Chris Hassan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 35
8.5Avg. Review Rating

10
12 Reasons Why I Love Her #1

Feb 15, 2016

Wow, that's kind of bleak note to end on. But hey, that's real life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New X-Men (2015) Annual #1

Nov 23, 2016

Don't believe me? Just read this annual's Dani Moonstar-focused backup story by writer Rex Ogle and artist Andrea Broccardo, which focuses on the feelings that accompany panic attacks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #14

Oct 19, 2016

Of course, as Inhumans vs. X-Men approaches, along with the inevitable tie-in stories, I may just find myself missing these solo stories in a few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #15

Nov 9, 2016

However, with young Cyclops now a member of The Champions, I assume he and his fellow young mutants aren't going anywhere any time soon. I guess we'll just have to wait and see what the post-Inhumans Vs. X-Men world has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-New X-Men (2015) #16

Dec 14, 2016

I'm also curious to see where Bagley will go once Marvel puts a period on this series. In my opinion, these past few issues have been some of the strongest work I've seen from this artist in a long time. It'd be fun to see him revisit Spider-Man post-Clone Conspiracy next, though he's always welcome in the X-universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #17

Jan 18, 2017

Love makes us do crazy things. Good to see that's just as true for mutants and Inhumans as it is for ordinary humans!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Avengers (2016) #3.1

Jan 18, 2017

These days, more than a few comics have "All-New" or just plain "New" slapped on their covers. After reading Avengers #3.1, I don't think I'd mind seeing "Classic" instead. Hey, it worked for Coca-Cola!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

I think overall, my biggest complaint with Batman: Rebirth #1 is that I finished reading it in like five minutes. Which, I guess, means I wanted the experience to last longer. Which, ultimately, means I'll be back for Batman #1 by King and artist David Finch on June 15.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #7

Jan 18, 2017

Fortunately, Coello's art is nowhere near as offensive as Deadpool's jokes and is right at home in a comedic superhero book. His smooth pencils reminded me of the work of Paco Medina, who also spent some time illustrating Deadpool's adventures.I'm clearly not the target audience for this series, which in my eyes, just continues to overexpose Deadpool, Wolverine-style (and look what happened to him – he's dead). Storywise, this is the type of event tie-in that really doesn't need to exist, in my opinion. Deadpool & The Mercs for Money could have continued with their regular adventures without wading into the X-Men's battle (pun intended) and revisiting the tired, dark-future concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death of X #1

Oct 5, 2016

After 50+ years spent battling megalomaniacal mutants, bigoted humans and killer robots, Lemire, Soule and Kuder prove that the X-Men's greatest threat may just be a cloud – and the story's so good, that's okay.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death of X #2

Oct 19, 2016

I'm not sure if there's such a thing as a good kind of car wreck, but that's what I'd compare Death of X to. You know it's going to end in tragedy but you can't help but watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of X #3

Nov 2, 2016

Let's hope Death of X #4 makes up for these minor missteps and doesn't meet the same fate as Cyclops (who I predict doesn't die and is instead captured by the Inhumans so he can return in time for Marvel's "Ressurxion" relaunch – not spoilers, just my theory (you read it here first!)).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death of X #4

Nov 23, 2016

Ultimately, Death of X is an optic blast to the heart–but a testament to the X-Men's resolve when facing impossible odds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 14, 2016

Overall, this is a solid introduction to not just Way and Derington's take on the Doom Patrol, but the untamed world of Young Animal as well. If the imprint's other titles have the same striking art, fresh ideas and sense of whimsy, DC's mature reader titles may just be experiencing their own rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 12, 2016

At the same time, no one should be denied Derington's incredible art on a monthly basis. I'll admit, I wasn't familiar with the artist's work before Doom Patrol, but these two issues have ensured I will follow his career wherever his smooth and animated pencils go next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extraordinary X-Men #15

Oct 26, 2016

While I'm more than happy to put this unpleasant Inhuman-tainted X-era behind us, I just hope Lemire's terrific character contributions aren't swept under the rug as Marvel embraces a more nostalgic approach to its X-line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Extraordinary X-Men #16

Nov 30, 2016

In the art department, Ibanez continues to prove that his moody pencils are perfect for this fantastical story set in the always-dangerous Limbo. The artist's creepy takes on the manipulative Apocalypse and possessed Sapna make it clear this is what would happen if the X-Men were dropped into a horror film.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extraordinary X-Men #17

Dec 28, 2016

Based on the information I have about next month's Extraordinary X-Men #18, Forge should be at the center of the action. I hope this is true, and I hope Lemire continues these character-focused tie-in issues for the remainder of IVX. This is shaping up to be a strong X-event, and I can't think of a better way to end this series, which has showcased terrific character work, than with personal stories from the Inhuman-mutant war.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #2

Dec 21, 2016

If you were like myself – hesitant to get to know a brand new Iron Man – I recommend giving this book a chance. I know Bendis has it in him to tell strong stories, and when it's clear he's inspired, it's very easy to put your faith (aka $3.99) in him and blast off into the unknown.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #3

Jan 18, 2017

The rookie-replacing-the-veteran-hero angle is something we've seen quite a lot of in the past few years. With that said, by injecting Riri into Tony's life, Bendis and Caselli have truly managed to make Iron Man fresh again. It also doesn't hurt that in just three issues, Riri comes across as more fully formed than some comic characters who've been around for decades.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #0

Nov 30, 2016

Soule, along with co-writer Jeff Lemire and artist Leinil Yu are talented creators, so I have faith in the quality of IVX beyond #0. But sadly, from a jaded fan perspective, it's hard to see this series as nothing more than the latest bridge between Marvel relaunches. I understand comics is a business, but it's not much fun if the people who buy these series - and have been doing so for countless years - have event endings spoiled by Marvel's marketing team and comic news outlets.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
IvX #1

Dec 14, 2016

In X-Men lore, extinction was always a far-off threat " something that would take place at the metal hands of Sentinels when Wolverine's hair finally starts to gray. But thanks to the Inhumans, mutants' extinction has never been so close around the corner. Some of Marvel's most cunning mutants understand this and " along with Soule, Lemire and Yu " guarantee IVX will be a page-turner X-fans will be talking about for ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #2

Jan 11, 2017

I will say, if you're reading this event's tie-in issues, go ahead and read IVX #2 first. If you're not, still read this comic first, then do yourself a favor and pick up Uncanny X-Men #17 by Cullen Bunn and Ken Lashley. The creative team takes a one-page beat in this issue and manages to spin a compelling tale out of it in their own book (my top comic of the week).As I'm one of those readers who prefers character-driven conversations over action, I didn't enjoy the second entry into this series as much as the first. It also didn't help that is was the length of a regular comic book (for some reason, I expected it to be as long as issue 1). But these are minor complaints – this is by no means a bad comic.Plus, based on next issue's cover, Magneto is going to face off against Devil Dinosaur. To quote Weezer's “El Scorcho,” “How cool is that?”

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Micronauts #1

Apr 26, 2016

I believe that Micronauts fans will get the biggest kick out of reading this new spin on a classic concept. That doesn't mean fans of Bunn's other work should be scared away by a comic based on a toyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #16

Jan 4, 2017

Hopefully I've made the case for Old Man Logan (Marvel, if you see a sales spike, you know who to mail that check to). This is truly one of the best books on the stands, with each arc as eclectic as Old Man Logan's life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Snotgirl #1

Jul 5, 2016

Personally, I find social media and its impact on society (both positive and negative) fascinating. So if Snotgirl provides its creators a chance to put this whole culture under the microscope, I'll definitely be along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Snotgirl #2

Aug 23, 2016

For me, Snotgirl is just like that annoying Facebook friend who you find yourself complaining about but just can't bring yourself to unfriend. FML.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #1

Feb 3, 2016

If you're not feeling Peter Parker's Tony Stark-style makeover, Spider-Man #1 is the spider-book you've been waiting for!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #1

Sep 26, 2016

You'll never see Tarzan battle ape soldiers on the big screen, so enjoy it here, free of the major studio intervention that's become all too common in modern blockbusters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Discipline #1

Mar 2, 2016

We just might not be willing to admit where we've seen them before.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) Annual #1

Nov 16, 2016

So while I'm not really a fan of the annual format, I can't really fault this particular issue as it's basically a regular installment of Uncanny dressed as an annual. Well played, Marvel, well played.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #15

Nov 9, 2016

Next issue, Bunn's plotlines crash into the Inhumans Vs. X-Men event, so it'll be interesting to see how he keeps things moving with characters like Medusa and Karnak in the mix. But considering that he wrote the X-Men's Civil War II tie-in, which helped lay the seeds for IVX, I have faith in his master plan. Certainly more so than Psylocke in Magneto's.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #16

Dec 21, 2016

Will that day ever come? Perhaps in the RessurXion era? No, that's just what Jean and the Cuckoos want me to believe"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #17

Jan 11, 2017

More so than Civil War II, IVX feels like a real war. And for fortunate readers, the spoils of war just so happen to be great stories via creators like Bunn and Lashley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Worst X-Man Ever #1

Jan 4, 2016

Don't be swayed by this comic's clickbaity title " X-Men: Worst X-Men Ever #1 is a refreshing surprise that promises comedy, character, twists and a whole lot of heart. I'm rooting for you, Bailey!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More