Brent Jackson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 98
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman / TMNT Adventures #1

Nov 10, 2016

Batman Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1 is another great team up mini series from IDW comics and DC comics. This time they bring together two animated universes and knock it out of the park. This is a great all ages book! Older fans of the Batman Adventure comics or Batman the Animated series will love revisiting the style and characters of that universe, while younger fans of the most recent TMNT animated series and comic series from Nickelodeon will be right at home with these Turtles. Writer Matthew K. Manning does a great job with combining these universes and making sure fans of either one are not lost or confused and the art team knocks it out of the park with great style! While it doesn't break the mold, it's a fun book that everyone can enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Batman / TMNT Adventures #2

Dec 14, 2016

Overall Batman/TMNT Adventures #2 is as good as a set up issue can be. We get the usually hero's meet up hero's fight trope, which if I had not seen in the previous Mini series of Batman/TMNT mini series might have been a little more interesting. It was still fun to see these versions of the characters going at it and it has some geniunely funny jokes in it! This book is still a lot of fun and is a great all ages book that comics desperately need. Besides a little hiccup the art on a few pages, it still looks good and does a great job o meshing together two animated stylings. Now that the set up is over we can get into the meat of the series with issue #3 and that has me excited!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Curse Words #1

Jan 19, 2017

Curse Words #1 is a great first issue that builds a very interesting character in the Wizord that readers will be eager to follow up with to find out his true intentions. Soul and Browne make a fantastic team and are some of the most dynamic story tellers in the business. With Boyd and Parkinson complimenting on colors Curse Words becomes a vibrant book that emanatesan energy that makes this comic stand apart from everything else on the shelves. Soule feels like he is spreading his wings in this series and really creating something different and exciting. The art will have any comic fan excited just to flip through the pages. Curse Words looks like it is going to be another hit series and you don't want to miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dead Inside #1

Dec 21, 2016

Conclusion: Dead Inside #1 is a great crime mystery story and has a great lead character. John Arcudi has started a great mystery in one issue and has given us some interesting questions to be answered. It is too bad the art is not as good as the story. It really pulls the reader out of the realism of the book and diminishes the overall story. If you like a good crime mystery Dead Inside is right up your alley, even with the art issues the mystery has me on board at least for the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Doc Savage: Ring Of Fire #1

Mar 27, 2017

Having never read any Doc Savagebooks before, I was a little hesitant going into this issue. The creative team does a great job of introducing all the characters and players in this first issue while also moving the story along and not bogging down the reader with an information dump. Doc Savage: The Ring of Fire #1 is a great start to an exciting adventure comic that is bound with action and mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Ether #1

Nov 16, 2016

Conclusion: Ether #1 is a great set up issue to what seems to be an intriguing fantasy mystery story! Boone Dias a scientist that seems to have all the answers to Ether's magical dilemmas and he is on another “magical” mystery case. Will he be able to solve this one and what exactly happened to him and his life on Earth? Writer Matt Kindt is weaving a fantastic tale combining a wonderful fantasy mystery with a splash of comedic storytelling. David Rubin's art sets this book apart from being lost in all the other Earth/Fantasy realms stories coming out in comics. Making Ether #1 feel like a Dr. Seuss/ Disney book written for adults seems like it could be a recipe for success! Ether #1 is fun, entertaining and emotional; it is a great first issue that will have the reader coming back for #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Ether #2

Dec 22, 2016

Conclusion: Ether #2 is a great continuation of this mini series! The second issue really expands on this world and it's characters. Matt Kindt and David Rubn have woven a great fantasy mystery that still has a lot of questions to be answered. Boone is a great scientist but his life on Earth seems to be in shambles, what happened? Does Science have all the answers for Boone Dias? The Ether may never be the same again after this mystery is solved! Find out what kind of trouble Boone and Glum get into and find some answers to some questions ,but get ready to have many more questions with Ether #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether #3

Jan 24, 2017

Ether #3 is a strong midpoint to this limited series (only two issues remaining) and digs deep into the mysteries that have been set up. Matt Kindt and David Rubin have developed some wonderful characters with Boone Dias and Glum. They have fleshed out both characters and after the first two issues, the readers are invested in them. Ether #3 pulls together great mystery, action, comedy and drama all in one issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Ether #4

Feb 15, 2017

Ether only has one more issue to go and after this issue it is going to be very exciting to see what Kindt and Rubin have in store for the final issue. So many questions are raised in Ether #4, but I really don't want to spoil them, it's worth this series for yourself. Kindt and Rubin continue just to be a fantastic creative team and are really bringing their "A" game toEther. Great story and fantastic art Ether has been fantastic read so far and we will see next month what is really going on with Boone Dias and the truth about the Ether world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether #5

Mar 17, 2017

Ether #5 is a very satisfying ending to this first story arc. It givers some conclusions to the mystery we have been following but opens up a whole new can of worms by the end of the issue. Kindt has quietly woven a tale of how addiction in anyway can affect a person and their family, he has told a heartbreaking story of Boone's lost family that will stick with the reader. Kindt seems to have quietly woven this addiction story line in as we tend to get caught up in the greater mysteries of the Ether and all of its "magic" and fantastical creatures that inhabit its realm. Kindt does not let us forget that he does/did have a family once and going to the Ether has destroyed that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #1

Mar 1, 2017

Extremity #1 is a great start to this series, this first issue could honestly work well as a one shot story. The story and art are full of emotion from creator Daniel Warren Johnson confronting his own fears through the lenses of this otherworldly tale. The post-apocalyptic alien world is a visual feast for the eyes and gives a good setting for the story to unfold. Extremity #1 is an emotional story of losing what defines you and how that affects your life and how do you press on. Johnson does feed this first issue with emotion and intrigue giving the reader questions to ask themselves about what actually defines yourself and what happens when that changes?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Extremity #2

Apr 5, 2017

Extremity #2not only continues and moves the story along from issue #1 but greatly expands on the world and characters that inhabit this universe. Daniel Warren Johnson continues to impress with his story telling abilities combining his detailed art styling with his emotional writing/scriptingabilities to make Extremitya gripping story that attaches to the reader's psyche. Extremity is off to a great start with wonderful character work and beautiful art throughout the first two issues this is turning out to be must read series for 2017!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Extremity #3

May 3, 2017

Extremity has become one of if not the best comic books on the shelves right now! With it's deeply emotional story telling and art that jumps off the page it is something to be marveled at. Extremity #3 seals the deal on this on this point, it not only continues the fantastic story of dealing with you “inner demons” and confronting the darkness in your life , but also is fun and energetic at the same time. Extremity should be on you pull list and if it is not rectify that situation right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
FCBD 2017: TMNT: Prelude To Dimension X #1

May 5, 2017

Overall this is a great issue for not only for fans of the series but new readers alike, you get the main ongoing narrative pushed along, a fun action story that has the turtles battling a new foe and a nice cliffhanger that will have new and old readers alike clamoring to pick up the next issue to follow the TMNT gang on their new mission.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.I. Joe (2016) #1

Dec 28, 2016

GI Joe #1 is a good introduction into this new Hasbro centered universe IDW has created. Now, I am not saying if you are not familiar with any of these books you won't be a little confused (I was confused by a few pointsand I have no clue what an Action Man is?). But overall, it is a good comic and it was one of our 5 comics not to miss this week. The art has some good "energy" to it and its style fits this team of Joe's. While I would like to see some more details in character faces and backgrounds, it has a great action packed style to it that brings some great energy to this book. While it may take a few more issues to totally get me invested, this is a good start so Yo Joe! For now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Ghost Rider (2016) #2

Dec 30, 2016

This new Ghost Rider series is starting right off the bat getting Robbie Reyes into the larger Marvel Universe. With The Hulk and Wolverine already making appearances Robbie Reyes is becoming a house hold name (being featured on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D doesn't hurt either). Felipe Smith continues to do a fantastic job with this new iteration of Ghost Rider by giving him some great emotional depth. With some dynamic art work thrown in the mix and a fun comic book super hero team up coming our way, you should definitely jump in the "Hell Charger" and go for a ride with Ghost Rider #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
God Country #1

Jan 11, 2017

God Country #1 is a fantastic first issue, the creative team puts together a fantastic story with a great hook to it. Personally, I really like that it's tackling the issue of Alzheimer's/dementia and the strain it not only places on the person afflicted with that disease but also the strain it puts on their family members as well. It's something you do not see talked about very often and rarely in the comic book medium and it's good to have stories like this out there that shine some light on it. The set up of the issue being told as a story passed down from generations is great and give it a feel of an old west folk tale that makes the book that more enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
God Country #2

Feb 15, 2017

I am still loving this series especially how it is covering an issue like Alzheimer's while also bringing in a crazy fantasy story to boot. Shaw is building a wonderful story making Emmett a very poignant character. The scenes of an old man walking and talking with a god in the Texas landscape or both funny in a since and oddly heart breaking in God Country #2. Seeing Emmett so joyful in remembering something so simple as his name is heart breaking. It makes perfect since why he would not want to give up Valofax. The bigger question is what is that going to mean for his family and maybe the fate of earth itself? God Country #2is not only a great fantasy storybut a great story about family and disease and how that affects everything around you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
God Country #3

Mar 17, 2017

By the end of this issue, you will be dying to read the next installment in the series. God Country continues to impress with great storytelling and beautiful art that mesmerizes the reader. The creative team has made this series a must read. The tale of a man with Alzheimer's and is family struggles are just as compelling as a "god sword" battling demons and that is what makes God Country such a great comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
God Country #4

Apr 19, 2017

God Country #4 continues to impress with fantastic storytelling and a creative team that is firing on all cylinders. By the end of this issue, Emmett must confront that now wielding Valofax is truly affecting his family and putting them in great danger, he can't stand for that. War has come to Texas and Emmett Quinlan wants to let the gods know that now he is ready for battle! God Country is simply put and amazing book that shows comic books at its best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
God Country #5

May 17, 2017

Issue #5 of God Country delivers on the all out war from the previous issue and Emmett has to decision to make and what is best for his family. The creative team on God Country has truly delivered an epic story thus far and with only one more issue to go, it will interesting where they take the Quinlan family and if they can stick the proverbial landing in concluding this series. Everything comes to a head and with one more issue to go Texas will never be the same again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #2

Oct 5, 2016

Overall,Godzilla Rage Across Time #2 is not a bad book, however, it fails to deliver at the end. We get a good story of Godzilla fighting the gods of ancient Greece, but the art fails to deliver the epic feel it needs to hold the book up. While Godzilla fans will be happy to see him raging against the gods, I can't really see a casual reader wanting to go on to the next issue with no plot or story point to really hold onto.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #3

Oct 19, 2016

Overall, this issue was disappointing. The first issue at least tried something different with the art, while these past two issues have just been bland and un-exciting which is a sin for a Godzilla book. Rage Across Time's story is not going to shock or amaze anybody so the art should be something that is really going to grab the reader and this just does not do that. There is really nothing here to excite the reader or have them clamoring for the next issue. Inherently that is the problem with a rotating creative team it's "like a box of chocolates you never know what you're going to get", well here is hoping issue #4 and #5 bring the rage back to this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #4

Nov 18, 2016

Overall this is probably the second best issue of this mini series (the first issue still being the best overall), while issues #2 and #3 failed to deliver any excitement, at least issue #4 had a fun story and some nice art to look at. It is still not the greatest thing in the world, there is still no emotional connection to this comic or story line. These books really need to have big battles and set pieces to make it grab readers and keep them engaged; for the most part this issue does that. From the looks of it issue #5 should give us want we want from this series, Godzilla all out brawling with other Monsters/Dinosaurs. If you are not going to give any kind of emotional connection with a through story line or main protagonists you got to have these big set pieces and battles to have something for the reader to grasp onto. I am actually excited for issue #5 and hope it delivers!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #5

Nov 23, 2016

Conclusion: Overall all issue #5 delivers what the title of this mini serieshas promised all along an all out epic battle of Godzilla in a different time period! The creative team does a good job of capturingthis and delivering that. Issue #1 did deliver some fantastic art and story, but the other issues( #2, #3, #4) failed to deliver anything too exciting. If you are looking for a Godzilla book with a great story line and epic monster battles just go buy the collection of Godzilla: Half Century Warand you won't be disappointed. If you are looking for a single issue that has almost all of Godzilla's baddies and dinosaurs with some total weirdness sprinkled in then Godzilla Rage Across Time #5willat least make you smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Grass Kings #1

Mar 8, 2017

The Grass Kingdom is a refuge for people wanting to live for themselves. This community is built upon people wanting to live apart from society and have a place under their own control. Three brothers rule the Grass Kingdom and control who comes into their refuge. When Bruce one of the three brothers is escorting a man out of town many questions are raised. Why is this land ruled deferentially, how come they can control who comes in and are they possibly harvesting a killer?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Grass Kings #2

Apr 13, 2017

Grass Kings #2 sets the story of this series in full motion now that the series set up in issue #1 is done. We get some great character information and it leaves off with a fantastic cliffhanger. Kindt writes great emotional dialogue and has scripted a great family drama/mystery story that grips the reader's mind. Jenkins continues to give the series an almost "melancholy" feel with his art style. This issue of Grass Kings continues the mystery of "The Grass Kingdom", Kindt weaves drama and mystery together in a Twin Peaksesque town.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Grass Kings #3

May 10, 2017

Matt Kindt and Tyler Jenkins prove to be a great creative team and keep delivering a fantastic story in Grass Kings. Questions are still left unanswered but in issue #3 we do start to get an inkling of why Sheriff Humbert wants in The Grass Kingdom and get some more information about the possible serial killer in the midst. The introduction of Maria into the Grass Kingdom and why she is there introduces nothing but trouble for Richard and his brothers. It has never been easy to rule the Grass Kingdom and things just got a lot more complicated for the Grass Kings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Head Lopper #5

Mar 14, 2017

Everyone's favorite warrior is back for another adventure and it does not take long for the heads to start flying! Head Lopper is back for another adventure! He is joined by his fellow warriors Zhaania Kota K and her apprentice XHO. Oh yes and Agatha is still hanging with Head Lopper making snippy comments. Zhaania has a score to settle and the battle begins at the Crimson Tower. Beast will be battled, the adventure will be had and yes heads will be lopped!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 23, 2017

Iron Fist #1 is a great entry into a new Iron Fist comic series and from the end of the first issue, it looks like it is going to be a long brutal road for Danny to get his power back. This first issue sets up the series nicely and has the reader looking forward to what new warriors Danny is going to meet in the future. If you Just try not to worry about the continuity or the larger marvel universe then Iron Fist #1 excels in putting together a fantastic start to a new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Iron Fist (2017) #2

Apr 6, 2017

Maybe it is because I have been watching old Kung-Fu movies on Netflix recently or I have been listening to too much Wu-Tang Clan but this issue is exactly what I am looking for right now in an Iron Fist book. We get a great classic set up of Danny having to battle his way through seven different masters of Kung-Fu each with their own style, design, and name, much like the classic films Five Deadly Venoms (Five Venoms), The Mystery of Chess Boxing, and The Five Elements of Ninjas, along with some other great Kung-Fu movie tropes, it is just fantastic having this series embrace those roots.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Iron Fist (2017) #3

May 5, 2017

With each issue of Iron Fist, the series keeps getting better and better. Each introduction of a new master leaves the reader with intrigue and questions of what they bring to the fight and how or if Danny will be able to defeat them. Brisson also is creatinga great story behind the Trial of the Seven Masters that has double crossings and other sneaky business going behind the scenes of the battles. The art team is just fantastic and bring these brutal fight scenes to life. Iron Fist is definitely not a series to miss if you dig Bruce Lee or old Kung-Fu movies you will adore Iron Fist #3!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 8, 2017

Not being a big John Carter person this story has really piqued my interest. It is very intriguing with this new emperor and how our main protagonist is going to deal with what he is doing. The destruction and overtaking of Baroom is interesting, but the real story is going to be how John Carter and Dejah Thoris deal with theemotional aspect of who this new emperor is. I really like Sherman's art besides the lack of detail, but his "scratchy" style makes the story feel that more desperate and the area "war-torn". This is a great creative team and they are delivering a John Carter story that will peak anybody's interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
John Carter: The End #2

Mar 7, 2017

John Carter The End #2 is gaining steam as a nice mini-series in the "John Carter universe". With Brian Wood and Alex Cox driving a more emotional story by driving a wedge between Dejah and Carter and building the stakes with the possible extinction of Mars native race. Sherman's art styling brings the brutal action to life but lacks some finer details to fully engulf the story

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
John Carter: The End #3

Apr 11, 2017

The story in this issue is exceptionally well done. It has great action and political intrigue that will have you guessing even after the final page, setting up the next issue perfectly. It is too bad the art does not follow such a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
John Carter: The End #4

May 10, 2017

Issue #4 of John Carter The End continues to be a fantastic entry into Dynamites John Carter comic series. With great political intrigue and a mystery that keeps unfolding it will definitely have readers guessing until the end. The art team really picks up steam in this issue and does probably their best work of the series. Sherman does a great job of getting emotion out of his characters while O'Halloran shows off his coloring skills effectively using some more brighter tones that really shine off the pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Judge Dredd: Deviations #1

Mar 22, 2017

Howl of the Wolf is a fantastic one shot Deviation book that is a lot of fun and really is a high point for IDW's Deviation line. McCrea does a great job of making the book feel "serious" while all along having that "wink" and "nudge" throughout the story that it is obviously not taking itself too seriously. If you are a fan of Judge Dredd, werewolves or just all around fun comics you are not going to be disappointed. IDW is also releasing a reprint the original story line Cry of the Werewolf available the same day as this issue so readers and get a double dose of "Wolf Dredd" action, don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Jughead: The Hunger (One Shot) #1

Mar 30, 2017

Jughead: The Hungeris a howling good time (sorry, had to do that). With great pacing, twist and turns along with some beautiful art this is a fantastic one-shot story from beginning to end. It is almost sad that this is only a one-shot with all the great stuff in this issue I could definitely could have seen this stretched out into another issue or two. That being said it works very well as a single story that has a great beginning, middle and an ending that leaves the door open for the reader's mind to wander. The horror line of Archie Comics continues to impress and this is another entry readers are not going to want to miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Klaus & The Witch Of Winter (One Shot) #1

Dec 21, 2016

Conclusion: Klaus and the Winter Witch is a fantastic one shot back into the world of Klaus.Grant Morrison and Dan Mora come back together just in time to save the Yuletide for everyone. You will want to read the first collection of Klaus to get the full effect of this book and really get into the story. If you like your Santa with a little edge to him while still being jolly and bringing joy to children all over the world and/or you like Christmas specials then there is no reason not to pick up Klaus and the Winter Witch for a fun holiday read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Mayday (2016) #1

Nov 2, 2016

Mayday #1 is a tale of Cold-War espionage, spies, murder and a traverse through 1970's America. The adding of a music to play while reading scenes will definitely set this book apart and give a different reading experience. While the plotcan be a little muddled and moves quickly, with four more issues to go we should be able to get to know the characters more and really start to be invested in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #8

Oct 27, 2016

The creative team is still doing a fantastic job on this Power Rangers book. They are taking the original "90's" rangers and making them there own. They do a fantastic job of making this universe serious but not so dark and gritty that it forgets it's campiertv show roots. I cannot see fans of the Power Rangersnot liking this book. Nostalgia can only hold a book up for so long, if the creative team wasn't doing such a fantastic job this book would be cancelled by now, I for one am looking forward to where they take these characters in future issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #9

Dec 2, 2016

Conclusion: Mighty Morphin Power Rangers continues to be a great read that goes beyond what the original show ever was. I enjoy where the story line is going and how it is breaking away from the tv show. I would like a little more downtime with the characters so they could be fleshed out more, but with so few pages and a back up story thrown in a can see where this is hard to do. MMPR is a fun book that will draw readers in just for nostalgia purposes but the story and art will keep them coming back because its an all around good comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #10

Dec 28, 2016

This is a really fun off-shoot issue of the main story and it gives some great development of my favorite Ranger Billy (I think this storyline may continue into the next issue). The only problem is that the previous issue followed the main ongoing story and left us with a big cliff hanger of a new Ranger/alternate dimension being introduced. Going to that to this story is a little weird. I think MMPR might benefit from how IDW's Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles will have "micro-series" that do off shoot stories like this. I know they are doing something like that with Mighty Morphin Power Rangers: Pink,this might have benefited more being in something like that instead of on the main book. Other than that mild complaint it was a good issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Misfit City #1

May 10, 2017

Misfit City #1 is just a great first issue and a great start to what seems like an incredible adventure series. With great characters that are well established right off the bat, an exciting story with adventure and mystery, and a great art team it is hard to come up with a reason, not to at least check out Misfit City #1. This is a great series especially for younger female readers that are having trouble finding comics for themselves. You not only get a great cast of widely diverse female charactersbut some great female creators on this series also that are getting a chance to show off some immense talent. All that to the side the main thing is that Misfit City #1 is an all around great comic that will have readers clamoring for more, I for one wish this had been a double-sized first issue to get more of this wonderful story into my brain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Moonshine #2

Nov 18, 2016

Moonshine #2 is a great book if you are looking for a good horror read. I really enjoy a good werewolf story whether it be a book, movie or whatever type of media and it can be an easy one to screw up. The werewolf design is good by my standards, it has a that monster look you need for a werewolf story (I have wasted a lot of my life thinking about werewolves). I do kind of wish they would have held off on showing the full werewolf maybe for another issue. I enjoyed how we were just getting glimpses of it. I am interested to see were Lou goes from the end of this issue and how this book will continue to play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Moonshine #3

Dec 15, 2016

Conclusion: Overall Moonshine#3 is a good crime comic book, it has a great story plot with a noir feel to it. I really don't know if the whole “werewolf” part is even necessary and that's coming from a guy who really likes werewolves! This book would be perfectly fine leaving that part out and would make a great just straight crime story. Maybe the whole Wolf-Man thing will play a bigger role as more of the mystery unfolds. This is still a very interesting comic and still has a lot to unravel in its story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moonshine #4

Jan 15, 2017

Moonshine #4 boast some fantastic art from Eduardo Risso that really makes the issuecome alive in a noir/horror vibe that keeps the reader's eyes entranced. The mystery continues as Azzarello reveals little by little about Lou's past and what is going on in the Holt family. While the story is good it still runs the risk ofbecoming stale if we don't get some big reveals in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Moonshine #5

Feb 7, 2017

Moonshine #5 has picked up its pace and things are coming to a head with the next issue. Lou's bosses have had enough of the Holt family and realize they are not going to give up their moonshine without a fight and they are bringing some heavy artillery to the mountain town. Moonshine went from being a little bit dull after that last issue to completely upping the stakes in issue #5 and with the combination of Eduardo's art styling, I am really looking forward to the battle that is coming to ahead in the next issue. If you like noir, pulp, crime, mystery, and werewolves Moonshine has what you are looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Moonshine #6

Mar 29, 2017

Moonshine #6 is a great end to the first story arc. We get a great battle between the Holt's and the New York gangsters and finally get to see the werewolf unleashed in all its glory. The issue also superbly sets up the next arc introducing some new characters and building tension between those that we have come to known. Werewolves, gangsters, hillbillies and shootouts! Moonshine has exactly what you are looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Motor Crush #1

Dec 7, 2016

Conclusion: Batgirlcreative team fans can rest assured that Motor Crushis gearing up to be another hit series.Motor Crush #1feels like a great opening to a classic 1980's dystopian future typemovie! With some great character work and designsMotor Crush will have the reader locked in. While the book runs at a break neck pace and some things are left in the dust, overall Motor Crush #1is a fun comic that ignites the imagination.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Motor Crush #2

Jan 15, 2017

Conclusion:Motor Crush #2 is a fun book that nails the action scenes and the creators have built a really interesting vibrant world, where motorcycle racing rules the streets. The colors are very eye catching and enhance the feel of the worldand the character designs are fantastic, they really set the book apart. The story still needs that catch to keep the reader coming back. This being only the second issue it still has time to get that. Only other gripe is I don't really get the big reveal at then end, I won't spoil it but she wears a clear pink face mask and drives the same bike and wears the same clothes in all of her races so are people not supposed to know who Domino Swift is?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Motor Crush #3

Feb 8, 2017

Motor Crush #3 continues Domino Swift's downward spiral attempting to live a double life. With her addiction to "crush" starting to affect her pro racing career will she be able to keep it together to save her family and herself? I like the idea of Motor Crush and it has some really great characters and concepts, but it is just moving a little bit too fast (I know that is weird to say about a book that is about motorcycle racing). The characters need a little bit of time to settle down and maybe have a one-shot issue that does not follow the main story line. The art team still does a wonderful job and their colors pop off the page along with their fantastic character designs, the art still remains the main catch for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Namesake #1

Nov 9, 2016

Conclusion: I hate to say it but this just is not a good book. With the very confusing concept and layout it just makes it tough to get through. It feels like the same fantasy wheel house of books like Rebornand Seven to Eternity,but where this book fails they shine. Those two books are also fantasy worlds that throw you into the mix but you don't feel lost or confused with those books like I did with Namesake. The writers and artist in those books do a much better job of bringing the reader into this strange world and not letting them get too lost in all the differences and concepts. For a four issue mini series Namesake has already floundered out with being an confusing first issue and what could be a promising story ends up dull and uninteresting. I feel like this could be a great concept but it is just very poorly executed in story and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Namwolf #1

Apr 28, 2017

Namwolf #1 is overall a fun read, it has a quiet catchy name and hook of a werewolf in Vietnam (the tag line feels a lotlike the movie Wolf Cop) the name and basic story plot is what draws the reader in. The story is intriguing and flows as a good general war story with a werewolf twist. The art is overall good but when you are publishing a werewolf story in a visual medium it is going to come down to what that creature looks like and that is where Namwolf falters with a lackluster beast.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Night Owl Society #1

Apr 25, 2017

Night Owl Society #1 is a good first issue if a little bit rushed. The team up story of high school kids fighting a mob boss seems like it is going to be a lot of fun and with the ending to this first issue, things are definitely going to get a little hairier. It would be nice if this could have been stretched to a four or five issue mini series instead of three, to let the story and characters breathe a little bit more in this first issue. That being said it is a solid first issue, but the story feels like it had a lot more possibilities given some breathing room.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Night Owl Society #2

May 18, 2017

Night Owl Society #2 is a good continuation of this four part min series. Venhaus is telling a good story and it is great to see these different people band together and become friends, Bak does some great more emotional shot in this issue and really gets the characters feelings off the page. The story is just moving a little to fast and the art needs a little more refining to make this series into something special. That being said Venhaus has left this issue with a fantastic cliffhanger that will definitely have me coming back for issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Occupy Avengers #2

Dec 23, 2016

Conclusion: Overall, after the first two issues I am on board with Occupy Avengers. While I am not completely on-board with the art, David F. Walker is doing some fantastic work with this book and talking about some real world issues. If you are looking for a “super hero” book with some heart that's also knows how to have a fun time then join up with Occupy Avengers and take back justice!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Occupy Avengers #3

Jan 15, 2017

Occupy Avengers #3 is another great entry into this series. Including Nighthawk and Nightshade on the team really brings in a fun dynamic, especially with the tension of not so serious Clint Barton and the overly serious Nighthawk. The art team has changed this reviewers mind and they do some really awesome panel layouts that are just amazing to look at. Occupy Avengers is a great more "down to earth" superhero story and it's great to see hero's fighting for the everyday people. The whole creative team is firingon all cylinders and this is a Marvel book that should not be overlooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

I am not really sure if anybody at all was clamoring for a Planet of the Apes Green Lantern crossover, but we got one and the first issue is actually pretty good(well there was also that Green Lantern/Star Trek crossover also so). Now I am not a fan of either series but this actually had me very interested just as a weird crossover. Thompson and Jordan are making a very good crossover of two very unrelated properties and they are taking their time to make it (at least for the first issue) not only fun but "logical" (well comic book logic). As weird as it is to say I am very much looking forward to the next issue to see what happens next. That final page was classic and will make just about anybody at least crack a smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) Annual #1

Dec 22, 2016

This is a great annual! I generally like these "one and done" stories for annuals. You don't really have to worry about the ongoing narrative, you can just jump in and get a satisfying story from beginning to end. Power Man and Iron Fist is one of the most well-written thought-provoking, fun books on the stands right now. This annual could have just been a "phone it in" story but this creative teamreally gave the fans something very enjoyable and a fantastic read! It is a "Sweet Christmas" read indeed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Reborn #1

Oct 15, 2016

I had actually forgot this book was coming out this week, so this was just a real nice surprise! Mark Millar has been releasing some great material for the past few years that have been surprisingly really emotional and shying away from his more "violent" past. Rebornis combining those two into a wild violent/emotional ride. Co creator and artist of Reborn Greg Capullo shows why he is one of the best in the business and does not disappoint. In one issueMark Millar and Greg Capullo have createdsprawling scifi/fantasy epic andworld with with sprawling battles and mythical/alien creatureswhile keeping the "human" emotions intact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Reborn #2

Nov 17, 2016

Reborn is turning into a fun fantasy adventure with plenty of twist and turns ahead. Greg Capullo and Mark Millar have created wonderful world that feels alive and vibrant. The only complaint I would have would be that this current issue and issue #1 both are really set up issues. I think it would have served the book better overall if issue #1 would have been and over-sized issue to start with, but that is the only flaw I could see. The basic world and concept are set up and Bonnie is off on her adventure and I am very muchlooking forward to what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reborn #3

Dec 15, 2016

Conclusion: Reborn is still a great read form month to month. While this issue was not as tight as the previous two, it still is a great book! Reborn has a very distinctive style and flair to it that sets it apart from other scifi/fantasy books out on the shelves right now. It's always great to pop open an issue and see what wonderful/creepy creatures the creators have come up with for each issue! I don't know where things will go after this issue but it is definitely going to be a wild ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Red Dog #2

Jan 10, 2017

Conclusion:Issue #1 of Red Dog was a great introduction to this limited series (six issues) and gave the reader a little bit of info into Kyle's life. In issue #2 we really get some great insight into Kyle and his struggles with his family life. We also get some great interactions between Kyle, his uncle, Q and some new friends. Red Dog #2 is just a really fun issue. Red Dog looks like it is going to be a great six issue series that's going to give the reader a great story with some wonderful characters. If you want a sci-fi story that's not all doom and gloom pick up Red Dog,I guarantee you will have a smile on your face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #1

Apr 20, 2017

Redneck is a good first issue, it sets up the story well and by then end of the issue the reader is well versed in this world and where the characters stand. It is hard to tell where the story will go from here. Obviously, there is going to be some retaliation and more blood spilled, but Cates leaves the reader with some deeper mysteries about the Bowman's vampire heritage and exactly why the Landry's have been feuding with them throughout the years. The art is good, especially the scenery and background details, but the more "cartoony" proportions of the characters sometimes throw off the "vibe" of the first issue. Overall Redneck #1 is a good start o a new series and delivers a tale of family feuds and how one bad night and make for a whole mess of trouble.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Savage #1

Dec 1, 2016

Conclusion: Savage #1 is a great book for any comic book reader to dive into. If you have never read a Valiant book it won't matter; it really has no connections to the overall universe at this time. Being one of four issues Moore does a great job of setting up the story and characters with this first issue and will have the readers coming back for more! The art team really brings the name Savage to life, fitting LaRosa's rough styling with Henry's more clean style is a great contrast for the story. I was not expecting much of Savage #1 but I am now on board and ready for more (as it seems everyone else is to).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage #3

Jan 25, 2017

It is really hard for this reviewer to put his finger on just what is making Savage such a compelling read. It is, in all fairness a basic story, but it just oozes this dramatic feel to it. Maybe it is the flash-forward and flashback set up with the contrasting art that makes Savage such a good read or it could be the fascination of seeing this baby/young child turn into a vicious beast of a killer that strikes fear into men. Whatever it is this creative team has it.Savageis a must read. With only one more issue to go, it will be interesting to see where this book goes for here and how exactly Savage fits into the larger Valiant Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Seven to Eternity #2

Oct 26, 2016

This is another great entry for this series, I liked the first issue but the second issue makes this a must read! Remender is weaving a fantastic sci-fi tale that promises many twist and turns. WithOpea on art and Hollingsworth on colors it is a feast for the eyes! There is so much going on in this book and with the second issue plots and characters are starting to come together and it is going to be a very interesting ride. Why should you not listen to The god of Whispers offer well I will leave you with a quote from Adam's father from this issue "Once a man convinces himself that what he wants is what he needs, well, once you do that taking the path to damnation can feel like a justifiable position".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Seven to Eternity #3

Nov 30, 2016

Seven to Eternity #3 has officially made me invested in this story and has me hooked. The creative team has been fantastic and are setting the bar high for this series. By the end of the issue we are set up for the adventure at hand and find the reason why the book is titled Seven to Eternity. You can't ask for much more from a comic than what Remneder, Opea and Hollingsworth are delivering. If you like Sci-fi/ fantasy adventure then hop on this book and enjoy the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven to Eternity #4

Dec 27, 2016

If you are not readingSeven To Eternity you need to fix that right away! It is a comic you are not going to want to miss. The creative team has put together a great story that keeps developing and is becoming so engrossing that I can't wait until the next issue comes out! This issue for me is the best so far, while the others have been extremely good, this is just about perfect. The story sticks with you and makes you think if Seven to Eternity was a Netflix series I would be binge watching from one episode to the next! I am glad it's not though because it gives the reader time to absorb the story completely and really think about what is going on. If this series keeps up how it is going now it will be a book that is talked about and revered for years to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Seven to Eternity #5

Apr 14, 2017

Seven to Eternity is what you get when some of the best current comic book creators collaborate together. The story is magnificently woven together and each issue brings new wonders and intrigue. It is compelling and keeps the reader involved, while still having characters that are very well crafted and feel real to the reader while being set in this futuristic fantasy world. The art duo of Opea and Hollingsworth is a dream come true, they collaborate so well with each other and each issue s a treat for the eyes of the reader. If you are not reading Seven to Eternity you definitely should be, buy the first trade and this issue and enjoy one of the best comics out right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 12, 2017

This book is a fantastic comic and a surprisingly good debut issue. This is an idea that could have been a disaster very easily, really does anybody want a dark, gritty, noir style crime Calvin and Hobbes story? Well, yes if it is done like this I do. The creators toe that line of being dark and serious but also still having some great fun with the concept of having an imaginary friend help you out through life. This really was a surprise and this reviewer was not expecting such a great issue. If you are looking for a new series to pick up do not let Spencer and Locke slip past your radar!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Supergirl (2016) #2

Oct 14, 2016

Conclusion: While overall this is not a bad issue, it just moves to fast for me. I would like to spend more time with Kara and adjusting to here family and school life. I would like for the Cyborg Superman story line to hold off and maybe have played more in the background for a few more issues while we get to know Kara. Ideally, I would like more stories with Kara and doing some "Supergirling" on the side before we jump straight into a big story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Supergirl (2016) #3

Nov 10, 2016

Overall I liked this issue more than the previous issue. Mainly sticking with Kara on Argo City really helped it feel not some "jumpy" and more contained. I still don't like going into this big Cyborg Superman storyline and wish we got more time with Kara dealing with school and family stuff while "Supergirling". Orlando really shines on his character work and I think given more time with Kara's more mundane aspects of living he could build a great world with thisbook! Maybe after this storyline is over Kara can get some down time and he can continue to explore that aspect of her life.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Swordquest #0

May 3, 2017

Swordquest #0 is a great introduction to a new series for only twenty-five cents! That is a hard price to beat and this issue is well worth the pick up to see if you are interested in the series. While not perfect this was a pleasant surprise, I was expecting our main character to be transported into a magical world or something more "comicbooky" to happen, what I got was a start to a very heart-wrenching story about a man about to die and trying to reconnect with his past. Go dig through your couch or look through the car and pull together 25 cents and pick up Swordquest #0 you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #62

Sep 23, 2016

IDW's TMNT ongoing series continues to impress, while it has stumbled a little in its past few issues #62 picks up and gets the series back into high gear. This book does not get nearly enough praise as it should for being so great for so long. With fantastic storytelling and a murderers row of great artist there is not much else you can ask for in a comic book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #63

Oct 12, 2016

Conclusion: As I stated earlier, in the first few issues of this arc I was not too keen on this story line but the past two issues have really picked up steam and are pushing the Turtle family in new surprising directions. The creative team on this book is doing a great job besides some few minor hiccups they have really put together something new and interesting turtle fans will not be expecting. The final page reveal will have turtle fans on edge and will definitely have you coming back for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #64

Nov 23, 2016

IDW ongoing TMNT series is an actual comic that when things happen that they actually have ramifications and affect the characters for the long term. This has been a great arc for the characters growth and changes of the characters, this will really affect the dynamic of the book going on. I am very excited to see what happens next and where we go from here!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #65

Dec 14, 2016

I have been a big fan of this book since it launched, but this just might be my favorite issue of it! It is just a fun Christmas time read. Minor spoiler there are no "action" scenes in this book but it does not matter one bit. The story and art are almost perfect, it's hard to do a review with out spoiling any of the great moments in this issue. If you are not even a fan of TMNT and have never read an issue I would still say just pick this up to get in the Christmas spirit. I might have got something in my eye at the ending also.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #66

Jan 25, 2017

TMNT Ongoing #66 is another great entry into this ongoing series. We get a great look into Alopex's character and what she has gone through being mind controlled by Kitsune. The art team of Campbell and Pattison is always a delight to have on this series and really makes these more "intimate" stories hit home. Alopex comes into focus and must literally learn to face her demons and figure out that just because she is a "loner" that certainly does not mean she is alone. The past few issues of this series have been great and I am definitely excited to see all of these characters continue to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #67

Feb 15, 2017

TMNT Ongoing #67 sets up a new story arc for the series as the Turtles are officially on their own without Master Splinter to help or guide them. Leonardo is learning what it truly means to be a leader and that teenagers are truly hard to deal with. The Earth Protection Force is back and action and wants to rid New York of its mutant problem. With a new way to remotely control mutants their first target is Slash and with him under their control, they are coming for the Mutanimals and the Turtles next! This is a good set up issue for the rest of the arc. There is a lot of dialogue and explaining of certain details that do bog down the flow of the story. The art continues to be spectacular, with a great cast of artist rotating in and out of this series. This looks to be another exciting arc in this series and now that the set-up is out of the way, it will be fun to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #69

May 3, 2017

This issue of TMNT Ongoing is a great entry into this story arc and really ramps up the tension between the Mutants and the EPF. A new light is shown upon Agent Bishop and gives an insight into his mind. Some of the Mutanimals are still trapped and Slash is still being mind controlled by Agent Bishop, so our gang still has their work cut out for them, but Mondo Gecko might have found something to turn the tide, the turtles might not like it but Old Hob will get his friends back by any means necessary. You are not going to want to miss this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #2

Oct 5, 2016

If you where worried that Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Universe would fall short of the main ongoing series than this issue should put that to rest. This is a fantastic issue that has great character moments, a strong story and will have readers clamoring for more. IDW's continues to put stellar talent on their TMNT books and this is a series any fan should not miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #3

Oct 27, 2016

Conclusion: I am really running out of things to say about this book and not repeating my self from my previous review. Paul Allor's writing on the main story is just great stuff and he is just great at developing characters. The art remains solid and is hard hitting when it needs to be and emotional when the script calls for it. Not to sound like a broken record but really the back up story with Leo is okay and all but really detracts from the main story and book itself. For $4.99 give me more pages of the main story or something other than Leo having some kind of fever dream or whatever is going on in it! Overall a great book, but the whole back up story is wearing out its welcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #4

Nov 30, 2016

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Universe #4 Conclusion:Overall the main story was very good, we got some new characters added to the TMNT mythos and some great character work. Allor gave the reader a great start to the TMNT Universeseries and set it up to be a fun addition to the ongoing a series. The back up story still boggles me and has started to drag the book down with the $4.99 price tag for those extra pages. With the start of issue #5 it seems we are going to get a new short story arc and a new writing/art team as Old Hob tries to recruit Leatherhead to the Mutanimals!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #5

Dec 21, 2016

Overall:TMNT Universe #5 is a good story and builds upon some loose threads left from the ongoing TMNT series and some of the mini/micro-series. I like the one and done story line and think that the next few issues may be like this. Following one or two characters on a little adventure and building upon some story lines from the main series. Hopefully, the art picks back up to what the standard has been set for this series as it continues on. For the first time, I can say I thoroughly enjoyed the backup story in this series and it was better than the main story! We finally have an answer to what was going on with Leonardo and it is great!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #6

Jan 19, 2017

Conclusion:This reviewer was not a big fan of the previous issue of this series, but this issue brings TMNT Universe back into good favor with me. The main story delivers a very eerie one shot story and digs deep to bring a villain that not many TMNT fans will be familiar with. The backup also starts an interesting story about the foot clan member that has the beginnings of a great tale. TMNT Universe continues to a great job in not only expanding IDW's TMNT universebut crafting great stories with its vast array of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #8

Mar 7, 2017

In TMNT Universe #8 Donatello has resurrected Metal Head but Metal Head is having trouble dealing with being "alive". Donnie tries to calm him by showing him the city but when Metal Head quickly becomes overwhelmed with "life" Donatello must seek help from his brothers and try and save his former body and friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #9

Apr 25, 2017

TMNT Universe #9 is a good entry into the IDW TMNT world. Campbell and Curnow introduce a new Pantheon god in the Toad Baron and also delve into Angel and Alopex's characters. Revel finishes off his four-part backup story in this issue and brings to light some great information and backstory to a character that has yet to have the spotlight shown onto her until now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
The Autumnlands #14

Jan 5, 2017

The Autumnlands #14 is the final installment in this arc and the book continues to impress and keep the reader interested in this ongoing fantasy, adventure mystery. The creative team is firing on all cylinders and continually put out a great story with each issue. After the events of this issue, the reader is left with more questions than answers. Will Dusty and Learoyd be able to continue on their quest to save The Autumnlands and will we find the truth about this world and its "Champion"?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Few #1

Jan 18, 2017

The Few #1 Conclusion: The Few #1is a fantastic first issue that sets up a new world and characters wonderfully all in one issue. The cliffhanger ending is perfect for this series and something that will have the reader coming back. Sherman's scratchy pencil styling and dark muted colors really set the tone and mood for the series. While Lewis plots an intriguing story that will have readers on their toes for the next few issues. While The Few does seem from a first glance a “basic” dystopian American future story, Lewis and Sherman prove that they have some tricks up their sleeves and that you need to pay attention to this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
The Few #3

Mar 23, 2017

The Few is turning into a fantastic mini-series about someone who has grown up being told one thing and believing one way and then something in their life dramatically changes that. What happens when your views or beliefs are changed, can a tiger truly change its stripes and how do you atone for the sins of your past self? Sean Lewis and Hayden Sherman continue to put together a truly engaging story about possible change and redemption and what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
The Lost Boys #1

Oct 14, 2016

Fans of The Lost Boys movie will enjoy this continuation of the characters. It has the right feel and tone from the movie. The ending of this first issue shakes up the status quo from the movie and promises us this next five issues are going to do more exploring of these characters and what this new threat brings. Fans of The Lost Boys will certainly enjoy this book and definitely (for now) serves as a worthy sequel to the cult classic movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Lost Boys #2

Nov 11, 2016

I was really excited about this series when it first was announced being a huge The Lost Boys movie fan. After the first issue just being okay, I was a little bit more skeptical about this series. Well, issue #2 sets those worries to rest. Tim Seeley really hit it out of the park after that first set up issue. He has the voice of these characters down and is doing a great job of exploring them and fleshing them out more. The art still serves the story well, while not groundbreaking it catches the characters and the world very well and makes you feel like you are back in "The Murder Capital of the World". This being a six issue mini series is perfect, it has given this team time to explore and set up things that could not have been done in four issues. I am not going to spoil anything but Tim Seeley knows what the fans want and he delivers. I still believe!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Lost Boys #3

Dec 15, 2016

Conclusion: Overall The Lost Boys #3 (of 6) is turning into a fun little "miniseries"/ sequel to the original movie. There are some fun, novel concepts that fans will truly enjoy. I am actually surprised this even happening! In that the movie has enough fans and that the small number of those fans that actually buy and read comics cannot be that much. So I can't imagine this is doing super well sale wise, if your are not a fan of the movie I really can't imagine someone just randomly reading this. All that said I am enjoying this book and it is a fun read month to month. No it doesn't blow me away, but it's fun and a nice escape, sometimes that's all I really want from a comic. So yes "I still Believe!"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #1

Feb 1, 2017

Conclusion:Will Eisenr's The Spirit in The Corpse Makers #1 (of 5) is a great start to a mystery story. Francesco Francavilla as the only creator on the book uses his writing and artistic abilities to make this series stand out. His great use of colors and pulp styling gives The Spirit a great creepy vibe to the story. The Spirit being the original pulp/noir superhero it has been long awaited for Francavilla to get a hold of him and in this first issue he does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
The X-Files X-Mas Special #2016

Dec 22, 2016

If you are a fan of The X-Files and what a Christmas story to read then this will be a great book for you. You don't have to worry about knowing what is happening in the ongoing comic series. As long as you are familiar with the show you can jump right in. This was a fun holiday one-shot that plays well within the X-Files universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Vampirella (2017) #0

Feb 1, 2017

Conclusion:Vampirella #0 is a very good issue. It has some great art and the story keeps the reader interested and engaged. I really still am not certain what exactly is happening in this issue besides the future plot and still have no clue who or what Vampirella is but Cornell did his job and has made me want to at least read the #1 issue when it is released to get some answers. This seems like a good start for a new Vampirella series and for me at least I plan to stick with it as long as the old skimpy costume does not rear its ugly head too often.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More