David Doub's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek-O-Rama Reviews: 29
6.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
BOOM! Box Mix Tape #2016

Dec 14, 2016

This is a great anthology that has a lot of different and interesting stories and art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Box Office Poison Color Comics #1

Jan 15, 2017

This is a book about characters and that is what it does well. Each character is drawn so uniquely and expressively it conveys a lot of each character without having anything said. Also, the interaction between characters is natural and also conveys a lot without the need to overtly explaining anything. The story are the people and watching them interact is how it's told. It's such a subtle thing it kind of snuck up on me but I found I really liked it by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Die Kitty Die! #1

Dec 13, 2016

So if you like some semi-risqu humor with some good girl art, you'll love this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doc Savage: Ring Of Fire #1

May 3, 2017

The story itself is fine. I am not super familiar with Doc Savage except for random issues here and there (and half the time Savage is paired with Batman or other characters), but it's a fun action and adventure romp. The dialogue is a bit flat and doesn't stand out much but you don't need Shakespeare with your action movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
G.I. Joe (2016) #1

Jan 11, 2017

In closing I have to say yet again while the content of the book is fine, it doesnt serve its purpose as a first issue. If I was a new reader I would feel lost and confused. Now mind you some readers may become curious and wantto find out more about this shared Hasbro Universe, and thenpick up more comics. Sadly, it didnt have that effect on me.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gumballs #1

Jan 3, 2017

Overall I enjoyed the main course of this book but the side dishes were rather lacking

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
KISS: The Demon #1

Feb 26, 2017

Its not a bad comic, its just not very exciting for me personally.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magnus #1

Jun 13, 2017

It's an interesting twist on the robot uprising because they don't want control or slaughter (even though there is a murder), they just want freedom. So in a way it's a story about slavery and dealing with the emergence of a new race of people.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #4

Oct 18, 2016

So the cliffhanger that apparently was supposed to go through 2 issues is ruined by the simple need of having to promote comics in a timely manner so comic shops can be informed and order accordingly. The whole nature of how with non-returnable comics, publishers are actually selling to shops and not readers, it an another conversation entirely. In this case though sadly it lessened the impact of the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #5

Nov 16, 2016

Still a great read overall and if I didn't get review copies I'd go out and buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #6

Dec 24, 2016

So overall I really enjoyed this issue (and not because people are naked mostly throughout the book) and if youve been reading this mini series, this one doesnt disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #7

Jan 25, 2017

So overall if you've been following the series, I say have faith because I have faith it will complete as a good read. If this is your first entry into the series, I'd say give issue 1 a chance to see if you'd want to complete the rest (but this issue does have a lot of spoilers to earlier issues).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #8

Mar 28, 2017

If you like a decent crime drama or action story, youll enjoy this. Just might want to start with the first issue instead of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #9

Jun 7, 2017

Half of the issue is dedicated to the resolution to the lead's romantic entanglement. This too has some great drama and messiness as no one gets a real happy ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Regression #1

Jun 6, 2017

I think this maybe another example this story would have been better served collected. I have this feeling if I had more plot to digest and I could see more of where the writer was going I could maybe appreciate the story more. As it is, the story just stops at a place that Im not satisfied with.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Romulus #1

Oct 12, 2016

What keeps me from just hating this book is the art. The art is beautiful. Its simple and slick with an under layer of fine detail. Also, since the lead of the book focus on female, the artist draws ladies very well without using the crutch of oversexualizing them. His action has a smooth fluidity to it that draws the eye very easily. The art is what makes the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sovereigns #0

Apr 15, 2017

So overall I'd recommend to keep an eye out for these new books except for Dr Spektor. That type of story has been done better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Trek: Waypoint #1

Oct 7, 2016

The basic gist of this comic is it's a smaller anthology of various Star Trek stories from the various series and incarnations. It's an interesting and fun concept. Of course with any anthology you're going to get a mixed bag of entertainment value over all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swordquest #1

Jul 4, 2017

The art is well suited for the more down to earth story that is going on and helps set the more somber mood consider one of the characters are dying and wants to get the prize he so desperately wanted in his youth. There are also some minor RPG type moment in the story that add to the over all feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #1

Oct 17, 2016

I like to think I have a better than average familiarity with both Planet of the Apes and the original Tarzan novels, so this promises to be an interesting read. Once I was able to place where these two timelines diverged from the originals, it became much easier to sit back and enjoy it. The art and colouring feels a bit like Tim Burton's 2001 Apes attempt, but still manages to invoke the original series aesthetic. The panel layout is artistic without being distracting, and the writing is tight. As with many crossovers there are a few jarring moments as they weave two very well known franchises together, but the end result is a great beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #2

Oct 25, 2016

With the combined timelines of Tarzan and The Planet of the Apes having been established, albeit someone jarringly, in the first issue this issue read much smoother. The art and layout remain excellent, and I am noticing a subtle thematic change to the panels when we flashback to the Apes film history. The writing continues to strike a wonderful balance between the tone of the two franchises, not pushing too far in either direction. My only complaint is there was no real transition between the scenes in London and subsequently the battle West Africa, and when the landing party arriving in Africa. Sailing to Africa is not a short journey, although maybe I'm just being picky.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #3

Dec 28, 2016

I'm loving this story, but I think the multiple reality angle was unnecessary. I just spent two issues accepting that this timeline simply exists. There really wasn't any need to shove other realities in my face, its a tired, overused, gimmick that didn't need to happen here. I'm a bit worried about where the story is going, but we'll see how the next couple issues wrap things up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Terror! #1

Nov 9, 2016

Basically I would have loved the first story had the art of the second story. Overall though I like the concept of the anthology and would definitely check it out again.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Dresden Files: Dog Men #1

Jun 28, 2017

Maybe Dresden Fans would find it more enjoyable but as a standalone comic it fails to help bring in new readers into the story. The art and writing is fine but they made a book that seems to cater to only a certain reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Greatest Adventure #1

Apr 20, 2017

Its fine book but it doesn't light my fire for action or adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Green Hornet '66 Meets The Spirit #1

Jul 12, 2017

Over all its a fun story that would fit well in that era. Green Hornet plays up his cover of being a villain and there is plenty of twists and turns and action to keep the pulpy fun going.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vampirella (2017) #0

Feb 7, 2017

Ultimately while it's 25 cents and little risk to try it out, it's totally designed to make you want to try out the first full issue. But as I stated above, I'm leery of trying another Vampirella book less she's rebooted again 6 months later

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Vampirella (2017) #1

Mar 27, 2017

I will say while this is an interesting and different take on Vampirella I don't know if it would fit all fans of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #1

Dec 6, 2016

But overall its a good fun read and people who like either Wonder Woman or the Bionic Women would definitely get a kick out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More