David Finn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 40
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #2

Aug 18, 2016

With Harley Quinn going bi-weekly now it looks like it will a lot of fun to follow her adventures and that of her friends! A good solid issue for Harley lovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #4

Sep 22, 2016

For the Ivy-Harley shippers, of which this reviewer is very much on board with, Harley does make a one panel reference to Ivy and her "excuses" for not moving in, and Harley feels that maybe she has been pushing her too hard. She looks forward to their vacation, so let's hope it happens shippers, they truly are one of the best relationships in comics. I feel confident we will see this issue play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #5

Oct 6, 2016

Summing up this issue, the stylish artwork and amusing story push this issue along at a nice fast pace and I hit the end before I knew it. Writers Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti know how to keep this ticking along nice and smooth, I'm giving it an extra half star just because I adore the image of Harley's new haircut so much. Grab a copy, kids.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #6

Oct 20, 2016

In looking at this issue, I would say that this had a stronger through line than some issues of Harley which often rely on the quickness of the lead character, a layering of subplots and multiple activities split between sections of the book. That's extremely enjoyable, but I did enjoy feeling like Harley was kicking solo and running her own mission after she really made such an emphatic statement at the punk concert. As noted the art is uniformly excellent and effective and the flashback scene gave us a taste of something different while tying into the current story. It's hard not to love this issue and current arc and I have absolutely no intention of resisting such an emotion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #7

Nov 3, 2016

Harley and her new friend the Police Commissioner commiserate and they recognize this crazy fetish club has to exist for people to work out some issues. In return, the evidence of the robberies is turned over to the Commissioner and Harley has her Mista J soap heart back, and it serves as a reminder that "having a fresh start isn't as easy as it seems", no matter how hard you scrub.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #8

Nov 24, 2016

So it ends with Ivy flying away and Harley has a tear running down her face. I know this is obviously a bit of a landmark issue and I do hope Ivy resurfaces for guest spots. She is such a cool character and Harley and her play off each other so well. I saw Poison Ivy appear in a regular Bat-Book recently, used as the villainous foil, and it struck me just how soulless and empty that persona is compared to the more complex and affectionate character that has graced these pages of Harley Quinn, or Ivy's own recent miniseries. I understand different stories call for different interpretations, but as her plane soared through the sky and out of Harley's life, I knew which version I preferred. A kind of sad, kind of happy, but always beautiful issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #9

Dec 8, 2016

This issue was another solid entry and I felt it played a bit experimentally with the format in a good way " I found it a lot more rewarding on a second read through. This series goes from strength to strength and draws me further and further in as a reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #10

Dec 22, 2016

This issue was definitely more of a standalone affair before the series ramps up again following previous events and the fallout of the Bahamas trip of Harley and Ivy, but this is definitely a fun issue in a great run and I encourage readers to jump on board Harley Quinn. Some good Christmas-themed story-telling with a dash of trademark Harley naughtiness!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #11

Jan 5, 2017

When we look at this issue in full, it appears quite clear that Harley isn't really harboring major feelings for Mistah-J anymore. That ship has sailed, her momentum is forward not backward. But like many an awkward ex, Joker carries a riptide of emotion for the character and we can be sure that come the next issue Joker won't simply take his roses and walk away into the sunset. Or will he? That's the kind of delicious ambiguity the situation holds. As a reader and lover of Harley I believe she will conquer her own demons, and in this case, she may have to physically expel him from the boardwalk and her life. Another very good issue of Harley Quinn.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #12

Jan 19, 2017

This is another tight, consistent issue of Harley Quinn by an accomplished team. Although it certainly seems things will come to their climax in the next issue, I'm left feeling that I prefer my Harley without any joker at all. She's outgrown him and perhaps outgrown the after party pf their relationship as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #13

Feb 2, 2017

Harley Quinn #13 is a revealing issue to close out an arc that felt necessary, but dangerous. I'm glad it's over and I'm glad Harley ended it like she did, with a final bullet to his brain. The real Joker is still way back in the rear view mirror, but he's some distance away. His machinations have essentially failed. Harley dodged and then dispatched a bullet this issue. She's not messing around when it comes to the spectre of her former lover-slash-abuser, she's not playing around when it comes to him. And when will she will be "okay", as Red Tool wanted to know? Well, Harley isn't predictable and it might be an hour with her pets, it might be five pizzas later, it might be after a few drinks " the girl isn't predictable. And Joker, all, he's back in Arkham Asylum, a crazy reflection in her rear view.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #14

Feb 16, 2017

A slighter issue than some others in the run so far but still a fun one, Harley Quinn 14 keeps the giggles coming while pushing Harley's story forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #15

Mar 2, 2017

This issue made me chuckle several times and it was another entertaining issue in a solid series. Excited as always to see what the future holds!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 16, 2017

This is my favorite issue of Harley since the Harley/Ivy holiday issue and continues with the strong, funny and heart-warming stories we have come to expect from this creative team. The art was fantastic at conveying Harley as a superhero and there is a lightness to the storyline after the heavier themes of the recent false-Joker arc. Keep rockin' it Conner & Palmiotti!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 6, 2017

The issue itself benefits from the contrast between two versions of Harley and unlike many add-on tales which can feel forced and merely an excuse to increase the cover price, Paul Dini's return to the character he co-created adds to the strength of an already powerful issue. As always it's another very complete and satisfying issue of Harley Quinn " maybe the best book on the stands for DC!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #18

Apr 20, 2017

Editor's Note: David Finn is the author of The Asanti Series. Demorn: Blade of Exile, Demorn: City of Innocents and the latest book, Demorn: Soul Fighter are currently available on Amazon here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #19

May 4, 2017

Harley Quinn is running two strong stories back to back and this continues with the extremely strong series of issues we have seen in the Rebirth run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #20

May 18, 2017

Another great issue of Harley Quinn. Is this the best Rebirth title? It's up there with Greg Rucka's Wonder Woman or Detective Comics, swinging for a completely different set of fences.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 8, 2017

Harley Quinn #21 is a very solid issue and a nice building of the mythos with Devani, who shows potential to be a nice recurring character for DC, and a good foil for Harley. Something Conner and Palmiotti have excelled at in their run is to build the supporting cast of Harley Quinn " much like on a good sitcom, which the Harley Quinn title definitely shares some affinity with, the basis for the continued strength of the comic week to week (or fortnight to fortnight) is the depth and amusing nature of the supporting cast around the star character i.e. Harley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 22, 2017

Another good, solid issue of Harley Quinn " after all the buildup the introduction of Harley's parents got off to a slow-burner but satisfying start. The storyline went fast and was slight but amusing. Doubtless the stakes will heighten as we walk deeper into the story. The Dini/Palmiotti collaboration in the back took the glow in this issue " always strong, the side story really sing this issue. Run don't walk and grab your Harley Quinn fix from your local comic book shop!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #1

Jul 28, 2016

Im tempted to give this comic more than four stars but I feel we are in the construction phase of the story arc and while this is a neat and well told issue, it is a stepping stone into the arc which will hopefully continue on an upward trajectory. I found the art extremely solid and easy to follow and a nice fit for the writing style.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #3

Aug 18, 2016

This is a very stylish issue which showcases the fantastic art of Javier Fernandez, who really shows a wonderful level of detail in both his buildings and character expressions. His Batgirl is exceptional. The building and room details really shine inside the "maze house" and deserve special mention.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nightwing (2016) #5

Sep 22, 2016

I definitely will continue with the Nightwing title, but this was a weak issue. I have little doubt that the strength of the title will return and build post the Night of the Monster Men event. We are left with a resurgence of Gotham Girl as she hurtles into the next chapter of the event, available in Detective Comics #941. Don't let this issue put you off the Nightwing series, let's hope the course correction is fast!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #6

Oct 6, 2016

Nightwing #6 is a three star issue in a two star event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #7

Oct 20, 2016

Overall, a strong solid issue setting up the new story arc. I look forward to Part 2!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #8

Nov 3, 2016

Editor's Note: David Finn is the author of The Asanti Series. Both Demorn: Blade of Exile and Demorn: City of Innocents are currently available on Amazon here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #9

Nov 17, 2016

All in all, I personally found this a slightly ham-fisted way to reintroduce Bludhaven and the change in Dick Graysons mind-set seemed a little jarring, but Im probably being a little harsh. Its a course correction long overdue. The reintroduction of Bludhaven as a potential home base for Nightwing would be a fantastic move for the character – I have a lot of faith in the creative team and firmly believe that while this might have been a filler issue, designed to give the regular artists a break, it is still an effective way to open up future changes and evolution for the Nightwing character and title. My favorite Nightwing run is definitely the long Chuck Dixon run where the character was based in Bludhaven almost exclusively, and yet still available for Bat Events – DC are making a smart move if that is where they are trying to reposition the character. Give him a city to watch over. Zero circus analogies, so thats a start, too. Solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #10

Dec 8, 2016

I'm giving this book a solid four and a half stars and it definitely is my personal favorite in the Nightwing series to this point. Never a weak title, but perhaps an aimless one, a course correction has left this series in an immediately better place than issues prior. And side note, look out for Dixon Park! A delightful little nod to a former creator who certainly was a huge cornerstone of the character in the 90's and a nice touch as Nightwing comes back to a place he made his own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #11

Dec 22, 2016

The word to describe this Nightwing run to this point is solid and improvising in character depth and I'm happy to award another four stars to this issue. Hop on fast kids, the fun is just starting on this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #12

Jan 5, 2017

This issue of Nightwing is definitely an example of good serialized storytelling. In trade, the sum will be bigger than the whole of its parts. There's a welcome brightness to much of the work " this is a title that doesn't want to be "dark and gritty" even when some of the fighting takes place at night. Instead, this title positions Dick Grayson as looking forward into a clear bright space, with just the occasional glance backward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #13

Jan 19, 2017

Breaking down the duplicitous, shifting nature of the antagonist, hiding behind his freakish "Nightwing-like" mask, we again see the theme of masks and mistaken identity being played out in this city of contradictions, even as Nightwing grapples with his own issues of identity and self-belief. It's all played with a relatively light hand and is certainly an entertaining read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #14

Feb 2, 2017

A strong wrap up issue of a good arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #15

Feb 16, 2017

I'm giving this four and a half stars because on top of another solid issue, the romance trappings and the clever use of storytelling combined with emotional, expressive art makes this a comic to remember.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #16

Mar 2, 2017

A fascinating issue in what promises to be a fascinating arc...

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #17

Mar 16, 2017

The end reveal of an old Morrison villain is fitting in a story that so clearly plays off that heritage. Shawn is captured by a monster, hostage to the grotesque creations of the villain, her identity and sense of self at ultimate risk. And for Dick Grayson, never has the mantle of Nightwing felt so heavy, lost in the maze of another's evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 6, 2017

A sinister cameo from another Morrison-era Batman villain only makes this issue more enticing"Tim Seeley and the team have done it again. The darkening of this arc after the brighter hues of the recent Bludhaven storyline showcase another aspect of this creative team and further make the case for Nightwing to be considered one of the stronger and most consistent DC Rebirth titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 20, 2017

Overall this is another good issue of Nightwing. This is a dark, intense story, similar in tone to the subdued dramatic tones of the first Nightwing arc which featured Raptor. Whilst I personally prefer the issues set in Bludhaven, this is a very assured issue and again underlines the strength of this creative team which keeps getting the ball onto the green issue after issue in a very effective way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #21

May 18, 2017

A very satisfying issue which left a smile on this reader's face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #22

Jun 8, 2017

This issue is remarkably efficient in an era of slow decompressed storytelling where even good writer telling good stories have a tendency to stretch arcs out for a couple of issues too long. This one set the scene for what it is to come and keeps the story moving nicely. The art is gorgeous with a stylish lighter touch. Nightwing #22 is one excellent comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #23

Jun 22, 2017

Assessing Nightwing #23 in the context of the series so far, it's another solid entry in a series that relies on solidity. The new art brings a refreshing new detail to the character models and although this is primarily a slower-paced issue, with most of the action taking place in dialogue and slight reveals, what action there is was conveyed well. Nightwing is a title to keep on your reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More