Christopher Rodriguez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 9
7.1Avg. Review Rating

7.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 11, 2017

This comic book is doing justice to the story. The plot is intriguing and the artwork is great to look at, but unlike the upcoming television series, I don't know if this was totally necessary. It doesn't have as a unique reading experience to it as I had hoped it would. I just feel like I'm retreading old ground, but I do admit, I love retreading this ground. It's a great story, and I can't imagine anyone picking up this issue being too disappointed with their purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7 DC

Apr 26, 2017

Because of the transition from New 52 to Rebirth, Dan Jurgens' job of taking Terry McGinnis on a new journey is a little tougher than one might expect. Still, I can't pretend that the current storyline is amazing. This issue wasn't awful by any means, but there's not much to be excited about in the world of Batman Beyond right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 5, 2017

On one you hand, you have a cryptic backstory for the main character and plot that both have a ton of potential. It also has an art team that is perfect for what this series is. But on the other hand, this first issue didn't get me to care enough about either the story or Barrett.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

Even at its best all we could have expected from these crossovers were some lighthearted fun. For the most part that is what we got, but the use of death was hard to ignore. A lot of morbid situations were just laughed off by the characters and it felt weird because of it. This comic asked to be taken more seriously than it should have.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Night Owl Society #1

Apr 26, 2017

A fun comic book that has a lot of potential. A weak main protagonist does drag down the first issue, but the art and supporting cast more than makes up for him. Wasn't mind-blowing but was good enough to get me intrigued about the next two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

The "Batman and Robin" series is the reason I fell in love with reading comics monthly, and this Nightwing storyline is the first true continuation of Grant Morrison's epic run. Tim Seeley has been the only writer to remember how strong a bond Dick and Damian had when they were Batman and Robin. I loved everything about this issue and could not be happier with Nightwing right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

This seems like more a setup of what's to come, but it was still very entertaining. Doctor Hurt, Professor Pyg, and Deathwing all seem hellbent in making Nightwing's life a living hell. Considering the fact that DC Comics could only kill a single character off so many times before it sticks, the next issue should be very interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #0

Apr 19, 2017

Outside of a few scenes that felt very soap opera-y(Cap and Sharon), this was a really fun issue. Probably the most interesting start to a Marvel event that I've read in a long while. The anger toward Captain America being a Hydra agent all along is understandable, but I actually look forward to seeing how this creative team makes it right. Marvel has my attention again, here's hoping they don't lose me halfway through like so many events have done in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
WWE Wrestlemania 2017 Special #1

Mar 28, 2017

This would be a very fun read for any wrestling fan. This comic is at its best when it layers new interesting details on top of classic stories, or goes completely absurd like with New Day. It did have a few hiccups and retreaded old ground, but overall it was enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More