Fabienne Payet's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 12
8.7Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Assassin's Creed: Awakening #2

Dec 9, 2016

The artwork, whilst being very visually pleasing, is uncolored. To me, that is something I find myself having problems with. I am so used to seeing color infusing a story line that the lack of it touches me. Also not being used to reading comics in the manga style, I find the flow of conversation hard to follow, constantly having to reread things because I read them out of order. The comic is good don't get me wrong, it just is not really to my liking. But do not forego reading this based on my opinion. It is an enjoyable story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dead Inside #1

Dec 1, 2016

The art is dark and sinister and it fits the story perfectly. You wouldn't want it any other way because it would taint your reading experience. The roughness prompts a sense of urgency. The tone of the Dead Insideand the sharpness of the art form a good blend that seeks to interact with you on a personal level submerging you into the tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dragonlance The Legend of Huma #1

Jan 5, 2017

The art in itself is stunning and absolutely fitting to the story. And you can see what a massive legion of artists have given their talents to the art of this story and it shows. One of the few comics to me that is a win over the entire line. Also the large panel pages are beautifully rendered in the comic and really help set the tone of the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Duck Avenger #1

Dec 6, 2016

The art is standard Disney as we know and love, so there is nothing to remark about it. It's just great, and I feel it will never change. Disney has always been my first comics as a child. The stories of Mickey, Donald and the gang were the colorful background to my childhood, and to this day 30 odd years later, it still is. And that is what I love"they stay with the classic form of comic, no need for fancy updates, or weird new designs. Classics are sometimes all one needs!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Monstress #8

Nov 30, 2016

The artwork for this comic is exquisite. You simply find yourself wanting to frame some of the images. The clear Japanese influence on the art makes it only more delightful. Simply put each drawing is a piece of art. I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
One Week In The Library #1

Dec 11, 2016

It is peculiar and weird and hence so is this review, but by all means read it and see what it says to you, how you experience the story in your own way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sherlock: The Blind Banker #1

Dec 26, 2016

You could almost do a comparison of the panels with the images used on the show. You willfind them to be quite matching. It is the first time for me to read a comic that I have seen the actual televised episode from. I find it intriguing just how much effort someone is able to put in recreating these exact images for a comic. This is definitely one for the fans of Sherlock and hoarders of all collectibles regarding the great Sherlock Holmes and the TV series. In conclusion, Sherlock: The Blind Bankerstands perfectly on its own without the TV series just the same. A great read, wonderful art and a comic I am eager to read the next issues of!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Surgeon X #3

Dec 3, 2016

The art is very dark and intense. However it is often infused with bright colors. It dark and ominous feel works to add a specific nuance to the story that could be lost with a less skilled artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tank Girl: Gold #3

Dec 21, 2016

The art, as always speaks, almost more than the story in Tank Girl; it is big, chaotic and overtakes everything. That is exactly how it should be. It is brash and bold, no one would want to scale down on Tank Girl and her cohorts. The full page panels are exquisite and the attention to detail in the overall panels make it a far more interesting story. Even though the story is set in the future, the artwork has a distinct retro feel about it, and it works, it absolutely works. To me, it is also part of the appeal of the artwork. Tank Girl, love her or hate her, who cares? You will notice her regardless!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Few #1

Jan 18, 2017

The art in this comic is very minimalistic, the only color being used is red for key moments, blood and goggles set in masks. It draws the eye to the detail of the action and demands the attention of the reader in an interesting fashion. The art seems a tad crude, unfinished and raw but it suits the tone of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The X-Files (2016) #9

Jan 1, 2017

The comic has a very dark color scheme in the artwork and very dark lines which makes it hard to recognize the characters at times. I am not a fan of the art, but what is not to my liking might be the favorite of someone else. Overall the story was good a bit sparse but that is to be expected from the X-Files. Still I do believe the upcoming issue will be well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncle Scrooge (2015) #21

Dec 14, 2016

The three stories are lovely, fun and are stand alone, there is no need to have read the previous issues to know what is going on, so you can just randomly pick this one up and enjoy it all the same.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More