Andy Hall's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 60
7.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #10

Dec 31, 1969

Rafer Roberts (Harbinger Renegades) and Mike Norton (B.R.P.D.: Hell on Earth)are juggling a lot of balls in this story. Few other people would bring all these clashing concept and characters together. In other hands, the wheels would be coming off this thing by page three, but Roberts and Norton balance the story out so that is easy to follow despite all the different elements. The jokes are actually funny and come in a mix of visual gags, weird situations and the verbal clash of personalities among the good guys as well as the villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #1

May 5, 2017

Is this a perfect issue? No. But, this issue has almost everything that you would want from a Guardians books. The team is back together again and while they fight and bicker among themselves like old times, there are a lot of changes that they will have to face among each other. This is a good read for while you are in line or waiting for the trailers when you go see the Guardians' movie this weekend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Alters #3

Dec 23, 2016

If you are reading books like Ms. Marvel and Faith, you should be adding this to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 13, 2017

This is not to say that Russell's art is bad, it is good throughout most of the story, but it is just lacking that spark of something. And in this case, where the art

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Anno Dracula 1895: Seven Days in Mayhem #1

Mar 24, 2017

If you didn't pre-order this book, you should definitely consider picking up a copy from the shelf when you visit your comic book store this week. Even if you aren't a big horror fan, there is enough going on to grab you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Anno Dracula 1895: Seven Days in Mayhem #2

Apr 19, 2017

Once again, Paul McCaffrey's art does a lot of the world building in the details of many of the scenes. Look for what the background characters are doing and the ads he places on walls to get a real feel of the horror of trying to keep your humanity when all around are monsters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Back to the Future: Biff to the Future #1

Jan 26, 2017

This book is a fun read. It is funny and filled with double crosses. It is clear that everybody is looking out for themselves in this book. I just think I wanted to like the book more than I actually did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 3, 2017

King's work on Batman has been impressive since he took it on. I really want to see where he is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 17, 2017

The art remains fantastic throughout the book and really sells the menacing tone of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 3, 2017

Even with King's misstep with parallelism, this book is still at a level that few others are touching. I can hardly wait for the two weeks until the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 28, 2017

While I think that the League of Assassin needs to all go on a cruise and take a vacation from all the Batman books for a while, I am intrigued to see where this story is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #4

Feb 16, 2017

I really wanted to like the series. Maybe I wouldn't be as hard on the comic if I never saw the show, but I have to figure that they are writing the comic for fans of the show and not just trying to develop a new fan base from scratch. Either way, the readers deserve to get something much better than what is being served here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #3

Dec 7, 2016

This has been a really fun and enjoyable series so far and I am looking forward to seeing how the second half of it turns out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #6

Mar 1, 2017

If you haven't figured out how it ends, well then you never saw either of the cult classics this series is based upon. Because even though Jack never drives faster than he can see, Lo Pan gets one last twist in. And it's a doozie.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Panther (2016) #12

Mar 24, 2017

I am sorry that this is the last Black Panther book where Stelfreeze will be the main artist for a while. But I am excited to see what the combination of Coates storytelling and Wilfredo Torres' art will bring starting next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Widow (2016) #12

Apr 4, 2017

I'm not completely sold on the tidy wrap up at the end, but I'd love to see Samnee and Waid take another turn at telling a Black Widow story again. This has been a fun series and a good focus on a character that everyone seems to love, but is so rarely used well.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #15

Apr 10, 2017

I'm really struggling to find something I like about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II: The Oath #1

Jan 30, 2017

I understand that they want to get a jump-start on Secret Empire, but did anyone really think this was the way to do it?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan: The Slayer #8

Apr 26, 2017

If you are looking for a good place to start a Conan Story this issue is a good place. You really don't need the first chapter of the story, as that isn't as important to the set up as this one is. And it looks like next issue should really ramp up the action with Conan hunted by the Turanian army and everyone hunted by the devil in iron.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #7

Dec 26, 2016

The action packed train-ride of this story arc is quickly coming to an end and I can't wait for the next issue to see how this ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #4

Jan 10, 2017

This issue leaves the table set for the return to the first issue of the book with the Thanagarian invasion of Rann. (See what I mean about all the flash-back-forward stuff?) That leaves out heroes with the full plate of defeating the more powerful than ever Despero, stopping the planetary invasion, rebuilding Thanagar and fixing Adam's marriage. And they only have two issues to do it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 28, 2017

Christian Duce (Justice League, Wonder Woman '77) and Fernando Blanco (Midnighter and Apollo, Army of Darkness) take full advantage of the chaos in the story to lay out three separate incredibly kinetic fights. Each fight is visually different in terms of layout and style but they all work together in service of the story. And they put Gordon in a Hawaiian shirt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dirk Gently: The Salmon of Doubt #3

Dec 8, 2016

I like the way that IDW has come at publishing the Dirk Gently comic books. Instead of running one long series going from mystery to mystery, they instead break each story up into five chapters and publish them as mini-series each with their own titles. This makes it easy for readers to know where they are in any particular story and if they want to pick up the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor: Year Two #15

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, this issue wraps up this adventure with the Doctor well and leaves the reader ready to hop in the TARDIS to see where Spurrier will take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Three #2

Apr 27, 2017

The quality of the Doctor Who books varies greatly between all the books from teams that get their Doctor and his adventures spot on to ones like this book which is hit or miss. You really have to find a team that you like and follow them across the books rather than follow the version of The Doctor you like on television.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eclipse #7

May 18, 2017

Kaplan, Timpano and Dispenza work together like a great trio. They seem to be feeding each other ideas and inspiration. It is especially impressive since both Kaplan and Dispenzea are new comers to comics. If you aren't reading this you should be. The first couple issues are available in trade for a quick catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #5

Mar 15, 2017

This is a book where the rational and the irrational are at constant war with each other. It is clear that Boone would always side with the logical, the real question is, can he remain true to his commitment to it?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
George Perez's Sirens #6

Dec 14, 2016

This book is worth a read and it would pay to go through the bins to find the other issues of the series as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grass Kings #3

May 10, 2017

If you are a fan of Briggs Land, Postal or even TV's Riverdale or Twin Peaks, you should be picking up Grass Kings. It has that small town with an unseemly underbelly vibe down pat. But I wouldn't write this off as a knock off of those other works. Kindt has something up his sleeve and I want to be there when he starts to pull out the aces.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Hornet: Reign of the Demon #4

Mar 1, 2017

I want to see Baal and Augusto keep on working on future Green Hornet series, but I would like to see them paired with a writer who is interested in doing more with the characters. Poor Kato is so underused in favor of the bland Swashbuckler that I really felt sorry for him. If you've gotten this far in the series, you might as well pick this issue up for completeness, but if you didn't read the previous issues, I'm not sure what is here for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians of the Galaxy: Dream On #1

Apr 21, 2017

This is a fun one-shot that is a good read, especially if you want a good Guardians story to get yourself psyched for the upcoming movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harbinger: Renegade #3

Jan 19, 2017

I really can't wait to see how Roberts is going to pull this all together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harrow County #18

Nov 29, 2016

The problem with this issue is that it can't stand on its own. It is solely an interstitial chapter in the ongoing tale that is Harrow County. As part of a larger story of Emmy coming to learn more about herself and the world around her it is fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Intertwined #3

Dec 30, 2016

The expressive way that Juan uses Wing Chun does recall Bruce Lee. But while there are references to Bruce Lee, Juan is his own character and more flawed that Lee was in any of his movies. I really enjoy watching Juan overcome those flaws on his way to be worthy of becoming the Spirit of the Earth. The biggest mystery I am left with in this issue is which spirit fixed Juan's window between issue 2 and 3.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Intertwined #6

Apr 5, 2017

The series clearly shows its roots in Bruce Lee movies, anime and other martial arts comics, but like the characters in the story, they have intertwined these elements and come up with something new. This is especially impressive in light of the clear missteps that occurred in Marvel's Iron Fist series on Netflix. Sapolsky and Chuong avoided the pitfalls to bring an interesting and new story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 9, 2017

Will John Carter be able to reconcile with his wife? What will he find when he confronts his son? I guess we'll find out together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
John Carter: The End #3

Apr 12, 2017

I am interested in seeing where this story leads. It is an interesting take on the ideas that Burroughs presented in the Barsoom stories without being a complete retread of the more traditional swashbuckler takes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #11

Dec 5, 2016

While letterer's don't usually get much recognition for what they do, Jack Morelli really sells the Sabrina cut and paste spell joke well. I loved the old-school labels. It helps make the book such an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Khaal #1

Jan 11, 2017

As I said, superficially Khaal can read a bit like Heavy Metal meets Conan. And it embraces those tropes, but there is something interesting if you want to look deeper at this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Masked #1

Nov 23, 2016

Crety's art references everything from Blade Runner to the Silver Surfer and Batman the Animated Series to 1984. But as with the writing, these add to the fun of re-reading this book. It is a book you will want to read again and again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

Really there is a much simpler and better story to tell. What if Abin Sur had crashed on the Planet of the Apes and given his ring to Cornelius? You could have Sinestro trying to teach him how to use the ring as well as Cornelius trying to prevent the destruction of his world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Postal #20

May 3, 2017

Is time drawing nigh for this small town of XXX people? This story arc may signal the end of Eden or of Laura's iron-fisted rule. There is only one way to find out for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ragnarok #11

Jan 5, 2017

Simonson has used this series to explore what message are behind the Norse myths. They are not just a bunch of stories for children, but they have something important to show us about ourselves. He also is great at subverting our expectations of these characters and giving them real depth and pathos in this half-life of a universe. I can't wait to see how he will bring this all to its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Satellite Falling #5

May 17, 2017

I really do hope that IDW gives Horton another chance to tell more stories set on Satellite. I would like to see what happens when he doesn't have to suddenly cram everything together. I think this issue could have been great if it had more room to breathe and not have to shortcut itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Savage #2

Dec 29, 2016

Two more issues left and I'll be getting them for the art, but I hope the story starts to pull through as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage #4

Feb 15, 2017

This series had real ups and downs for me, but I think that the second half of the series really improved on the set up in the first two books. If you skipped this series for some reason, it really pays off to see if you comic book dealer still has the back issues on the shelves. If not, then there is always the inevitable Valiant collection of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star-Lord (2016) #2

Jan 23, 2017

I just hope that they keep the series grounded for a while before Alpha Flight decides to give Quill a spaceship and send him on his way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Superwoman #10

May 16, 2017

Perkins has a lot of experience with the various Super- titles and this seems like a slight stumble after a strong outing last issue when she took over the title. Let's be honest, this title has been a mess for a while and she has a big job on her hands turning this around. I really want to give her the benefit of a doubt and see if she can make this a consistently compelling title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #3

Nov 30, 2016

My one complaint with the series is that the first issue had a story line set in a different timeline where Tarzan protects the humans from the apes on the Planet of the Apes. This story seems to have been dropped from the second and third issues. I am hopeful that Walker and Seeley can tie that thread back in. They have two issues left.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #5

Jan 25, 2017

I can't say enough about how much I love Fernando Dagnino's (Suicide Squad, Justice League: Generation Lost) art through the whole series and he doesn't let up at the end. Everything is lush and vibrant. His ape faces are great. I could tell the difference between Zira, Cornelius, and Caesar in every panel they were in. They all looked like individuals, which is often hard to do with humans in comics, let alone our simian cousins.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Assignment #1

Jan 4, 2017

I will say that I found the art and color work to be the highlight of this book. The plays of the violent splashes of red against the dark and usually dull colors of the rest of the books are great and startling. The art really kept me going through this book. I am probably going to get the second issue with the hopes and Hill will be able to turn this around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Chimera Brigade #3

Dec 13, 2016

Gess' (L'Esprit du 11 janvier) art also reflect the sources of the time having strong Modernist elements throughout. His strong use of black and shadows reminds me of Alex Toth's art. It always draws your eyes to the point he wants to make.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Mighty Thor (2015) #17

Mar 17, 2017

If you haven't been reading Thor, I'd recommend not only picking up this issue, but grabbing the last two from the back issue shelves of your comic book shop. You'll appreciate the great work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Mummy #2

Dec 23, 2016

I love the way that Freire mixes the classical elements of London architecture with the Egyptian elements in the visions and the cultists. It is a clever interplay of styles, especially after his dark vision of the Egyptian afterlife as the book opens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The XII #1

Mar 23, 2017

The XII is being distributed digitally by Alterna Comics. At this point, I don't see that they have put this on their schedule of comics on newsprint for physical distribution.+

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Think Tank #1

Jan 5, 2017

They have succeeded in making me interested in checking out the trades to see more of the story. Although I am still open to the idea of a 21st Century version of Inspector Gadget…

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Torchwood (2017) #2

Mar 8, 2017

The problems with this book and series are the most common ones that plague adaptations of TV shows and movies. I really had hopes they would have overcome them. Sadly, they didn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Valerian #15

Apr 5, 2017

This book is a fun adventure and one of the better more recent Valrian and Laureline adventures. If you seen the trailer for their movie this summer and want to get to know more about them this is as good a starting point as any. After all, the series spans roughly 40 years of publication.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #3

Mar 15, 2017

Pick this up from your local comic book store for a good, fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #3

May 24, 2017

If you haven't been reading Valiant or X-O Manowar, this series is an excellent jumping on point. You get to learn what takes Aric from being a savage Visigoth to becoming the most dangerous man in the universe, with or without his armor. That is a trip worth taking.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More