Christopher Amundson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 8
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 9, 2017

Maybe a little savage? Eh, maybe. I will say, this book has me wanting more story. It leaves me wanting to know all of the who/what/when/why's. All in all, this is a solid start to a brand new book, just under a 4.0, and that's pretty good. Next month, bring it! I want to get lost in this story! Give me a secret or two, plant a few hidden traps. Make me come back to your story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #10

Apr 5, 2017

All in all, this book really works for me. This new arc is going to be a fun read as I am already looking forward to next month's book! A 4.25 is a solid rating for any book, even one as enjoyable as Faith. Please enjoy this book, and for a breath of fresh air, just turn to page 1 of Faith: The Faithless

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe (2016) #4

Apr 21, 2017

Maybe this isn't my generation's comic. Maybe I'm too old to enjoy the story line. If I looked at this as a kid who maybe just started getting into comics, say 9-12, then this would be pretty cool. For me though, it misses the mark, as it just didn't speak to me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godshaper #1

Apr 12, 2017

Wrapping this book up, a very solid 4+ effort from Boom! Studios. Simon and Jonas really tell an interesting story, one that will keep me coming back to learn more about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grass Kings #2

Apr 12, 2017

I would suggest you consider placing this book on your pull list. Short on funds? Then consider picking this up when the first Trade Paperback comes out. An overall 4.25 is well worth the read. This ride with Matt and Tyler promises to be a fun mystery style comic that will make you feel like you've just been on a roller coaster, with every issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #26

Apr 17, 2017

This book, this story is a must read. If you are just getting into Ninjak, make sure you grab the Trade Paper Backs and enjoy the whole story from the beginning. As for this book, pick it up, if just for the interior art!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 15, 2017

Man, what a ride! What a fun book! Little known Action Lab has something fantastic here, I only hope they can push it enough to get enough readers to pay attention. I know I will be looking forward to issue #2 and hoping they keep the pace up, the intensity up, keep the story rolling

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Stained #1

Apr 24, 2017

Sadly, I know where this book will end, but it doesn't deserve to be there. This book is to good of a story for it to wind up in the dollar bin. David tells a great story here, one leaving you wanting more. Yusuf is a master with his art. 451 landed a great story here, and while you may not know who 451 is, you might know a few of their founders. Michael Bay, Douglas Nunes, John and Anthony Gentile are not small names, ones that all comic book readers should take note of.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More