Dillyn Chadwick's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The DC Bros, Bad Manta, Weird Science, GWW Reviews: 42
7.8Avg. Review Rating

10
Action Comics (2016) #985

Aug 9, 2017

Action Comics #985 is a fantastic issue -- it's so fun to read and is truly action packed. The art is a perfect fit to this book and I can't wait to see what happens next with this fight against the Machinist.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-Star Batman #12

Jul 30, 2017

All Star Batman #12 is a fantastic issue. Snyder and Albuquerque are such a great team for this book, providing fun action pieces, an intriguing story and art that really complements it. This issue has me excited for more things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 9, 2016

Final thoughts:In the end, Batman #12 is not a perfect issue. It was almost a waste of an issue but the revelation in Bruce's psyche makes this a very important issue for the character. It's that revelation that makes it worth it because not a whole lot happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

Batman #27 is a great issue by King that calls itself an interlude but still drives the story forward as being a relevant issue to the arc. The art by Gianfelice really complements the story. Big things are coming from this untold Batman story. It's an an epic in the making.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 4, 2017

Batman #27 is the biggest let down of the entire book so far. The story seems so insignificant to the overall story of the book and it's just hand fed to us through exposition. What saves this issue is the amazing art and I hope next issue really turns this story around for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

Like the rest of the War of Jokes and Riddles arc, Batman #28 underwhelms. While it was intriguing to read and the art was great, we still didn't get anything to advance the story or see anything about what this War really is. I just want to be done with this arc already or at least have it end amazingly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

Overall I was pleasantly surprised. Booster Gold meeting The Flintstones is a fun and goofy read that I wasn't expecting to have fun with. The art isn't anything to write home about but it complements the story quite well. If you don't read any of the DC/Hanna Barbera crossovers this week, this is the one to read.8/10var linkwithin_site_id = 2203111;

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 12, 2017

Dark Days: The Casting is an amazing issue and great prelude to DC Metal. It has this great mystery that keeps you wanting more. The art may not be the greatest, but you can tell Snyder and Tynion are passionate about this story and readers should make sure not to miss a bit of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 16, 2017

Dark Knights Metal #1 is a huge book -- it's history in the making and this issue makes this event feel epic and important. I will even bet the ramifications of this event is going to play into the overall DCU for years to come. It's such a fun read and I am glad that DC has allowed Snyder and Capullo to even attempt to write something like this. This is a must for all Batman fans, Justice League fans and DC Comic fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 15, 2017

Detective Comics #960 was a good issue. I had no problems with it but it didnt quite hook me as much as I wanted to. The mysteries that are brought up here are intriguing, however, and the art is still so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 30, 2017

Detective Comics #961 was a fun issue. The art is amazing and despite being an issue that is here to set up the next issue, it's still very enjoyable. The last page gets me so excited for the next issue and can't wait to see what's in store for the Detective Team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 9, 2017

Detective Comics #962 was a satisfying conclusion to the Intelligence arc and an overall fun read. With huge highlights, revelations and beautiful art, this title continues to deliver and proves that this book is sure to be a beloved fan favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 10, 2017

Overall, The Flash #28 was a fun and action packed read. It's definitely a setup issue but that's to be expected at the start of an arc so it can ease you in. It leaves me very curious how Barry is going to handle the negative powers and what it'll do to him.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Go Go Power Rangers #1

Jul 29, 2017

Go Go Power Rangers #1 is a perfect Ranger comic. The character building and nods to the show is so respectful to the show while being it's own entity, since it's not doing a straight adaptation of the show. I recommend this issue to veteran fans and newcomers alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Injustice: Ground Zero #1

Dec 7, 2016

“All Bad Things Must End” is a great beginning story to Injustice: Ground Zero. Christopher Sebela really knows how to write Harley so well and shows he really knows the world he's working with. The art from Pop Mahn and Tom Derenick was awesome and very colorful. With this series, there doesn't seem to be any required reading or playing to just jump into this comic, which you so definitely should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #2

Dec 21, 2016

I loved the first half of the issue, as much as I've loved the series so far. It really delves into Harley's love for her new goons. The art is so nice and these writers have really captured Harley's character so well as we continue her life post-Joker in this Injustice world. The second half was a little bit of a let down. I was pretty bored with it. It wasn't bad but not as good as I was expecting. As I turned the pages, I was expecting more. Most of it was fighting with Harley monologuing to herself. The writing for it though is really good and the art from Daniel Sampere continues to deliver. Maybe I just wasn't into it. But, with an awesome cliffhanger, I'm still very interested in continuing the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #10

Dec 8, 2016

When I first read this issue, I enjoyed it more than I have been in the past couple issues. But I read it again. And then I kept thinking about what was going on. It's an absolute cluster of plot holes. Still has fighting! But it's team fighting that I really enjoy but it's unwarranted. I also hate titles of stories where the thing mention isn't shown until the last couple pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #11

Dec 21, 2016

This is the absolute worst chapter I've read yet from this run. The dialog is horrible, the events make no sense, and Harley is annoying to no end. The art is fine, but not even the nice looking pictures can keep this chapter from angering me so bad. I couldn't believe what I was reading and it left me wondering who this is written for.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #12

Dec 21, 2016

This chapter is a bit better than last issue. The fight with Shazam and Black Adam is actually really awesome, the first fun fight of the run. The art for the fight is almost totally worth the cover price alone. This, however, doesn't save the chapter from getting a pass because, again, it's still all fighting and we're hardly getting anywhere now. The story with Batman and Friends is progressing at such a slow pace because it's placed on the Batmobile's back burner. I want this comic to be that, not this Harley story, if you can even call it that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 12, 2017

This issue was a whole lotta fun, as a League/Ranger comic should be. The art is awesome, the story is fun, make sense and I couldn't ask for a better reason for these teams to even meet. Even if you're not a Rangers fan or even a League fan, there's something here for many to have fun with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

This issue was a whole lotta fun, as a League/Ranger comic should be. The art is awesome, the story is fun, make sense and I couldn't ask for a better reason for these teams to even meet. Even if you're not a Rangers fan or even a League fan, there's something here for many to have fun with.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #5

Aug 9, 2017

Justice League/Power Rangers #5 is a pretty fun issue but I did want more Power Rangers action. Most of the action we get in this issue is from the Justice League, which is fine if this were just a League book. But in a team up crossover like this, I'd like to see a good balance of action between the two teams. I hope that issue #6 delivers on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #17

Jul 21, 2017

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #17 is a fantastic issue with stellar art. It's a fun and easy read that is a perfect jumping on point for new readers, giving deep character moments with some Megazord action sprinkled in for extra points.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Mister Miracle #1 is a brilliantly crafted issue that brings back a classic character in such a smart way. The character examination of Scott is so deep and emotional. The potential this book brings has me excited to see what happens next and I can't wait to see the eventual meet up with Darkseid.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #1

Nov 9, 2016

Mother Panic exceeded my high expectations for a new series and left me wanting more. Houser and Edwards did such a great job with the story and art, respectively, that it's definitely worth checking out, even if you're not a Batman/Gotham fan. Violet seems like an interesting character that I can't wait to learn more about. It's not like any other Bat-verse comic we've had and it's such a breath of fresh air when we get something new that's so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #2

Dec 28, 2016

I loved this issue; Houser is doing a great job with the writing of Mother Panic and Edward's art is amazing. The story is intriguing and it makes me want more from this. I also want more Violet as she is so new. Even though we are still getting revelations about her, I still want more of her character and what her motivations are.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #3

Feb 18, 2017

Mother Panic continues to impress me and quenches my thirst for a dark, antiheroic story. The art has a gothic feel to it, perfect for Gotham City. I am excited to continue to learn more about Violet's story and watch her character develop. The eventual regular Batfamily interactions has me excited for what will come of this book. As the story slowly builds up, the more you keep wanting more and I am sure they will deliver on this in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 15, 2017

Red Hood and the Outlaws #12 is quintessential Outlaws. The art is amazing, the story is so emotional, and everything is perfect about it. The possibility of losing a pivotal character is frightening and I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #13

Aug 9, 2017

Red Hood and the Outlaws #13 is a great issue with spectacular art. It may be just a transitioning point in the story to get our heroes from where they were to where they need to be next in the story but it's still an enjoyable and emotional issue that's well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #6

Jul 19, 2017

This is a very fun issue. Even though it's a small story, it's Jon and Damian's interactions that make it an enjoyable issue with such great art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #8

Aug 18, 2017

Super Sons #7 is so much fun. Tomasi does a great job writing these characters with fun moments and dialog while Jimenez provides such amazing art, some of my favorite art in all of Rebirth. This issue makes me wish Jon was a teen already so he can join the team but what we get in this issue is good enough for the time being.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

The biggest thing this run has going for it is the character interactions and relationships. With this issue, it's center point. There's a couple action scenes that are fun and I'm glad they're presentbut that really isn't what this title is here for right now. Gleason is really focusing on character relationships and he continues to nail it. Now that we have Batman and Robin in the mix, and it actually works, I'm even more excited in continuing this run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

Overall, I was very happy with this issue. Coming back to the ongoing story of Superman after annuals week and it being really good was a breath of fresh air. I enjoyed the set up to the new story with Frankenstein showing up into town and duking it out with Supes. Tomasi and Gleason are still knocking it out of the park with a fun story and Mahnke knocking it as well with awesome art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

This was such a fun issue and I loved it. Tomasi and Gleason still continue to impress me with how well they can write a Superman story. Prado and Reis' art is beautifully awesome and I love the action in it. I can't wait to continue where this multiverse story goes and I'm excited to explore different Earth's Supermen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Superman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

At this point, I think it is safe to say you should be excited every time a Tomasi and Gleason Superman issue comes out because they will never let you down. Superman #15 is awesome and so much fun. The art really compliments the story and is executed flawlessly. This title is away from the Clark and Jon story that I loved from the start of the title but I have no problems with that since the Multiplicity story is highly enjoyable to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2016) #28

Aug 4, 2017

Overall, Superman #28 wasn't a good issue and is probably this book's first speed bump. The history lessons is very heavy handed and the art isn't too good. It's just a bland filler issue celebrating a holiday that occurred a month ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

Superman Annual #1 is a bit messy. I didn't like the forced fight between Superman and Swamp Thing but that didn't stop me from still enjoyingthe issue. The art is great, as always with this current Superman title. If the weird story points don't go anywhere in the future, and I really hope they do, I would recommend skipping this annual.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superwoman #5

Dec 14, 2016

Bits and Pieces:This issue was terrible. It's not that it even pissed me off, it's that it's just so boring and nothing happened. It's so hard to look at from the bad art and the overly wordy bubbles make this issue such a chore to get through.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superwoman #6

Jan 11, 2017

Way too much happens in this issue but nothing happens at the same time. Lots of talking, lots of narration, lots of unnecessary fluff that half way though, I lost interest. This issue was so hard to get through and toward the end, none of this even matters and I don't care about what happens. All we needed to know is everyone now has to get together to stop Lena. But didn't we already know that?

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Superwoman #7

Feb 8, 2017

Bit's and Pieces.The dialog is awful, the writing is awful, even the story is awful. The story arc finally ends in this issue and it was not worth 7 issues. There's no real story to tell here. With huge plot holes (Where is the Justice League?!) and horrible panel placements, this title is easily skippable and I hope it gets canceled.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superwoman #8

Mar 9, 2017

In the end, Superwoman #8 is all over the place. The story is confusing, the art is inconsistent, and I didn't have any fun. Sure, it's better than all seven previous issues, but that's not saying much. It's average at best, and that's being very generous. That generosity is coming from the fact that I didn't hate this issue as much as I hated past issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #7

Jan 4, 2017

Even if you're not familiar with The Flintstones or not even a fan, I still think there's something here for everyone to enjoy. Unless you don't like comics with current social commentary, but come on, who doesn't?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More