Ben Snyder's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards, Outright Geekery Reviews: 17
7.6Avg. Review Rating

10
Beautiful Canvas #1

Jun 28, 2017

At first glance, I wasn't that excited to read Beautiful Canvas #1. But upon finishing the book, I can say that I was very pleasantly surprised and I am very excited to see where and how the story continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Cloud #3

Jun 14, 2017

Despite these sometimes-minor gripes, the overall intrigue of Jason Latour's plot in Black Cloud #3, keeps me hooked and waiting for the next issue. Hopefully, some mysteries will be explained, and some details will be patched up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 21, 2017

Crosswinds #1 does an excellent job of presenting an interesting premise with some interesting characters, while the art is nothing exceptional it does it's job and justifies its place alongside Simone's excellent script.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #22

Jul 19, 2017

Descender #22 is another worthy entry in the series and while the story is good and serves it's purpose, despite minor gripes and character misuse, the art is truly where this issue shines. I would and have recommended this book on mere art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Diablo House #1

Jul 5, 2017

While it does seem like I ranted about how poor Diablo House #1 was, I want it to be clear that I am more so disappointed at what could have been. Twilight Zone is one of my favorite shows of all time and I desperately hoped this could exist in the same vein as it. However, there are some series pitfalls in this issue that need to be dealt with if Diablo House wants more visitors.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dread Gods #1

Jul 12, 2017

Dread Gods #1 assures the reader this story is off to a unique and fresh start. While there is room for the story to eventually falter, the pros of the present greatly outweigh the cons of the future. Minor gripes aside, Dread Gods should be on everyone's radar for future releases.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
I Hate Fairyland #13

Jun 21, 2017

While offering a humorous diversion into the what if life of Larrington Wentsworth, nothing particular new or significant happened, making it feel like a wasted issue. However, due to Skottie Young's unique imagery and style of humor, I Hate Fairyland #13, proves to be worth the ticket price regardless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill Or Be Killed #9

Jun 2, 2017

Brubaker, Phillips, and Breitweiser continue their excellent run in Kill or Be Killed #9 and despite some minor repetition and corny-ness deliver a satisfying and thrilling installment that leaves the reader waiting for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #10

Jul 12, 2017

Another issue, another stellar addition to Kill or Be Killed's stellar run. Issue #10 may be a bit slower on the action front, but all of the other elements line up to deliver another knockout issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kill the Minotaur #1

Jun 16, 2017

Kill The Minotaur #1 sets the groundwork for a very familiar tale but told through a distinctive enough style and perspective that it will still be effective and enjoyable enough to read however without offering anything new to the formula.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill the Minotaur #2

Jul 19, 2017

The lasting image of the beast is also one of the most hopeful images this book has, because of it's promise that Kill the Minotaur will be different from all the incarnations of the story before it. Kill the Minotaur #2 is a great issue and is well worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #1

Jul 13, 2017

Redlands #1 is horrifying. It's also amazing and should be on everyone's list of new books to read for the upcoming future. Hopefully though more information will be explained and the reader will not be left in the dark as much- because it is very scary in there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #3

Jun 29, 2017

Overall, Redneck #3, offers more intrigue into the first arch of the story and sets the seeds for future strife and conflict in the Bowman family, hopefully Cates doesn't get lost in the past and focuses on the present though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Royal City #4

Jun 20, 2017

Despite his extensive workload, Jeff Lemire continues to pump out issue after issue of exceptional stories and Royal City #4 doesn't disappoint. Lemire continues to prove that he truly shines in quieter character driven stories and all signs point to a satisfying conclusion to the first story arch of Royal City next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 6, 2017

While showing some shades of its influences, Sacred Creatures #1 does a great job of introducing its intriguing villains and heroes as the stakes for a legitimate holy war seemingly rage on for many future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jun 28, 2017

While not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, Secret Weapons #1 does enough to merit its worth and offers hope for improvement in further issues. If Heisserer continues to expand on the mythos and answer questions, Secret Weapons should improve and prove to be an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Youngblood (2017) #2

Jun 5, 2017

Youngblood #2 picks up where issue #1 left off, which uncreative characters, a clich story and inconsistent art. There is some hope that the series will pick up in quality, but as of this issue the spark is simply not there.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More