Fabienne Payet's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 27
9.0Avg. Review Rating

10
A Land Called Tarot #1

Jan 23, 2017

I have to be honest here. I had a hard time following the story. It is not entirely clear to me. There is very little out there yet pertaining to this specific comic to read up on either. It is definitely a world of discovery, and I think that repetitive viewing of the book might help in the comprehension of it. But perhaps that is the point…for everyone to take home a different value of the story…to make up your own dialogue as you go along. I think that this is the best way to approach it in the end; a discovery of a story that can be interpreted in your very own way, without being dictated what to think or feel by text. In that light, I believe it to be quite enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Afar (OGN) #1

Feb 27, 2017

I feel many will enjoy this story, the writing is enthralling and carries you along. It has so much to offer, so do give it a chance, I am sure you will not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Angry Birds: Flight School #1

Feb 25, 2017

Great little comic, good starter comic for younger children as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Angry Birds: Flight School #1

Feb 25, 2017

Great little comic, good starter comic for younger children as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Assassin's Creed: Awakening #2

Dec 9, 2016

The artwork, whilst being very visually pleasing, is uncolored. To me, that is something I find myself having problems with. I am so used to seeing color infusing a story line that the lack of it touches me. Also not being used to reading comics in the manga style, I find the flow of conversation hard to follow, constantly having to reread things because I read them out of order. The comic is good don't get me wrong, it just is not really to my liking. But do not forego reading this based on my opinion. It is an enjoyable story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Brave Chef Brianna #1

Feb 25, 2017

This is the first comic out of a set of four and I have to admit I am really awaiting to read the next one for this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dead Inside #1

Dec 1, 2016

The art is dark and sinister and it fits the story perfectly. You wouldn't want it any other way because it would taint your reading experience. The roughness prompts a sense of urgency. The tone of the Dead Insideand the sharpness of the art form a good blend that seeks to interact with you on a personal level submerging you into the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dragonlance The Legend of Huma #1

Jan 5, 2017

The art in itself is stunning and absolutely fitting to the story. And you can see what a massive legion of artists have given their talents to the art of this story and it shows. One of the few comics to me that is a win over the entire line. Also the large panel pages are beautifully rendered in the comic and really help set the tone of the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Duck Avenger #1

Dec 6, 2016

The art is standard Disney as we know and love, so there is nothing to remark about it. It's just great, and I feel it will never change. Disney has always been my first comics as a child. The stories of Mickey, Donald and the gang were the colorful background to my childhood, and to this day 30 odd years later, it still is. And that is what I love"they stay with the classic form of comic, no need for fancy updates, or weird new designs. Classics are sometimes all one needs!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flight of the Raven #1

Feb 23, 2017

So if you are a passionate of WW2, art or comics then get this comic and do yourself a huge favor by owning such a piece of art. You will not regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghostbusters Annual #2017

Jan 31, 2017

The overall art is really nice, crisp and detailed. However, I have noticed in two of the stories that, where the other characters seem normal, the Ghostbusters themselves are very caricature-like. It is very obvious in the first story, "Where Winston Was", and I do not quite understand why it was done this way. The standard characters look normal, but Winston is over-sized, has an odd head shape and just does not seem to fit in with the others. In "The Origins of Slimer", again, there are three characters that seem totally out of place by the way they are drawn. Especially the character of Kylie Griffin, where it looks her mouth is on the side of her head. I dislike this greatly. It distracts from the story and makes no sense to make some of the Ghostbusters almost grotesque. It sticks out like a sore thumb. While the rest of the artwork is nice, this distraction severely diminishes my overall liking of the drawings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #8

Nov 30, 2016

The artwork for this comic is exquisite. You simply find yourself wanting to frame some of the images. The clear Japanese influence on the art makes it only more delightful. Simply put each drawing is a piece of art. I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #36

Jan 28, 2017

The art as always is colorful, detailed and true to the Little Pony franchise. I genuinely like the colorfulness and the cheerfulness one always tends to find in the comics, cartoons, toys, apps," It can bring a bit of sunshine on a dark and dreary day. I would recommend the comic and gladly give it to younger children to enjoy. A great way to still be connected with their favorite characters without having to sit in front of a TV set.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nameless #1

Feb 10, 2017

I have to admit the art in this comic has me leaning in two directions. On the one hand I have to say that it is extremely detailed, well colored, and amazing. But the other side is grotesque, scary, and sickening. The gruesome body horror you see in this comic is definitely an acquired taste, one I don't see myself acquiring it any time soon. That being said however, I can appreciate it for what it is. And if this the genre for you then you are in for a treat because as grotesque as the art is, it is fabulous at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
One Week In The Library #1

Dec 11, 2016

It is peculiar and weird and hence so is this review, but by all means read it and see what it says to you, how you experience the story in your own way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rock Candy Mountain #1

Feb 24, 2017

The writing is clear and interesting. It dips in and out of the hobo lore of the time. It is quite interesting to see how the history of the time has been interwoven into the storyline. It is indeed somewhat based on the song "Big Rock Candy Mountain". A song that speaks of an idyllic dreamland for hobos.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scooter Girl #1

Feb 15, 2017

The art is great, really working in to the Mod era of fashion, surroundings, vehicles," Even the chapter pages are original. What is also fun to note is that one panel image will have a very detailed drawing of a character and the next one will be as if zoomed backwards somewhat changing the character. It is a bit hard to explain, but you'll see what I mean when you get your hands on this delightful comic! There is also an extensive gallery with rough pencil and ink sketches from the earliest stages of the comic all through to the remastered edition.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sherlock: The Blind Banker #1

Dec 26, 2016

You could almost do a comparison of the panels with the images used on the show. You willfind them to be quite matching. It is the first time for me to read a comic that I have seen the actual televised episode from. I find it intriguing just how much effort someone is able to put in recreating these exact images for a comic. This is definitely one for the fans of Sherlock and hoarders of all collectibles regarding the great Sherlock Holmes and the TV series. In conclusion, Sherlock: The Blind Bankerstands perfectly on its own without the TV series just the same. A great read, wonderful art and a comic I am eager to read the next issues of!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Surgeon X #3

Dec 3, 2016

The art is very dark and intense. However it is often infused with bright colors. It dark and ominous feel works to add a specific nuance to the story that could be lost with a less skilled artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tank Girl: Gold #3

Dec 21, 2016

The art, as always speaks, almost more than the story in Tank Girl; it is big, chaotic and overtakes everything. That is exactly how it should be. It is brash and bold, no one would want to scale down on Tank Girl and her cohorts. The full page panels are exquisite and the attention to detail in the overall panels make it a far more interesting story. Even though the story is set in the future, the artwork has a distinct retro feel about it, and it works, it absolutely works. To me, it is also part of the appeal of the artwork. Tank Girl, love her or hate her, who cares? You will notice her regardless!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Few #1

Jan 18, 2017

The art in this comic is very minimalistic, the only color being used is red for key moments, blood and goggles set in masks. It draws the eye to the detail of the action and demands the attention of the reader in an interesting fashion. The art seems a tad crude, unfinished and raw but it suits the tone of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Few #2

Feb 27, 2017

The dystopian tone remains firmly set and I am sure it will gather many more enthusiasts along the way. Onward to the next volume, because we know we need it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The X-Files (2016) #9

Jan 1, 2017

The comic has a very dark color scheme in the artwork and very dark lines which makes it hard to recognize the characters at times. I am not a fan of the art, but what is not to my liking might be the favorite of someone else. Overall the story was good a bit sparse but that is to be expected from the X-Files. Still I do believe the upcoming issue will be well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Time Share #1

Jan 30, 2017

Overall, pick this one up, you won't regret it and at 170 pages you know you are in for a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #21

Dec 14, 2016

The three stories are lovely, fun and are stand alone, there is no need to have read the previous issues to know what is going on, so you can just randomly pick this one up and enjoy it all the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Walt Disney's Comics and Stories #736

Jan 22, 2017

I will definitely suggest you get this comic as it is a nice blend of old and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
You Might Be An Artist If... #1

Feb 2, 2017

If you are an artist or know one, pick it up, you won't regret the little hug it gives you through the pages!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

1st

February

More