Fabio Castelblanco's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 29
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #30

Mar 12, 2016

BATMAN/SUPERMAN #30 was a decent issue with some stellar artwork. The story itself was nothing spectacular, butthe friendship between these twoheroes made the issue far more enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #31

Apr 14, 2016

So far I'm really enjoying Tomasi'sfinal run of the new 52 Superman before DC's Rebirth.I recommend thisissue and this entire arc for anyone who is a new 52 Superman fan, or a just a fan of Superman in general. Mahnkeprovides some fantastic artwork in both theemotions of the characters and the action sequences.Tomasi is laying groundwork for a very entertaining story, which has plenty of mystery that promises to lead to something bigger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman/Superman (2013) #32

May 4, 2016

In the end, the issue seems to just exist tocontinue to buildup the mystery of the Golden Superman while not providing any real answers. I understand that this story has three more parts, but Tomasi really needs to pick up the pace. Superman fanswill read it but casual fans will lose interest if they haven't already.If you're a fanof New 52 Superman, then I recommend you check out this send-off story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Eclipse #5

Mar 13, 2017

ECLIPSE #5 brings us back to this sun scortched world. All the characters are in different places in their lives. Writer Zack Kaplan balances between pushing them down new paths and furthering the plot of the story. The artwork by Giovanni continues to be superb and pleasing to the eye. Find out more when the comic releases March 15!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #6

Sep 19, 2016

While the issue's ultimate reveal was not surprising, it was still fascinating to see August's reasoning behind becoming Godspeed. Artwork is solid and effective in invoking an emotional response. Fans of the Flash definitely don't want to miss this issue, especially because it looks like big changes are coming the Flash's way!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Flash (2016) #13

Dec 30, 2016

If you wantan exciting Flash story, this might not be the issue for you. If you've read or seen any Christmas story ever, then you'll know exactly what's going to happen during this installment. However, the engagingcharacters can help you to look past all of this. THE FLASH #13 is an issue I would recommend to anyone who is a fan of the Flash and Christmas stories. It's a fairly decent mix of the two.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Flash (2016) #15

Jan 25, 2017

THE FLASH #15features some great characterization of the Flash and the Rogues along with fantastic action sequences. The Rogues are definitelyon the road to being viewed as actual threats again. Hopefully, the story will continue to impress. I'd definitely recommend for anyonewho is a Flash or Rogues fan topick up this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Flash (2016) #16

Feb 9, 2017

The Flash is at a loss trying to figure out how to stop all the Rogues. Writer Joshua Williamson has the Flash explore his feelings towards the Rogues. This prompts a very poignant observation by Williamson on why the Flash cares so much for the group of thieves. Stunning artwork by artist Carmine Di Giandomenico and magnificent color choice by colorist Ivan Plascencia round out this great issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Future Quest #1

May 23, 2016

This first issue of FUTURE QUEST does an excellent job setting up the story while simultaneously introducing these characters. I recommend checking this comic out for anyone who is a fan of the Hanna-Barbera cartoons, as Jeff Parker truly captures the spirit of the characters introduced so far. For anyone who is not familiar with the Hanna-Barbera cartoons, this is a fantastic comic to act as yourintroductionto the variety of characters within this colorful universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Guardians of the Galaxy: Dream On #1

Apr 22, 2017

This is a very basic dream sequence story featuring the Guardians of the Galaxy. There aren't major surprises from this story, but the characters make it fun! The artwork is expertly planned out during the fight scenes, even if it all does go on a bit too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

Danny Rand struggles to find a fighter challenging enough to re-ignite the power of the Iron Fist. Writer Ed Brisson delivers a compelling first issue in IRON FIST #1. Artwork done by Mike Perkins is exceptionally appealing to the eye. Colorist Andy Troy's use of dark and bright colors add to the overall enjoyment of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Micronauts #1

May 1, 2016

In the end, this first issue is entertaining but didn't really entice me to continue reading about the adventures of these characters. The comic is unfortunately afraid to take any risks with the story and instead gives us ageneric plot with characters equally as generic. I can't honestly say it's a bad issue, because the artwork was fantastic.Plus,these characters areused constantly in stories for a reason: They'reveryentertaining. If you're looking for a comic that is going towow you with an intriguing story and unique characters, then you may want to skip this one. But if all you want is a fun space adventure witharchetypal characters withcool designs, then this story is a pretty decent read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #1

Jul 31, 2016

In the end, if you're a Nightwing fan this issue is worth reading for him and the Bat-family. However, there are other more superior stories involving this superhero out there. This beginning might not have been as strong as I would have liked, butI'm still going to keep reading. As I trust most fans will, we waited a long time forNightwing to come back and we're not about to abandon him now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Nightwing (2016) #2

Aug 10, 2016

All in all, a solid second issue for this story arc. The story is beginning to get intriguing and the characters involved continue to please. This is an issue you'll want to pick up whether you're a Nightwing fan or not. Fingers crossed that Seeley continues to improve as this arc goes on! Now Nightwing really feels like he's back!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nightwing (2016) #4

Sep 9, 2016

So even though the story is not very impressive, it still has great character development for our lead and his supporting cast. If you're like me and are ahuge Nightwing fan, then this is definitely worth picking up. I would recommend this whole arc just for the character of Raptor alone. I'm definitely checking out his origin this October in THE RISE OF RAPTOR! Have you read this week's issue? If so, let us know your thoughts below.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #9

Nov 17, 2016

The issue ends with Nightwing heading off with Batman, requesting to visit the realBludhaven. I am immensely excited to see what adventures lie ahead for our hero in Bludhaven. Seeley really understandswhatNightwing fans love about the character, between his personality and his setting. As Rebirth continues, Seeley will provide fans with what they desire, but add new and interesting spins on the character. This issue is a definite must-read for any Nightwing fans or fansof hisfriendship with Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #12

Jan 5, 2017

The issue may suffer from some pacing problems when it comes to providing exposition, but the story itself is still engaging.While Idislike theintroductionof new characters every issue, the ones that have been in the arc thus far are enjoyable. Hopefully Seeley refrains from adding more characters after this mysterious masked man. Overall, this is a decent issue with hopefully better issues in the horizon.If you're a fan of NIGHTWING, then I definitely recommend you give NIGHTWING #12a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #14

Feb 1, 2017

After the way the previous issue ended, writer Tim Seeley wasted the opportunity to conclude this arc with a darker ending. The main message Seeley set out to send is still poignant and clearly articulated in NIGHTWING #14.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #16

Mar 1, 2017

The "Nightwing Must Die" arc begins with Damian coming to Bldhaven to confront Dick on who should be the next Batman. Writer Tim Seeley continues to impress with the character of Nightwing. His Damian Wayne is less desirable and actually brings the character back to a time when he was a real pain. Artwork for the action scenes by Javier Fernandez is crisp and sharp. Overall, NIGHTWING #16 is a comic for every Nightwing fan to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 6, 2017

NIGHTWING #18 has some great moments by the supporting cast, which is a credit to the writing of Tim Seeley, however, he seems to have fallen into a familiar trend in the way he ends his issues. Other than that, a great continuation of the "Nightwing Must Die" story arc. Artwork by Javier Fernandez and Minkyu Jung is sharp and specific to each character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 21, 2017

NIGHTWING #19 continues the "Nightwing Must Die" arc with the main villain finally coming to light. Writer Tim Seeley has some fantastic character moments from nearly everyone in this issue. The location has moved from Bldhaven to Paris to Egypt, which actually makes for some stellar shots of the desert.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #20

May 9, 2017

Writer Tim Seeley delivers a thrilling conclusion the "Nightwing Must Die" story arc. Dr. Hurt has our hero trapped in a mental spell -- forcing him to relive a traumatic experience. Artist Javier Fernandez and colorist Chris Sotomayor add an extra layer of interest to the story for how visually appealing it is. Major downside it the choice to have Shawn not be pregnant. Overall, a solid Nightwing comic and the end to an entertaining arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Nightwing (2016) #22

Jun 7, 2017

Seeley sets up this new story for Nightwing which carries on the theme from the 'Welcome to Bldhaven' arc - Dick having an identity outside of Nightwing. One of the villains included in this arc is longtime Nightwing foe, Blockbuster. He seems to have a different backstory than what fans are used to, but change is inevitable with Rebirth. As for the illustrator, it has changed to Miguel Mendonca, who is turning out to be a perfect replacement for Javier Fernandez.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Red Dog #1

Sep 8, 2016

In the end, RED DOG isa must read for anyone who isa fan of the sci-fi genre. I also recommend thisseries to anyone who is a dog lover, as I can already tell the book is going to tell a beautiful pet and owner story. RED DOG #1 will be released this November, so be sure to check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Red Hood / Arsenal #13

Jun 19, 2016

This final issueis worth checking out if you're a RED HOOD/ARSENAL fan.However, casual readers aren't going to miss much if they skip this comic. Lobdell's character analysis may have been fascinatingto read, but it doesn't make up for pitiful villains and an unengaging storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Apocalypse #1

Jun 2, 2016

In the end, the comic certainly has a fascinating storylinewith some great scenery.J.M. DeMatteis and Keith Giffen are definitelytalented writers, and their story combined withHoward Porter's artwork makes this comic worth checking out.However, if you read this comic expectingthe Scooby-Doo gang to solve some sort of mystery, then you will be sorely disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suiciders: Kings of HelL.A. #2

Apr 30, 2016

The only complaint I have with this issue would have to be ending. Now, I'm not familiar with the lore of the original SUICIDERS series, so perhaps the creature that appeared at the end of this comic is normal for this world. However, the appearance of this vampire-like creature at the end of the issue confused more than enticed me to read the next issue. So while the issue may disappoint some who were expecting a continuation of the previous issue, I believe that fans will find that learning more about our protagonists is much better from a storytelling perspective.So far I'm enjoying Bermejo'ssequel series, despitethe fact that I haven't read the original series, and I believe that speaks volumes about the quality of Bermejo's amazing writing. People who haven't read his originalseries can jump right in with SUICIDERS KINGS OF HELL.A. This comic is worth checking out if you are a fan of well-developed characters matched with incredible artwork of their violent actions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman: The Coming of the Supermen #3

Apr 7, 2016

SUPERMAN: THE COMING OF THE SUPERMEN isa love letter to the comic book fans of yesteryear. It even makes someone like me, who was not around during theSilver Age of comics, long for the good old days when writers were able to have fun with aSuperman story. It's definitely a must-read for anyone who is a fan of Neal Adams or classic Superman comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superwoman #1

Aug 27, 2016

All in all, a surprising first issue but an intriguing one. I would say that this comic is certainly worthy your time if you're a fan of Superman's supporting cast. It's a welcome change of pace to see other characters within the Superman mythos get a chance to shine, even if it is for only a short time!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More