Batmanaruto's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 31
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion Batman issue 10 really truly is a beautiful read, with an interesting story, that makes me really excited for issue 11, and how Batman will utilize, his Suicide Squad, to further get into the depths of Santa Prisca, defeat Bane and recover Psycho Pirate. However I would say the positing of words in the book, do sometimes distract from the main read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyborg (2016) #4

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, I hope this review has encouraged you to go out and read this new Cyborg series, as it seems with this issue and the previous ones, Semper Junior is really trying to return Cyborg to his roots whilst laying down new ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cyborg (2016) #5

Nov 16, 2016

This issue of Cyborg was a slow issue, as it just takes time to address the community that Cyborg is surrounded around and sets up a possible addition to the Cyborg family. I am really enjoying this first arc and am really wanting to see the endgame of the robot version of Cyborg’s dad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #6

Dec 7, 2016

There is a twist in the book, which does actually make you wonder, what will happen and how will Cyborg overcome this challenge. This first arc has been really good, but it does seem slightly drawn out, and one worry I do have is that the finale may not be as good as the introduction or the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #6

Nov 9, 2016

In conclusion Deathstroke #6 is still a good issue, as it does show us what Priest has been trying to say since the first issue, the message that Deathstroke is a villain and is good at what he does, this is even emphasized more in this issue, in the conversation between Red Lion and the assassin. Even the complaints I’ve given is because of the fact that we have not yet seen the next issue, and it may fix my complaints. I would still say pick up this book and pick up the previous one as this is still one heck of a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #7

Nov 23, 2016

Finally, the issue sets up for the next issue, where Superman and Deathstroke are meant to fight. I’m really looking forward to that issue, although at the start of this issue, it heavily implies who wins. As much as I do praise Priest’s writing that element of time-skipping is something that here I wouldn’t want to be spoiled for me. However we will see, and I continue to enjoy where this title is continuing on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #8

Dec 14, 2016

In conclusion, I would definitely recommend getting the trade of this if you are unsure. Priest has been telling an amazing story and this is probably one of the best DC rebirth titles out there. The fact that it had both Superman and Batman in it, was cool to see as well and they were used in interesting ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #10

Jan 11, 2017

This issue of Deathstroke was really another great issue as this issue really focuses on letting us know what makes Slade’s family tick. Whether it’s how they got their powers, family or seeing Slade at a young age. I also can’t wait for the next issue as it deals with Slade, trying to break out of prison.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #7

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, Flash #7 is the penultimate issue to the Godspeed arc, an arc that I personally have really been enjoying and cannot wait to read the final issue and see how it will wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #10

Nov 9, 2016

In conclusion, this is a solid start to the new arc of the Flash, and I really cannot wait to see where all of this goes, and to see the Kid Flash, Flash relationship grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 23, 2016

In conclusion I was personally expecting this arc to just bide time until the rogues, which is an arc I’m really looking forward to, but it’s been really good and Williamson’s run of the Flash shows what I and many really enjoy about the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #12

Dec 14, 2016

I personally thought this was just going to be an average filler, to get to the rogues arc, which I’m really excited about, but this arc was really good and the end of the issue reveals who Barry asks out on a date.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #14

Jan 11, 2017

This issue deals with Flash trying to deal with trying to find the Rogues and this gives us the opportunity to learn a bit about Captain Cold, which I’m always up for. This issue was really more of a set up for what is happening next, but one thing we do know is the Rogues do seem to mean business this time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

My only complaint with this issue is we have a case where Team Arrow, are framed at the end, although it is painfully obvious it is not them. This is a minor complaint that will no doubt be solved in the next issue, however Green Arrow was framed in the last main arc, and has to tackle the police in the next arc, it seems framing seems to be related with Olly, almost as much as the island is. However Ben Percy continues to do it in ways that it has not got stale so far, leaving much for the readers to still remain intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

This issue was more of a means to an end, just to get the team to return back to Seattle in an interesting way and other than my complaint, the issue is really just alright. I have quite enjoyed all of Percy’s two parters, however I want to see a longer arc like the first one, as I really enjoyed that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Arrow (2016) #14

Jan 5, 2017

However it was cool to actually see that it was Malcom Merlyn, not his son especially since most readers also watch Arrow, so it is definitely more relevant. In conclusion, this arc has been okay, however I am really hoping we can progress beyond a struggling Oliver Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #10

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, this issue is really more of a set-up issue, much needed and presented in an interesting way, but nothing we haven’t seen before, regarding Jessica and Simon (except Simon’s relationship with his brother-in-law). However, it does get me really excited for how Simon and Jessica, will face off against the Phantom Lantern, and what Volthoom is planning on next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #11

Nov 16, 2016

This is another solid issue, to a great arc as Humphries tries to revoloutionaize the Green Lantern mythos and allows it to be of easy access to new readers. Although the art does suffer, for the most part it is good. One more complaint I would say is I would like a bit more Simon and Jessica characterization like in the first arc, but that is just me. I cannot wait to see how this arc ends, especially with the inclusion of Volthoom.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #12

Dec 7, 2016

In conclusion, this arc is actually really going strong and as I have said before I’m interested to see how it finishes, and the role Volthoom will play in this story. One thing I am wondering as well is what will happen to Frank Leminski, whether he will keep the ring or how he will progress as a character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #14

Jan 5, 2017

This second arc has been a lot better than the first, and now we have two new storylines to explore. One regarding the red lanterns goal, and the other regarding what Volthoom has planned for Simon and Jessica.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #15

Jan 18, 2017

The art was an improvement from the Phantom Lantern arc, as I really had a problem with how the faces looked, but they were a lot better this time. This was a really nice one-shot issue focusing and giving importance to something everyday people have to suffer through. I cannot wait for the next issue and arc as Batman will be teaming up with the Green Lanterns.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America: The Atom Rebirth #1

Jan 5, 2017

In conclusion this is definetly a book I would recommend for anyone who is a fan of the Atom, or someone looking for something new. This is really a great start for any new readers, who may be put off by the idea of having to know a lot to get into the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1

Jan 11, 2017

The art is really good, especially as it shows all the different animals. I'm still wondering how this JLA team will all match-up together, however I definetly think she will be a solid addition to the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Talent Showcase #1

Dec 7, 2016

In conclusion I thought almost all were really good and do show promise. Even the ones I wasn’t the biggest fan of, I recognize some people did, and would be interested to see all of these stories progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #8

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, not much to add that I haven’t already said, except go out and buy this book and the previous books that lead up to this. I am excited for the next issue as nightwing will be teaming up with Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #3

Dec 7, 2016

In conclusion this issue for me is another strong addition, to a really good book, which has a premise that is intriguing and I am continuously wondering, where the book will progress. It’s great to see that DC’s young animal line is still going strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

In conclusion this annual is good enough that it to tide you over, until next week for the other rebirth issues. It is also pretty enjoyable, and has a great family moment at the end, which makes me remember why I’m loving this current Superman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

This was another strong issue, however I would say that it was a dip from last issue, but to be honest with you that is expected in the middle of an arc, and this got us hyped up definitely for the next issue. The art is some of the best we have seen in this series and is so reminiscent of Ivan Reis’s style in Multiversity.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superwoman #4

Nov 9, 2016

The art continues to remain great, which is a positive I can give the book. Also plus this is Jimenez, was an artist before and now he is writing, and despite my criticisms, he has actually written a pretty good arc. After all my negatives at least I am excited to see how Lana will face Lena and the Bizzaro’s.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #2

Nov 23, 2016

In summary Teen Titans #2 is another solid issue, to this already great run, which is really bringing the Teen Titans back to their fun roots. The banter between the team does help, and the importance at the end of being together, shows that this team could grow to be a famous teen titans team. I’m really enjoying the book so far and looking forward to how it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) #5

Nov 23, 2016

In conclusion Titans #5 shows that this series may still have a chance to be great, and gives me greater faith. I've been loving Abnett's Aquaman, so was expecting as great of a calibre, and hopefully this is the turning point. I am looking to see the resolution in #6, and hope that Abnett doesn't drop the ball in the final issue, but for now i'm excited.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More