Batmanaruto's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 67
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2016) #973

Feb 9, 2017

Overall this is another solid issue of Action Comics, which is really prepping readers for the Superman Reborn Arc, but also doing some really interesting stuff itself. Jurgens’ really harkens back to that 90’s style of writing, but shows he has still got the talent to go with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Action Comics (2016) #977

Apr 12, 2017

In conclusion this series seems to really try and give Tomasi and Gleeson’s Superman a run for it’s money. This series is definitely one of the best books coming out of DC Rebirth and I hope that it continues to be strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

In conclusion, this was an annual, so since it isn’t really part of the main story. However it doesn’t make the case for more Batgirl and Supergirl team-ups, which is something I would really like. I did find a few cases where they had teamed up, but never for long and only at random times.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #9

Apr 12, 2017

I really liked how they also decided to role in the potential/current love interests into this arc as well. It really gives a sense of continuity and connectivity in this universe. I just really wonder how 4 people with no powers and 1 metahuman can take on a character that has almost every power under the sun. I’m really excited how the Bensons plan to resolve this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion Batman issue 10 really truly is a beautiful read, with an interesting story, that makes me really excited for issue 11, and how Batman will utilize, his Suicide Squad, to further get into the depths of Santa Prisca, defeat Bane and recover Psycho Pirate. However I would say the positing of words in the book, do sometimes distract from the main read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

How this arc will progress will hopefully be really strong, as it’s had such a strong beginning. Most people really want Tom King’s Batman to be so stong and it’s had a really shaky start but hopefully it will just continue strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

In conclusion this issue is a perfect conclusion to the 3 arc epic, before the Button, and I would definitely without a doubt recommend this series highly. It has its ups and downs, but what book doesn’t, and right now provides a really new and interesting take and run on Batman. Many people wondered if Tom King would be able to write to the same or a similar standard as Scott Snyder, but with this issue I felt he really stepped out of his shadow to prove to readers why he is writing Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

In conclusion, although I had some minor problems with this book, it was overall really good and I highly recommend it. I have really been enjoying Williamson’s Flash run, so I do hope he can keep up with what he has been doing and the great issue that King just did. If you were not planning to read this before, I suggest you change that decision.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

The Jetsons back-up was interesting, as well, even though I am not familiar with the Jetsons at all. It was basically a story about euthanasia, but done in a really cool futuristic way, which I don't want to spoil. I personally always think they should just be fun, well-written stories and both of these stories do really deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cyborg (2016) #4

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, I hope this review has encouraged you to go out and read this new Cyborg series, as it seems with this issue and the previous ones, Semper Junior is really trying to return Cyborg to his roots whilst laying down new ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cyborg (2016) #5

Nov 16, 2016

This issue of Cyborg was a slow issue, as it just takes time to address the community that Cyborg is surrounded around and sets up a possible addition to the Cyborg family. I am really enjoying this first arc and am really wanting to see the endgame of the robot version of Cyborg’s dad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #6

Dec 7, 2016

There is a twist in the book, which does actually make you wonder, what will happen and how will Cyborg overcome this challenge. This first arc has been really good, but it does seem slightly drawn out, and one worry I do have is that the finale may not be as good as the introduction or the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Cyborg (2016) #11

Apr 5, 2017

In conclusion, even though I was down on this issue, hopefully Cyborg would be able to wrap up this arc really well, as it has had really strong opening issues but seems like the series is dragging itself out. With the inclusion of Beast Boy coming soon I am excited to see how Semper Jr. will progress with this book and hope that it will continue to re-capture the greatness of this character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #6

Nov 9, 2016

In conclusion Deathstroke #6 is still a good issue, as it does show us what Priest has been trying to say since the first issue, the message that Deathstroke is a villain and is good at what he does, this is even emphasized more in this issue, in the conversation between Red Lion and the assassin. Even the complaints I’ve given is because of the fact that we have not yet seen the next issue, and it may fix my complaints. I would still say pick up this book and pick up the previous one as this is still one heck of a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #7

Nov 23, 2016

Finally, the issue sets up for the next issue, where Superman and Deathstroke are meant to fight. I’m really looking forward to that issue, although at the start of this issue, it heavily implies who wins. As much as I do praise Priest’s writing that element of time-skipping is something that here I wouldn’t want to be spoiled for me. However we will see, and I continue to enjoy where this title is continuing on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #8

Dec 14, 2016

In conclusion, I would definitely recommend getting the trade of this if you are unsure. Priest has been telling an amazing story and this is probably one of the best DC rebirth titles out there. The fact that it had both Superman and Batman in it, was cool to see as well and they were used in interesting ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #10

Jan 11, 2017

This issue of Deathstroke was really another great issue as this issue really focuses on letting us know what makes Slade’s family tick. Whether it’s how they got their powers, family or seeing Slade at a young age. I also can’t wait for the next issue as it deals with Slade, trying to break out of prison.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #11

Jan 25, 2017

In summary another solid edition, especially for a one-shot. I do wonder what people will really think about this, as it does deal with some really heavy issues, especially in the times that we are living in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #12

Feb 8, 2017

The real highlight to be honest with is seeing that Raptor is linked into it. It’s great since we are seeing a sense of communication in the DC Rebirth books, that felt like absent from the New 52, which makes it seem like you are experiencing the evolution of the DC Universe. It’s interesting to see how Raptor will cope against Deathstroke, since to me it does seem a bit mismatched in favour of Deathstroke.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #17

Apr 19, 2017

In conclusion, just pick this book up. Go from issue 1 and catch up, so you don’t feel lost. It is a really great saga for the character and I think will be one of the most highly praised runs, not only for the character, but for comics as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #954

Apr 12, 2017

Tynion really broke down the Bat-family in this story arc, and it was done really well. Typically with superhero comics we always know the good guys are gonna win, somehow, and what really matters is the stakes. At the end we are definitely shown that the stakes are high.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #7

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, Flash #7 is the penultimate issue to the Godspeed arc, an arc that I personally have really been enjoying and cannot wait to read the final issue and see how it will wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #10

Nov 9, 2016

In conclusion, this is a solid start to the new arc of the Flash, and I really cannot wait to see where all of this goes, and to see the Kid Flash, Flash relationship grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #11

Nov 23, 2016

In conclusion I was personally expecting this arc to just bide time until the rogues, which is an arc I’m really looking forward to, but it’s been really good and Williamson’s run of the Flash shows what I and many really enjoy about the Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #12

Dec 14, 2016

I personally thought this was just going to be an average filler, to get to the rogues arc, which I’m really excited about, but this arc was really good and the end of the issue reveals who Barry asks out on a date.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #14

Jan 11, 2017

This issue deals with Flash trying to deal with trying to find the Rogues and this gives us the opportunity to learn a bit about Captain Cold, which I’m always up for. This issue was really more of a set up for what is happening next, but one thing we do know is the Rogues do seem to mean business this time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #15

Jan 25, 2017

In conclusion this is probably the best issue yet of the Flash, and really confirms that Williamson’s run will be remembered. I do wonder how he will deal with the rogues next issue and whether we will see an appearance from Kid Flash.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #16

Feb 8, 2017

In conclusion Williamson is writing one of my favourite books in all of DC and I can’t wait to see the final battle between Flash and Captain Cold and seeing what the future of the Rogue’s will actually be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

In conclusion, although it doesn’t set up The Button I would say it definitely sets up Barry finally telling Iris who he really is, and can kinda set things to be a bit more in line with the pre-flashpoint universe, where the Flash family were a lot closer together. Having said this it was still a really great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

In conclusion, it is not bad and is still a pretty enjoyable read. There was also a JSA teaser in the form of Johnny Thunder calling out to the lightning again, similar to the Saturn Girl teaser in the previous issue. The first half has been slow but still good overall and I hope that King and Williamson can really ramp up the story and have the great conclusion fans are expecting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

My only complaint with this issue is we have a case where Team Arrow, are framed at the end, although it is painfully obvious it is not them. This is a minor complaint that will no doubt be solved in the next issue, however Green Arrow was framed in the last main arc, and has to tackle the police in the next arc, it seems framing seems to be related with Olly, almost as much as the island is. However Ben Percy continues to do it in ways that it has not got stale so far, leaving much for the readers to still remain intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

This issue was more of a means to an end, just to get the team to return back to Seattle in an interesting way and other than my complaint, the issue is really just alright. I have quite enjoyed all of Percy’s two parters, however I want to see a longer arc like the first one, as I really enjoyed that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Arrow (2016) #14

Jan 5, 2017

However it was cool to actually see that it was Malcom Merlyn, not his son especially since most readers also watch Arrow, so it is definitely more relevant. In conclusion, this arc has been okay, however I am really hoping we can progress beyond a struggling Oliver Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #18

Mar 2, 2017

I’m wondering if Roy will be a mainstay into this series, as I would like that and it would also give the series, even more of a kick. I don’t really know how this particularly story would progress, however the history really gives people a quick rundown of Roy Harper.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #10

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, this issue is really more of a set-up issue, much needed and presented in an interesting way, but nothing we haven’t seen before, regarding Jessica and Simon (except Simon’s relationship with his brother-in-law). However, it does get me really excited for how Simon and Jessica, will face off against the Phantom Lantern, and what Volthoom is planning on next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #11

Nov 16, 2016

This is another solid issue, to a great arc as Humphries tries to revoloutionaize the Green Lantern mythos and allows it to be of easy access to new readers. Although the art does suffer, for the most part it is good. One more complaint I would say is I would like a bit more Simon and Jessica characterization like in the first arc, but that is just me. I cannot wait to see how this arc ends, especially with the inclusion of Volthoom.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #12

Dec 7, 2016

In conclusion, this arc is actually really going strong and as I have said before I’m interested to see how it finishes, and the role Volthoom will play in this story. One thing I am wondering as well is what will happen to Frank Leminski, whether he will keep the ring or how he will progress as a character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #14

Jan 5, 2017

This second arc has been a lot better than the first, and now we have two new storylines to explore. One regarding the red lanterns goal, and the other regarding what Volthoom has planned for Simon and Jessica.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #15

Jan 18, 2017

The art was an improvement from the Phantom Lantern arc, as I really had a problem with how the faces looked, but they were a lot better this time. This was a really nice one-shot issue focusing and giving importance to something everyday people have to suffer through. I cannot wait for the next issue and arc as Batman will be teaming up with the Green Lanterns.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Green Lanterns #16

Feb 1, 2017

On the positives I would say that it does definitely give us an interesting take on Scarecrow, as it seems somehow he has gotten control of the yellow lantern light. I say light and not ring as it does not seem to look like he possesses a ring. This is particularly interesting since this idea has been entertained in both Green Lantern and in Blackest Night. So would be interesting to see how he fairs against the 2 new green lanterns.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #17

Feb 15, 2017

In conclusion this was really not a great issue, other than giving Baz a bit of character progression. Usually I don’t tend to talk about art as it’s usually alright or great in most books but in this the faces looked really bad, as if the faces were overeacting, especially any face Simon made.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #18

Mar 2, 2017

For me in all honesty I am really wondering, how Volthoom will come into play with the Green Lanterns adventure and really what his plan and endgame are. The next issue is about Doctor Polaris, which is really cool as it seems like DC is spreading all the villains in JL vs SS around other books, which does show that element of DC really working together.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #19

Mar 17, 2017

Now I will continue to praise this series, as it is really a strong series overall, and is one of my favourite books to pull. Having said that it’s not uncommon for one issue to not be great, especially when it sets up a new arc. I would still recommend people to buy and read this series, as Sam Humphries is a really talented writer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice 2 #1

Apr 11, 2017

In conclusion Injustice 2 Year One is definitely off to a solid start. In previous years we have had a themed years such as Magic or gods and this year it seems to be the Suicide Squad which is definitely different. My only real complaint is that the issue isn't longer as I am really interested in how things will progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice 2 #2

Apr 18, 2017

In conclusion another solid issue by Tom Taylor, and an issue I would defienetly recommend everyone who is invested in the injustice universe to get. The art by Bruno Redondo is still really good as well. I’m happy Injustice 2 is off to a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #3

Apr 25, 2017

In my opinion I would say that it is a weaker issue than the first 2 issues, but definitely nowhere near a bad issue. The series so far is still as interesting as the first series and after the current ending I’m wondering where the book will move to next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #16

Mar 2, 2017

In conclusion this is one of the strongest issues yet, of all of Hitch’s Justice League. This actually seems like a coincidence since a lot of DC’s books this week in my opinion were some of the best of the series. One aspect that is interesting was the secret that seemed to be kept between the 3 ‘watchers’. Hopefully this issue shows a real turn in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #17

Mar 17, 2017

Justice League #17 is a really great book, that is setting up an epic storyline, that so far is Hitch’s best storyline yet. Hopefully the arcs following it will also be as great as this and of this high caliber. If it does you could be looking at a pretty good run on Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 25, 2017

I'm not a fan of Steve Orlando's writing in most cases of anything I read from him. Night of the Monster Men and JLA: Atom Rebirth were the only ones I have really enjoyed, hopefully his JLA will be better as Hitch's Justice League is also not very good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America: The Atom Rebirth #1

Jan 5, 2017

In conclusion this is definetly a book I would recommend for anyone who is a fan of the Atom, or someone looking for something new. This is really a great start for any new readers, who may be put off by the idea of having to know a lot to get into the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1

Jan 11, 2017

The art is really good, especially as it shows all the different animals. I'm still wondering how this JLA team will all match-up together, however I definetly think she will be a solid addition to the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Superman #10

Apr 12, 2017

In conclusion I would say that the story was interesting, although Lex was written out of character. Another thing we get is a bit more story towards the Ching Lung mystery and I really like the direction in which it is going. I would still recommend this book highly to anyone that is even remotely interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Talent Showcase #1

Dec 7, 2016

In conclusion I thought almost all were really good and do show promise. Even the ones I wasn’t the biggest fan of, I recognize some people did, and would be interested to see all of these stories progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #8

Nov 2, 2016

In conclusion, not much to add that I haven’t already said, except go out and buy this book and the previous books that lead up to this. I am excited for the next issue as nightwing will be teaming up with Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #14

Feb 1, 2017

Overall this issue was really one of the best yet in this arc, with the art still being really good. My only complaint is Seeley trying to make Dick in a couple, with anyone other than Barbara Gordon as it just feels right. The last page is a tease for the next arc and if it is what I think it is, I’m really excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #3

Dec 7, 2016

In conclusion this issue for me is another strong addition, to a really good book, which has a premise that is intriguing and I am continuously wondering, where the book will progress. It’s great to see that DC’s young animal line is still going strong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #3

Apr 19, 2017

In conclusion it is still a pretty strong issue, and has a few minor problems, but definitely meets the expectations of this series and I’m really interested how these two heroes will progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Supergirl (2016) #4

Dec 14, 2016

In conclusion even though I was lukewarm about this book at first, I do think the book itself has really improved and I am interested to see how Orlando will use Kara to defeat the Argo robots.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2016) #8

Apr 12, 2017

In conclusion, for the most part I am still really enjoying this series and would recommend it, if you were thinking of buying it. It seems the next arc with the Phantom King is being set-up which looks and sounds really interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

In conclusion this annual is good enough that it to tide you over, until next week for the other rebirth issues. It is also pretty enjoyable, and has a great family moment at the end, which makes me remember why I’m loving this current Superman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

This was another strong issue, however I would say that it was a dip from last issue, but to be honest with you that is expected in the middle of an arc, and this got us hyped up definitely for the next issue. The art is some of the best we have seen in this series and is so reminiscent of Ivan Reis’s style in Multiversity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

In conclusion, this issue is a great issue in a long line of great issues. There is still a lot of the mystery aspect that I have left out, so you can pick it up. If you are someone who is not necessarily a Superman fan, this series will definitely make you into one. I would recommend starting all the way from the first issue and catching up, as the series really highlights the great aspects of the character of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superwoman #4

Nov 9, 2016

The art continues to remain great, which is a positive I can give the book. Also plus this is Jimenez, was an artist before and now he is writing, and despite my criticisms, he has actually written a pretty good arc. After all my negatives at least I am excited to see how Lana will face Lena and the Bizzaro’s.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #2

Nov 23, 2016

In summary Teen Titans #2 is another solid issue, to this already great run, which is really bringing the Teen Titans back to their fun roots. The banter between the team does help, and the importance at the end of being together, shows that this team could grow to be a famous teen titans team. I’m really enjoying the book so far and looking forward to how it continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #4

Jan 25, 2017

The art remains to be really good in this book, and not just this book, but most DC Rebirth books have really good art. However the vibrant use of colours makes the pages come alive. How the Titans will defeat Ra’s and his students is something I’m really wondering.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) #5

Nov 23, 2016

In conclusion Titans #5 shows that this series may still have a chance to be great, and gives me greater faith. I've been loving Abnett's Aquaman, so was expecting as great of a calibre, and hopefully this is the turning point. I am looking to see the resolution in #6, and hope that Abnett doesn't drop the ball in the final issue, but for now i'm excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #10

Apr 12, 2017

In conclusion, I would say this is a satisfying conclusion to an alright arc. I’m really enjoying Abnett’s Aquaman, so it’s a shame that this book doesn’t feel as strong as Aquaman. Hopefully after the Lazarus Contract the book only gets stronger.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

More