clues all through the previous three parts, but they only become obvious to the reader on completion of the whole story. I couldnt help but give a wry smile at my reflection of these themes; the classiness of the writing really shines through here. It is such a fantastically self-contained and superbly executed adventure, and the outcome of this experience ebbs into the next arc with a transition as smooth as butter. I truly think The Analogue Man will be a fan favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #14

Jun 28, 2016

Valiant have been pushing this story as an event, indeed the introduction of a new (and significant) villain is something all collectors look out for. That little sentence – Bloodshot Reborn #14, first appearance of Deathmate – could well result in frenetic excitement at Cons in the future. It's even more satisfying when that introduction is part of a significant storyline. I can't attest to whether this will be a success yet, but we have Project Rising Sun back in the frame, a window into the history of the Bloodshot program and a potential new antagonist all wrapped up in a homage to The Running Man. If that doesn't have you salivating for more, then I honestly don't know what will.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #16

Aug 30, 2016

This issue is a tough one to critique, and not because its bad. There is so much going on in Bloodshot Island that excites you about potentialities in future of Bloodshot storylines that is does tend to distract you from the actual story you are reading. Clearly Bloodshot Island is a vehicle into Rays participation in The Future of Valiant event that will close out 2016 – that groundwork is featured heavily – and yet there is still actual story here. Its almost like you cant really appreciate the chocolate you are eating right now because you are so looking forward to the pizza you are getting later. That being said, I enjoyed Rays change from hunted to hunter in this issue, and especially the character relationship development with Bloodhound. So lets round up the Bloodshot Corps and get off this damn Island already. Now, where the hell is Magic?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #17

Sep 27, 2016

Bloodshot Island while undeniably good has been a little bit of a slow burner for me, but issue 17 is explosive and larger than life. This is the epitome of Legacy Bloodshot meets Bloodshot Reborn. Worlds are colliding here in a most satisfactory way. New and old fans will lap this up, and the premise of Bloodshot USA, well, thats just going to be fanboy heaven.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #18

Oct 6, 2016

Castaways from Bloodshot Island is the calm before the storm. Jeff is letting us take a pause while entertaining us with some new snippets of Bloodshot lore. Its a compact and tidy little entry into the Bloodshot Reborn cannon that serves as a little sweetener for the reader. The addition of Tomas on art is I hope – a statement from Valiant that they have a new (and exciting) artist on board, and one Im eager to see more of. So now weve had a little face time with the Bloodshot crew, isnt there the small problem of a nanite virus we need to address?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia #4

Dec 14, 2016

Britannia (as a stand-alone story) has been excellent. Taking the detective archetype and setting it in the past has been an intriguing exercise. Yet, the draw for me was the idea of The Wyrd. Female/Earth magic is not something that a lot of comics use, with one exception: Valiant, of course, have the Geomancer. Still, I think they may have found something here that they can develop into something a little bit different. I have a hunch there is more to Britannia than they are telling us. The conclusion, for one, does leave the door open for more chapters set in this time. Plus, is it me or does the Vestal Virgin Priestess Rubia look exactly like the Druid Priestess Bodmall? Perhaps the biggest hint is that this week Valiant's CEO tweeted photos of Roman/Gladiator armour with the phrase underneath reading: ‘upcoming project.' All that aside, whether it comes to something or nothing, Britannia has been an excellent four part distraction. I want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Broken World #3

Aug 4, 2015

I really wanted to like Broken World, and I see a lot of ideas from other titles (Y: The Last Man, TWD, even Contact) that are here and could work, but it just isn't gelling together like it should and I genuinely think this is a lost opportunity. An extended run would allow more balance and a better pace to this story; too much is being crammed into four episodes in a way that isn't working well for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Casanova: Acedia #3

Jul 28, 2015

This is a thoroughly enjoyable and intriguing read that promises a lot more twists and turns before we get to the end. I get the feeling that with each passing issue Ill be getting more and more excited for the arrival of the following one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chum #1

May 20, 2016

As a short run, Chum is not going to leave you out of pocket. Its a small investment for what looks to be an utterly captivating noir yarn, and you could do a hell of lot worse than checking this title out. Ryan displayed a knack for upping his game with each new issue of his last mini-series, and there is no reason to think that trend will not continue here with Chum.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Control #1

Jun 3, 2016

Issue one of Control is a strong start. The writers have crafted a cold opening with enough hints and intrigue to bring you on board and have you wanting to know what is coming next. That coupled with a style of art so pertinent to the soul of the story could make this mini-series a hidden gem for Dynamite. I just hope it doesnt get lost launching in the same week as DCs Rebirth event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dragon Age: Magekiller #1

Dec 14, 2015

Issue one of Dragon Age Magekiller is a modest start. Certainly, story is sacrificed some for content, but in this setting that is unfortunately unavoidable. Rucka has managed to place the details you need to know about the world of Dragon Age within this introductory chapter and still kick off the episode. Now that the groundwork is in place, I'd expect more story over world details in the following four episodes. Having a self-proclaimed fan of the series as the author – and that author being Greg Rucka – I'll be expecting good things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dragon Age: Magekiller #2

Jan 19, 2016

Issue two of Dragon Age Magekiller is a resounding success. I did hope that the groundwork that held back issue one a little would be worth the wait, and I'm glad to see that true. The story will be an interesting one for those oblivious to the DA mythos, but it's to those of us that have played the games it will be the most appealing. It's great to get a story that is [i]so close[/i] to the events of the game, yet separate enough that it doesn't contradict anything in the game itself. I've a real hankering for the next issue now, especially on the back of this episodes conclusion – I wasn't expecting that to happen so soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Empty Zone #1

Jun 20, 2015

If that isnt convincing enough for you, Im pretty sure there is a little homage to GERTY that has been sneaked in. That alone would be enough for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Empty Zone #4

Sep 26, 2015

Empty Zone seems to me a very real creation, and it is building drama and story in the right way. Its a gradual progression, but with each new episode another fine layer of detail is being added and you find yourself becoming more and more immersed in this story. It very much reminds me of Season One of Breaking Bad in that respect. Whether it can reach the dizzy heights of that juggernaut remains to be seen, but its made a damn good start so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #4

Feb 15, 2017

Issue four of Ether continues to impress. As a story it's such a joy to read, almost fairytale-like. The marriage of an almost childlike take on magic, coupled with a detective story is a wondrous deconstruction of ideas. It's something that you wouldn't believe could work. Yet work it does through the creators writing and art with a heathy dose of feelings and innocence – an innocence that may be in danger as the final events unfold. As a departure, Ether is a wonderful read and I'm genuine when I say I wish it was ongoing, not concluding with part five. So sit down and just have fun reading it. How often does that happen?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Arrow (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Im completely conflicted. I really want to like Green Arrow and I love the thought Ben Percy has put into this new shadowy organisation. There is a solid investment there that I think will fit perfectly into Green Arrow lore. However,  it's the direction hes taking the main character in that Im not sold on, and his execution of that direction is poor, disjointed and just doesnt make sense to me. In short, new bad guys: hell yes!; new Ollie Queen: oh no.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Valley #5

Feb 7, 2017

Green Valley is a wonderful mix of genres. We began with a distinctly D&D populated world and a comradeship that reminded me of Rat Queens (minus the intoxicants). Each issue has added a new flavour to this mix, with issues four and five borrowing a little from Ivar, Timewalker and Star Trek: TNG. Yet, this is a series that still maintains its own identity under the careful stewardship of Max Landis. Simply put: it's god-damn fun to read and easy to enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gutter Magic #1

Jan 12, 2016

Gutter Magic is a skilfully crafted labour of love for Rich Douek. It looks to be a good old fashioned seat-of-your-pants adventure series set in a ridiculously well thought out locale. The world in which were introduced has moved on from technology to magic, but the answer to Cinders quest seems to point back to the technological past to complete his magical future (this will make a lot more sense once youve read issue one). The execution of the narrative and art are fitting to the themes of the story and, if Im going to be honest, are really good fun. This is entertaining stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Heartthrob #2

May 26, 2016

Heartthrob issue two is an interesting continuation to the story. There are a lot of brilliant individual elements to the comic that work really well. Unfortunately for me, the fundamental part of the story that should tie everything together our two main characters being crazy in love Im just not totally sold on, and it has made me that wee bit hesitant. I know if I could reconcile that, Id be all-in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Horizon #1

Jul 13, 2016

Horizon is a story resplendent in possibilities. The unique plot twist the story is based around reeks of potential and, as the reader, you are already trying to second guess story direction. As a piece of art its obvious that in both story and illustration there is a high production value and a hint that there just might be the potential to go stellar. It is not a story you should rush-read, as there are layers to this that hint towards complexity. But if you are ready to make a little investment then this could very well become your new favourite comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Hate Fairyland #2

Nov 18, 2015

IHF number 2 is offensive and hilarious in all the right places, carrying on without shame from its debut. The humour, art and story are raucous entertainment, but there is a little loss of progression in this edition, not that much actually happens when you look at it which is why Im not giving this issue full marks. Still, its funny as fudge.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
InSEXts #1

Dec 8, 2015

InSEXts, I believe,will be quite a divisive title for Aftershock. I foresee perhaps as much clamour as praise for the title, and for a new company… well, what's that saying? No publicity is bad publicity? This reviewer is most certainly apart of the praise camp; I'm excited by this story, even if I do find it a little creepy. The fact I find it a little creepy is the point, so ladies, job done, you have my attention. Now, remind me to never, ever, cross my wife.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
InSEXts #2

Jan 12, 2016

InSEXts is what it is. Love it, or hate it I dont think there is any question that you cant appreciate this is a well-executed and superb title. The story so far and the promise of what is to come will grip you like a fly in aweb (see what I did there), and I cannot praise the art highly enough: I really have become a huge fan of Ariela Kristantinas work. However, there is a lot of sex going on, and that might not sit well with some people, and personally Im not a huge fan of the florid period dialogue. Im also quite selective about horror in general, so its a testament to the strength of Marguerite Bennetts writing that I have InSEXts on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jackpot #1

Apr 14, 2016

Jackpot is a solid start, and if you are a fan of the genre this will be a hit. The creative team have dreamed up a fast-paced style of comic that is easy to read, but fly through this and you may miss something (I know I did on my first read-through). However, if you take your time over it there are also hints of a hidden richness there that you can enjoy. I was going to give this a 3, or a 3.5, it's a great start and worth a read, but there wasn't a real sense of individuality yet ". until the end. Like I said before, we know Ray Fawkes has a pedigree we enjoy, and the end of the issue just explodes with possibilities. It immediately made me think of 'Now You See Me,' and this direction has bags of potential and has my interest piqued.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 7, 2017

I enjoyed this first issue of John Carter: The End. The story is simple and doesn't try to be anything other than what it is. As a technical piece, the narration and the art are excellent. Yet, something about it just stops short of being truly stellar. On my first read-through I was a bit disappointed at the length, but I get the feeling that this will not always be the case. There are signs of great potential here. Fans of the books will love this, and even if you arent familiar with the novels there's definitely enough here to make you come back for more. I'll be sticking with this one for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: The End #2

Mar 7, 2017

Sometimes taking on a beloved property and making it your own can be a bit hit or miss. Make no mistake though, the direction in which Alex Cox and Brian Wood are steering this chapter of the John Carter story is definite “hit” territory in my view. There is a sense of finality (the clue is in the title), but the story is coming from a fresh and new angle that is utterly compelling. Yes, John and Dejah may be out of time having been away from Mars for 300 years, but even in all that time it seems like some things just don't change. John Carter, Jeddak of Jeddaks, Warlord of Mars, is back. He has a hopeless fight to fight, and he's all out of bubblegum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
John Carter: The End #3

Apr 10, 2017

While my enjoyment of this issue of John Carter was perhaps tempered by forced re-reads and an overabundance of exposition, there are some wonderful twists here to the story that Cox and Wood have crafted. I get the feeling that if I was reading the trade paperback Id have flown through this part without the slight frustration I had reading it as a single issue. Its still a damn good read though, and the reveal at the end makes it all worthwhile as I'm now dying to get my hands on the final two parts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Flood #1

Aug 5, 2015

This is a great introduction to the world of John Flood, and after the success of Jordan's previous works, specifically The Strange Talent of Luther Strode, a lot of people will be watching this newcomer with interest to see what he turns out next. It is a very solid start " we get just enough insight to get us comfortable in the world of John Flood and the introduction of this cast of characters, and there is just enough promise there to make us come back to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mayday #2

May 27, 2015

Love it, solid 4 out of 5. I really hope the writers can keep up this level of momentum.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mayday #3

Jun 26, 2015

True to any story, we generally open with a bang to get the reader/viewer on board and then the story takes a slight dip before racing to an exciting conclusion. Well, episode three is the dip (and when I say dip, I dont mean its bad, just not on par with the previous instalments). Mayday #3 does ends with a complete WTF development, leaving me wonder what the hell is going to happen in the conclusion. Im really looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mayday #4

Jul 22, 2015

Mayday started off as a fun, random and totally crazed story and ended up if you look for it an essay in introspection. Its an amusing and wacky adventure if you read it on a high level, but if you start to plummet the depths there is a real richness there. Its a definite recommendation from me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mayday (2016) #1

Nov 2, 2016

Mayday is a great little find. I went in looking forward to one thing a spy story and got so much more. It almost carries the sense of chaos youd expect from a Hunter S Thompson story, it definitely had a touch of the fantastic to it which only adds to your reading enjoyment as you can believe these things actually happened in the 70s. There is a tangible realism in a that would never happen to me, but I can believe it happened to someone else sense, and if that isnt enough to sell you its pretty funny in places too. Im so glad I stumbled over this, it deserves your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Monstress #1

Nov 3, 2015

Overall, Monstress is quite an exquisite read. Its a delightfully rich experience to be savoured at a slow and relaxed pace. Make sure when you read it that time is taken to drink in the astonishingly wonderful art and absorb yourself in a thoroughly complete world as you join Maika on her journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Namesake #1

Nov 7, 2016

Regardless, Namesake is a thoroughly interesting read. While I wasn't at all sure at the start of the story, by the middle of the issue I knew the creators were onto something special here. The premise is wild and interesting, more so through Steve's presentation, and the art fits the themes of the script completely. Any comic that has me vocalise “I enjoyed that read,” on putting it down is a winner in my book. Especially when a couple of pages in I'm expecting my opinion of the piece to be less than favourable. It's not too often I do a complete 180 after a few pages, but I'm happy to admit that for Namesake, I did just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Negative Space #3

Jan 25, 2016

Negative Space is probably one of the most emotive comics I have ever read. It's like trying to watch a Pixar movie without crying, except Negative Space makes you happy. Not happy in a funny ha-ha way either, happy in that you have a genuine case of the warm and fuzzies reading it. And this is a comic where the enemy are basically walking, toothed vaginas with spiked tentacles. Go figure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Negative Space #4

Apr 12, 2016

Negative Space is a wonderful read, especially if you are looking for something a bit different from the norm. Its a truly bizarre story that I would have loved to have seen the pitch for, but the final result has been crafted with so much care and attention that something quite unique has been created here. At only four issues long I can concur that the star that burns twice as bright has indeed burned for half as long in this case, but the emotional resonance between Gienis lines and colors and Lyndsays writing make Negative Space an unstoppable tour de force that must be both read and experienced.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Guard #1

Feb 23, 2017

Irecommend The Old Guard, if not for the excellent art, then for the promise of what's to come. Just reign in your Rucka-level expectation for issue one and you'll be fine. It's a good start, but it's not quite a great start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Paper Girls #1

Oct 6, 2015

The script may be young adult, but the story I think will satisfy all ages and the art suits the genre perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Pencil Head #1

Jan 20, 2016

I'm a bit conflicted over how to summarise Pencil Head. I'll admit that on my first read-through I did not warm to the title at all, although the art I found impressive. Having to review it made me examine the issue again, and again, and with each new read I found myself liking the title a little bit more. I still feel that some of the meaning has flown over my head and would be more relevant to someone with first-hand experience in the industry. However, if you stick with the story I do think you'll gain an appreciation for Pencil Head, especially after subsequent reads. I almost feel like there is the beginnings of something significant here, but it's just out of my grasp.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rai #13

May 14, 2016

Valiant have done it, theyre treating us to what is shaping up to be an intense summer event and Im all-in. Matt Kindt and team have crafted a new layer to the world of Rai, and look to be backfilling these characters with an exciting and compelling new story. Father is without a shadow of a doubt – one of the best villains of recent times, and getting to witness his evolution alone is worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rai #14

Jun 21, 2016

You really should be reading this arc of Rai. It's a good starting point for new readers, and for those following Rai from the beginning you will love getting to grips with Father's evolution. Be warned though, seeing Father as an animated pool of Livewire is pretty terrifying. It may keep you up at night. Only kidding. Maybe….

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rai #15

Jul 20, 2016

Rai 15 and the history of New Japan continues to be an excellent and illuminating story. The legacy of Rai and the direction that Matt is taking is interesting, and suggests that the Rais who existed before 4001 A.D. Rai were perhaps not as helpless in the presence of Father as we may have thought. My only complaint is that the standard four-issue arc style that Valiant employs is just a little too short for this story. In saying that, with one more issue of the current arc to come, weve been promised the answer to how Father was created before presumably tying this arc into the current 4001 A.D. Rai that we know and love. I really cant wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rai #16

Aug 23, 2016

As you may have guessed, the close of this arc is immensely satisfying. Matt Kindt has managed to expand on the legacy of the 4001 New Japan universe and the character of Rai with a dissociative story, and yet one that fills in so many blanks to the background and history of this universe. Its quite brilliant in that this doesnt seem like an addition to the story of Rai, it feels more like canon – like something that was always there, we just hadnt discovered it yet. My only complaint (as I mentioned at the beginning of this article) is that I did feel slightly duped, and that did put a little downer on this for me, but yet it didnt quash my appreciation of this story. Not only was it so conclusive, but there are a few hooks left that will no doubt impact our Rai in future – just what has Sai been doing on Earth all these years. and what of her child?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Replica #1

Dec 12, 2015

Replica is a great debut story set in a world with bags of potential to exploit. Not only has Paul Jenkins set up an interesting story, he's presented it in a way that is damn funny – something that is not easy to do in comics. Andy Clarke's art is a great marriage to the story, getting a former Judge Dredd artist is, I think, a real coup. He can use his past experience to deliver on Paul Jenkins' great script. If InSEXts wasn't enough, this confirms it – Aftershock comics are now firmly on my radar.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Replica #2

Jan 8, 2016

I think this issue of Replica cements its status as Aftershocks premier title. Its likeable, vibrant and interesting. Not only is the story shaping up to look like a great whodunnit, the synergy between Andy Jenkins script, Andy Clarkes art and, indeed, Dan Browns colours really make the humour of this story pop, and it works time and again. Each joke lands and is damn funny, which is such a difficult thing to pull off in this medium. I honestly cant recommend Replica highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Replica #3

Feb 2, 2016

Issue three of Replica shows early signs of maturity in the story. Excellent development of the clones and the workings of Trevor and his team build interest and investment from the reader. This, coupled with extra layers to the puzzle of the ambassadors assassination, only augments the development of Trevors bizarre world and situation. Incredibly, all this evolution takes place without sacrificing the humour that makes Replica so special in the first place. This is shaping into an excellent series, well worth adding to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Replica #5

Apr 9, 2016

Replica really has started to find its legs and is turning into a great tale. Major credit has to be given to Paul Jenkins for this one. Setting the goal of introducing the clone that matches the issue number and centering that particular part of the story around that clone is no easy feat, and yet he has managed this with aplomb in every issue thus far. Not only has he accomplished this self-imposed dictate, he is also managing to craft a story that is both compelling and entertaining. There is a lot to love about Replica. Its a gloriously nonsensical twist on a buddy story theme with a bizarrely meta slant. Its also maturing into quite a gripping storyline, and provides a highly enjoyable and fun read that is currently getting better and better with each new chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rough Riders #1

Apr 9, 2016

If this debut issue is anything to go by then this is going to be a truly great series, one of those comics that you look forward to every single month. Not necessarily because the story is great – time will tell, I hope it will be – but because it's going to be one of those comics where you are so comfortable with the characters that living through their adventures is going to be a simple pleasure. One you'll look forward to every month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Second Sight #1

Feb 10, 2016

Second Sight will not be for everyone. It addresses a subject many will find abhorrent. The beauty about fiction is that it can challenge us, and we can learn from it. Many thought titles like Invisible Monsters or American Pyscho shouldn't be published, and yet they have become titles that helped define generations. I'm not putting Second Sight on par with these, only time will tell how robust the story will end up being. What I am saying is that David Hine has dared to write a story that will challenge and disturb you, it may even disgust you, but isn't that fiction in its purist form? I've said before I love fiction that makes me think, and that doesn't necessarily mean it's always happy thoughts. The implications of Second Sight do disturb me, and it's that very reaction that will push me to read on. Think about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Second Sight #2

Mar 16, 2016

This is a strong second issue that does an amazing job of drawing you into the story by teasing out layers to the character's background. I have to confess to loving this type of story construction; I don't need instant satisfaction and I'm happy to sit in for the long haul. Judging by the quality of the first two issues I've little doubt Second Sight will be another successful title for Aftershock. Even if you do find the pace of this issue a little slow for you, I'm pretty sure two panels in the last five pages will have the most distracted of readers turn their head and take notice.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shipwreck #1

Oct 5, 2016

Shipwreck is magic. Dont get me wrong, its also a confused jumbled mess of a story, but I think that is exactly the point. Its a literal reflection of the state of mind of the main character and I believe that the protagonist and the reader will make their journey hand-in-hand from confusion to enlightenment, madness to sanity or whatever analogy you want to use for this crucible. I dont know if this guy is trapped on another planet, another reality, or inside his own mind as he slowly drowns, but what I can tell you is that this first issue smacks of brilliance. Ever get the feeling that you are witnessing something a bit different and a bit special but you dont quite understand why yet? That is the notion I have after reading this issue. I dont understand what Shipwreck is, but I just cant stop thinking about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shipwreck #2

Nov 8, 2016

Shipwreck is enigmatic. It's a cryptic Pandora's Box of a story that reminds me in so many ways of how I first felt when reading Planetary. It's an infuriating, complex, hypnotic tale, that carries a kind of cold beauty to it. Yet, I still have to admit that I have no idea what's going on… but I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shipwreck #4

May 5, 2017

Shipwreck is that most unusual of animals. You are not necessarily reading it because you love it, but more because you love the futility of reading it. You are witnessing a story unfold that you think you're following, and yet at the same time, you really have no idea where it's heading or what's going on. It's not so much the story that keeps you coming back; it's the absence of story that is the fixation here. It's infuriating in its allure, baffling on reading, and satisfyingly insufficient on completion. It's why you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Starve #2

Jul 7, 2015

Woods is developing an excellent story, I havent had this level of interest in his work since the first issue of DMZ. The lines and colours of Zezelj and Stewart are just brilliant. The whole production is very stylised: Zezeljs inks are thick and black, and its drawn in such a manner that the shadows define the shapes, rather than some generic ink outlining. Its almost mosaic-like, making the image seem solid and heavy, and very much there for you to absorb. This coupled with Stewarts muted colours gives the world and almost dirty feel adding a dystopian ambiance to the page. The colours are there, but are so desaturated that they almost disappear into the page as much as the lines leap out. Its a curious juxtaposition that really works, all tied together by Woods words. There is a real sense of intelligence in the execution of this comic, it feels and reads different somehow. I genuinely like this. A lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Starve #6

Feb 17, 2016

Starve number six is definitely a pause for breath; Brian Wood is laying down the primer for the next arc. We are bearing witness to the rebirth of Gavin brought on by the events of the initial arc. Once devoid of purpose past survival and self-preservation, Gavin has vowed to become the symbol of insurrection. It may not be the most exciting episode of Starve so far, but the promise it shows us of what's to come certainly is.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Starve #10

Jun 29, 2016

Starve is brilliant. There is nothing anyone can do or say that will convince me otherwise. I loved the first arc to absolute bits; its frenetic “FU” message to the system had me hooked. This second arc started slowly, it hasnt scored as highly as the first one and perhaps on an individual issue basis that is fair. However, now that I have the complete picture I can say that arc two is by far my favourite. Its slower in pace, more cerebral in nature and it has one of the tastiest conclusions Ive witnessed in quite some time. I hope you appreciate it as much as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: American Alien #3

Jan 13, 2016

American Alien three is a delightful escape from the normal responsibility of Kal-El becoming Superman, and its great for the reader just to spend a little time having fun with Clark Kent. Ultimately it may be a fun throw away story, but it does seem to share that one significant moment and perhaps the beginning of the decision Clark makes on who he wants to be. That, tied in with all the exquisite fan service, makes this an issue every Supes fan will want to have in his or her collection to go back to every once in a while and enjoy. If that isnt enough to convince you, the bonus one-page story at the end had me do a virtual fist-pump as I read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superzero #1

Dec 16, 2015

I know that Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner can deliver so I'm going to put this issue down as finding their feet. They've laid a lot of background down in this issue, going forward they can have fun with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Assignment #1

Jan 8, 2017

Simply put, The Assignment is right up my street. I loved the story, and the twist and the end. I loved the settings and the overall ambiance of the comic. Sure there are always a few flaws, but thankfully not many. The lettering at least in my review copy had a couple of mistakes, you e instead of youre and some inexplicable double and triple spacing in the sentences. This may just be because this was initially a foreign language title and has been translated into English. These are insignificant gripes though, as I found this title immensely enjoyable to read. If you love crime noir thrillers and great art then this should be the first addition to your 2017 pull list. Its bloody brilliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Discipline #1

Mar 4, 2016

Looking past that, there are some intriguing elements to the story, but I dont think what has been shown in this first issue is juicy enough to completely hook the reader. Im not sure that if I had purchased part one that I would absolutely purchase part two. Perhaps as a throwaway buy, to see some more of the art and if the story gets better through morbid curiosity. Its an unfortunate side effect of todays generation that if something doesnt grip you immediately its generally discarded, I fear that unless part two is something sensational that The Discipline may fall by the wayside.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Eighth Seal #1

Dec 8, 2015

All things considered, issue one of The Eighth Seal is a solid start. We know this will be a body horror story dropped into a politically charged backstory. The title of the book hints towards the end of times. While not all motives are that clear in the opening issue, there is enough to make the reader want to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Few #1

Jan 18, 2017

In general, while I wasnt totally blown away by it, I really did enjoy The Few. There is a definite potential there, and with the promise of many more twists and turns in future issues I will say only this: If they are anything like the reveal on the final panel then this series is  definitely going to turn into something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Few #2

Feb 23, 2017

I'm delighted that issue two has emboldened the potential that was hinted at in the debut of The Few. Leaking out elements of this survivalist future and slowly fleshing out this world has made issue two significant. This one will grab you and lock you in if you were perhaps a bit undecided before. It's the type of story-telling I love, or at least it appears to be, and if the surprises keep on coming then who knows where The Few will end up! Regardless, I'm fully confident that this'll be a fun journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Fiction #1

Jun 16, 2015

This clever use of art, married with an easy flowing story work quite seamlessly together, and this makes an overall enjoyable opening act for this tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Fiction #2

Jul 14, 2015

Fiction issue two builds on the strong foundation started in issue one with a clever and it seems fairly nuanced story that is seamlessly carried by the wonderful art and lettering in the comic. As a whole, it really is something to appreciate over time, but I cant help but feel the story hasnt quite managed to hit that home run for me anyway. Ill still be reviewing part three when it comes out though, so I do have to admit I'm hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fiction #4

Sep 15, 2015

Issue four of The Fiction is a sharp and perhaps a little over-intelligent end to the series. I think some people may feel the end is a bit of a cheat, but I enjoyed the story, even if I have to confess to still not fully understanding it. It should certainly prompt discussion between its readers, and this is a good thing. For me, another piece may fall into place five minutes after I submit this review that may make more sense, or it may not, and that is ok. Im happy enough where I am with the conclusion, and the art is stunning.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Hunt #1

Jul 19, 2016

The Hunt is an interesting one for sure. For me, issue one is a bit of a ying-yang affair with some very strong elements backstory and art – mixed in with a few black balls some of the dialogue and transitions. Basing a story on Irish mythology is a genius idea and the potential is exciting, and when you add to this the fact that this story is coming out of Shadowline Studios, an Image imprint that has been churning out quality work of late, Ill happily file this under developing and eagerly await the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Last Contract #1

Jan 5, 2016

This is a great introduction to the story of The Man, and looks to be a high-crime roller-coaster of a ride with a quite brilliant take on the main character. While the story itself is quite dark and violent the situation and physical/mental wellbeing of our protagonist gives opportunity for dark and funny humour. This funny dialogue works really well as a counterpoint to the suspicion and violence the story entails. We dont know why The Man is on someones hit list, we dont even know if The Man will remember why hes on someones kill list, but its going to be great fun finding out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Rattler OGN #1

Feb 16, 2016

The Rattler is a brilliant little find, it's a wonderful and twisting story that deserves (I think) to be a lot longer than it actually is. That would be my one complaint, that the story was over just a little too fast; I think this puppy could have had a little bit more mileage. In saying that, I would still strongly recommend you pick this up. If I find myself devouring a comic as fast as I did this one then I'm definitely enjoying myself, and I love the fact that the ending was not a cop out, it just served to make it all the more real and complete a tale. I will be genuinely surprised if, ultimately, this does not get optioned, as it practically screams Indy movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Steam Man #1

Oct 20, 2015

Bottom line, if you like Clive Barker type horror (he's even quoted on the cover) then you'll love this book. If you were expecting Steampunk Jaegers versus Aliens then you'll be badly disappointed, but the buddy elements of the story will keep you entertained. Overall though, this wasn't one for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Velvet #14

Apr 28, 2016

This penultimate episode of The Man Who Stole the World does a brilliant job of cranking up the tension to breaking point. Velvet's story so far has been a tangled web of intrigue and double-cross of the best possible vintage. We've hadfourteen issues of fine 70's spy thriller dining and I'm ready for the end, I'm dying to find out what will happen. I can honestly say there has not been one bad issue of this story so far, and partfourteen is definitely not an exception to this rule.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome Back #2

Oct 18, 2015

We(l)come Back is an absolute blast. It's a fairly simple idea that has been beautifully written and drawn that immediately engages the reader, issue two carries on seamlessly from issue one and doesn't falter on action, adrenaline, or story. In fact, it hints to a broader world that is fleshed out much so much that I don't think a four issue run just isn't going to be enough for me. I will want more over time " it also have movie written all over it. I'm surprised it's not already been optioned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome Back #3

Nov 18, 2015

I really enjoy We(l)come Back, it's an aggressive and insubmissive story that is going at one hundred miles an hour with us on board and locked in. We're still not sure if Mali is the hero, and Tessa the villain? In fact, there are so many questions unanswered that it surely can't wrap everything up in issue four? Damn right it can't, but thankfully BOOM! came to its senses and We(l)come Back is now an ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Welcome Back #6

Mar 15, 2016

So, the endgame approaches. Mali and Tess are heading for the underground, but before the conclusion we need several questions answered first. What will happen to Lauren, and just who IS Showtime (we know from Lauren that he just isn't a dog, but possibly another old soul)? Also, I'm pretty sure Tess' mum isn't going to let this situation lie, I get the feeling she has been quiet, but not absent. Sure, we may be turning onto the story's final straights here, but this tale still has some legs on it. We just needed this little break to pause for breath and get acquainted with our two protagonists as a couple, to give them some time together. Now it's time to get back to kicking ass and taking names.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Welcome Back #7

Apr 20, 2016

We(l)come Back 7 has set us up nicely for the conclusion of Tess and Mali's story. Christopher Sebela has worked a little bit of creative magic with now having to tie up the story that little bit sooner than expected. I'll lament the passing of this title, I really wish there was a green light for four more, and we'll probably never know the reason why. Tess' mum makes for a fantastic enemy, and it looks like Sebela has managed to distil enough of her into part 7 that I'm looking forward to her come-uppance already. The final teaser is something no-one will be expecting, and despite my grumbling this is still a great episode. It looks like we'll bid adieu to Tess and Mali with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Welcome Back #8

May 25, 2016

I am gutted We(l)come Back is over, but I am so glad that the finale that had been crafted for the story was so good. Clearly I'm not going to spoil it here, but rest assured, looking back on it you'll find yourself nodding your head in agreement. It's a perfect fit, every loose end is tied up and the conclusion is a proper one, not just a convenient one. There is both tenderness and a little tragedy in the outcome, but I don't think I would have wanted it any other way, and how fitting it is that that final graphic in the issue is an ever decreasing circle. Such feels!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More