Dillyn Chadwick's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science, Bad Manta, GWW Reviews: 18
7.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

Overall I was pleasantly surprised. Booster Gold meeting The Flintstones is a fun and goofy read that I wasn't expecting to have fun with. The art isn't anything to write home about but it complements the story quite well. If you don't read any of the DC/Hanna Barbera crossovers this week, this is the one to read.8/10var linkwithin_site_id = 2203111;

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #10

Dec 8, 2016

When I first read this issue, I enjoyed it more than I have been in the past couple issues. But I read it again. And then I kept thinking about what was going on. It's an absolute cluster of plot holes. Still has fighting! But it's team fighting that I really enjoy but it's unwarranted. I also hate titles of stories where the thing mention isn't shown until the last couple pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #11

Dec 21, 2016

This is the absolute worst chapter I've read yet from this run. The dialog is horrible, the events make no sense, and Harley is annoying to no end. The art is fine, but not even the nice looking pictures can keep this chapter from angering me so bad. I couldn't believe what I was reading and it left me wondering who this is written for.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #12

Dec 21, 2016

This chapter is a bit better than last issue. The fight with Shazam and Black Adam is actually really awesome, the first fun fight of the run. The art for the fight is almost totally worth the cover price alone. This, however, doesn't save the chapter from getting a pass because, again, it's still all fighting and we're hardly getting anywhere now. The story with Batman and Friends is progressing at such a slow pace because it's placed on the Batmobile's back burner. I want this comic to be that, not this Harley story, if you can even call it that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 12, 2017

This issue was a whole lotta fun, as a League/Ranger comic should be. The art is awesome, the story is fun, make sense and I couldn't ask for a better reason for these teams to even meet. Even if you're not a Rangers fan or even a League fan, there's something here for many to have fun with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #1

Nov 9, 2016

Mother Panic exceeded my high expectations for a new series and left me wanting more. Houser and Edwards did such a great job with the story and art, respectively, that it's definitely worth checking out, even if you're not a Batman/Gotham fan. Violet seems like an interesting character that I can't wait to learn more about. It's not like any other Bat-verse comic we've had and it's such a breath of fresh air when we get something new that's so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #2

Dec 28, 2016

I loved this issue; Houser is doing a great job with the writing of Mother Panic and Edward's art is amazing. The story is intriguing and it makes me want more from this. I also want more Violet as she is so new. Even though we are still getting revelations about her, I still want more of her character and what her motivations are.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #3

Feb 18, 2017

Mother Panic continues to impress me and quenches my thirst for a dark, antiheroic story. The art has a gothic feel to it, perfect for Gotham City. I am excited to continue to learn more about Violet's story and watch her character develop. The eventual regular Batfamily interactions has me excited for what will come of this book. As the story slowly builds up, the more you keep wanting more and I am sure they will deliver on this in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

The biggest thing this run has going for it is the character interactions and relationships. With this issue, it's center point. There's a couple action scenes that are fun and I'm glad they're presentbut that really isn't what this title is here for right now. Gleason is really focusing on character relationships and he continues to nail it. Now that we have Batman and Robin in the mix, and it actually works, I'm even more excited in continuing this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

Overall, I was very happy with this issue. Coming back to the ongoing story of Superman after annuals week and it being really good was a breath of fresh air. I enjoyed the set up to the new story with Frankenstein showing up into town and duking it out with Supes. Tomasi and Gleason are still knocking it out of the park with a fun story and Mahnke knocking it as well with awesome art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

This was such a fun issue and I loved it. Tomasi and Gleason still continue to impress me with how well they can write a Superman story. Prado and Reis' art is beautifully awesome and I love the action in it. I can't wait to continue where this multiverse story goes and I'm excited to explore different Earth's Supermen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

At this point, I think it is safe to say you should be excited every time a Tomasi and Gleason Superman issue comes out because they will never let you down. Superman #15 is awesome and so much fun. The art really compliments the story and is executed flawlessly. This title is away from the Clark and Jon story that I loved from the start of the title but I have no problems with that since the Multiplicity story is highly enjoyable to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

Superman Annual #1 is a bit messy. I didn't like the forced fight between Superman and Swamp Thing but that didn't stop me from still enjoyingthe issue. The art is great, as always with this current Superman title. If the weird story points don't go anywhere in the future, and I really hope they do, I would recommend skipping this annual.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superwoman #5

Dec 14, 2016

Bits and Pieces:This issue was terrible. It's not that it even pissed me off, it's that it's just so boring and nothing happened. It's so hard to look at from the bad art and the overly wordy bubbles make this issue such a chore to get through.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superwoman #6

Jan 11, 2017

Way too much happens in this issue but nothing happens at the same time. Lots of talking, lots of narration, lots of unnecessary fluff that half way though, I lost interest. This issue was so hard to get through and toward the end, none of this even matters and I don't care about what happens. All we needed to know is everyone now has to get together to stop Lena. But didn't we already know that?

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superwoman #7

Feb 8, 2017

Bit's and Pieces.The dialog is awful, the writing is awful, even the story is awful. The story arc finally ends in this issue and it was not worth 7 issues. There's no real story to tell here. With huge plot holes (Where is the Justice League?!) and horrible panel placements, this title is easily skippable and I hope it gets canceled.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superwoman #8

Mar 9, 2017

In the end, Superwoman #8 is all over the place. The story is confusing, the art is inconsistent, and I didn't have any fun. Sure, it's better than all seven previous issues, but that's not saying much. It's average at best, and that's being very generous. That generosity is coming from the fact that I didn't hate this issue as much as I hated past issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #7

Jan 4, 2017

Even if you're not familiar with The Flintstones or not even a fan, I still think there's something here for everyone to enjoy. Unless you don't like comics with current social commentary, but come on, who doesn't?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More