Branden Murray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 12
7.4Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #22

Dec 26, 2016

Bits and Pieces If you're following the Clone Conspiracy event this is amust read for the backstory of “Jackal” alone. If this is an issue you may have an interest in as a stand-aloneSpider-Man story wait things out until the event is over because it's become atrue tie-in to the event … enjoyable but still just a tie-in story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #2

Dec 19, 2016

Overall it feels like this beginning story arc is being usedas a way to establish each characters role inside the family.  Peter is of course who he's always been justmore fatherly, Mary Jane comes across as a character fans have been beggingfor, and Annie is getting opportunities to develop into a hero that shows promise. Its cliche to say but there really is somethingfor everyone to enjoy in this title if you're not looking to take it toseriously and just enjoy a continuity free ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #3

Jan 16, 2017

Bits and PiecesAlthough the story has been stuck in neutral, this issue wasmy personal favorite of the three we've been given so far, providing informationon a young Annie May readers previously weren't privy to.  There is something for everyone in this titlehumor, action, even heart felt family moments, you could share this book withyour girlfriend and she might not hate you. If you're someone still upset aboutBrand New Day this title may help ease that pain.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #2

Dec 14, 2016

It difficult not to compare this crossover to the one done by James Tynion IV and Freddie Williams but it's really two totally different animals altogether. Batman/TMNT Adventures has a much more kid friendly feel than its predecessor at this point, which is ok. However if you're an adult here looking for enjoyment from the crossover, it would be primarily for the art because the story beats provided, up to this point, need to pick up. 

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II #8

Jan 2, 2017

In summary don't waste your money. Marvel just charged everyonefor a delayed solicit to the line of NOW! Books, which have already released anyway,disguised as a wrap up to an awful event comic. DC's Convergence, and Marvel'sown Axis, was War and Peace compared to this title.  Chalk up Civil War as an event that shouldn't evenbe enjoyed in an ironic way like a bad movie might be because it's worse thanthat. If Marvel thinks there getting any money out of me for Monsters Unleashedor any future event title after this stunt they are so wrong I can't even beginto think of an analogy to compare it to. If you wan to look at the bright side at least the art was good right?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
He-Man / Thunder Cats #3

Dec 21, 2016

Overall the He-Man/Thunder Cats crossover continues to impress me all the wayfrom the cover to last cliffhanger page each and every issue so far.  It may be one of those rare crossovers thatyou don't necessarily have to be a fan of the properties,  He-Man and Thundercats, to enjoy because its just a damn good comic book at this point.   

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
He-Man / Thunder Cats #4

Jan 18, 2017

This “silly” crossover, between two 80's TV/toy properties,continues to be an enjoyable story and is entering into the territory of beingbetter than it has any business to be. Even if your aren't a fan of the He-Manor Thunder Cat lines there is no denying the art is incredibly pleasing to lookat making this comic well worth its cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Overall, when going into this crossover, you have to askyourself a few questions. Do you enjoy the characters in this comic book? Are you in the mood for a little bit of over thetop, crazy, crossover fun? If your answers are "yes" to these questions thenthis title is for you even if you may think you're too old for the likes of thePower Rangers. Tom Taylor, a WeirdScience favorite, and Steven Byrne have established a shocking tone, to go withan interesting premise in the first issue, and all the characters together earlyto make it a crossover I want to read going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prowler #3

Jan 2, 2017

Overall this is an entertaining action filled romp thatshould hold the attention of people reading the Clone Conspiracy event.  

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Man/Deadpool #13

Jan 16, 2017

Overall this was an entertaining issue of Spider-Man/Deadpool that provides plenty of jokes and gags that hit the mark, while the art on the title continues to be something to follow, and a worthy selling point. However we have a Peter Parker/Spider-Man in this series making decisions that feels very out of place,and although I understand it's only part of his story, and crisis he's going through, I don't buy they're decisions he'd ever consider making from years of reading the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Clone Conspiracy #3

Dec 12, 2016

This is an event story after all so it isn't perfect by anymeans but the plot elements are doing enough to keep me on the edge of my seatand I'm excited to see what, or who in this case, is around each corner. Thingswill be coming to a roaring conclusion in the coming months and I can't imaginehow all this will wrap up because after the reveals this issue I'm out ofguesses of whose left.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #9

Jan 9, 2017

Bits and Pieces  Please forgo all your judgements and preconceptions you haveabout this character/title. Just spend a little money and I guarantee you'llhave yourself a good little bit fun because there's a ton to enjoy here in thisbook.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More