Columbus Comics Corner's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 17
7.8Avg. Review Rating

5.5
Bullseye (2017) #1

Feb 6, 2017

Readers may enjoy the method of his technique to kill people with random things. But the story seems dull for this being the big return of Bullseye. That said, the art throughout the book helps makes up for the lack of a strong plot and backup story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Extraordinary X-Men #20

Mar 27, 2017

If you felt down on the X-Men after finishing the recent event, this may restore your excitement level. This epilogue shows the mindset of Storm post thinking she could trust Emma Frost. While sending other X-Men to fix some decisions made during this timeline. Overall, the issue cautiously restores my hope for the future of the X-Men. Go give it a read if you're an X-Man fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Faith #8

Feb 4, 2017

Being a full-time Harbinger again and dealing with her own threats, Faith is busy finding herself and bringing down villains at the same time. We see Faith continuing to deal with the death of her family and close friends. Jody Houser has been planting seeds since the start of the series. Which leads to play into Faith's future overarching story. Essentially, this issue is a setup for what's to come in the upcoming arc. While it's a quick read, you get a plot point wrapped up, an important friendship moment, and enjoyable art to guide you through the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grass Kings #1

Mar 11, 2017

We're given a tour of Grass Kingdom to familiarize us with the lay of the land. Great first issue to introduce you to the characters you'll be seeing more of. There's something weird going on we know that much. The overall mystery of this town and the things that occur we'll have me sticking around to see where this first arc goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Harbinger: Renegade #4

Feb 25, 2017

Solomon has placed things in motion to further his plan to enhance other psiot's. The art continues to be stunning and a good fit for the book. Although we have to wait until July, the creative team has something great up their sleeves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
James Bond (2017) #1

Mar 4, 2017

This first issue hits all the Bond tropes you would want to see. We mostly get a set up for what's to come in Tokyo. There's nothing to grab a reader to get them excited for the arc. The issue leaves you relying on the art to help move along the story, up until we're briefed on Bond's new mission. That being said, the art makes up for the lack of story. It's hard to find many words for this jumping on point.Bits and Pieces:If you want some 007 nostalgia, you'll find some enjoyment in this book. Benjamin Percy plays it safe and only gives a sample of what's to come. Nothing much here though to get someone excited to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 11, 2017

Brian Wood has set up an interesting story to tell in this dystopian world. He gives you enough to set up the relationship of John and his wife Dejah and a shocking reveal. The art stands out and helps move the story along. If you're a fan of tales placed in dystopian worlds, you can pick up this issue and find this intriguing.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
John Carter: The End #2

Mar 11, 2017

Bits and Pieces:If you were hoping you'd get more story in this issue you'll be disappointed. We're given the same minimalistic dialogue stretched out. It feels like the story has moved an inch since last month. The art is very enjoyable to look at, though!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kill Or Be Killed #6

Feb 18, 2017

The art continues to shine and plays like watching a gritty crime show on HBO. This trio is an unstoppable team when working together.Bits and Pieces: Another great installment to this series. The story continues to move along showing Dylan's situation can just get worse from here. You can only hope the best outcome for him in the end. Although it's getting tougher to root for our main character at times.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Kill Or Be Killed #7

Mar 18, 2017

Bits and Pieces:While we take a break from the main plot and flush out Kira's character. You'll get emotionally attached to her after you finish this issue. But don't worry, though. In no way would I consider this a down issue in any sorts. By the end, the issue will still move the overall story forward. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Kingpin (2017) #1

Feb 13, 2017

Kingpin is attempting to show his emotional side and wants to share his past with entire world. Although it seems he's turned a new leaf, Kingpin is planting seeds for something big. It's still a mystery to what Kingpin is after. But it can't be good. Matthew Rosenburg provides an engaging story that'll leave you wanting to see how this all plays out for the big boss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #17

Feb 6, 2017

The story is starting to ramp up. Jeff Lemire's dialogue isn't lost while he takes Logan through different realities and time. When you think Logan is close to cracking the code, Jeff Lemire literally shatters everything you might've thought was real and up's the stakes. The pages provide stunning artwork and panel transitions to make for a fun read. You can tell everything in the book is being well thought out and I admire that. This issue takes the leap to progress the story expansively. While some books were a bit dull for me, this week's Old Man Logan came on top for pick of the week.Bits and Pieces:Jeff Lemire continues to pull another exciting story from his vault. He does a great job of playing with two different realities while telling an engaging story. Andrea Sorrentino and Marcelo Maiolo help pull everything together with their artwork. When the story seems to unfold a bit, Jeff Lemire takes things up a notch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #18

Feb 20, 2017

Jeff Lemire wraps up the arc with a nice touch to send Logan onto his next journey. Moving forward, Logan will soon find out if his visions have become true at an old familiar place. You'll be left excited to see where Jeff Lemire will take the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Old Man Logan (2016) #19

Mar 13, 2017

Logan must jump through several hoops before he can travel to the Wastelands. Some great cameos are thrown in to assist the plot. Now that Logan has someone who can help him travel back. The next issue should pick up more than what we're given. I'm eager to catch up with Baby Hulk and Dannie Rand! Overall, a good start to this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Spider-Man: Homecoming Prelude #1

Mar 6, 2017

Instead of buying this book, you can either buy or rent Captain America: Civil War and get everything in this issue plus more Spider-Man.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Woman (2015) #15

Jan 30, 2017

Another great issue that never seems to slow down. There are great character moments and more of Spider-Woman kicking butt. Dennis Hopeless continues to provide the perfect amount of action, comedy, and drama that'll keep you locked into the story telling. Just when you think things are looking up for Spider-Woman, you're knocked back down a few pegs. One of the best ongoing Marvel series that should be on everyone's radar! 

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tank Girl: Gold #4

Feb 25, 2017

You can always count on hilarious comedic moments entwined with a backdoor approach to storytelling. The story is everywhere at times, going off the tracks only to wrap it back around perfectly. That sorta style could dive bomb quickly. But Alan Martin seems to know how to juggle such off the wall ideas to tell a dynamic story. Reading this series gives you the feeling you're on this gonzo vacation with the cast. Next month the team will pick up where we leave off with its new series.Bits and Pieces:I can't recommend this series enough! Both art and storytelling is a unique approach you don't see often done this well. Although the miniseries has ended, Alan Martin has left it open to explore again. That's once we get back from their next adventure. Can't wait to dive into the new series next month.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More