Aron Pohara's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 19
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.1
Action Comics (2016) #975

Mar 8, 2017

Overall Action Comics has entered their best arc yet, and it's worth reading this, if for nothing, at least to find out where some of the threads of Rebirth are going!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Action Comics (2016) #976

Mar 22, 2017

Overall Superman Reborn was a fun story as a whole, and even though it ended up not being as essential as some other Superman stories, it did have some interesting moments especially with the Rebirth mystery. It did taper off at the end though, and instead of having a memorable ending, it did seem a bit clich. But no one will be really disappointed with this story if you are a fan of Big Blue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

Overall Batman Rebirth continues to be one of if not the best Rebirth title, they are pretty much in a dead heat tie with the entire Trinity, but this is one of those books, that should be in your pull, at least this particular arc. That is one of the best things about the way all three books are written so far, each arc is truly for itself, and is not dependent on the knowledge of the character before hand, so if you just want read just particular story of these characters, you can do that!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

Get this book and you won't be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 16, 2017

Overall, this book is a great introduction to the character for the new readers. It also keeps a lot of elements of the character from previous runs. This was one of the books that did not need to be reinvented really, as the character worked well before. What the book needed though, was focus, like many other New 52 titles, and even though it gets too wordy at times, I believe this was a very good introduction to the new adventures of Kathy Kane!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Champions #6

Mar 1, 2017

Overall as Isaid book is very fun so far, and if what Waid and Ramos want to make this an Impulse type book, I am all for it, as that and Young Justice books were some of my favorite, for that type of genre, but sometimes I have a feeling it wants to be way more serious, and mixing those genres to those extremes, is just not feasible, both for a writer, and for the reader, as they would not know what to expect in the next issue. Another thing about this book so far at least, there is no cohesion, we had two issues that were kind of tied together, but rest of them, were all stand alone's. If you are a fan of Waid and Ramos you won't be disappointed but if you are looking for an epic adventure, look elsewhere. I personally think this book is very fun, for what it is, but as i mentioned before it does need a bit of a more cohesion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Detective Comics (2016) #952

Mar 8, 2017

This book continues to impress in both writing and art departments, even though sometimes it can go into a little bit of a jumping the shark territory. But if you like Batman books, you will enjoy this story, but if you cannot get past the point of some villains from Batman mythos being heroes, now then it might not be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 22, 2017

Overall, Detective Comics continues to be a really fun book for fans of the extended Bat Family. It is a book for the fans of the characters. Cassandra Cain is slowly becoming one of my favorite characters again because of this book, and considering I did not particularly care for her previous run, that is quite a feat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
IvX #6

Mar 8, 2017

Overall this issue served a pretty good closing point for this versus chapter, even though at the end it did seem a bit shallow in a sense not so much the writing is bad in these books per say, it is more a question of just how much freedom these writers really have as in the greater scope of the Marvel universe. It seems like Marvel's answer to everything is events events events, prior to this we had Civil War II, and now after this we will have Secret Empire. It would be good if they would give some time for these events to bare fruit sort of speak, because ultimately if you keep changing the status quo every few months, none of this really matters. But if you are a fan of X-men or Inhumans you will get a kick out of this book, just don't expect anything earth shattering.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

Overall this book is an interesting crossover, even though I don't see what the full point of it really was. It has a bigger canvas of characters to play for sure, especially with lot of these characters still not making their Rebirth debut. It is certainly a book made for younger readers, and mostly for the fans of Power Rangers, if they want to continue seeing the adventures of these characters, but other than that, the book is really just another crossover that should not exist. So for those people that just want to get a little bit more colorful take on Justice League, or Power Rangers, this book is for you, anyone else look somewhere else for your entertainment!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Ms. Marvel (2015) #16

Mar 17, 2017

With that I can't recommend this issue enough, sure it doesn't have a lot of traditional super hero action, but it has it where it counts!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #16

Mar 1, 2017

Overall this book is honestly not for everyone, but if you are a fan of Nightwing or Bat Family in general, do pick it up, it is worth reading, it was never meant to be on a grand scale like some other books in Rebirth line, this book is more about self discovery and so far Seeley has hit all the right notes, as Nightwing continues trying to correct the wrongs that have happened ever since the events of Forever Evil. That's really where the biggest strength of this book lies for the fans of this character, is that of all the characters, I could say Batman excluded, is Nightwing is just back to being old school Dick Grayson, and there is nothing wrong with that!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Nightwing (2016) #17

Mar 16, 2017

If you enjoy Batman characters overall, or just want an overall fun book to read, this is it. This book doesnt try too hard to be cerebral, it knows who the core audience of the book is, and within those limits it succeeds greatly! Besides its always great to see Damian/Dick squabbles!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #8

Mar 8, 2017

Overall, this is a pretty solid chapter in this series. There are definitely some tropes here in a background story, but it was portrayed well, and it does seem like we are going to get a pretty interesting arc going forward, so for that I believe this chapter was a success. We also had a book done by Kenneth Rocafort so that's always a plus. But if you don't like these characters already, this book won't change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Super Sons #2

Mar 15, 2017

Overall Super Sons is turning into one of the most fun books in a long time, and everyone that wants humor, well written characters and action, should check this book out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

If you like Superman books, if you just like Tomasi/Gleason dynamic you will not be disappointed, as we have both here, and the future is bright for the Boy in Blue. As I keep saying about the Batman and Wonder Woman books, DC has really pulled the big guns here, making sure that their Trinity is done correctly, and so far all three of those books were stellar. This is something that should be on your pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

For anyone that was disappointed by Superman runs of years past, be at ease. This book brings everything that made the Man of Steel the beloved character he has beenthrough all of these decades: it's hopeful, action packed and tender all at the same time. Everyone is able to find something to like in this book. And that is probably one of the biggest reasons this particular run has been so successful –at the end of the day it's a genuine family story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

Overall, Teen Titans #6 is a fun read. We were introduced to a Young Justice character, whose introduction is handled admirably and does not seem forced. On the other hand, the cast is slowly growing, so it looks like some of the characters might be taking a backseat to others from time to time. That is fine for now, but the book is called Teen Titans, and being a team book, everyone should be getting equal page space.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #9

Mar 9, 2017

Overall, Titans has been a stellar book even though it did suffer some of the Origin Story problems. Now that that portion of it is taken care of its nice to see the team that a lot of people have grown up with, even though some of the other team members are part of the younger Teen Titans book. What does work is that the characters and relationships between them are well balanced, and everyone serves a purpose in a book. If you were disappointed by Teen Titans of 52 eras, you should be rejoicing as Titans are back!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

February

More