Andy Hall's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 21
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #10

Dec 31, 1969

Rafer Roberts (Harbinger Renegades) and Mike Norton (B.R.P.D.: Hell on Earth)are juggling a lot of balls in this story. Few other people would bring all these clashing concept and characters together. In other hands, the wheels would be coming off this thing by page three, but Roberts and Norton balance the story out so that is easy to follow despite all the different elements. The jokes are actually funny and come in a mix of visual gags, weird situations and the verbal clash of personalities among the good guys as well as the villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alters #3

Dec 23, 2016

If you are reading books like Ms. Marvel and Faith, you should be adding this to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #3

Dec 7, 2016

This has been a really fun and enjoyable series so far and I am looking forward to seeing how the second half of it turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #7

Dec 26, 2016

The action packed train-ride of this story arc is quickly coming to an end and I can't wait for the next issue to see how this ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #4

Jan 10, 2017

This issue leaves the table set for the return to the first issue of the book with the Thanagarian invasion of Rann. (See what I mean about all the flash-back-forward stuff?) That leaves out heroes with the full plate of defeating the more powerful than ever Despero, stopping the planetary invasion, rebuilding Thanagar and fixing Adam's marriage. And they only have two issues to do it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #3

Dec 8, 2016

I like the way that IDW has come at publishing the Dirk Gently comic books. Instead of running one long series going from mystery to mystery, they instead break each story up into five chapters and publish them as mini-series each with their own titles. This makes it easy for readers to know where they are in any particular story and if they want to pick up the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor: Year Two #15

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, this issue wraps up this adventure with the Doctor well and leaves the reader ready to hop in the TARDIS to see where Spurrier will take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
George Perez's Sirens #6

Dec 14, 2016

This book is worth a read and it would pay to go through the bins to find the other issues of the series as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger: Renegade #3

Jan 19, 2017

I really can't wait to see how Roberts is going to pull this all together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harrow County #18

Nov 29, 2016

The problem with this issue is that it can't stand on its own. It is solely an interstitial chapter in the ongoing tale that is Harrow County. As part of a larger story of Emmy coming to learn more about herself and the world around her it is fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Intertwined #3

Dec 30, 2016

The expressive way that Juan uses Wing Chun does recall Bruce Lee. But while there are references to Bruce Lee, Juan is his own character and more flawed that Lee was in any of his movies. I really enjoy watching Juan overcome those flaws on his way to be worthy of becoming the Spirit of the Earth. The biggest mystery I am left with in this issue is which spirit fixed Juan's window between issue 2 and 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #11

Dec 5, 2016

While letterer's don't usually get much recognition for what they do, Jack Morelli really sells the Sabrina cut and paste spell joke well. I loved the old-school labels. It helps make the book such an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Khaal #1

Jan 11, 2017

As I said, superficially Khaal can read a bit like Heavy Metal meets Conan. And it embraces those tropes, but there is something interesting if you want to look deeper at this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Masked #1

Nov 23, 2016

Crety's art references everything from Blade Runner to the Silver Surfer and Batman the Animated Series to 1984. But as with the writing, these add to the fun of re-reading this book. It is a book you will want to read again and again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ragnarok #11

Jan 5, 2017

Simonson has used this series to explore what message are behind the Norse myths. They are not just a bunch of stories for children, but they have something important to show us about ourselves. He also is great at subverting our expectations of these characters and giving them real depth and pathos in this half-life of a universe. I can't wait to see how he will bring this all to its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Savage #2

Dec 29, 2016

Two more issues left and I'll be getting them for the art, but I hope the story starts to pull through as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #3

Nov 30, 2016

My one complaint with the series is that the first issue had a story line set in a different timeline where Tarzan protects the humans from the apes on the Planet of the Apes. This story seems to have been dropped from the second and third issues. I am hopeful that Walker and Seeley can tie that thread back in. They have two issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Assignment #1

Jan 4, 2017

I will say that I found the art and color work to be the highlight of this book. The plays of the violent splashes of red against the dark and usually dull colors of the rest of the books are great and startling. The art really kept me going through this book. I am probably going to get the second issue with the hopes and Hill will be able to turn this around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Chimera Brigade #3

Dec 13, 2016

Gess' (L'Esprit du 11 janvier) art also reflect the sources of the time having strong Modernist elements throughout. His strong use of black and shadows reminds me of Alex Toth's art. It always draws your eyes to the point he wants to make.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mummy #2

Dec 23, 2016

I love the way that Freire mixes the classical elements of London architecture with the Egyptian elements in the visions and the cultists. It is a clever interplay of styles, especially after his dark vision of the Egyptian afterlife as the book opens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Think Tank #1

Jan 5, 2017

They have succeeded in making me interested in checking out the trades to see more of the story. Although I am still open to the idea of a 21st Century version of Inspector Gadget…

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More