Bill Heuer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 83
7.5Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Bat-Mite #4

Sep 3, 2015

Overall, I had a few laughs with this issue and it was a nice change-up to my current run of comics I usually read. The simplistic plot line does play nicely into what a kid could follow when reading this but the jokes seem to target older audiences. It is certainly not my first choice of comic I would grab but it has its merits.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Bat-Mite #5

Oct 15, 2015

For just being counter-programming compared to darker titles like Justice League or Batman, Bat-Mite brings a lighter tone to the collection of DC titles out right now. If only for that purpose, Bat-Mite is a good read and worth it for someone looking for that. It is not a title that connects with me but I am hopeful to see the Sentry Silent come to Earth to collect Bat-Mite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bat-Mite #6

Nov 5, 2015

Instead of punishing him, they reveal themselves to be the Justice Mites of America and invite him to rejoin them. They give him a warning to behave to which Bat-Mite agrees enthusiastically and offers to be turned over to Human Resources should he fail. The issue ends with the heroes discussing the new threat before the LeagueCanceltron.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

Overall, I really liked this story and the new take it had on the Looney Toons characters within the Batman Universe. King proved he can write dark noir stories without pulling from a lot of Gotham-centric themes. Although maybe not the most kid friendly story, it nevertheless paid homage to a collection of Looney Toons characters and their usual motives (although slightly darker here) which I enjoyed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #23

Aug 12, 2015

Like I said, I enjoyed this issue for the most part and the cliffhanger certainly left me curious to see what will happen next. Although Gordon seems a little out of character and all the arguing between Batman and Superman gets a little old, it is a unique story with good art and I am on board for what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #24

Sep 9, 2015

Despite the weak character development, this was a fun story arc and this issue did a nice job at concluding the Subterranea storyline. The highlight for me was the epilogue scene between Bruce and Clark. This issue also set up the next arcs villain as Vandal Savage, which should be interesting, and I look forward to seeing his interaction with Batman and Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #25

Oct 14, 2015

Overall, this was a good start to the new arc but it feels weird saying that given Batman is only in a few panels (and the series is called Batman/Superman). I am excited to see the rest of the Bat-family help out Superman since Batgirl was written well in this issue and I have confidence Grayson and Red Hood will be treated the same by writer Greg Pak. It seems too much to hope for a better characterization of Gordon so I am hoping that the Bat-family can substitute for Batman here in the near future. From just the dialogue on the last page, it looks like we will get some fun interactions between the group so I'm certainly looking forward to that in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #3

Feb 24, 2016

Hopefully, the creative team can build on this solid issue and make this book really live up to the hype.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Society #6

Nov 20, 2015

Overall, I enjoyed the action of this issue and I am looking forward to seeing the other heroes get involved in stopping Jimmy and Huntress destroy the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: Society #7

Dec 11, 2015

Overall, the issue was fine and it was entertaining to see the heroes come together. I have certain problems with the artwork as well as how the creative teams introduce new plot points/characters. That being said, I am interested to see where they take the story now that the team is together and they have formed their own Justice Society.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: Society #8

Jan 15, 2016

Overall, the controversial environment that the Wonders find themselves in now leaves me excited to see where the story goes from here. Although I was looking for a change in artist, Jimenez still has given some great panels before so I will keep an open mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2: Society #9

Feb 12, 2016

Overall, a great issue and one that has me even more interested to see where the arc is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grayson #12

Sep 24, 2015

The issue ends with Dick seemingly returning to work for Spyral. Agent Zero tells Grayson that Spyral is his new family and that he is not alone. Dick agrees with her and, now being reconnected with the Bat family, he says with a smile, “I'm not alone”.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice: Year Five #1

Jan 8, 2016

Overall, Year 5 is starting off on the right foot and I cant wait to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice: Year Five #2

Jan 22, 2016

As I previously said, these issues always do a good job at teasing big moments such as the development of Bizarro, so that leaves much to anticipate for chapter 5 along with the interrogation of Catwoman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice: Year Five #3

Feb 12, 2016

Like I said before, this issue was mostly just filler for the upcoming face off between Clark and Bruce. The plot point of Bane abducting and torturing Catwoman to get Bruce to show himself was a good way to make that happen. Although they are keeping us focused on the two big guys facing off, its exciting to see Bizarro's story getting sprinkled in and I have a feeling that his arrival will definitely elevate the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice: Year Five #4

Feb 19, 2016

Overall, these two chapters had a few exciting moments but really seemed to just be filler. The artwork still holds up and helps to deliver these exciting moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice: Year Five #5

Mar 4, 2016

Despite some solid action scene with Bizarro battling the Rogues, these chapters were good, but not great. They still have me excited to see Bizarros role in this story get more fleshed out now that he has stepped out into the light so to speak.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice: Year Five #6

Mar 18, 2016

Overall, the story still has me interested but Im hoping for Bizarro to now get folded into the bigger story with the Insurgency. It would be cool to see Batman attempt to join forces with Supermans clone. Of course, this would drive a wedge between him and his team but that would fit with the multiple times he has done something against the teams wishes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injustice: Year Five #7

Apr 8, 2016

In the end, a very minor nit-pick in a good character developing story. It did not really advance the overall plot but it was good to see more spotlight given to Damian who has had some rough times in this series with still more changes to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice: Year Five #8

Apr 22, 2016

With Rebirth coming and the end of this series on its way, the creative team of Miller and Buccellato seem to be really pushing now to move the story along to meet the video games timeline. I am certainly looking forward to them speeding things up. It is time to see Superman become a full fledged tyrant and Batman begin to investigate the inclusion of heroes from the Multiverse. The next few chapters will be very telling as to whether this is the route the story is heading towards.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Injustice: Year Five #9

May 6, 2016

Overall, this issue did eventually tie back into the overall story and it looks like the Superman/Bizarro showdown is fast approaching. With Luther now involved, I am hoping that we might get to see Bizarro teamed up with Batman's Insurgency to try and take the offensive against Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #43

Aug 21, 2015

Overall, this is my favorite issue thus far due to its ability to build excitement and deliver cinematic panels. The art is fantastic and Fabok gives us great character designs like Bat-God and Kalibak. Finishing with a head on charge between the Justice League, Darkseid, and the Anti-Monitor creates the perfect cliffhanger and leaves me counting the days until the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #44

Oct 2, 2015

This issue certainly gave us a lot to think about what is to come for both our heroes and villains in this storyline. I was certainly happy with the game-changing ending and cant wait until next month to see the fallout from such a massive event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #45

Oct 23, 2015

Johns gives us some cool moments throughout this issue. Starting with the monologue of Wonder Woman, Johns has been utilizing her really well as a set up for these issues and helping to create suspense. Having her state that new gods are born out of a gods death builds excitement for the issue. Despite not being happy with Bat-Gods way of thinking, I like the new personalities of the new gods, especially Flash, so Im definitely looking forward to seeing Johns develop these new gods further in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #46

Dec 18, 2015

Overall, another good issue but not quite the big return I was expecting. Still, with the relationship and character development, this issue will hopefully be seen in hindsight as a good point in the arc to slow down a little and expand on those story points. I am excited for the return of the members of the Crime Syndicate. Forever Evil was a fun arc and getting some of those characters back will be a welcomed addition to this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #47

Jan 1, 2016

Johns delivers on writing again here despite the minor issues and gets Act III of Darkseid War off on the right foot. Although Darkseid War has now become a larger scale Forever Evil arc with heroes and villains teaming up again, I am not definitely not disappointed and cant wait for the coming battles. Since some of our heroes are New Gods now, I am looking forward to seeing their interactions with the Crime Syndicate. Johns has set the stage for a very epic showdown between the Justice League/Crime Syndicate and the fully charged Anti-Monitor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #48

Feb 26, 2016

Now that it is public that Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok are leaving the title, Im sure we are going to get something really special here in these last two issues. In just this issue alone, we got to see the Green Lantern Corp, Justice League/Crime Syndicate team-ups, and Lex Luthors parademon armydefinitely feels like the creative team is pulling out all the stops as they near the conclusion to their last arc. At this point, I could not be happier and cant wait for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #49

Apr 29, 2016

Overall, it was not a bad issue, but just did not impact me the way I was hoping. I admit I have high expectations every time I pick this title up…I blame Johns great writing and Faboks fantastic art. But seriously, I am still very excited for next months issue as always and am dying to know how Darkseid War will end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #50

May 27, 2016

Overall, the issue was great, but as the ending to Darkseid War, I thought it could have been stronger. There seemed to be such a motivation to set up all these characters' paths in Rebirth that they did not focus enough on the actual story that they had built up.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League #52

Jun 24, 2016

Overall, I just really am surprised that DC let this one slip away. Justice League was consistently one of the few good titles during the New 52 and to have it end this way after some really great stories is a big letdown for me. Again, it was a nice Lex Luthor story but his name is not on the title. Hopefully, the new creative team coming up will have some really great arcs to start off this rebirth for DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #6

Jan 27, 2017

One of my favorite moments was actually the debriefing after the big climax. I really enjoyed the interactions between the Justice League and the Suicide Squad. Each characters' questions and answers fit their personalities perfectly and captured the fun quality that can be had in these crossovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League: Darkseid War Special #1

Apr 8, 2016

Overall, I really liked this special issue, despite it basically being a tie-in. An essential tie-in to the overall story, but it really was just back story and side character development amidst Darkseid War. It really seemed like this could have stood on its own as a main chapter of Darkseid War but the creative team had only so many issues for this story and Grails schemes involving the Anti-Life Equation had to be given more attention. In the end, this issue was the perfect way to satisfy the readers until issue #49.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League: Darkseid War: Batman #1

Oct 30, 2015

Overall, I thought the creative team gave us a solid one shot that has me even more interested in other one shots as well as the next issue in the main Justice League title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: Gods and Monsters #1

Aug 14, 2015

Apart from the rushed backstories, I did like the issue and am glad that they are developing this alternate universe. Hopefully, we will get to see more different versions of our other favorite characters from the DC Universe as the story continues into The Forever War.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League: Gods and Monsters #2

Aug 21, 2015

Despite the reliance on Doctor Psychos character and mishandling of Batman, this issue still had some fun moments so we will see how the creative team finishes this prequel arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League: Gods and Monsters #3

Aug 28, 2015

Being the Batman fan that I am and with how much I enjoyed the standalone prequel comic, I know I would not mind a spin off series with Langstroms stories in Gotham. Seeing more Justice League stories from this alternate universe would require better villains and stronger plot lines. Overall, I amglad we got this prequel series and I will just have to cross my fingers for some more Vampire Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Suicide Squad #15

Dec 11, 2015

Overall, I liked this issue and since I have not been following the series up until now, I will say that I will be checking in now to see the conclusion of this arc. Knowing that Seeley will be coming onto the book soon also keeps me interested in the near future of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Suicide Squad #17

Feb 12, 2016

Overall, this was a nice start to Seeleys run in that it gave us good action with some humor as well as a cliffhanger to keep us guessing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Suicide Squad #18

Mar 11, 2016

Seeing the Fist of Cain was an interesting twist, especially with Mr. Reed seemingly in charge. The next issue seems like it could be full of some great action and lots of death so it should be fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Suicide Squad #19

Apr 8, 2016

With great comedic timing and gratuitous, violent action, this issue was great despite a few problems I found within certain characterizations and plot development. Rebirth might throw some changes to the team in a few months but I like where this arc is headed at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Suicide Squad #20

May 6, 2016

With only two more issues of this series, Im definitely looking forward to seeing how the team will get out of this situation and come to terms with Waller. Hopefully, the great run that this title is on will continue after Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Suicide Squad #22

Jul 22, 2016

Overall, I thought this was a great Harley one shot issue. I enjoyed reading it but have to admit that it did not really tie in to the Suicide Squad apart from the quick panels showing Harley in prison, presumably with the rest of the team. I am still very much looking forward to the next arc for the Suicide Squad so this Harley issue was a good filler until then.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #1

Aug 11, 2016

Despite this issue being a bit of a letdown, hopefully they will handle the introduction of Artemis well and next month we will start to see the series develop a little more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #2

Sep 15, 2016

My only criticism is that I wish they called this entire series Dark Trinity as the title of the issue is named. The name would have added some gravitas to the series and separate it from the less than stellar performances of Lobdells earlier works with Red Hood. This series has a lot of potential to be a great, fun contrast to the actual Trinity series coming this month. Both could be really enjoyable but have different tones. Despite the misbranding of this series, Im very much looking forward to the next issue and the development of Bizarro.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #3

Oct 13, 2016

Overall, this series is still going strong and I can't wait for the next issue. The truly great thing right now going forward is that we're definitely going to get some great action, but Lobdell is delivering on the writing and character developments so we will actually care about what happens to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #4

Nov 10, 2016

With the cliffhanger here of Bizarro being controlled by Black Mask's virus, I can't wait for the next issue, but I'm sure we will only get one issue of a controlled Bizarro since this Dark Trinity needs to really start to come together. We have seen a few brief moments of them together, but Artemis felt removed so I am looking forward to seeing them all out in the open and teaming up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #5

Dec 15, 2016

Overall, between the comedic and solid writing from Lobdell and the consistently great art from Dexter Soy, I am again eagerly waiting for next month's issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #6

Jan 12, 2017

Another great moment which will stick with me for awhile is the scene of Jason debriefing Bruce about the mission. Even though it was disconcerting to see Batman laugh, it was great to see these two have such a human and honest moment together. Their relationship certainly felt like a strained father son type but they seem to really come to terms with each other here. The panel that ends this scene was probably the best part of the whole series thus far and Soy really created a memorable one to portray the old dynamic duo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Feb 9, 2017

Although the artwork leaves much to be desired (putting it nicely), I was still drawn into this issue with Lobdell's writing and character development. The relationship between Bizarro and Jason is a fascinating one that I can't wait to see what will happen in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #8

Mar 9, 2017

Overall, this Bow of Ra storyline does not really seem too exciting, but I'm looking forward to seeing this last piece of the Outlaws group come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 13, 2017

The artwork was great and Lobdell's writing and story telling helps to give that artwork the real impact it deserves. This issue truly felt like a cohesive team book. Lobdell has had a lot of the story, thus far, to focus on Jason which has helped to build other characters around. Now, we see the story start to shine a light on each character. We see him even play at this with Jason saying that “this isn't my story, not entirely”. The humor and witty banter between the group really has Lobdell's Dark Trinity finding traction. He continues to build a strong title and deliver on both action and emotional character arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 11, 2017

Overall, a great issue and it stays in line with the tone of the title since Rebirth. Ever expanding in its character development and incredible detail from the art team, this title remains at the top of my list of Rebirth books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 15, 2017

Lobdell's writing and story continues to keep me engaged. Artemis' backstory and look into a different kind of Amazonian lifestyle and viewpoint was interesting and felt fresh. As I had said earlier, this issue was mostly action, but the overall story was fun and engaging. With a true cliffhanger at the end, I'm definitely looking forward to seeing next months' issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 13, 2017

Despite this very minor gripe I had while reading, I really was moved by this issue. It is comics, so we know that no one ever stays dead, but its up to the creative team, both in writing and art, to make these deaths impactful. Lobdell and the art team succeeded in that here. Making a character's return mean something is the next step following their death which I have no doubt the creative team will be up to the challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #13

Aug 10, 2017

I could discuss this book all day, but I am curious how this book is being received by those keeping up with it. Let me know your thoughts below. Being one of my three favorite Rebirth titles (Detective Comics & Superman being other two), I'm curious to know where it ranks for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1

Jul 28, 2016

Overall, I really enjoyed this issue but I think that is mostly due to the fact it was a standalone Red Hood issue. I am still skeptical of the inclusion of Bizarro and Artemis, but hopefully Lobdell can deliver some decent writing to support the solid artwork so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robin War #1

Dec 3, 2015

Overall, the issue got me hooked and I am very much looking forward to seeing this story play out. I would definitely recommend this to anyone even if they are not following each of the series involved in the event. Let me know what you thought in the comments below.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin War #2

Jan 14, 2016

The issue concludes with The Parliament of Owls welcoming Dick, as he places an owl mask on his face, into their ranks as the Gray Son of Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #5

Oct 28, 2016

The artwork is great of course. I don't think anyone had doubts about Jim Lee being solid with his pencils. Although if they are the reason for these short main stories in the pages, which I'm sure they are, then I do think that's a problem. Overall, I do like the inclusion of Zod as a potential pawn of Waller as ridiculous as her idea is to control a Kryptonian. It makes for a good threat and certainly sets the stage for the coming Justice League vs Suicide Squad storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) Annual #1

Mar 31, 2017

Overall, the annual was a great self contained story and did what I think it should do..it made me more interested in checking in with the Titans going forward and did not confuse me with any previous storylines that might have been necessary to understand this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 23, 2016

Overall, I am really looking forward to Manapul showing these three become even closer in future issues. With a lot of series seeming to have a lot of action, this series will be a refreshing break with more character development and arcs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 21, 2016

I enjoyed the emotional elements that this issue presented with Clark getting to see his dad again but also the twilight zone quality that this series is starting off with all-to-perfect settings the Trinity finds themselves in. The introduction of Poison Ivy and the mystery behind her partner in crime still leaves enough suspense for the overall plot and the “big bad” they will eventually have to fight. Overall, I am loving this series and would recommend anyone to jump on board this title now to see their heroes presented in a much more personal way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #3

Nov 18, 2016

In general, this series continues to give the readers very “down-to-earth” moments for these mythic heroes. Its great to see these three have very “human” moments. In its simplest form, this was an issue about a grieving son and his two friends being there for him to help him overcome his own doubts about himself due to a tragic event. The previous issue was about a young father getting a chance to connect with his own father in a way he never could before having a son. I hope we get this same trend in the next issue with Diana's “twilight-zone” version of Themyscira.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Trinity (2016) #4

Dec 23, 2016

As this arc nears its end, I am excited to see where Manapul will take it next. Mongul's reveal at the end means we will most likely get a pretty action-packed next issue. However, the important thing is the groundwork that Manapul has been laying down here. He has made this Trinity grow together as they explore each others' weaknesses and insecurities. The bond that they have recreated here in this arc can only help to make for even better stories here on out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #5

Jan 20, 2017

Overall, this issue was mostly just action directed and back-story driven. Hearing more about the Black Mercy was interesting and Manapul has certainly introduced a new element to it with Monguls daughter, the White Mercy. My hope going forward is that Manapul has found an interesting way for the Trinity to overcome the daughters control over their bodies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #6

Feb 17, 2017

Overall, I am really looking forward to seeing where this series goes from here. I am a little anxious that after this character building arc will result in a more action packed arc with less substance going forward. Hopefully they utilize a good villain and keep us as engaged as I was during this first arc by Manapul.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #7

Mar 17, 2017

Hopefully, the inclusion of the Trinity will help to piece this together and this issue will be much more integral to the story looking back at the end of the arc. The creative team does deserve credit for the very fact they had a first issue not even really have the Trinity in it (unless you count the “amalgamation” monster). They also picked three villains that do seem to fit the Trinity and help to elevate any tension in future interactions with the Trinity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #8

Apr 21, 2017

Overall, this issue had some very interesting implications and sets up an interesting conflict between the Justice League if this secret of a puppet master behind their reality is revealed. Still being confused with last issues relevance, I am still very much onboard with this title and intrigued to see where it is headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #9

May 19, 2017

Overall, the issue was a set-up for this coming arc and the invasion of an alien virus. The Trinity is up against their own teammates now which was hinted at the previous issue. Although it is not due directly to Rebirth as previously implied, this still could be a fun arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #10

Jun 23, 2017

Again, it doesn't hold up too well compared to some of his other issues that have explored the motivations and personalities of each of the Trinity members but its still a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trinity (2016) #11

Jul 21, 2017

Overall, the saving aspect to this issue was the artwork. Manapul's soft, “warm” color tones and penciling makes each panel so much fun to look at and fills these stories with a real feeling of joy and adventure. In the end, that is the important thing when reading comics. Although a weaker story and writing, the art team delivered where this issue can at least be enjoyed visually.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Trinity (2016) #12

Aug 18, 2017

I wish I could say that this issue has turned me around on how I feel about magic-based stories within the DC Universe, but I still can't say I'm on board after this issue. With the continuity missteps along with a story that already felt complete after the Trinity fought a demon possessed Etrigan only a few issues ago, I have to hope that the creative team will deliver some truly compelling moments in future issues of this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

Jun 2, 2017

Overall, this was a good annual and helped to continue the coming battle between the new trinities in Rebirth against Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman. It was a nice moment with Bruce trying to connected with his fellow teammates and struggling to form the words and needing a little help from Clark.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
We Are Robin #3

Aug 27, 2015

As the team mourns the loss of Troy, we see Alfred in the Batcave and it is revealed that he is The Nest and the one who brought them all together. In the final panels, Alfred states that he failed to bring another home and that The Nest must go to the Robins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Are Robin #4

Sep 24, 2015

Overall, I enjoyed this issue very much since Bermejo started to explore other Robins and developed Riko's character. Up until this point, its been difficult to recognize all the Robins but it seems like that is changing. Seeing a Robin hallucinate to some degree and potentially deal with post-traumatic stress disorder was an issue I think needed to be fleshed out. These Robins are normal kids that are trying to tackle real problems and injustices so it only makes sense that the consequences reflect that realistic tone we are getting with We Are Robin.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Are Robin #5

Oct 29, 2015

Overall, this issue accomplishes both plot and character development and even finally revealed who had been controlling the homeless army from the beginning. Having it be the Court of Owls or a rogue Talon just makes me that much more excited for next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Are Robin #6

Nov 26, 2015

Regardless of the negatives, the issue was still entertaining and I know I am very excited to see whats coming next month in Robin War.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
We Are Robin #7

Dec 17, 2015

Now with all that said, I still enjoyed the issue I just was expecting more in regards to plot development. Each issue has been a lot of fun for me and I am glad the 75th year of Robin has been given as much love as it has with the multiple stories honoring the character. The Robin War, as a whole, has been really entertaining for me and I am still very much onboard and excited for what is to come. Regarding this issue, I was just whelmed (reference from Young Justice that fans of the show should know).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
We Are Robin #8

Jan 28, 2016

Overall, I would say this was a great first issue and, so far, a good recovery after Robin Wars lackluster performance. If anyone has not been following the series up until now, this feels like a good first issue to start with now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
We Are Robin #9

Feb 25, 2016

Although let down after reading this issue, I still am hopeful for Bermejo to come back next month with a stronger showing and move this story along at a faster pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
We Are Robin #10

Mar 24, 2016

All that being said, Bermejo has given us an issue with some particular real scenes featuring gun violence and mass chaos which goes back to him wanting to make something grittier in Gotham. The set up for next month is there and I am looking forward to seeing ALL the Robins come together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
We Are Robin #12

May 26, 2016

Regarding this issue as an ending to the series, I was worried that the creative team would not end the series on a good note but they certainly did. The final shot of them flying down trying to make their city a better place is what the series has all been about at its core so it was nice to see that continue here at the end. The series itself has had a few rough moments and some problems but I have enjoyed the ride overall. It has been a nice break from all the major superhero stories. It will be nice to see how these characters fit into the larger TBU from here on out after Rebirth. Obviously Duke will make appearances, but I still felt that some of the other Robins had more interesting storylines that deserve to get fleshed out in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More