Brandon Guerrero's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 11
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) Annual #1

Nov 24, 2016

A diverse collaborative team comes together to offer us three distinctly creative stories of Spider-man around the world. Each story offers a nice look into different parts of the Spiderman universe, which comes beautifully together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

A long awaited team-up with some overall positive results as we see Kara and Barbara build a potential friendship. Larson and Ayala's writing for each story builds towards a consistent theme of the importance of friendship and support.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 15, 2017

Bennett and Tynion IV give us a beautifully crafted start to the mysterious past of Batwoman. Combine this with Epting's eloquent art and we have a perfect issue that leaves so many questions left to be answered.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Beowulf #1

Dec 14, 2016

One can tell how much of Garca and Rubn's passion is put into this narrative. It is as though they filled the pages with their own blood. I'm honestly not sure if another visual translation of Beowulf can come as close to bringing this tale to life as theirs has. It's dark, gross, and messy just like we'd want it to be. It builds a quintessential end to the saga that is Beowulf's heroics. One can hope that they'll continue to produce more epic and true works like they did with BEOWULF.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #5

Mar 15, 2017

The combination of Gay's writing and Martinez's artwork brings a story that highlights the multiple forms of feminine strength. It creates a fluid story that shows a true relationship and the struggles to keep it alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
God Country #1

Jan 23, 2017

Criticism aside, I look forward to learning more about the mythos of this comic, because it has already started in a grandiose way. Image may have another Goliath-level series on its hands because GOD COUNTRY is off to a phenomenal start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Harbinger: Renegade #1

Nov 16, 2016

How will they deal with both Harada and the new threat? What new abilities do you think we'll see? Comment below with your thoughts!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Hawkeye (2016) #1

Dec 13, 2016

Kate Bishop gets her own sassy, muscular ab-filled solo comic. Thompson and Romero create a fun look into the beginning of Kate's career in private investigating while she also manages to fight crime on the side.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Royals #1

Apr 5, 2017

What would happen if the Inhumans's Royal Family were to go on a epic journey into space? This is the question that Ewing and Meyers try to answer for us. With their suave artwork and intense narrative, we're giving a story that holds up well with the level of power it has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Superman (2016) Annual #1

Dec 1, 2016

What do you think about the inclusion of characters who aren't really utilized to their potential, like that of Swamp Thing? Are there any other characters in the DC canon that you'd like to see appear in SUPERMAN? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Who Killed Kurt Cobain? #1

Nov 9, 2016

Not only do I recommend that all fans of Nirvana check out this graphic novel, but I believe they should do so while listening to the entire Nirvana discography. It will take you on a journey through the distressed mind of one of music's most troubled artists.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More