David Gladman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 40
7.2Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Action Comics (2016) #958

Jun 24, 2016

This book, while nothing special, is making me consider getting back into the DCU  given the fact they have managed to make their most overpowered character interesting without either killing or depowering him

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Aliens: Life and Death #1

Oct 16, 2016

Overall, if you're a fan of the franchise then fill your boots, otherwise I would recommend giving this one a miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Artifacts: Lost Tales #1

May 6, 2015

Overall, this one-shot collection is a good pick up if you are looking for an easy and enjoyable read, and serves as a great testament to some of the tremendous unsigned comic booktalent flying under the radar out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faster than Light #3

Nov 10, 2015

This is a beast of a book and you would be a fool not to pick up this and the previous two issues. The guys appear to have a clear story plan and I can't wait to see where they take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faster than Light #5

Jan 14, 2016

If you haven't picked up a copy of Faster Than Light yet then you really owe it to yourself to head down to your local comic shop and go lose yourself in this rich, dynamic universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faster than Light #8

Jul 7, 2016

That is what lets me know this book is special. Even in filler issues I still cant wait to read the next page. No panel feels wasted, no dialogue feels clunky. It flows as naturally as a TV show (which it should definitely be made into). The only other book out there that provides me with a similar easy and enjoyable read is IDWs Ghostbusters. I would go as far to say that this is my second favourite ongoing series, and I will most definitely be buying the collected edition as soon as it is released.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faster than Light #10

Sep 8, 2016

The good news is that the first collected edition is now out so there's no better time to jump into this amazing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters Annual #2015

Nov 24, 2015

Everything is up to the usual high standard that we should cometo associate with Burnham and Schoening by now, and I'mdefinitely excited to see what storyline threads they pull at in the upcoming “Ghostbusters International” series. All in all, as an enjoyable diversion with some intriguing Easter eggs along the way, this annual does everything it needs to, and should be considered yetanother essential purchase for fans of the IDW Ghostbusters franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters Annual #2017

Jan 17, 2017

I think the last time I was this shocked and excited was when the XGBs appeared briefly in the Get Real series. Honestly, this is a brilliant piece of marketing underplay for a truly massive payoff. Well done IDW!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters International #1

Jan 27, 2016

This is a great jumping on point to the IDW series if you haven't already got on board, and if not, why not?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters International #2

May 26, 2016

Although I get to look at digital review copies of this series, I still have to buy the physical copies when they're released. They're just that good. When I eventually get a man cave they will be taking pride of place on my bookshelf, hopefully next to some of Dan's wonderful artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters International #6

Jun 28, 2016

IDW continue withtheir universally acclaimed ongoing Ghostbusters series, and I can see no end in sight. They have gone past the sky and are currently leaving orbit. Even as filler issue, this is great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters International #7

Aug 3, 2016

One of the other things that this creative team excels at is the teasing of future events, and oh boy is there a lot coming based on the way the story and epilogue of this issue go. Even if I wasn't a Ghosthead I would say that this is one of the best paced and best written series out there. Artist, writer and colourist working together in perfect harmony.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters International #10

Oct 24, 2016

Honestly, there isn't much I can say about this series that I haven't already. Just go buy it and I absolutely guaranteed that you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters International #11

Nov 29, 2016

While this issue reads as a good endpoint for the series, thankfully it isn't, and almost feels like a kind of soft reset for the book. The guys are back to being your normal everyday paranormal investigators and eliminators, which will allow the next volume to start with a clean slate with a whole world built behind it. Fantastic stuff, yet again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghostbusters: Get Real #1

Jun 16, 2015

As with all of IDW's previous Ghostbusters books, you absolutely have to pick this one up if you're a GB fan. Honestly, I wish Burnham and Schoening were in charge of the film franchise, as they could easily make another two or three films out of all the stuff they've done so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters: Get Real #3

Aug 25, 2015

Ultimately, this issue isn't quite as good as the first two, but it is still brilliant in its own right. The only thing that lets it down is the traditional penultimate issue slump in pace, something that wouldn't be noticeable while reading a collected trade but which sticks out like a sore thumb in the single issue format. Either way, this series remains essential reading for any and all Ghostbuster fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghostbusters: Get Real #4

Oct 1, 2015

Overall this is a great series and I would love to see the various Ghostbuster teams – shown in issue 2 – interact via another limited series. Maybe the the Real or IDW Ghostbusters get visited by some of the other teams due to their dimensions being destabilised by Proteus's actions. Who knows? All I know is that I can't wait to pick the phone and call the boys in grey in their upcoming Annual and new ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla in Hell #1

Jul 14, 2015

Simply put, for all the brilliantly captured and well thought out action, Godzilla in Hell is the equivalent of a weekend spa break for the eyes; enjoyable, fun and refreshing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hook Jaw #1

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, this is an interesting concept and, with a few issues to flesh things out and build up some momentum, could easily become something to get truly excited about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Indestructible: Stingray #1

May 26, 2015

I'm interested to see how the story continues but hope they tone down the artwork justa bit as it's obvious thatthe intriguingplot can more than carry the book on its own merits.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Joyride #1

May 25, 2016

You can't help but get the feeling that that this project is very close to the creative team's heart and that they are trying to put their vision into press as well as they possibility can. My only criticism is that some of the plot and characters do seem a little bit too one-dimensional in a well-built, multi dimensional world. That said, I imagine this will change over time as we get to know everyone a bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Honestly, I really wanted to like this but I just can't. On paper this sounds brilliant and I hope the series gets better as it progresses but this first issue is little more than a clunky mess

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
King Tiger #1

Aug 11, 2015

So while I'm sure some people – particularly those who have read the previous series – will undoubtedly find themselves enjoying this one, I simply can't recommend it at all for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Lara Croft And The Frozen Omen #1

Oct 6, 2015

That aside, I would avoid this book unless you are a Tomb Raider collector and need it for the sake of completion. Even then, don't bother opening it and hope that this particular creative team get enough sold to allow them to work on their ‘real' idea.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Micronauts: Revolution #1

Sep 29, 2016

I'll be honest, this has been one of the hardest reviews I've have had to write, hence its briefness. The issue, while not necessarily “bad” in any significant way, reads like a love letter to fans of the series, which is great for creators to do, but jumping on from this point will just definitely turn newcomers off the series. I would recommend going back to read past issues if you do fancy it and saving this one for when you are a more educated fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #0

Jan 12, 2016

Most adult fans of the original series will like this more for nostalgia and for the chance to expand on their childhood. The downside is that newer Power Rangers fans probably won't like it as much. Me, I'm absolutely loving what I'm seeing so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #1

Jun 1, 2016

As we finish this issue, the series stands at a bit of a crossroads. Depending on how the story progresses, this could be definitely a book to watch, and has the potential to be up there with other IP books like IDW's Ghostbusters. For the time being however, I'm remaining cautiously optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rick and Morty #1

Mar 31, 2015

Overall though, I would say that this is a good start to the run and that I am definitely looking forward to find out the nature of the ‘dire consequences; hinted at towards the end of the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shaper #2

Apr 14, 2015

Overall, thisis a really good issue and I highly recommend picking it up if you fancy something a little different from your sci-fi.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shaper #3

May 20, 2015

Simply put, I recommend picking this book up now and getting in on the ground floor of this fantasticseries before you end up being left behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sparks Nevada: Marshal on Mars #3

May 19, 2015

In spite of this, the book is genuinely good and I'll be sticking with it to see if I come round to the artwork. For me though, the deal breaker could be how theyportray CactoidJim, should he appear.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

Overall this is a decent, entertaining enough issue, albeit one which appears to be firmly aimed at the younger audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Eighth Seal #2

Jan 5, 2016

The overall pacing has the feel of a tense political thriller, packed with various secret alliances and subplots. Given the nature of the book, however, I think it will become more horror based as the story continues. No bad thing, especially given what we've seen from the story so far. Highly recommended for fans of horror, political drama, and grotesque beasties that will make your skin crawl.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #2

Feb 2, 2017

That said, this is still a really good issue, and one that I would definitely recommend you pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Forevers #1

Sep 14, 2016

The only complaint I have about this issue, aside from the fairly uninspiring characters, is the lack of backstory that is required to hook readers in. If this could have been expanded upon, then the book would have been far more memorable. As it stands, The Forevers appears to be a mash-up of franchises including Highlander, Cabin in the Woods and various others. It definitely has a lot of potential though, albeit potential that hasn't been fully realised just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Immortal #1

Dec 8, 2015

On the whole, this is a great indie title and I look forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Infinite Loop #1

Apr 27, 2015

Overall, it was a nice change from my usual types of book and I can see this being a classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Welcome Back #1

Aug 19, 2015

Overall, this is a really, really good introduction to a well-paced and balanced story that I recommend you get on board with as soon as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Young Terrorists #2

Dec 14, 2016

There are also some spectacularly squandered opportunities here. Case in the point: one of the female characters has given herself a retractable penis. This could potentially be a great concept if it was used to explore the nature of sexuality, but it is instead just played for gross out humour against the character the reader is supposed to relate too. The whole thing just feels crass and wrong, but to be fair it also feels unintentional and slightly nave.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

February

January

More