Ben DuPey's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerd Church Radio Reviews: 30
7.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #978

Apr 26, 2017

In this issue, we explore more about Superman and the merging of two separate timelines. All of this should be way more confusing than it actually is, but Dan Jurgens is a great writer and manages to make it somewhat understandable. The introduction of Henshaw and The Eradicator make for a increasingly interesting conflict. And the art in Action Comics is always something to be admired.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2016) #979

May 10, 2017

In this issue we continue the journey with Hank Henshaw and his team of baddies as they set on a path to destroy Superman. While this issue was super fun and Jurgens did manage to pull it off without any plot holes, I found myself a little bored during the first half of it. Jurgens did make up for that with a pretty cool reveal at the end, so this issue is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Action Comics (2016) #980

May 24, 2017

This issue was super fun and chock full of creamy villiany goodness. Cyborg Superman, Eradicator, Mongul, Blanque. The list goes on. And we even get a little bit of a confrontation between Cyborg Superman and Regular Superman. The artwork is absolutely fantastic and the story is villain heavy and super easy to follow along with. Overall, Action Comics has been one of my top titles since Rebirth started. It hasn't slowed down yet so head out to your comic shop and pick up this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
All-Star Batman #10

May 10, 2017

A new story arc for All-Star Batman is here and with that new story arc comes hope. And Snyder didn't let me down on this one. He delivered a totally understandable and even fun story that left me excited for the next issue. This one is a great pick up for new readers as it starts down a new story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Bane: Conquest #1

May 3, 2017

Watching Bane go out on the open sea, crush some skulls, and meet up with Damocles was fun, but I don't know if it's enough to carry a mini series. There was inklings of a Batman cameo in this book, so that might help down the line. The artwork was pretty good and Dixon is giving Bane a little more depth as a character along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Bane: Conquest #2

Jun 7, 2017

Although this story arc got off to a rough start, things picked up in the second act. Bringing Bruce Wayne into the picture and forcing him to work with Bane is definitely a novelty that has not yet worn off on me. Overall, this issue was a lot more enjoyable than I had anticipated and I'll definitely be reading the third part.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #10

Apr 26, 2017

While this issue was a fun trip for Batgirl, I did have a couple of gripes. We did jump around from place to place which kind of created a choppy narative at times. Babs expressions and dialogue can be a little hokey at times, but that's mostly endearing for a Batgirl book. I don't really understand why Batgirl would just be playing ping-pong with Cobblepot at the beginning of the issue, that part seemed kind of off to me. Overall, I say it was a fun issue with a few minor gripes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #11

Jun 14, 2017

We got a couple of huge reveals in this one that were all very exciting for me to read. Without spoiling anything for the readers, I will say that all the time you've spent reading the last 11 issues of Batgirl and the Birds of Prey has not been wasted. Julie and Shawna Benson know how to write my favorite comic book character: Batgirl. And I'm super excited to see what comes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

This book is damn well worth your money. Buy the book. Buy the variant. Buy one of those stupid lenticular covers (I know I will!). If you're interested in DC Rebirth at all, this book is DEFINITELY worth your time. It is the first real continuation that we've seen since DC Universe Rebirth #1. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 14, 2017

This story is long and complex. It jumps around in time. It jumps from place to place. But at the core of all of it's complexities is a pretty well crafted story (so far). If you like the legacy of DC Comics and you liked Crisis on Infinite Earths, you will probably enjoy this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Detective Comics (2016) #955

Apr 26, 2017

While there was some cool action sequences in this issue, it still didn't quite hit a home run for me. I did enjoy the Orphan stuff that happened, but right now it just feels like maybe there's too many cooks in the kitchen for this book. Another problem with it, for a Batman book we sure are missing out on a lot of Batman action. I will also say that I was a little dissapointed to find out Ulysses is taking the evil path. I mean, I knew he wasn't a great guy, but in this issue we've definitely established him to be a total bad guy. So that's too bad. Overall, it's a fun read and a decent Batman story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Detective Comics (2016) #956

May 10, 2017

The finale to detective comics was okay, but it did leave a little bit to be desired. I wanted a showdown between Cassandra and Lady Shiva, but instead I got one where Bruce and the rest of his team were involved. We got some cryptic messages about Ra's Al Ghul and his future plans for Gotham, but not much was really revealed. Overall, it was a semi-decent story that left more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 24, 2017

While it was cool to get a little bit of exposition on Spoiler, I can't help but feel that I've seen all of this before in Detective Comics. Yes, we know that Stephanie Brown isn't a fan of Batman and she wants to take him on. But that really isn't enough to hold my attention for an entire issue. The coolest part was a new character showing up at the end of the issue. So hopefully that will provide a little bit of a new angle on this story for future issues. But for this issue, not much really happened.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 14, 2017

While the reveal at the end of this book was very cool, it was not enough to make up for the confusing storytelling. People who know Azreal's back story will probably enjoy this a little more. But I feel like it was not explained well enough for me to understand in this issue. Overall, it was a pretty confusing read with one "wow" moment at the end to try and save the day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

While part 2 of The Button wasn't as impressive of a story as the first part, it did provide a lot more narrative. We're learning more about Batman and The Flash in this story and what those characteristics are going to mean for the larger events of Rebirth. This story is a definite must read for any Batman, Flash, or DC Rebirth fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #22

May 17, 2017

This book didn't give us a whole lot of answers, but it did give a good story. What's more important, it showed up how epic and singularly important the events of DC Universe Rebirth and the inclusion of The Watchmen characters will be to the greater DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

For this issue, I will say that's it's a great jumping on point for new readers. Percy does a good job of summing everything up that happened previously, much thanks for that from this forgetful reader. Overall, I recommend it for the person who is really into the CW TV Show universe. I think that this series tells better stories than all of the shows on that network combined.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Arrow (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

This issue culminated all of the events that we've gotten from the last 21 issues of Green Arrow in DC Rebirth. All of these events are finally coming to a head, and it couldn't be more epic. Benjamin Percy crafts a wonderful story with beautiful art from Juan Ferreyra that leaves me wanting more every couple of weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

While this issue was expertly drawn and the story was pretty fun, I kept hearing the song "too many cooks" in the background while I was reading it. We follow so many characters in a 22 page comic that it can sometimes become overwhelming and difficult to follow. But, if you have the time to spend to sit down and give this book a chance, you wont be disappointed. There is a great story here will absolutely gorgeous art. And red-headed recap reporter lady (Victoria Much) plays a big part, to boot!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #21

Apr 19, 2017

Humphries knows how to tell a story, even if he does take the scenic route in ending it. Do yourself a favor and go back to the very beginning of DC Universe Rebirth on this one though. There's a lot of back story and it definitely deserves to be read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lanterns #22

May 3, 2017

This issue was a much needed re-centering of the Green Lanterns story that's been happening in DC Rebirth. We're finally back to dealing with Volthoom. And the Green Lantern Corps are involved, so it's super epic! The issue did present more questions than answers, but the answers are coming soon (I hope). Simon and Jessica are finally getting some formal Green Lantern training, which is going to be really fun to watch in the next issue. And the artwork from Cliquet and Hi-Fi with Green Lanterns in space is always breathtaking.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 7, 2017

Watching Harley Quinn freak out about her parents and getting to meet and learn about Red Tool and future Batgirl makes this issue totally worth the few dollars you would pay for it. There are a lot of fun and ridiculous things happening (as there should be in a Harley Quinn book), but there's also a pretty decent narrative being told at the same time. Definitely worth your money, if you're into that sort of thing!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 7, 2017

Shea Fontana knows how to write Wonder Woman and Jessica Cruz. She also knows how to handle a team book better than the current ongoing writer for the Justice League. It's enough to make me wish she was permanently writing Justice League. If you've been waiting for Justice League to get a little better, this is definitely a book you'll want to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 26, 2017

While the artwork is fun and it's kind of a novelty getting to see Batman, Killer Frost, and Lobo all working on the same team, the dialogue leaves a lot to be desired in this book. Couple this with the way that Orlando likes to bounce around from character to character creating a super choppy narrative, I say this book is definitely more trouble than it's worth.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 10, 2017

This issue couldn't end fast enough for me. I tried so hard with it, I really did. But the dialogue is so cheesy and bad. The events are disjointed and non-cohesive. I can normally find solace with artwork if an issue is written badly, but I even had problems trying to do that on this one. The artist is talented, but this issue just had too much flash and not enough actual content to back it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #8

Jun 14, 2017

Overall, this was more of the same issues that I've had with the JLA run in Rebirth. But it did get a little bit better with the start of a new story arc. I'm still not a fan of how Steve Orlando writes dialogue that seems super scripted. But the artwork was much better and the story is at least a little easier to understand than it has been in past issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

Apr 26, 2017

So I haven't been reading Suicide Squad consistently up until this point. And I absolutely loved this issue. There was a lot of fun hijinks with the Suicide Squad that provided some comedic relief. We got Lex Luthor showing his true colors, which was really nice. And the big reveal was amazing and made me excited for future issues. I'm definitely hanging out with Task-Force X for a little while to see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Overall, this series has always been one of my favorites to come out of Rebirth. They're telling us a story about Superman and his family, what it's like to raise a super-powered family in a small American town, and how that small town reacts to a super-powered being swooping in to save the day. I'm totally excited to learn more about Jon as he comes out of his shell, develops his other powers, and is finally able to fly. I would definitely say that this book is worth your time. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

This story has been a stand out for DC Rebirth since the start. Tomasi and Gleason are weaving their way through a superman mystery and dolling out little pieces of information at a time. The story is damn near perfect as far as Superman stories go and the art is absolutely beautiful in this issue. My only complaint is that I have to wait a couple weeks to see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

This issue was chock full of face offs - Lois facing off with Farmer Cobb. Superman Facing off with Farmer Cobb. Jonathan facing off with his captor (spoilers there, read the issue!). And overall, it panned out pretty well. Supes did a couple things that seemed a little out of character, but I don't know how they would have moved the plot forward if he hadn't done these things. Overall, Tomasi and Gleason have done really fun things with this title since Rebirth started and it's always one of the first things I read on Wednesday.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More