Chris Campbell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity, All-Comic Reviews: 15
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Black Hammer #8

Apr 20, 2017

Lemire has stated that the series will only be about 18 to 20 issues, so we are already almost half way through. The uniqueness of this story, though, will certainly make readers wish there was no end in sight. He has done so much excellent character building by both past and current events in their lives that we have a strong connection to our heroes. If they are going to survive in the town much longer they are going to have to let go of whats holding them back. Otherwise they arent going to see the dangers around them until its too late. Absolutely grab this issue if you have been following along and if you havent then this would work as a jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia: We Who Are About to Die #1

Apr 26, 2017

The reader will enjoy this combination of horror, gladiator, and detective story all rolled into one. It aptly conveys Rome at it's most sickening and the reader may discover parallels with our own society. If you are a fan of ancient Rome and it's mythology or love the beauty of it's architecture then you may enjoy this book if gore doesn't scare you away. It's a good balance, though, and more than worth sticking it through. There is great potential for a deeper story and message here in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 13, 2017

Overall the book is enjoyable but lacks originality and brevity. The entire storyline could be told in three issues instead of four and would probably work better. The idea for the story, however, is intriguing and hopefully in the future we will return to it. The JLA seems like it will be a lot of fun and has potential for some great adventures as long as they dont need to do any teamwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ladycastle #3

Apr 27, 2017

Definitely pick this up for a fun read, but dont forget the lessons. Ladycastle as a series is, and should be, especially important for young girls. Dawsons work can present them with examples to keep in mind as they grow into women. These are not damsels in distress, but rather fighters and problem solvers. Sometimes you wear a dress and sometimes you fight, other times you fight in a dress.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #2

Apr 12, 2017

Though the main plot may seem simplistic it is a joy to read. Both in its artwork and writing The Big Lie provides the reader with a simple yet sophisticated break from big event books and end of the world crossovers. It is a tribute to the original novels that if you have ever read and enjoyed them, this issue is a must. Even if you havent, then the artwork itself is a pleasure to enjoy and worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Night Owl Society #1

Apr 26, 2017

The future looks good for this group of night owls. They have an interesting story as a foundation and a well balanced cast to inject some light heartedness into the darkness they are facing. Definitely pick this issue up if you have ever thought of starting your own team of crime fighters or were a member of the Breakfast Club in school.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Old Guard #3

Apr 26, 2017

Overall, this is a cant miss issue. The series has landed now with both feet and has taken off at breakneck speed. The artwork and its gritty rugged portrayal of this world gives our eyes a feast of detail in the backgrounds and action scenes. Rucka is giving us an thrilling experience as we follow the immortal hitmen but keeps them relatable by having them seek the same answers that we do. When is it our time to die and why?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redneck #1

Apr 20, 2017

Overall,Redneck feels like it will be a successful book. Already, in one short issue, the creators have been able to communicate so much to the reader. The letter from Cates to the reader is a must read; its a key part to meaning of this story. Definitely pick up this book if you can relate to some of the themes mentioned above or want a different kind of vampire story. It will be interesting to see if the family can continue to leave their inner monsters in the dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sovereigns #0

Apr 6, 2017

Overall the book is good, though short, and it shows potential for a great reboot for each of the individual heroes. As far as “The Sovereigns” storyline goes, it is too early to tell. It seems to have potential, but there just wasnt enough in the 18 pages to get a sense of how things will go. This introduction is only $1.00, so you won't be out much if you don't like it, but the artwork and writing are definitely worth more than the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 17, 2017

If the noir Calvin and Hobbes premise was the only thing that it had going for it interest in this book wouldnt last long. Even as a detective story it might not hold the readers interest but the combination of the two paired with the brutality of Lockes life are unique. We also discover by the end of the book that something else is going on and immediately leave us wanting our questions answered. Spencer and Locke is a must to add to your collection and enjoy reading. It looks to have a unique and exciting future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #3

Apr 19, 2017

Overall, Super Sons continues to be an enjoyable read and always leaves the reader looking forward to the next issue. This team up could be the best one to come along since Batman first met Superman. In the future, it will be fun to look back on these early adventures and see how their relationship has evolved. Pick up this issue for continued fun, adventure, and laughter as the two continue to jab each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2016) #8

Apr 17, 2017

Overall, the issue is a lot of fun. It reads straightforwardly, but unpacks so much by the time youve finished it. We are beginning to see just how much the Reborn storyline is going to affect the overall DC Universe. For the Super-family, it appears that this reboot is the best thing to happen to them in a long time. Definitely pick up this issue and get reacquainted with the cousins.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #20

Apr 6, 2017

Overall the issue is enjoyable even though it lacked a betterlook at the fallout from the last part of “Superman Reborn”. Although we get some hints as to what has changed, it just wasnt enough considering this seems to be a pretty big thing for the DC Universe.Hopefully we will get a better look into the merging of the Supermenvery soon and that the black goo is more than just a monster of the week. If you are a fan of iconic Superman moments or just looking to jump into Superman before we get into heavier plot-lines, you should definitely pick up this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
World Reader #1

Apr 21, 2017

Overall, for a first issue, it is put together extremely well. Although the story centers around a lot of death, the spiritual side overcomes it with peace and harmony. Loveness treats usto a well thought out and planned world and situation. Deerings color work on the issue stands out in particular and, along with the uniqueness of the story,World Reader is a must to pick up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 13, 2017

Dont let X-Men: Gold prevent you from picking up X-Men: Blue. Everything that is wrong with last weeks title is done right in this book. As promised, we are back to basics in look, style, and story; it's a breath of fresh air that will restore faith in the X-Men for a lot of readers. If the X-Men are going to return to greatness, then this title is where it will happen.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More