Brian A. Madrid's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 28
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Bitch Planet: Triple Feature #1

Jun 12, 2017

This is part one of a 3 part story in one comic book. As per the comic book's introduction, " In the future, not so far away, troublesome and offensive women are jettisoned to the off-world penitentiary commonly known as Bitch Planet. Mostly written by women, Bitch Planet offers 3 story where the women were mistreated and/or were ignored of their personal rights. More nonfiction than fantasy, these stories does draw a grim view of women in a modern society where the sexes are not always equal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 23, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Black Could. Being the first issue of the series, one can only hope Barrett will undoubtedly offer chances to see more of the dream world as the story unfolds. See life through the eyes of Barrett and her power will keep this series running for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Cloud #2

Jun 18, 2017

As always, Black Cloud #2 is a well thought out comic book to read. Zelda is a hustler of the streets. She needs food and shelter in order to survive in a cold city. Her ability to open a fantasy world and be engulfed in it is her bread money. Without it, she becomes barren. I will be very interesting to see her encounter with Frank will divulge in upcoming issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cloud #3

Jul 11, 2017

Black Cloud is an original comic book series that does not disappoint readers. The series can only get better with more issues on the way. Although, I am fearful the writing might dwindle after this episode, one can hope to see more of the dream world with Zelda Barrett and her cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curse Words #1

Nov 20, 2016

Curse Words is by far one of the most intriguing yet cosmic comic book I have ever read. And that's not entirely a bad thing. As so long the storyline is not hindered with too much magical wizardry and does not shorten character development, I'm fine with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Aug 20, 2017

Dark Days: The Casting is really going with engines on full thrust. I strongly suggest reading some backstory information regarding Batman. From 52 series Batman # 40 thru 49 should be good for one to understand some of the scenes in this comic book. Again it leaves the reader wanting more to the story and this is where DC gets you. Just remember the storyline will wash into various comic titles from DC, so watch out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elsewhere #1

May 29, 2017

Truly a remarkable sense of storytelling as Jay Faerber takes one of greatest aerial mysteries of the legendary pilot, Amelia Earhart, into a science fiction comic book series. Amelia's Moxie attitude will surely be a catalyst for surprising adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eternal Empire #1

Apr 9, 2017

The story of Eternal Empire #1 is a timeless tale of good and decent people succumb into the hands of a tyrant. The Synnian has made a career of crushing all hope from those conquered. As the story unfolds, there's one, the white-haired woman, is compelled to free herself from all this pain and suffering. Love the scenes depicting the coldness she endure while harvesting. My only regret reading Eternal Empire is the small, light font texts in some of storyboards. It was very difficult to read at times. A little larger and darker please. Over a nice story introduction and a bit of a cliffhanger. Looking forward for Eternal Empire #2, soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternal Empire #2

Jun 13, 2017

Eternal Empire does have a Star Wars feel, as young man and a young woman venture out into the unknow. Neither of them have no idea what awaits for them, but one things is clear. It a lot better than spending the rest of their lives as expendable slaves for the Empress.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Geek Girl #2

Jan 13, 2017

Sometimes, especially young women, it can be difficult to live a happy life. Ruby is one of these college women who has a very difficult time feeling comfortable within her own skin. There's nothing wrong with that but if you going to be this impersonable superhero in you town, you better bring guns of confidence and swag. Ruby sees Geek-Girl as being the hottie, loved and admired. For Ruby, it's the dorky girl no one wants to associate with. Summer explains that no matter whether wearing the glasses on or off, your still you! It's not until Nina forces herself upon Ruby the point is clear. She's no Kiki and kicks Nina on the ground. Ruby is no dork not be bullied. Although this cuts away from knowing about Lightning Girl, but makes a good point about a young woman's persona is constantly put to the test.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Geek Girl #3

Apr 5, 2017

I was very excited to finally see the character, Mr. Mash-Up. Dressed in all green with a Fedora hat on, looked to be a worthy villain for Geek-Girl. Unfortunately, the character was short-lived. I Don't Know Why, but it did. Although, from my understand about him there may be two possibilities to his origin. Either a form of punishment was ruled to live the rest of eternity living in Ruby's universe? Or, escaped to Ruby's universe as a form of refuge. In either case, Mr. Mash-Up, could have been something interesting to read about. Again, the storyboard is good to follow as well as the graphic drawing of all the characters. My only regret to the Geek-Girl series is the almost empty character story development. I need that, desperately!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Geek Girl #4

Apr 6, 2017

Great storyline with great storyboard graphic scenes. Looking forward reading series #5 and hoping to reveal how the glasses were created.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Highlander: American Dream #4

May 25, 2017

Highlander: The American Dream #4 for most of the series shows reader what was like for an immortal to live in the 50's. Living in a big city carrying a Katana just was not as popular as .38 special, but can argue a point. Nevertheless makes a great side story this this timeless man. This is one of my favorite movies and this comic book series and does have some of the film's mystic in it. I would surely love to see in the coming issues some flashbacks of Macleod's moments through history or with ol' friend Juan Sanchez Villa-Lobos Ramirez.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Iceman (2017) #2

Aug 16, 2017

From seeing issue #2, the Marvel Universe has made both Kitty and Bobby more grown up than from previous adaptations. Though the writers did keep Bobby's corky sense of humor intact. Not the most serious person in the X-Men family of mutants, but he manages to break the ice during tense situations(No pun intended there). As of now, Bobby has no one special in mind to begin a relationship. Kitty offers good advice about seeking out others for support and offers her friendship to him.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iceman (2017) #3

Aug 17, 2017

I think reader sometimes do not understand the daily life of a superhero. In Iceman issue #3, gives an look into Bobby's world ( Again no pun intended) and it's not all bells and whistles being an X-Men. Yeah, go go out and recruit new mutants and save the world once in while but where's the 401K plan? Is there workmen's compensation due to job injuries? Not to mention when will mom and dad enjoy the pitter patter of grandchildren? For Iceman, being a mutant, fighting for equality as well as being gay might become a heavy burden to carry on. And that what the writer is expressing about the character. Great Stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
James Bond: Felix Leiter #1

Jan 7, 2017

Now, for those who are not familiar with the James Bond films, Felix was tortured by a drug cartel named Franz Sanchez who tied Felix up while a shark nibbled at his extremities. That is why Felix uses prosthetics to live a somewhat normal life. I tip my hat to the writers for including this bit of information about character Felix -it keeps it authentic. Overall, the story is open to many possibilities to explore.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
James Bond: Felix Leiter #2

Feb 8, 2017

I'm just waiting for a lovely Bond siren to appear in an upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kim Reaper #1

Apr 4, 2017

The artwork and dialogue is clean as crisp and well as the story-telling. Though I should point out, (If you are not aware of already) Becka is a curious character wanting to have a relationship with the same sex. Whether or not Becka will have these crush-like feels remains to be seen. Just throwing it out there. An interesting comic book and look forward reading Becka and Kim's adventures in love and death.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #4

Aug 14, 2017

Rednecks is one of those comic books that has yet to be discovered by Warner Bros. or CW Network. The storyline would make an interesting television series or at least a one shot movie. It's got love, family, friendship, sworn enemies and revenge. Plus that fact almost all the characters are vampires just wanting to live a normal life. I grown very fond of this comic book and strongly suggest readers to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Samurai: Brothers In Arms #4

Dec 7, 2016

It reminded me watching old Samurai movies as a kid. Stories of a lone warrior bent on conquering an injustice. Brothers in Arms has a great storyline that's mixed with moments of betrayal, love, espionage, and of course sword fighting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock: The Blind Banker #6

Jun 12, 2017

There no greater detective story than the adventures of Sherlock Holmes in modern times. His mind is a complete library of facts, information and deductive reasoning all wrapped into this one man. The Blind Banker does leave a sense of a cliff-hanger for a possible new storyline series to be discover. Though the reading the panel from right to left is an act unfamiliar to me, one gets use to it. I hope to see more of Sherlock stories in comic stands and book shelves. This is a buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #1

Jun 20, 2017

Shirtless Bear Fighter could be one of the funniest comic books I read so far. This is something Alfred E. Neuman would have copy write for his Mad magazine. No one knows who's the parents of Shirtless one thing is certain. Don't call flapjacks pancakes. If funny comic books reading is your favorite pastimes, get naked and read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #8

May 24, 2017

Boldly Go comic series does capture the feel of J.J. Abrams vision from the film but needs a little more plot twist, McCoy and Spock banter and more of Jim Kirk gut instinct space fights.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Dregs #1

Jan 20, 2017

Overall an intriguing story and look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Few #6

Jul 9, 2017

This is a great comic book to read. It plays with a lot of emotions as Hale see herself fail in one aspect in her life while finding people to lift herself up. Seeing her inner demons haunt her through most of the series is given the opportunity for redemption through the people she cares for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Greatest Adventure #4

Jul 31, 2017

Like I said, The Greatest Adventure is a modern day comic book with golden age classic storytelling from the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Lost Fleet: Corsair #1

Jun 16, 2017

Overall something to read and gain a fan. I absolutely love a good intergalactic war story that true to those classic science fiction stories from the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Turok (2017) #1

Aug 15, 2017

Give Turok: Blood Hunt a chance before you decide to hang-up your bow and arrow.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More