Brian Warshaw's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Batman-News Reviews: 76
6.5Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Action Comics (2011) #51

Apr 21, 2016

It's no secret that I've been enjoying this story immensely. WithAction Comics #51, Peter Tomasi and another skilled team of artists advance the plot as they have throughout: with outstanding characterization, distinct visuals, and an engaging premise. Three installments in, “Super League” is hands-down my most anticipated pull each week. I can't wait to see what's in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2011) #52

May 12, 2016

I'm not as in-love with “Final Days” as I was initially, but I don't dislike it, either. Tomasi's characterizations of the Clarks and Bruce are still excellent, even if I don't get as much of it all as I want. Eaton and Eaglesham may have some consistency issues, but there wasn't much time to dwell on that during my initial read, as their layouts and storytelling capabilities do a fine job of conveying the tension and action that Tomasi is aiming for. In the end, I suspect this arc will turn out to be a two-month springboard intoRebirth, but if so, it's been an enjoyable one. It may not be quite what was initially solicited, or even what it seemed to be in its early chapters, but this arc is a fun, exciting experience thus far, andAction Comics #52 is a capable installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

Batman Annual #1 is on the high end of the spectrum as far as annuals go. Even though I prefer the first three stories' uplifting messages to the final two, the entire issue is an enjoyable read multiple times through. A talented group of creators live up to their reputations, and even when I don't love what someone is doing, I can still find something to appreciate. Don't fear the higher cover price"this one is a lot of bang for the buck.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice Prequel #5

Feb 6, 2016

Don't go into this expecting too much. It's a free digital comic that you get for buying a bottle of soda. Enjoy the soda. And when you're done, give the comic a read. It hasn't got the substance I expect in aquality comic book, but it's enough like the real deal that you can tell the resemblance. This is pretty muchthe Diet Dr. Pepper of comic books. And some people like Diet Dr. Pepper, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman/Superman (2013) #29

Feb 11, 2016

Batman/Superman #29 is good fun with superb characterizationby Tom Taylor. Subtle comic relief breaks up the detective work at just the right moments, and without undermining the gravity of the situation or Batman's professionalism in handling it. An improved showing by Rocha and companyelevates this issue above the last one, giving Taylor's near-flawless script the near-flawless art that it deserves. Secrets are revealed, but there are enough questions left on the table to draw me into next month's issue#30. If you gave up on this title during Pak's run, or if you've otherwise left it alone, you owe it to yourself to grab this issue and the last: this truly is the Universe's Finest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #30

Mar 9, 2016

While I would have loved to see this arc get a few more issues to stretch its legs, I don't really have all that much to complain about in the final product. Sure, some threads were wrapped up a bit hastily and there's still a little mud on the window, but Taylor'scharacters are written so well, and drawn so well by Rocha, that I can only smile each time I look at this book and its two predecessors. Here's hoping DC does right by Tom Taylor (and us fans!) and puts him on a major book whenRebirth kicks in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman/Superman (2013) #31

Apr 15, 2016

It's not as strong as last week'sSuperman #51, butBatman/Superman #31 is a good read and and a very good second installment in Tomasi's two-month event. Another strong showing from Superman, excellent work by Mahnke and Quintana, and enough mystery and foreboding to propel us into the next chapter make this one a must-read. If you haven't already, pick it up and check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #32

May 5, 2016

I still like this arc, and I'm still very interested to see what's going to happen next. I would have liked a stronger tether to Clark's health problems, and a better reason for the Great Ten to be included than “we're in China”, but in spite of my complaints, this was still an entertaining read. Too many inkers drag Mahnke down on occasion, and Tomasi's lost (some of) the heart that made the first three installments so strong, but here's hoping he finishes well after the recent lull–I'm certainly rooting for him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Arkham Knight: Genesis #6

Jan 20, 2016

Even having missed out on the previous five issues, I enjoyed this. It shows no signs of the zaniness hinted at in Jay's previous few reviews, instead getting"and staying"serious throughout. It is by no means a masterpiece, but strong characterization from Tomasi and capable visual storytelling by Soy and McCaig make for a satisfying read, well worth the $2.99 paid.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: The Unseen #1

Apr 9, 2016

Taken as your standard Batman fare,Batman: Unseen is a decent detective story made ridiculous by overcooked dialogue and bizarre visuals. But taken less seriously, the book manages to feel entertaining–fun, even. Moench's detective story is actually pretty good, as is Jones' Gotham and Black Mask, and the poetry and silly poses add a humorous self-awareness that made this stodgy Bat-fan smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Black Canary (2015) #8

Feb 11, 2016

I make no attempt at hiding my biases, and I'd be lying if I said I had high hopes for this book before reading it. Even so, I genuinely gave this my best shot. While I can appreciate some of Jarrell's work, and Loughridge's colors are quite good throughout, Fletcher's script gets so bogged down by expository dialogue and puffed-chest posturing that the art is asked to carry a weight that it cannot bear. Weak villains and wasted opportunities for character development overshadow the few bright spots in the script, makingBlack Canary #7 a difficult book to recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Black Canary (2015) #9

Mar 16, 2016

My jokes at the top of this review aside, I am serious about not being unkind toward the folks who make these books. If I crack a joke about the content, my goal is to make it easier to cope with having to read it, and to create some enjoyment out of a void of enjoyment. And if I am unabashedly negative, it's because I want folks to understand what they're getting into if they hand overtheir hard-earned money. In the case ofBlack Canary #9, I can only recommend that you hold onto that money. Even if you're a fan of the series, this installment adds nothing to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Black Canary (2015) #10

Apr 15, 2016

I might have given this issue as high as a 5 based on the absence of the band and the effectiveness of the Babs and Dinah detective work. But unforgivable oversights in the artwork and Fletcher's usual exposition-heavy dialogue hold this one way back. Stay away. Even if you've been reading the series, consider this as good a point as any to drop it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Canary (2015) #11

Apr 28, 2016

I liked it! I genuinely detested what came before, but I'm thrilled that it seems like we might end things on a high note. Fletcher stops pelting his reader with accounts of what happened elsewhere and elsewhen, and instead hones in on a captivating conflict and some genuine shockers at the end. I'm actually excited about the next one. Well done,TeamBlack Canary.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Canary (2015) #12

Jun 8, 2016

This final issue gets a 6, but it is in part paying for the sins of its fathers. In reality, I enjoyed Fletcher's end to this series quite a bit, and I wish he could have found this late-coming quality sooner. If I'm being honest, I won't likely read this run ever again; but I can just as truthfully say that I had a good time with it here at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Night: A True Batman Story #1

Jun 25, 2016

Truly one of the most unique, entertaining, funny, and moving books that I've read in any category, Paul Dini's Dark Nightis a sometimes-heavy"but never harrowing"testament to the power of story to lift us from despair and push us into restoration. With the help of a cast of familiar, perfectly-characterized Gothamites, Dini shows us once again that he understands both the whatand the whyof Batman as well as anyone else; and in so doing, shows us how that understanding helped him emerge from his trial with more than the muggers took away. If that isn't a True Batman Story, I don't know what is.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #939

Aug 24, 2016

Detective Comics once again serves up an action and character-packed adventure. The stakes are higher than they've been, and my investment in thecast continues to deepen as the characters are developed. James Tynion has said that he would love to take this book to #1000; after such a hot start, I'd be happy to follow him all the way there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #940

Sep 15, 2016

We here at Batman News have loved James Tynion's run on Detective Comics because it's just been so darn good. Building on the success of its predecessors, this arc's final installment manages to stand high above what came before. If you've enjoyed "Rise of the Batmen" so far, this issue will blow you away. And if you haven't, it just may change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #946

Dec 14, 2016

A pivotal chapter in “The Victim Syndicate,”Detective Comics #946 contains strong character beats for several members of the team. While Barrows' pencils exhibit the usual quirks in close-up, his layouts are, for the most part, rich storytelling. If you've been waiting for a deeper connection with this arc, this issue may be just what you need, and it sets up what looks to be an emotional thriller of a finale in two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Elseworld's Finest #1

Feb 27, 2016

Elseworld's Finest has its problems, but honestly, they aren't bigenough to drag downits merits. It's not my favorite genre, so there's only so high it can rise in my estimation, but that's okay. For what it is, it's awfully close to best-of-breed, with a fast-paced script, excellent art, and a creative repurposing of well-known characters. If you can find it for the right price (I got both installments for a few bucks a piece at my local 2nd & Charles), this is definitely worth scooping up and enjoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #1

Jul 20, 2016

I expected this to be my book of the month, and I confess to being a bit disappointed with it now that it's here. It is by no means a bad issue, but it is also not the sort of quality that I've come to expect from Bryan Hitch. It's still worth reading, and it's not even at the bottom of the heap of very strong Rebirthbooks published lately. The team of artists"all of them, down to the letterers"shines brightest this week, covering over some of Hitch's flaws with bright, beautiful pages and an attractive presentation. Hopefully the entire team of creators can succeed together in two weeks. There's a lot of potential here, and I would love to see it realized.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2016) #2

Aug 3, 2016

Justice League #2 is not a bad book, but it isn't living up to the potential of its characters or its writer. Hitch proved withJLA that he can write this team well, but there's something missing here. I'm still willing to give him time to get things right, both because I think he can do it and because I really want to be there when he does. I think you should read this, but more for what I hope it will become than for what it is now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #3

Aug 17, 2016

I'm still disappointed. There are definitely some marginal improvements in the script, but Hitch's delivery remains very clunky. The story beneath the storytelling intrigues me, but I still largely dislike the way it's conveyed. Daniel's subtle layout improvements help, even as his detail work continues to suffer (presumably) from tight deadlines; but the whole enterprise appears to be held back by Hitch's inability to trust his artists"even artists as capable as these. If you're going to buyJustice Leagueanyway, hang in there"I still think we'll see things turn around. But if you're on a tight budget, there are a number of other Rebirthtitles that will leave you much more satisfied, and you're better off catching up on this one later.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League (2016) #4

Sep 7, 2016

Justice League #4 advances the plot, but most everything else about this book remains right where we left it last time. Hitch continues to favor expository dialogue and narration over meaningful character interaction, and the chasm between he and his team of artists remains ever-wide. If you're following the story, you'll probably still want to pick this up, but I just can't recommend this book anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League (2016) #5

Sep 21, 2016

At the risk of sounding overly-negative, the only lasting satisfaction I found inJustice League #5 was in knowing that “The Extinction Machines” is over. I like Hitch's big ideas well enough, and wouldn't mind seeing some of them resurface in future stories, but this arc was a slog, and I suspect this book will be better off with its maiden voyage in the past. While it's nice to have Daniel back, his own flaws and inconsistencies make him inadequate consolation for the serious trouble in the script. Amidst a remarkable slate ofRebirth titles,Justice League has been my greatest disappointment, and I'll be glad to put Hitch's first try behind me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League (2016) #6

Oct 5, 2016

In the wake of a disappointing first arc, I was hoping for better from Justice League #6. Hitch continues to depend on verbal revelation where visual revelation would be more natural, and there remains a disconnect between writer and artist that I've perceived since #1. This issue is the first of a short, two-part story, so if you're looking to save six bucks, skip October and give Justice League another shot next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Justice League (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

Justice League #7 offers an unsatisfactory conclusion to a mercifully-short arc. There's far too much text, and much of it consists in unbearable whingeing. Substandard artwork doesn't ruin what is already a storytelling failure, but neither does it help. If you're on the fence and reading this review hoping to be swayed one way or the other, let me save you the time and the three bucks by telling you to steer clear of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League (2016) #8

Nov 2, 2016

A better issue than its immediate predecessor, Justice League #8 is nevertheless riddled with the same holes as the larger series. Uncharacteriscally boneheaded choices by Batman and an inhuman Cyborg are particularly troublesome elements, and the decision to go with another mysterious, anonymous foe feels tiresome after the first two arcs leaned partially or entirely on the same device. Edwards produces some decent panels and layouts at times, but he too often misses his mark and generates more distraction than momentum. While not the absolute mess that we saw two weeks ago, Justice League #8 offers no hope or optimism about whatever is coming next. My advice is to leave it on the rack.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #9

Nov 16, 2016

What can I say that I haven't said before?Justice League'slatest arc remains a disappointing mashup of mediocre artwork and annoying storytelling. Excessive, poorly-crafted tech-talk and a ridiculous new “feature” of the Green Lantern ring manage to sink this one completely, and the continuing lack of effective character development makes reading a chore. If you haven't already bought this one, don't.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2016) #10

Dec 7, 2016

A slow start is quickly forgotten as Justice League suddenly gets fun. Whether or not you consider this an improvement will depend a lot on your particular sensibilities, and what you expect from this title; but for my money, a reclamation of this sort of crazy comics goofiness is exactly what Hitch needed to wash the stink off of DC's flagship. We'll know soon enough if this newfound hope is a lasting one, but for the moment, enjoy one of, if not the single best issue of Justice League since it launched in July. I know that isn't saying much, but I'll take what we can get and hope for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League (2016) #11

Dec 21, 2016

Despite signs of potential improvement at the end of last issue, Justice League #11 is a hasty nosedive back into the mess that this series has been for most of its run. If Yanick Paquette's variant for this one was as imaginative as his last, then you might have a reason to shell out a few bucks for this, but it's not (which is not to say it's a bad cover). Read something else this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2016) #12

Jan 4, 2017

There's not a lot of meat inJustice League #12. A few flashbacks and some fun in the present with Waller round out Max Lord a bit, but there's no strong narrative to hook you in, and the character work establishes Lord as a fairly simplistic, power-mad villain. Still, the book looks good, and the quality of the writing and artwork outshines this week's installment ofJustice League vs. Suicide Squad, as well as any issue ofJustice League in the past two months. Pick it up with reasonable expectations, and you'll get some enjoyment out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #13

Jan 18, 2017

I may not love what's happening, but I love the way Seeley and Eaton present it. Great writing and solid visuals raise the stakes for this event by making it a lot more personal, elevating JLVSS even as the event issues themselves have been a mixed bag. I think his one's worth picking up, even if you aren't reading the event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2015) #8

Mar 31, 2016

A brawl for the ages, strong character work, and the culmination of several of Hitch's big ideas combine for an impressive return for Justice League of America. If you aren't reading this series, you should be, and if you are, you know what I'm talking about. I'm thrilled that Hitch will be sticking around after Rebirth, and I can't wait to see what he comes up with next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League of America (2015) #9

Aug 31, 2016

I was this series' biggest cheerleader months ago. I still like it, and I still want to see how it wraps up, but my excitement is greatly diminished. Hitch's big ideas look better when Tony Daniel is drawing them, and having seen that in Rebirth, it's hard going back to Hitch's finishes. This is also a story with huge implications for other stories that already happened, so the stakes feel really low. It's still a satisfying progression of the Rao narrative, so if you were into this book before, you'll probably enjoy it. If you're new to this, though, I can't think of any reason why you wouldn't just wait for the collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Justice League of America (2015) #10

Nov 30, 2016

While fun for a quick read, Justice League of America #10 is a boot to the face of a dying man. This series has been on life support for half a year, barely registering a heart beat, and while it is a relief to finally see it stop suffering, it is nonetheless disappointing to see it go in such a way. The artwork fails to capture the spark that made this book stand out, and the rushed story contains several gaping holes that make it impossible to salvage. Finish it for closure, if you've been reading it. Otherwise give your attention"and your money"to something better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 21, 2016

A pretty good start to Rebirth's first major crossover event, JLVSS #1benefits greatly from the inherent levity of Task Force X, as well as smartly-written Squad dialogue from Williamson. While I'm not convinced Fabok was the right artist for the job, his work is nonetheless breathtaking, and pairing him with Alex Sinclair is an editorial master stroke. Pick it up for a good time with the Squad and a fat stack of beautiful pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2

Dec 28, 2016

The bad inJustice League vs. Suicide Squad #2 is downright terrible. It would sink the whole thing, but when it's fun and exciting, it'sreally fun and exciting. Daniel and Florea's excellent line work and Sinclair's colors are a helpful distraction during the dialogical doldrums, and Williamson generates ample interest in Killer Frost and Max Lord's anti-Waller squad to keep this from being nothing more than a good time. It's not great, but it's decent, and if you can pick up one of the two excellent variants, the dollar upcharge is easier to justify.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 4, 2017

What is the point of this crossover? I know it will have implications for future series, and perhaps for the larger DC Universe going forward, but I can't help but feel like those goals would have been better served in the normal flow of other books (look at how they're going to handle Batwoman'sRebirth, for example).Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3 can't hide behind high-end artwork like its predecessors, and with the mask off, there isn't anything left to get me excited about this event. I hope we see a massive uptick in quality for the second half, but I'm not holding my breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #4

Jan 11, 2017

Artistic shortcomings prevent me from loving this, but a marked improvement in dialogue, focus, and interest allowed me to enjoy it quite a bit. Harley and Wonder Woman were a particular highlight, but Williamson did a better job across the board of playing to the strengths of his zanier characters and letting their personalities move things forward. The emergence of the Eclipso Diamond raises the stakes considerably, and for the first time since this all started, I'm eagerly waiting to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #5

Jan 18, 2017

While I have serious problems with how different this book can look from page to page (thanks to its four inkers), the story is the best blend of laughs, awesomeness, and gravity that we've yet seen from this event. We'll see next week if Williamson can wrap things up without making Eclipso look cheap, but for now, JLVSS is on a high note, and that's good enough for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Rebirth #1

Jul 6, 2016

Justice League is in good hands with Bryan Hitch. As sad as it is to see the end of the Johns run, rest assured that there are bright things on the horizon. Hitch's understanding of these characters clearly runs deep, and he is able to put that understanding to use in a way that few other writers can. His last hurrah on pencils is a nice treat, but even if you don't like his style, you'll continue to get the same quality writing with the visual stylings of Tony Daniel in two weeks with Justice League #1. June was a good month to be a DC Comics fan, and if this Rebirthone-shot is any indication, July is set to be a second helping of great comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Red Hood / Arsenal #13

Jun 10, 2016

I don't even get to say “I'm glad it's over,” because it's not. Amidst promises of rebirth, hope, and optimism, DC continues to defy sense and publish a book and an author that have both failed to gain any significant traction for some time. A poor final issue ofRed Hood/Arsenal might have otherwise made me hungry forRebirth‘sRed Hood and the Outlaws;but given Lobdell's continuing authorship, and the needlessly extended plot of the present issue, this “final” chapter instead feels like gratuitous, disrespectful money-grubbing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #1

Aug 10, 2016

A decent script by Lobdell, brought to life by Soy and Gandini, Red Hood and the Outlaws #1 is a strong opener. Time will tell if this level of quality endures, but for now, it's a fun book with artwork that demands repeat viewing. I'm still gladly recommending this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #2

Sep 14, 2016

This is the sweet spot for Jason Todd. He gets to do awesome Red Hood stuff, he makes us laugh, he gets the mess knocked out of him, and he still manages to finish with a smirk. As a writer for an ongoing series, Lobdell's most important job is to make us want to read the next one, and he does that job well here. His cohorts in the art department remain valuable assets, just as Red Hood and the Outlaws remains pleasantly distinct from everything else DC is publishing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #3

Oct 12, 2016

Red Hood and the Outlaws #3 is a sum greater than its parts. I have a number of problems, some more significant than others, but when I reread it, I can only smile. Consistent excellence from its artists, and lots of heart and humor from its writer make this book one that I'm looking forward to each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #4

Nov 9, 2016

I'll just go ahead and say it: I really, really like this book. I can find flaws, but my experience of reading each month is mostly happiness. Kudos to Lobdell, Soy, Gandini, and Esposito for making me a believer, and for making Red Hood and the Outlaws #4 read even better and look even better than it has before.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #5

Dec 14, 2016

There's not as much meat in this month's Red Hood, but there's still an awful lot of flavor. While some of Lobdell's attempts at humor fall flat, and the artwork doesn't have quite the range it has shown before now, this is still a very enjoyable book with a lot to love. Soy and Gandini's people and places continue to look great, and the characters that I've enjoyed from the beginning are all here, even if their internal arcs don't get as much attention this time as we're used to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #6

Jan 11, 2017

Red Hood and the Outlaws is by far my biggest Rebirth surprise. I expected to despise it, but at the close of this first arc, I'm on the verge of saying that I not only really like it, but love it. Likeable characters, beautiful artwork, and a healthy dose of humor have made this book a consistent delight for six months. It's not a fluke, folks"Red Hood is just that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1

Jul 30, 2016

Forget what you know about Scott Lobdell, at least for now. We all gave DC another chance withRebirth, and they haven't disappointed. WithRed Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1, Lobdell shows himself worth of his own fresh start. Maybe it's more hands-on editorial, maybe it's more effort from Lobdell himself, or maybe it's a fluke and we'll be back to business-as-usual in short order"there are, after all, some small echoes of past failures here. Whatever may come next, this issue is worth your time, and I for one will remain cautiously optimistic that there's more good in store. And with a team like Soy and Gandini bringing this vision to life, a truly reborn Lobdell could end up creating the surprise hit ofDC Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2011) #51

Apr 6, 2016

This was a tough one for me to score. There's not a ton of stuff here, but as they say, sometimes less is more. In one sense, it's the expected set-up installment of a much larger story, but after considering this story a few times, I don't think it depends too heavily on what's coming next.Superman #51 is an entertaining, sweet book all on its own, and while I'm anxious to find out what this is all leading to, I'm looking forward to reading this a few more times over the next week and savoring the simple, heartwarming goodness that Tomasi and Janin have crafted.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2011) #52

May 26, 2016

This arc began with a bang, but ends with a whimper. It's never sunk so low that I didn't enjoy reading it, but I feel like Tomasi failed to keep the promise and live up to the potential of last month's Superman #51. This final installment attempts to wrap things up, but while it makes a good try of bringing things back down to more intimate, character-driven moments, it ends up feeling like a setup for the new status quo. This Superman had to die so that DC's Superman going forward could be with Lois; and for that to happen, a Superman with an attachment to Wonder Woman would need to be removed. I really wish there was a better reason.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

I love this book.Superman has been a joyon just about every level, and this week's installment continues to play to its strengths while layering on some unexpected treats. Every work of art has flaws if you look for them, but the enjoyment of art is not attained by filling out a score card. In spite of its warts,Superman #5 is one of the closest things to perfect I've read in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

Giving me everything I wanted from this collision of worlds, and a few things I didn't even know I wanted until I had them,Superman #10 pushes the series to a new high. As far as I'm concerned, this title is the standard for superhero comics, and this issue proves it with enormous spectacle, bold characters, and one heck of a good time. Whether you love or hate the brash son of Batman, his intrusion into the world of Superman and his son is one for the ages, and well worth your time, again and again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Superman/Wonder Woman #28

Apr 28, 2016

It's quite possible that I would have knocked another point off of my score if I encountered this book as part of a straight-up monthly series instead of a weekly crossover. And yet, we are getting this story weekly, so it's pretty easy for this particular issue to benefit from the ones that come before (and hopefully from the ones that come after, as well). Tomasi continues to craft decent dialogue, but with Superman's character getting less attention and Wonder Woman's characterization rubbing me the wrong way, I find myself leaning more heavily on the artwork than the script to find enjoyment this time around. Here's hoping the story gets back on track (whatever that looks like) next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman/Wonder Woman #29

May 19, 2016

We're almost at the end. This issue wasn't great, but it has returned to “pretty dang good” after a dip these past few weeks. Other than my beef with Batman and Lois, I don't have any major complaints. The shift of the focus away from characters lowers the ceiling over my potential enjoyment, but the narrowing of the focus gives the big battle the space it needs to make it more than a mindless brawl. This is my kind of scuffle.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2014) Annual #2

Jun 29, 2016

If you're apprehensive about reading this because of Scott Lobdell's previous work on the property, there's plenty here to validate your concern. There's some surprisingly good things, too, but at best, Teen Titans Annual #2 is just okay, and not worth multiple readings. And with the book as we know it ending after September's issue, there's no pressing reason to spend your money on a forgettable story.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Teen Titans (2014) #13

Jan 30, 2016

I can't say for certain that my expectations for this book had no impact on my (potential) enjoyment of it. What I can say for certain is that it just didn't do anything for me. Not all of the art was terrible, but none of it was remarkable, and some of it was just plain ugly. Pfeifer had some bright spots in the Chamber of Harvest, but a nonsensical pep talk from Tim makes it hard for those bright spots to really shine. At the end of the day, I didn't greatly enjoy it while reading it, and I can't see myself (willingly) reading it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Teen Titans (2014) #17

Feb 25, 2016

In spite of the major shortcomings in dialogue and character, I'm invested enough in the story to want to know what happens next. The issue leaves some interesting questions on the table, and I'm hoping that Pak can answer them and fix Wonder Girl along the way. If he can do that, and tone down the bald exposition, next month could be a good one for the Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Teen Titans (2014) #18

Mar 23, 2016

I concede: this book needs a break and a reset. I think it's fair to say that it's never been great since the start ofThe New 52, and it's most often been quite bad.Rebirth is coming in June; here's hoping DC chooses teams for theTitans books wisely. A book about teenage superheroes should be an easy sell–it's high time we got aTeen Titans book that lives up to the appeal of its basic premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Teen Titans (2014) #19

Apr 30, 2016

Teen Titans #19is a fitting end to a boring story. Not a whole lot happens, but what does is handicapped by Pak's silly characterization of both Wonder Girl and Wonder Woman. The rest of the Titans add little more than filler dialogue, and Cassandra is an obvious, shallow villain. If you haven't read this one yet, my recommendation is to pass it by. You won't be missing much.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #20

May 25, 2016

Better than I expected, but not great, Teen Titans #20 makes for a fun, quick read. If you're looking for some light entertainment this week, you likely won't feel cheated; but if you'd rather read DC Universe Rebirth an extra few times instead, you aren't missing anything substantive by passing over the Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #21

Jun 23, 2016

Tony Bedard and Miguel Mendonca knock it out of the park. There's nothing deep or enduring here, so I can only score it so high, but this was a welcome treat after watching this title languish for so long. Delightfully goofy villains, huge action, and the absence of angst make Teen Titans #21the single best issue I've read in the New 52incarnations of the series. Enjoy the awesome Rebirthtitles released this week, but when you're done, make time to have a good time with the Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Teen Titans (2014) #22

Jul 28, 2016

What else is there to say? I can't think of any reason for someone to keep spending money on Teen Titans. It's been a lame duck for months, and other than two issues of mindless fun, it has looked like a lame duck, walked like a lame duck, and angstily quacked like a lame duck. And, oh yeah, there's a promise of H.I.V.E. next time. Goody.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2014) #23

Aug 24, 2016

If DC insists on publishing more Teen Titans before Ben Percy takes over next month, that's their right"but I wish they would have made more issues like this than like the one we got last month. #23 fails to make a big splash, but it reads okay at least once, and provides some light entertainment without aspiring to greater significance. My score says it's average, because it is, but this is an average I'm content with as we say goodbye"even if it floats awkwardly outside of current continuity.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teen Titans (2014) #24

Sep 14, 2016

This is it"my final word on The New 52 edition of Teen Titans. Much like the series as a whole, issue #24 assumes too much reader investment in its characters and prior events. As someone with negative feelings about almost everything in this run, I suspect that any payoff made by this final installment is earned by James Tynion's Detective Comics. That is the book that (finally) gave us a Tim Drake who will be missed. That is the book that makes the mourning friends here look a little less ridiculous. The sweet moments are still sweet, and the creators did alright with the snowballed mess that they inherited (relatively) late in the game, but there still isn't any good reason to go pick this book up. Let Detective #940have the last word on Tim until such time as he gets put back on the board.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 26, 2016

It's hard to say where or how things will go from here. We already learned about an artistic shakeup weeks before this issue dropped, and the Titans ultimately have an uphill climb after years of underwhelming stories. Khoi Pham may prove a great replacement for Meyers, and Percy could well stamp out the bad memories of the past five years, but we'll have to wait and see. Past and future aside, this present issue of Teen Titans is a sizable step in the right direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #2

Nov 23, 2016

Another good-but-not-great installment, Teen Titans #2 is a nice chunk of fun that benefits greatly from front-loading its problems. The last three quarters of the book make it easy to ignore the troublesome flashback at the start, and the complexity of the lead villain creates a much more interesting conflict. Hopefully, Percy can continue iterating and fix the trouble spots, but in the meantime, this is still a decent read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Teen Titans (2016) #3

Dec 28, 2016

Teen Titans #3 is a mixture of quality very much in line with the earlier installments in this series. Comic relief and gravitas distract from the sometimes questionable character work, while an overall decent outing from new artist Khoi Pham helps start things off with enough pizazz to carry a lot of weight once things slow down later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

Teen Titans: Rebirth #1 is a quick, enjoyable read. It sets the stage for the series proper with solid character introductions and distinct artwork. If Percy can make good use of what he's established here, and Meyers can keep up, Teen Titans may at last be emerging from its long winter.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #4

Oct 27, 2016

It's not great, but Titans #4is good enough to deserve some of your time. Its significance in the larger continuity certainly helps, but it has its own entertaining plot that will entertain you in the short term. There are some distracting artistic elements, but Booth, Rapmund, and Dalhouse please me more than they don't, especially when crafting dynamic action sequences. All-in-all, Titans #4 is a fun read with some significant ties to the larger DC universe. Nothing more, nothing less.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

The artwork here is as good as anything Manapul has done previously, and is worth the cost of purchase on its own. But the real achievement comes in the form of an intimate family dinner and a strong premise well-explored.Trinity is not a perfect start, but it's a really good one. I love Manapul's decision to favor character over spectacle, and I am hopeful that the series will remain moored in these interpersonal relationships even asthe action heats up in future installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 19, 2016

Despite a few technical quirks and a reveal that I did not personally care for, I love this book. It's beautiful in appearance and in spirit, as Francis Manapul puts his focus on the Man of Steel and the man who raised him. The plot moves a surprising amount given the emphasis on character, so even if you're less-interested in the relationships than I am, there are enough strong beats here to satisfy fans of a more straightforward narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #3

Nov 16, 2016

As the story shifts to Batman and his baggage,Trinity #3 manages to add another gorgeous layer on top of last month's touching trip to Smallville. Clay Mann, Seth Mann, and Brad Anderson prove the perfect artistic stand-ins for the subject matter, and Manapul flourishes as writer.Trinity is still the best character-focused book in the entire line, and if you aren't reading it, you're missing something truly special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #4

Dec 21, 2016

An excellent fourth installment to one of Rebirth's richest books, Trinity #4provides an enjoyable immersion in Wonder Woman's world. Lupacchino's storytelling methods may require an additional read to fully appreciate for some, but the investment is rewarded with excellent layouts, scenery, and character work. Four issues in, Trinity remains one of the easiest decisions on the rack. You should be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #5

Jan 18, 2017

Perhaps out of necessity,Trinity #5 never forges the sort of emotional connection we've grown accustomed to in this series. What we get instead is the intriguing revelation of what's driving our heroes' dreams, and a pile of beautiful pages from Manapul. It isn't the best installment ofTrinity, but it will likely prove an important step in moving the story forward"just don't expect it to move you as much as the chapters that came before.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More