Doug Warren's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 15
7.3Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Archie (2015) #23

Aug 23, 2017

To end this on a not-so-depressing note, I just want to say I love how the girls’ noses are draw in this series. Seriously, for the past 25 years I’ve been reading Archie, that is the one thing that bothered me. As a kid, I could even piece together in my head how Betty and Veronica even had noses. I thought there was just a hole for a uni-nostril. And as I got older, I could rationalize that there was a nose there, they were just stylistically made dainty, but I still couldn’t see it. So, hats off to design team of the revamp because Betty and Veronica finally have the noses they deserve!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead of Winter #1

Aug 2, 2017

I have a feeling you are going to hear a lot about this series as it continues, and if you don’t pick up issue #1 and get in from the beginning, you’re going to be kicking yourself later.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

I was about ready to give up on the series. Call it a one and done until I got to the last page. And there was a twist. The first thing to actually get me excited in the whole comic. And honestly, despite all of the aforementioned flaws, I can’t wait to pick up issue number two to see where this thing is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #28

Aug 9, 2017

Barring what I said in the first paragraph, the issue shows potential to be the launch of a very unique and interesting arc, perhaps taking the Flash to levels he hasn’t reached before. And the artwork is spot on, capturing the emotions and anguish of the character, making a very beautiful book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Go Go Power Rangers #1

Jul 26, 2017

This series definitely has potential, and it would be a good read for anyone looking to pick up a new series, whether you’re a fan of the original MMPR or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Groo: Play of the Gods #2

Aug 9, 2017

But this story brilliantly satirizes religion and greed, and holds no punches when exploring the motives, and pointing out the hypocisies, of the early explorers. And the artwork is classic Aragonés. Groo fans, and hopefully some new fans, will be very happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Grumpy Cat/Garfield #1

Aug 2, 2017

I’ve got nothing else to say. This book was released to try to make a quick buck off of an established franchise and a waning fad, and quality wasn’t a priority.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Haunted Horror #29

Aug 16, 2017

With nine complete, non-remastered stories, this is a must buy for any fan of the classic horror comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
James Bond #6

Aug 2, 2017

If you are a James Bond fanatic, you may disagree with everything that I’ve said. Possibly. Maybe there’s something I’m not seeing. But, for the casual fans, I don’t think this comic offers enough to get you excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #5

Jul 26, 2017

It isn’t hard to see why this series is already garnering attention and numerous accolades. Please, check your preconceived notions about the characters at the door and enter this dark world with the new Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #28

Jul 26, 2017

If you can’t wait for the next episode to appear, this comic will definitely help you get your Rick and Morty fix.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #3

Aug 23, 2017

Oh yeah, the quality of the artwork is beyond all expectations. But, of course it is. When you put out an ad saying you need someone to draw hundreds of bears, you get the absolute cream of the crop to choose from. I wouldn’t be surprised if every artist in the country was fighting to draw for this comic, and they chose the best! The over exaggerated, anime inspired expressions and bright colors give Shirtless Bear-Fighter the perfect look and personality to compliment the writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Hard Place #1

Aug 23, 2017

I’m trying not to give too much away here, so I apologize if the review is brief. But, I read this comic with minimal knowledge of it and was totally enveloped in the world and characters, experiencing them all free of spoilers and the like, and I want that same experience for you. Just, trust me when I say you need get this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #29

Aug 16, 2017

If you are a fan Donald Duck Disney universe, it will be worth if for you to pick up this comic. Sure, it’s not as charming as Duck Tales, but I can practically guarantee you will find stories you’ve never read before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unholy Grail #2

Aug 9, 2017

If you want a break from super heroes and the modern world and want to discover a new take on a classic story, this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More