Ben Wasserman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 14
7.9Avg. Review Rating

6.8
All-New All-Different Avengers #12

Jul 28, 2016

ANAD AVENGERS #12 is, at its core, nothing more than a final hero vs. villain showdown. Each character is given enough time to leave a small mark amongst the action, but at the end of the day, it's only Nova who gets some necessary character development. There are things here and there that could have been more refined or better implemented, but in the end the writers just wanted a classic comic book final boss fight. So, while I can only rank this issue as plain decent, I'd still say it succeeds at telling a simple Avengers vs. bad guy fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #14

Jun 20, 2016

THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #14 doesn't really break any new ground in its plot, but it is still a fun and engaging read in its own right. The narrative is simple yet effective. Its art style feels heavily polished and while a lot more dramatic than your usual Spidey read, it still has time for a quip or two. The story is definitely heading straight for its climax at an impressive pace, with multiple characters crossing over with one another as Regent's plan comes to fruition. As for what that will be, you'll just need to stick around for the next issue to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #15

Jul 10, 2016

THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #15 is not the best issue of the Regent storyline, but it is still a fun, if not obviouslysatisfactory, conclusion.Mary Janegetting to be the hero was a real highlight, and the artwork was fantastic as always, but thestory ended rather predictably, save for the last two pages. I personally enjoyed it, but I could definitely understand if some people wereleft wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #17

Sep 1, 2016

A lack of Spider-Manin this issue doesn't harm THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #17 one bit, setting the building blocks for the next major storyline while remaining a fun at its core. It delivers on expanding upon our villain's motives, gives Prowler some screentime in preparation for his upcoming solo series, and overall looks pretty damn good. And with an old foe making his return in the upcoming issue, it will be interesting to see how hefits into CLONE CONSPIRACY as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #18

Sep 24, 2016

A bit of exposition in the front and a couple of flat facial images here and there doesn't stop THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #18 from being everything one wants ina Spider-Man comic. It's got action, humor and drama wrapped in a neat package while setting up plot details that tie into an ever-expanding series of story arcs"essentially your typical Dan Slott fare. There's no telling how Otto Octavius will tie into New U and the latest major storyline, but it should be fun to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #19

Oct 10, 2016

This is definitely one of those "things will never be the same again" comic book issues and after reading it, I feel obliged to agree. Story-wise THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #19 is incredibly well written and feels genuinely heart-wrenching by the final page, perfectly setting the tone for future issues as CLONE CONSPIRACY approaches. It's one of those installmentswhere you can guess what might happen and still feel taken back when it happens on panel, which in my book is a sign of good storytelling. Now, with tears having been shed and alliances formed since issue #1, it's time for Dan Slott's master plan to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #22

Dec 30, 2016

This is definitely a turning point in CLONE CONSPIRACY, adding some much-needed depth to our villain's master plan and tension to our hero's upcoming choices. Throughout the teases for this storyline, we've seen the Jackal claim that he's working in mankind's best interests and wants to help; however, with THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #22, that sense of purpose becomes even stronger as we realize that, in Ben Reilly's mind, he's pursuing a righteous and important cause that will allow him to atone for past mistakes. Despite the knowledge that this cause has resulted in global disasters on so many other Earth's, it's still easy for us, and Spider-Man, to sympathize with his cause. As for how far things will go before it's too late, only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Champions #1

Oct 9, 2016

CHAMPIONS #1 is a great first issue for Marvel's latest team of heroes, as well as a great counterbalance to CIVIL WAR II's aftereffects. Does it have its problems? Yes, but they feel relatively minor in the grand scheme of things, never getting in the way of the heart and soul of our characters' goals. It's a diverse and empowering team for a new generation of readers, promoting a message that I think everyone can get behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Civil War II #2

Jun 19, 2016

Overall, CIVIL WAR II # 2 shows potential, which it meets at several moments throughout. Unfortunately, it's just moving too slowly. As an Iron Man story, it was fine, but as the second issue in a major Marvel storyline, it was just decent. Not terrible or poorly written, but not as good as the first issue (which I really enjoyed). Here's hoping that the series manages to patch up these flaws by next month's issue and give us an amazing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Civil War II #3

Jul 15, 2016

It's been three issues since the prologue comic, and we still haven't reached the breaking point in CIVIL WAR II that leads to all-out conflict. This, ironically, is theopposite problem that original CIVIL WAR comic suffered from, in which a philosophical debate/conflict was established from the very beginning but was constantly overshadowed by both sides beating each other up. There is still potential here, but its buried under anawkwardly-paced story that does little to providegenuine action and consequences for future installments. With the halfway point of this series fast approaching, a story with action and consequences is something that CIVIL WAR II desperately needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War II #4

Jul 28, 2016

CIVIL WAR II #4 still struggles to balance out its two factions, but even with those flaws, it feels like a major improvement over the entire CIVIL WAR II series. However, the writers need to be careful with the direction with which they are taking Carol's character, as pushing her towards the role of an antagonist would ruin the series' attempt to be morally ambiguous on both sides. Overall, it's the best issue in the series so far and has finally lead us to the epic hero vs. hero showdown that everyone has been waiting for. Whatever Bendis is doing right now, keep on doing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II #5

Sep 24, 2016

CIVIL WAR II #5 is an action-packed comic by stand-alone terms, but as a part of the main story narrative it's a mixed bag. The fighting still lacks weight and plot-wise doesn't do much to contribute to the protection versus profiling dilemma that the series praised itself for being. The artwork definitely helps deliver on the concept of a fun CIVIL WAR fight sequence, but with only two episodes left in the series I'm still not sure where it's going as a story. Make of that what you will, whether it be positive or negative.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Civil War II: Amazing Spider-Man #4

Sep 19, 2016

CIVIL WAR II: THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #4 might occasionally suffer from artwork frame rate drops, but its story is still satisfying enough in its conclusiveness. It touches on the themes the series sets out to address, is well-done story-wise and teaches a valuable lesson in terms of making mistakes. Hopefully the lessons and themes learned here will crossover into the main storyline, because it would definitely prove fruitful for Team Carol right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Ms. Marvel (2015) #16

Mar 19, 2017

MS. MARVEL #16 continues its excellent writing streak as Kamala battles against an intangible enemy -- and literal internet troll -- who threatens to reveal her identity to the public!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

5th

March

More