Brian Belanger's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek-O-Rama Reviews: 38
6.1Avg. Review Rating

2.0
Amerikarate #1

Mar 16, 2017

Not every book that I come across is going to appeal to me of course. I'm sure there's an audience for this title and I hope that they find it. Unfortunately, I was not one of them and have to chop my way out of this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Amory Wars, The: Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV #1

Apr 8, 2017

This was definitely one of those instances where coming into a third installment just doesn't work. It's pretty evident that a lot of stuff has already been established that was lost on me. I'm sure this a good continuation for familiar readers, but new folks would do well to pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman / TMNT Adventures #1

Nov 13, 2016

There are so many people that will want to grab this new title pairing up these heroes I really don't have to talk you into it. It's another great addition crossing their worlds with a cool story and cooler artwork. Whether it's by jetpowered car or skateboards in the sewers, make your way to the comic store and pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Blue Hour #2

Jan 8, 2017

The dramatic scene I was expecting did show up and it definitely did what it needed to for the story. I didn't really gain any interest for the series, but didn't lose any which I suppose is good. Whether I end up seeing more or not, I really won't complain either way.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Brigands #1

Nov 12, 2016

A good heist story is always fun and this was even set in a different scenario than the typical high tech modern stage. I wasn't really pulled in by the end so I can't say that I would jump right on a follow up. This could go either way depending on how it continues, so I'd give this a maybe based on the first.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Brigands #2

Dec 16, 2016

Going into the second issue I was looking for something to get me more into it, especially being a heist kind of tale. Nothing yet and I'm not sure that there will be in any future releases. Still hard to say, but I'm even more loosely on the fence and at risk of falling off into the no pretty soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Courier #1

Apr 22, 2017

With the focus primarily on Eve, it doesn't seem like we'll get much of the scope of our world in this mini series. That being said though, what we are getting so far is pretty decent and I'd be interested in completing it. I'd say this is a book worth taking a look at and with only 5 issues left won't put you out much.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
D4VEocracy #1

Jan 28, 2017

With this being the third arc of the series, it was naturally a challenge to go into this book. Had I read the other content, I'd probably have felt more comfortable reading it. I'm sure current fans will benefit from starting this, but newcomers should probably pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dollface #2

Feb 20, 2017

Well now we knowwhy Lila and her two companions are hunting witches with this look at her past. With that information revealed, I certainly look forward to seeing more of both past and present story unfolding. There's no shame in being overly anxious to get your hands on more Dollface, take that however you want.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dollface #3

Apr 7, 2017

This was a great follow up to some of the early events of the unusual trio, learning more of how they started out. We've still yet to see what happens with Janey and the results of finding the Necronomicon. But, that gives us all the more reason to continue buying issues, not that we needed it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Donald Quest #1

Nov 23, 2016

This was a pretty fun start to a new Donald Duck storyline with neat fantasy aspects fused with the usual Disney-esque humor and whimsy. I'd be more likely to follow this than probably a lot of other similar books, but not exactly thirsting for more. Any fans big or small of these characters would find this to be a good candidate for purchase, others it's a toss up depending on your tastes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Faith #6

Dec 15, 2016

I thought this was going to be a little more drawn out than it ended up being, but that's not a big deal. It was a nice, even emotional ending to this piece of the storyline and I'm alright with moving onto the next. Speaking of, you should still be following these books and getting each one so you get the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Faith #7

Jan 18, 2017

I honestly wasn't sure if it was Faith just having a breakdown until the publisher summary confirmed otherwise. So, the question is, who is messing with her in this manner, and why? And howat that? Everyone will just have to do the smart thingand keep on reading this great series to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Faith #8

Feb 8, 2017

Although the ghost direction would have been interesting, the hologram reveal was a fun twist. The next mystery looks like it's going to be what Sidney and her new partner have planned. It will probablyhaunt you if you don't pick up this issue and the next, so make sure you do.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Faith #9

Mar 26, 2017

This little break in the story arcs was a nice solo issue that didn't necessarily focus on Faith. While we may not have as much attachment to the secondary characters, they got a chance to shine more for once. I'm guessing we'll go back to the regular pace of things next, but until then you can enjoy this latest piece of series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #10

Apr 13, 2017

Now I can totally see why we the previous issue was done the way it was. This has the potential to be a fantastic new story and I can't wait to see what happens. If you're somehow just trying out Faith, this is a really good time to jump in to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godshaper #1

Apr 14, 2017

This new title has a lot going for it, which isn't something you easily say from one issue. The story and certainly the art have already given us a lot to feel good about. Be it from your ATM or your personal god, go out and spend some sort of currency on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 3 #1

Jan 21, 2017

The majority of the book was pretty good, but I honestly did not like the ending. It spent all that time building up to “I'm visible now and now I'm dead”. Other than that, this is a decent for the collection if you like this retelling series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infinite 7 #1

Feb 19, 2017

A series filled with action hero archetypes could end up being really entertaining to explore. This approach with Anthony being thrust into that world adds that extra flair to keep it from beingtoo typical. I wouldn't jump out of a plane to get this book, but a casual drive could be worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infinite 7 #2

Mar 15, 2017

So, we got a little history on Infinite Seven, and our new accidental hero showed off his skills. Now that we're all set up, the really good stuff should be up next. It's pulled me along so far, and if all goes well it won't be an accidental new series to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infinite 7 #3

Apr 15, 2017

While Anthony is just getting started, he is at least showing he can sort of hold his own. He hasn't died yet, so that must say something right? We'll see how he fares going forward though. Fortunately, there's much less risk involved in picking up this book, so casually head over and buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Klaus & The Witch Of Winter (One Shot) #1

Dec 22, 2016

This book gave me even more motivation to gather up the seven book series it spawned off and I fully intend to read it all soon. I truly need to see the rest of the story I got a glimpse into in thePen&Ink and more with this. Many of you get Christmas gifts for yourselves and if comics are one of those things, this book should be on your list for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Orphan Black: Deviations #1

Apr 9, 2017

Unfortunately, I've never seen a single episode of Orphan Black, although I would like to eventually. That being said, I was completely lost with absolutely no basis of the apparent twist on show events. Unless you're a viewer of the show, there's honestly no point in picking up this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 24, 2017

This latest addition to the Danger Zone is one I am already finding myself grabbed by. So much has already happened just in the first book, and the ending clearly shows more on the way. Whether you read this alone or with an imaginary friend, you absolutely need to do so.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Steampunk: Alice in Wonderland #1

Feb 10, 2017

While I did like that it happened, the Queen's demise at the end came too soon in my opinion. I know we want to move onto these other places Alice may be going, but that felt anticlimactic. My love for Alice has me just interested enough to possibly keep going down the rabbit hole though, we'll see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Jungle Book: Holiday Special #2016

Dec 8, 2016

Although the fault is my own, the only "bad"thing I can say about this story is that if you aren't at least somewhat familiar you'll be lost. Even being a one shot special though, most folks may not grab it unless they know the core series anyways. Whether or not you try this out with any basis to go off of, it's a pretty neat little winter book to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Shaolin Cowboy: Who'll Stop the Reign? #1

Apr 16, 2017

Now, I'm sure for those that know the original material, this may actually make sense and be a great continuation. Anyone like me that tries to come into it now though is going to be utterly baffled at what they're reading. For obvious reasons, I'd suggest against new people picking this up and leave it up to prior readers to judge.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tomboy #10

Feb 18, 2017

It's interesting reading this issue individuallyafter crammingthe last half dozen together. But, as I said, we're almost getting to the conclusion and it needs to be set up. Make sure you're braced for the storm after this calm and grab this book to prepare.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vampblade #9

Nov 15, 2016

I had a great time readingthese two most recent issues, and not even just for all those fun costume changes. Adding in the actual writer of the very persona of the character our hero takes on was a fantastic move. I can't wait to see how the story progresses with this new momentum and of course that mysterious ending that begs you to read on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampblade #11

Jan 7, 2017

This was a slower issue for Vampblade, which we have to expect, but it didn't hurt the series. We still got a little fighting, some more fun suits, and it's still a great book. I love the idea of getting to choose the next season's costume, and can't wait to see what the fans decide.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vampblade #12

Feb 15, 2017

After the slightly slower issue we got last time, this more than made up for it. Readers would expect a lot in the first season finale, but it did itsjob extremely well. I will thirst like the Vampblades for season two, and think everyone should be hunting down the first twelve books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampblade: Season 2 #1

Apr 14, 2017

It was so great to get back into Vampbladealready with this next batch of issues. Even new arrivals will find themselves curious enough to grab the first volumes. Whether you're fresh or returning though, make sure you've got this awesome title in your regular reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Violent Love #1

Nov 18, 2016

I liked how this book was set up as a story being told within a story, especially given what this is all about. Additionally, I really appreciated how we're being led into the grand scheme piece by piece starting with Daisy's half of the tale. You won't need to rob a bank to afford this book, which is good because it's one you'll want to buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Voracious: Feeding Time #1

Dec 11, 2016

With what we saw at the end of the first arc, we knew that Nate's actions had far worse consequences than he could even realize, even he even thought about it. This was such a powerful way to bring us back into the story and I am ready for more. Bring on course two, three, however many I can get, and do yourself the favor of getting your own taste of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Yakuza Demon Killers #1

Nov 19, 2016

We've got Yakuza and demons, and a sought after sword which has now attached itself to Ochita. I can only guess this will turn out to be an all out struggle for survival, with the sword possiblybeing a key element. I wouldn't mind seeing a cool battle with demons, but I won't be fighting off hordes just to see the next book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zombie Tramp (2014) #30

Dec 18, 2016

Separately and together, I absolutely love both Zombie Tramp and Vampblade. Now it looks like we'll get to see them again?! This issue could have held its own without that, but this takes it to another level of awesome. Don't hesitate to grab this issue and prepare for another killer arc with these two badass women.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Zombie Tramp (2014) #31

Jan 20, 2017

I can't wait for the upcoming monster/space vamp fight that these two are up against. Janey and Katie may not be besties, but they know they need each other here. You also need to be getting every single issue of this series, it's always worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Zombie Tramp (2014) #32

Apr 12, 2017

It was fun seeing Janey and Katie paired up for another few issues to bring the titles together again. I'm also liking that Xula is the forerunner for this latest arc while Janey is taking a literal dirt nap. Whether you're current or catching up like me, don't let either of these issues slip by you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More