Chad Rice's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pop Culture Uncovered Reviews: 9
7.3Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Archie (2015) #18

Mar 15, 2017

Overall, Im disappointed with the issue. Its a new art team and a new arc so its going to take some time to work out the kinks, and Im totally willing to stick it out since this book has been a must read for so long. However, I hope next issues stories are a bit more enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #5

Feb 22, 2017

Overall, Im excited but cautious. I love the way this arc ended and I'm excited for more, but also concerned that those less then interesting *cough* Tim Drake *cough* plot points will come in and be a drag on the best part of this book- Terry McGinnis.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #13

Feb 22, 2017

Overall, I would say that North and Charm are giving us the light-hearted fun Juggy I need to balance out the dark brooding Forsythe in Riverdale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Midnighter And Apollo #6

Mar 1, 2017

Fernando Blanco has done an excellent job with this series with some mesmerizingpanel layouts. I thought the double page spreads here were especially excellent. He had huge shoes to fill when coming in for Aco, who did the art on the original series, and he did admirably. I have to admit, I thought the coloring felt a little phoned in and didnt blow me away, but overall, this was a pleasant book to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mother Panic #3

Feb 15, 2017

I am still very much on board with Mother Panic and cant wait to unravel the rest of this origin story. I cant wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mother Panic #4

Mar 8, 2017

In this issue, Mother Panic has a major art team shift. Do I like it? Nay, I do not. This issue starts the beginning of a brand-new arc and what feels like a whole different comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #1

Mar 2, 2017

If you love comics, you should be reading this book. If you love television, you should be reading this book. Its only March and I think this will be the book of 2017. Also, the book has an awesome Spotify playlist. Just saying.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sex Criminals #16

Feb 15, 2017

Overall, Im so glad this book is back! Its so different than anything else I pick up. Its a book all about human relationships, sexuality, and chock fill of as many sex puns as humanly possible. Its pretty much the best. This issue took a lot of time to focus in on Jon and Suzies relationship and it laid a good foundation for the rest of the arc yet to come *insert pun here*

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Wicked + The Divine #27

Mar 10, 2017

McKelvie and Wilson do a great job to keep up the beautiful feel of this book with the last page being a particularly awesome manga send up. The art team always does a great job of making this book look and feel like a celebrity zine. McKelvies strong lines can be refreshing in a world where the more sketchy and abstract style is so popular.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

5th

March

More