Ethan Supovitz's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Source by SuperHeroStuff Reviews: 9
6.3Avg. Review Rating

5.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #1

May 5, 2017

So, the question is this: does it want to be its own thing or does it want to be the movie? Unfortunately, it's too early to tell, but I think this series has a lot of room to grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blue Beetle: Rebirth #1

Sep 8, 2016

Honestly, I had a lot of fun reading Blue Beetle: Rebirth and it made me very excited to see howthe rest of this series plays out! Giffens fantastic writing mixes the old with the new and gives Blue Beetle the fresh start he really deserves! If youre a fan of the character, then I highly recommend this comic! With lots of action and fun, whats not to love?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby Apocalypse #1

Jun 1, 2016

So in short,Scooby Apocalypse #1 is not great but also not terrible. There were some good things in this issue but there were just too many negativesoccurringsimultaneously. Unfortunately, this comic was kind of unremarkable and therefore hard for me to recommend it, but if youre really curious I wouldnt stop you either. Just dont go into it expecting the Scooby-Doo youre used to. Will this new Scooby-Doo be a Scooby Dont? Well, maybe well see next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby Apocalypse #2

Jun 21, 2016

Maybe if itwasmore self-aware of its own silly ideas,andpoked fun at apocalypse-fiction clichs, it could be a more enjoyable series. For now, its fighting an uphill battle. It has a story and characters that need a lot of work and if it continues this way, I cant say Ill be reading Scooby Apocalypse much longer. If you wanted to continuethe story, bravely curious wherethisparticularnarrative might lead, thats quite all right. But if you werent impressed by the last issue and were hoping this one would be different, Id say give this one a skip.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Scooby Apocalypse #3

Aug 2, 2016

I cant say I recommend this issue either, but if you still want to keep reading to see where it goes, then I say go for it. Who knows, maybe itll get better down the line. But if youve been reading this from the beginning and youre just not feeling it, then maybe this is the time to get out of the Mystery Machine.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 13, 2017

All and all, Superman Reborn hits the ground running with a stunning first act. The writers cooperate effectively as both issues provide more details to the Rebirth mystery. However, if you havent been readingAction Comics before this, then I recommend you read those first. This story is building offwhat Jurgens started inAction Comics #957, so unless youve been reading those you might be lost! If youre all caught up, then I say dive right in and experience it for yourself!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 20, 2017

Superman #19 was a good continuation for whats been shaping up to be a great Superman story. While theres less clues to the Rebirth mystery here, we do have some interesting revelations, not to mention great dialogue and atmosphere from Tomasi and Gleason! Action Comics #976 is set to cap off things off and I'm confident itll be as good aswhat's come before!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Nov 4, 2016

Overall Teen Titans #1 was a great follow-up to its Rebirth issue and I cant wait for issue #2! Its a bright new beginning in Teen Titans history and I highly recommend this comic and Teen Titans: Rebirth.With amazing art, great writing, and the promise of Titans versus Assassins, what more could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans: Rebirth #1

Sep 30, 2016

As a result, we get a solid prelude with great writing and fantastic art! It feels fresh and new while also feeling very familiar. Basically, I really liked it, and if youre a fan of the Teen Titans, then I say you should definitely read this comicwhen issue #1hits shelves this October.TITANS, TOGETHER!!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More