Christopher Rodriguez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 28
7.4Avg. Review Rating

7.0
American Gods: Shadows #2

Apr 11, 2017

This comic book is doing justice to the story. The plot is intriguing and the artwork is great to look at, but unlike the upcoming television series, I don't know if this was totally necessary. It doesn't have as a unique reading experience to it as I had hoped it would. I just feel like I'm retreading old ground, but I do admit, I love retreading this ground. It's a great story, and I can't imagine anyone picking up this issue being too disappointed with their purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Bane: Conquest #1

May 5, 2017

This wasn't horrible by any means, but it did not live up to this creative teams past work. The retro art style was fantastic, the Bane action scenes were fun, and he makes for an interesting main character. There just wasn't much in this issue to excite me. As a reader, I wasn't given any reason to care about any of this. There was no drama. With that said, I have no doubt this creative team will deliver in future issues, they're too good not to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bane: Conquest #2

Jun 7, 2017

I can't recall hating a first issue and then loving a second issue, quite like I did with Bane: Conquest. I hate to admit it because you shouldn't shove him into every story, but the inclusion of Batman made a world of difference here. Bane and Bruce Wayne bouncing off each other was done perfectly. A few hiccups aside, this series has a classic Batman feel to it, that I didn't know I needed till this second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batgirl (2016) #11

May 24, 2017

By now, if you're still reading this series then you know exactly what to expect: Fun little stories that explore Barbara's relationships. Though it's not my favorite series, I feel like the Batgirl creative team always accomplishes what it sets out to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl (2016) #12

Jun 28, 2017

A light-toned Batgirl ghost story could have worked very well. Unfortunately, this issue felt like an afterthought. Despite a rushed plot, the artwork was phenomenal and the overall story was fun if nothing else.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

Because of the transition from New 52 to Rebirth, Dan Jurgens' job of taking Terry McGinnis on a new journey is a little tougher than one might expect. Still, I can't pretend that the current storyline is amazing. This issue wasn't awful by any means, but there's not much to be excited about in the world of Batman Beyond right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 28, 2017

Tropes aside, Batman Beyond #9 was a fun issue that saw the return of one of my favorite Robins. Great action scenes and beautiful art were the highlight, but by the end of the issue I was totally immersed into the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

This is the best issue of all the DC Comics/Looney Toons crossover specials. The creative team as a whole does a perfect job of blending these two worlds together, and leaves you wanting more. Batman/Elmer Fudd turned out to jot only be a good crossover, but a great Batman issue period.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Cloud #1

Apr 5, 2017

On one you hand, you have a cryptic backstory for the main character and plot that both have a ton of potential. It also has an art team that is perfect for what this series is. But on the other hand, this first issue didn't get me to care enough about either the story or Barrett.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

Even at its best all we could have expected from these crossovers were some lighthearted fun. For the most part that is what we got, but the use of death was hard to ignore. A lot of morbid situations were just laughed off by the characters and it felt weird because of it. This comic asked to be taken more seriously than it should have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #956

May 10, 2017

This whole storyline was fun and it really let barely used, Cassandra Cain, shine. I think this put a lot of character back on track, and added some great lore to the world of Batman. My only problem is with how weak the League of Shadows turned out to be. This story become more about highlighting Cass and her relationship with Lady Shiva, but it killed some of the momentum the league had. Still, this issue had great art and a very good story. A must read for all Batman fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 24, 2017

I have mixed feelings about this issue. On one hand, I like where this storyline might be headed, and on the other hand, I don't like how Stephanie Brown is being handled. Even so, seeing Spoiler take on a villain on her own, was fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 14, 2017

zrael is the next team member to be highlighted, and his story arc kicks off with an exciting reveal. After the last issue I was a little worried about what was coming up in the series, but my worries have been put to rest.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Night Owl Society #1

Apr 26, 2017

A fun comic book that has a lot of potential. A weak main protagonist does drag down the first issue, but the art and supporting cast more than makes up for him. Wasn't mind-blowing but was good enough to get me intrigued about the next two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

The "Batman and Robin" series is the reason I fell in love with reading comics monthly, and this Nightwing storyline is the first true continuation of Grant Morrison's epic run. Tim Seeley has been the only writer to remember how strong a bond Dick and Damian had when they were Batman and Robin. I loved everything about this issue and could not be happier with Nightwing right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

This seems like more a setup of what's to come, but it was still very entertaining. Doctor Hurt, Professor Pyg, and Deathwing all seem hellbent in making Nightwing's life a living hell. Considering the fact that DC Comics could only kill a single character off so many times before it sticks, the next issue should be very interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #20

May 3, 2017

This is one of my favorite Nightwing arcs that I had the pleasure of reading, and I have no problem admitting that I love it because Nightwing Must Die continues my favorite Batman story ever. Unfortunately, it didn't tie up many loose ends that it started in the previous issues. Though it lacks closure, it does show the strength of Nightwing, and leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #21

May 17, 2017

If you're a fan of Dick and Wally then you may very well enjoy the hell out of this issue. It's nothing special, but the writer at least has fun with everyone's favorite two best friends in the DC universe. There is no real drama or sense of urgency outside of the opening sequence, but you'll be entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Predator: Hunters #1

May 2, 2017

This comic book is pretty much what you would expect and that's not a complaint. A solid set-up to what looks to be a fun series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 10, 2017

This was mostly setup for the big faceoff between the army of Qurac and the Amazons of Bana-Mighdall, but with how good this creative team is right now, it's hard not to get excited. Artemis is going to be put in a tough position, but luckily the Outlaws will be there to help. Also, I really love how they've built up the destructive force of the Bow of Ra, it's very powerful. Solid issue all around, with some interesting things to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

Despite this issue being a little anticlimactic, it didn't ruin what has been a fantastic run for the current creative team. Scott Lobdell and Dexter Soy have done an amazing job since Rebirth. This issue is a solid read, and has an ending that probably plays better in a trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #0

Apr 19, 2017

Outside of a few scenes that felt very soap opera-y(Cap and Sharon), this was a really fun issue. Probably the most interesting start to a Marvel event that I've read in a long while. The anger toward Captain America being a Hydra agent all along is understandable, but I actually look forward to seeing how this creative team makes it right. Marvel has my attention again, here's hoping they don't lose me halfway through like so many events have done in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire #1

May 4, 2017

I see a lot of low scores for this issue, but the complaints seem less to do with the quality of the comic book and more to do with the controversies in the story. I don't like what's going on in the story, but that's what makes it so entertaining. I can't imagine Marvel would be ok with tainting one of their most beloved and important heroes. True this issues was very dialogue heavy, but everything going on is fascinating. This is a hard read, but I think that's what it's meant to be. So far, I think this story has been pretty good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #3

May 31, 2017

This issue does an amazing job of getting the reader invested in each storyline. Though lacking any big battles, Secret Empire #3 pushes every character in a direction that will no doubt converge as one. Seeing heroes become villains still isn't easy, but beautiful artwork and a compelling story make this a very interesting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Empire #4

Jun 14, 2017

This was the most compelling issue of the mini-series so far. It touches on every storyline and keeps you interested with every page. The Ultron/Pym dinner party was intense and creepy. There's a lot of dialogue, but something about this issue is totally in my wheelhouse.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

I don't expect much from these annual anthologies, but this one was really fun. Each story was different from the last, and I thought two of the four were excellent. A nice introduction to Wonder Woman for any new readers that want to pick something up after watching her upcoming movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman: Steve Trevor Special #1

Jun 7, 2017

It wasn't the best Steve Trevor story ever made, but this issue will be an effective bridge for potential new readers who have seen the Wonder Woman movie. With that said, I think this was entertaining enough for old readers to enjoy as well. This issue accomplishes what it set out to do.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
WWE Wrestlemania 2017 Special #1

Mar 28, 2017

This would be a very fun read for any wrestling fan. This comic is at its best when it layers new interesting details on top of classic stories, or goes completely absurd like with New Day. It did have a few hiccups and retreaded old ground, but overall it was enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More