Branden Murray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 38
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #22

Dec 26, 2016

Bits and Pieces If you're following the Clone Conspiracy event this is amust read for the backstory of “Jackal” alone. If this is an issue you may have an interest in as a stand-aloneSpider-Man story wait things out until the event is over because it's become atrue tie-in to the event … enjoyable but still just a tie-in story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #23

Jan 23, 2017

Amazing Spider-Man continues to be the best of the tie-inissues that accompany the Spider event Clone Conspiracy. This issue spotlights acloned Gwen Stacey and Peter Parker who take the reader through a worthy andenjoyable trip down memory lane. However to see this story all the way through,and make it truly worth a purchase, an investment in the event would benecessary.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #24

Feb 27, 2017

I wont rush to revisit this event again soon but I did like seeing the journey and will be back for the Omega issue next week ... why not? 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #25

Mar 20, 2017

How much do you love Spider-Man, because Marvel sure istesting that love with a ten dollar price tag for issue twenty-five. Althoughthere are stories to like within the pages of this extended issue only abouthalf of them will truly please even the most hardcore Spidey lover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #2

Dec 19, 2016

Overall it feels like this beginning story arc is being usedas a way to establish each characters role inside the family.  Peter is of course who he's always been justmore fatherly, Mary Jane comes across as a character fans have been beggingfor, and Annie is getting opportunities to develop into a hero that shows promise. Its cliche to say but there really is somethingfor everyone to enjoy in this title if you're not looking to take it toseriously and just enjoy a continuity free ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #3

Jan 16, 2017

Bits and PiecesAlthough the story has been stuck in neutral, this issue wasmy personal favorite of the three we've been given so far, providing informationon a young Annie May readers previously weren't privy to.  There is something for everyone in this titlehumor, action, even heart felt family moments, you could share this book withyour girlfriend and she might not hate you. If you're someone still upset aboutBrand New Day this title may help ease that pain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #4

Feb 13, 2017

Renew Your Vows continues to be a fun, family driven title,about watching a young hero find her way, under the guidance of a Marvel legendwho also happens to be dear ol' dad.  There'senough humor, action, and even a few heart stealing moments in this issue tofind something for everyone to enjoy here. Aside from a few pacing issues this arc overall this is truly a Spider book to sharewith the family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #5

Mar 27, 2017

I recommendthis issue and series to anybody that wants a little bit of family flavor addedinto their super hero lineup each month. This really is Marvel's best answer to the Superman lineup that DC putsout and is really equally as enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #2

Dec 14, 2016

It difficult not to compare this crossover to the one done by James Tynion IV and Freddie Williams but it's really two totally different animals altogether. Batman/TMNT Adventures has a much more kid friendly feel than its predecessor at this point, which is ok. However if you're an adult here looking for enjoyment from the crossover, it would be primarily for the art because the story beats provided, up to this point, need to pick up. 

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman / TMNT Adventures #3

Jan 26, 2017

Batman TMNT Adventures puts out another strong issue with someclever humor bits that stole the show for me personally (see Robin and anybody).The art continues to be a reason to also consider purchasing this title becauseif you're a fan of either cartoon series represented here there is plenty tolook at and enjoy overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #4

Feb 16, 2017

There were a few unexpected surprises in issue four Ipersonally enjoyed that brought some new life into a paint by numbers crossoverstory.  The art continues to be carry thebook and make it worth the price of admission especially for fans of the cartoonproperty its borrowed from.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #5

Mar 22, 2017

Thepenultimate issue of Batman/TMNT Adventures is the most fun in the series I'vehad so far.  The story finally cametogether, the homage and art style was spot on, and it's truly a book parentscan appreciate for nostalgia, while sharing and reading along with their kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II #8

Jan 2, 2017

In summary don't waste your money. Marvel just charged everyonefor a delayed solicit to the line of NOW! Books, which have already released anyway,disguised as a wrap up to an awful event comic. DC's Convergence, and Marvel'sown Axis, was War and Peace compared to this title.  Chalk up Civil War as an event that shouldn't evenbe enjoyed in an ironic way like a bad movie might be because it's worse thanthat. If Marvel thinks there getting any money out of me for Monsters Unleashedor any future event title after this stunt they are so wrong I can't even beginto think of an analogy to compare it to. If you wan to look at the bright side at least the art was good right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cougar and Cub #2

Feb 18, 2017

Cougar and Cub is a brand of comedy satire I can get behind andlove how it's being told. Nick Marino and Daniel Arruda Massa have put outanother creative little ditty here, in line with previous works, only this onehas a throwback feel involving super hero ‘affairs' of simpler times … with atwist of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #8

Mar 29, 2017

While it'snot without its flaws this story continues to be a worthy addition to DarkKnight lore for this Batman fan.  If you'vestuck around for this long in the series, through the delays, you're treated toan epic battle issue, light on Batman, but heavily featuring Wonder Woman andthe Amazons in all their glory. 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #3

Dec 21, 2016

Overall the He-Man/Thunder Cats crossover continues to impress me all the wayfrom the cover to last cliffhanger page each and every issue so far.  It may be one of those rare crossovers thatyou don't necessarily have to be a fan of the properties,  He-Man and Thundercats, to enjoy because its just a damn good comic book at this point.   

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
He-Man / Thunder Cats #4

Jan 18, 2017

This “silly” crossover, between two 80's TV/toy properties,continues to be an enjoyable story and is entering into the territory of beingbetter than it has any business to be. Even if your aren't a fan of the He-Manor Thunder Cat lines there is no denying the art is incredibly pleasing to lookat making this comic well worth its cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
He-Man / Thunder Cats #5

Feb 15, 2017

He-Man/Thunder Cats continue to bring what the fans want tothe table despite a few minor hiccups. If you're a fan of these properties andyou've come this far along in the series issue five is truly a book to lookover twice. Make sure you don't miss anything fun, important, or even severalthrowbacks to your childhood straight from creators who care. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
He-Man / Thunder Cats #6

Mar 15, 2017

He-Man and Thunder Cats provides a satisfying conclusion toa pretty epic mini-series, while also continuing to acknowledge these character‘share' the Multiverse with fellow DC characters, a nice little callback, ifyou ask me, for following He-Man stories DC has published.  Come for the characters you loved as a childstay for the great story and fantastic art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Overall, when going into this crossover, you have to askyourself a few questions. Do you enjoy the characters in this comic book? Are you in the mood for a little bit of over thetop, crazy, crossover fun? If your answers are "yes" to these questions thenthis title is for you even if you may think you're too old for the likes of thePower Rangers. Tom Taylor, a WeirdScience favorite, and Steven Byrne have established a shocking tone, to go withan interesting premise in the first issue, and all the characters together earlyto make it a crossover I want to read going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #2

Feb 8, 2017

Overall issue two remains decent, albeit a little similar tothis series' first outing last month, but what I'm most excited about, now thatthe formal introductions are out of the way, is that we can finally get down tochewing gum and kicking ass now … I'm not even sure they sell gum in Gotham so that'sgood news for us readers here for the action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

Justice League Power Rangers #3 is another suitable issue ina crossover that's so far had a solid story with great art.  I really think this maybe a better book ifyou're a parent and have a preteen aged child interested in either propertiesor attempting to get into comics. However for a regular monthly reader of avariety of different, as well as related properties, to this title it's failingto hold my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 13, 2017

R.L. Stinedoes an excellent job of setting the tone and establishing the premise for the beginningof this story raising a few questions along the way I'm excited to find theanswers to.  Both art teams present on thestories in the book do a great job of capturing the tone and emotions presentmaking this something I wholeheartedly recommended to any fan of ahorror/comedy type of comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prowler #3

Jan 2, 2017

Overall this is an entertaining action filled romp thatshould hold the attention of people reading the Clone Conspiracy event.  

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Prowler #4

Jan 30, 2017

Bits and PiecesAfter a fascinating start to the series, the Prowler as a stand-alonebook is struggling to find an intriguing conflict for our hero to really sinkhis teeth into.  Combine all that withfighting skills that seem sub-par and an unlikable demeanor, especially thisissue, and this maybe something to avoid until it can steer clear of tie-instatus and truly allow the character to flourish … if it gets that chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Prowler #5

Feb 27, 2017

Pairing Ryan's twists in story telling with the art team of JamalCampbell & Javier Saltares makes this a tie-in worth checking out foranyone invested in the Clone Conspiracy story as a whole. If you are howeverlooking for an independent Prowler tale there may be better options out there available for the money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Man/Deadpool #13

Jan 16, 2017

Overall this was an entertaining issue of Spider-Man/Deadpool that provides plenty of jokes and gags that hit the mark, while the art on the title continues to be something to follow, and a worthy selling point. However we have a Peter Parker/Spider-Man in this series making decisions that feels very out of place,and although I understand it's only part of his story, and crisis he's going through, I don't buy they're decisions he'd ever consider making from years of reading the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spider-Man/Deadpool #14

Feb 27, 2017

Brothers from other mothers, Spider-Man and Deadpool, takingon the likes of Itsy-Bitsy continues to be enthralling, but its releaseschedule is less than ideal, taking another break until MAY! However Kelly andMcGuiness, when present on the title, make it worth paying attention too. Therevolving door of guest writers, outside that main team though, make it hard torecommend on a month in and  month outbasis when they're absent too often. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Clone Conspiracy #3

Dec 12, 2016

This is an event story after all so it isn't perfect by anymeans but the plot elements are doing enough to keep me on the edge of my seatand I'm excited to see what, or who in this case, is around each corner. Thingswill be coming to a roaring conclusion in the coming months and I can't imaginehow all this will wrap up because after the reveals this issue I'm out ofguesses of whose left.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Clone Conspiracy #4

Jan 23, 2017

The story as a whole continues to be interesting, and well-drawn,which has taken Peter/Spider-Man on an emotional journey, testing the foundational beliefs of him as a person established at a young age. I appreciate the story at its core, which feels like a more traditional Spider-Man tale than more recent events, like Spider-Verse. If you felt like Peter (Spidey) has been a little too much like Tony(Iron Man) lately, Clone Conspiracy might be the righting of the ship you've been looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
The Clone Conspiracy #5

Feb 20, 2017

Clone Conspiracy #5 ends in lackluster fashion continuing thetrend of strange Spidey related clone saga shenanigans that have preceded it.  This story also continues the Marvel eventstrategy of ending things with non-endings forcing you, a reader, further intoa currently convoluted Marvel lineup, you may end up regretting … but hey atleast Clone Conspiracy looked good doing it. Right?!         

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
The Clone Conspiracy: Omega #1

Mar 6, 2017

Clone Conspiracy Omega #1 is an issue that, new and long-timeSpider-Man readers alike, will find aspects to enjoy. There's a decent story toread through and take in here albeit with some flaws. At the same time buyers arealso treated to a few teases about the future of Spider-Man and where he'sheaded next which is sure to draw some interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #9

Jan 9, 2017

Bits and Pieces  Please forgo all your judgements and preconceptions you haveabout this character/title. Just spend a little money and I guarantee you'llhave yourself a good little bit fun because there's a ton to enjoy here in thisbook.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #10

Jan 30, 2017

The second arc of Gwenpool concludes with the patented comedy it's known for now just with a touch of feeling in the end this time which was unexpected and very welcome. The conclusion sets our 'hero' up for step two of her journey into the Marvel Universe and I continue to look forward to what will be in store for our hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #11

Feb 13, 2017

This one shot issue provides a nice little jumping on pointfor anyone who may want to dip their toes into the waters of Gwen Poole (akaGwenpool).  As you've come to expect fromthis book the laughs are abundant, the art is on point, all coming together toprovide a quick enjoyable story any comedy comic fan would enjoy.   

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Unbelievable Gwenpool #12

Mar 6, 2017

The Unbelievable Gwenpool is a comedic superhero title thatis among the best being published today by any company.  Christopher Hastings paired with Gurihiru area creative team I can't get enough off. To top it all off their latestadventure, a spoof on RPG dungeon crawlers,  with a self-aware hero whose played ElderScrolls once or twice, is the best story idea to date making this a must readfor anybody still on the fence.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Unbelievable Gwenpool #13

Mar 13, 2017

Although the conclusion to this two part dungeon crawl arcfelt a little rushed to make way for the coming stories there is still, asalways, plenty to enjoy within the pages of Gwenpool.  This has been and remains one of the mostconsistently enjoyable and funny books on my pull list. The art is also always treatto behold.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Feb 26, 2017

X-O is back with a vengeance which is something long timeand new readers will enjoy equally. Thisis Valiant, Kindt, and the art team of Giorello and Rodriguez at their best, abook for comic book fans in general, and a treat that needs to be seen to be believed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

5th

March

More