Flame Hawk's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: NerdEnt.Net Reviews: 55
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.5
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 13, 2017

This issue might not be enough to save a comic on everyone's drop list but Jock breathes a new sense of life to All-Star Batman. Despite missteps in the writing mostly stemming from narration rather than dialog driven this comic adds an interesting take on Mr. Freeze. If you are one for art overshadowing the writing then this issue is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

Overall the addition to Tetch lets All-Star Batman #8 be inflated with Batman being trapped in Wonderland but is quickly deflated with an ending that does little but set up the next issue. I am interested to see where the Duke subplot goes after being escalated in between the Mad Hatter. The art comes into save the day with varying art styles suited for the ever changing mood of Tetch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man #25

Dec 31, 1969

Amazing Spider-Man #25 feels more like an annual with the added content being tacked on the end which might justify the hefty price tag added on this issue. As for "The Osborn Identity – Part One: Bug Hunt” there is plenty of surprising twists which are perfectly illustrated by Immonen leading to a promising arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #1

Jan 1, 2017

This series is a nice changing of the guard taking off where the previous series took off and adding new twists such as Avengers striking Kang first. The Kang threat looms as a large threat as the Avengers membership has dwindled since the events of Civil War II.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 3, 2017

Batman #16 delivers what the fans asked for…One Pissed off Bane. King connects this issue in with all the previous storylines leading for I Am Bane to have a bright future. The only slight drawback is in the artwork that makes the background characters look extremely generic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

The art has improved since the beginning of this arc as detail has returned in Finch's penciling. The inclusion of many characters shows the artistic ability of the team as they will clearly revisit some of the villains down the road. But Bane's styling was particularly impressive as Finch The gritty nature is still there as the a dark coloring is implemented fine lining details the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #20

Apr 6, 2017

Many have been praising the end to "I Am Bane" but I am just not seeing it. If this comic skipped the endless exposition which furthers the beacon of hope vibe it would be better off. The fight between Batman and Bane saved this issue as Finch and Bellaire perfectly capturing the aggression and exhaustion in the fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

If you were looking for answers to DC Rebirth you will be greatly disappointed in Batman 21. King does little to explain while adding more hints to further muddling the DC Universe. The use of a timer not only signifies they are running out of time but adds tension as Batman faces off against the Reverse-Flash. Fabok uses a 9-page panel to snapshot every moment culminating in the surprising ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #22

May 4, 2017

As the Flashpoint crumbles it makes you question are the duo running out of time? Fabok does not try to replicate what he did in the previous issue deciding to go a different route which ends up working. Anderson and Fabok make a great art team which really elevates King's work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batman (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

Where does all of this go? King leads to an interesting premise with Batman marrying Catwoman but I could see this going the way of the ill-fated "One More Day."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

Overall this issue doesn't do a lot but just enough to spark Batwoman into her own series. Writing heavily relied upon exposition of her past and previous Batman arcs. Senior artist Epting does his thing and adds solid art while Ben Oliver had some input on flashback panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

DC Bring Back Booster!! That being said this issue wasn't terrible but I was expecting more as the Flintstones satire and Gold's wackiness offered a great pairing. The writing was the strongest part of this issue as the interaction between characters was enjoyable and often comedic. The art offered a Saturday morning feel but often looked incomplete with detail missing from the background.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #17

May 24, 2017

Captain America: Steve Rogers #17 is available at your local comic shop as well as online markets.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Civil War II #8

Jan 1, 2017

Though it isn't over as the effects of Civil War II can be felt in many continuing series from Occupy Avengers to Great Lake Avengers. I wish this series could just go away quietly so I would be able to push this off as a fever dream but that looks unlikely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Dec 31, 1969

This looks to be an interesting summer as the mysteries of Dark Days: The Forge #1 hangs over the DCU. With Hal going deep into Batman's closet exposing his numerous skeletons will the Justice League kick out Bruce Wayne?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Daydreams #2

Mar 30, 2017

This comic is a pleasant read for younger audiences as the pages are colorful and teaching life lessons. This is a fun comic for the younger audiences and should be able to entertain kids for a while. If you are looking for comics for suited towards 10+ I would suggest looking at other IAC books such as Rudos Revolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deadpool (2015) #26

Feb 2, 2017

This issue is just another Valentine'sDay in the world of Wade Wilson getting stabbed, getting a special gift from Madcap, and more. This wasn't a great story but every aspectwas enjoyable adding touches of Romantic Comedy mixed with a little Detective Noir leading this issueinto your heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Defenders (2017) #1

Dec 31, 1969

If you give Defenders #1 a chance you will be thoroughly impressed with both the writing and artwork are on point. Bendis shows off his vast knowledge of the characters to keep this from being just another Marvel title that has been conformed to the Marvel Cinematic Universe. With dynamic artwork from the duo of Marquez and Ponsor Defenders #1 is a crisp refreshing title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #949

Jan 28, 2017

This issue was good despite it being short as it allows Batwoman to spin-off into her own series where the philosophical difference Bruce and Kate will be explored. I.e wanting to end crime vs wanting to end war.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #951

Feb 22, 2017

Detective Comics 951 does its job by starting the "League of Shadows" arc, but doesn't do anything further deciding to retcon the previous arcs. Art is passable, but again doesn't do much to further it from being average. This issue looks too much to the future than to the present.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #954

Apr 13, 2017

To sum up Detective Comics #954 in one word"disappointment. Not only does Tynion use bad storytelling he creates an open thread that is capable of unraveling DC Rebirth. The art is also as rushed as the story leading the issue to be easily skippable.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Doctor Strange (2015) #17

Feb 16, 2017

After "Blood in the Aether" Doctor Strange #17 ,the start of "State of Misery", is disappointing with rehashed topics pointing to a great showdown between old friends down the road. Having Irving filling in for Bachalo does little to help the issue that is disappointing from head to toe. We have already seen Misery become a player in this series and this upcoming arc looks to further that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
FCBD 2017: Secret Empire/Spectacular Spider Man #1

May 6, 2017

If the goal of this comic was to get people talking about the Secret Empire then Secret Empire Free Comic Book Day succeeds in its goal.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

This issue is a letdown from last week's Batman 21. I was expecting a lot from this issue only to be disappointed in the growth of the story. There was countless exposition in the first half bogging down the story with redundancy. I have hope for next week as The Button picked up in the final pages of the story with a cliffhanger ending. The art is also a drop off from last week as Porter just isn't Fabok. That being said for Porter he brings in detail that are complicated with coloring. I also spent 10 minutes looking at the "The Hall of Lost and Found" to spot all the hidden easter eggs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #22

May 17, 2017

"The Button" is not what everyone wants as it only establishes something DC fans have known for a while now"Doctor Manhattan is in the DC Universe. We will get more information in November as the ACTUAL event will enlighten us on the origins of the DC Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #14

Jan 5, 2017

While the writing comes off as redundant in times the art provided by Eduardo Pansica and Ronan Cliquet gives this issue the pop it needs. The vibrant colors and penciling compliment each other well and allows this issue to guide the pages along flow with ease. Paneling is done masterfully as most of the page is covered not allowing any wasted space giving readers the most bang for the buck.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Am Groot #1

May 25, 2017

Now the art is where this issue takes off as Flaviano's artwork and lining setup Menyz coloring. Flaviano puts the reader easily in Groot's mindset by having the art seem childlike with swirling lines and being very fluid. Menyz uses a colored pencil design to further the elementary design making this one of the most visually pleasing comic book of the year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 23, 2017

Overall Iron Fist #1 offers just enough to make it an interesting read. Though the story seems to be going through the motions, in the beginning, I have a feeling things will pick up once Rand arrives on Liu-Shi. The art captures Bisson's tone accurately using lining and coloring to depict a dejected Iron Fist. The art also provides better fighting choreography than the show but to be fair that isn't saying much.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
IvX #6

Mar 8, 2017

IvX is worse than Civil War II story wise as it often leans upon common tropes and lazy storytelling making it barely tie together. However, since Civil War II had a greater impact on Marvel Comics affecting many comics by either tie-ins or revolving around the aftermath. Inhumans vs X-Men will still be felt with the X-Men Prime and Inhuman Prime but can they be any worse"I'm seriously asking here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
James Bond: Service Special #1

May 25, 2017

James Bond: Service is available at your local comic shop as well as online markets. “

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Jan 1, 2017

I have been missing Fabok's art styling in this Rebirth saga but now he is here when it counts the first event, Justice League vs Suicide Squad. The level of detailing that goes along with his art shines brightly with every character being sharp and well drawn. He has been able to take the different feeling between the Justice League and Suicide Squad making it gritty and light within the same page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 8, 2017

While I was expecting more out of this issue due to Stine's writing and Peralta's art I knew there would be a learning curve. As this series progresses expect it to get exponentially better each issue before becoming an outstanding book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #13

Jan 19, 2017

Overall I'm happy to see where this series goes from here as Nightwing #13 upped the ante. Despite the art being standard, the plot makes up for it plenty with the revealing of the killer plus Nightwing in hot water. I am excited to see where this series goes from here as it is a crucial point in the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #1

Dec 31, 1969

Is Spectacular Spider-Man great no but I do see where Zdarsky was trying to take this series. Back to the basics of Spider-Man who has become a totally different character in recent years. I also appreciate that this series is more or less separatedfrom the overallMarvel comicverse. Paired with artwork that signifies the Concrete Jungle with Peter whipping through the city.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rick and Morty #25

Dec 31, 1969

The comic series is an enjoyable read and a decent way to keep theschezuan craziness at bay. The story is still anenjoyable read as it explores the coolness of Rick and doubles it. The art drops off in quality but that seems to be a joke as every other issue is in higher quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #42

Jan 26, 2017

This issue has a lot of graphic material within the pages but what else would we expect from Vaughan. This may turn some readers off that they would include such material. However, there are plenty that like this comic as it is grounded for a fantasy series making it Image's #2 series only behind The Walking Dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Empire #0

Apr 19, 2017

Secret Empire #0 is what is another Marvel Comics event. However, the story reads better than both Civil War II and IvX. Marvel really missed a chance to capitalize on this event having the ability to trim down the already muddled universe. The art is the biggest attraction as Acuna and Reis team up to create visually pleasing panels in a comic void of much entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 12, 2017

Nostalgia is a hard thing to master especially with everyone bringing old shows, comics, and other things from the 1980's,90's and early 2000's. However, the main problem with these reboots is that the new material does little to enhance the aforementioned material. Spencer & Locke is able to change up Calvin & Hobbes enough to make this its own property and make the comic worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spencer & Locke #2

May 31, 2017

While Spencer & Locke #2 may be playing with a very worn out formula Pepose makes this series his own mixing physiological and action thriller aspects. This issue does take a backstep from the previous issue as the pacing seems slightly rushed at times leading for impactful moments to fall slightly flat. Santiago does his thing and makes the art memorable as the car chase scene was visually the best moment of the issue. Hear our interview with David Pepose on what lead up to Spencer & Locke and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Spencer & Locke #3

Dec 31, 1969

Spencer and Locke #3: Service is available at your local comic shop as well as online markets. "

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars (2014) #27

Jan 25, 2017

While this issue might have fallen short (get it Yoda) there is stillpromise that the next few issues will pick up both from the writing side and the art aspect. Yoda is in a vulnerable state and will have to do some soul searching in the next issue on his way to the Heart of the Mountain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #29

Mar 2, 2017

Luke's appearance marks the close of this saga which has been marked creative but disappointing. In this issue, we see improvements in the art department and Aaron's storytelling despite disappointment in the fight scene between Yoda and the mountain. I think many will just be happy when this arc comes to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #3

Jan 20, 2017

Kev Walker's art is dim and gritty which fits Gillen's writing but personally, I can't help but ask is there a better style that would've worked better. The styling for Darth Vader personally would make this series slightly better but doing so wouldn't allow for Doctor Aphra to step out of Vader's shadow.Thick penciling dominates the art as the coloring is often dim and on the grayscale. Basic paneling also makes this issue very standard as there is no panel that has that wow factor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Screaming Citadel #1

Dec 31, 1969

Star Wars: The Screaming Citadel #1 does the best it can to kickstart the Star Wars comic line that has stalled as of late. But with Gillen deciding to focus on character development the issue allows growing in both Aphra and Luke. The art is styled in a fashion the blends the two series allowing it to be equal parts of Star Wars and Dr. Aphra. My only complaint is here come the shippers"

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #1

Feb 16, 2017

Super Sons was an anticipated title since itsannouncement and fans should be glad it doesn't disappoint. Tomasi perfectly captures that kid vibe balancing social life and school in addition to their super powers.Jimenez's art was a great addition to the issue as it captures expressions perfectly. This is one of the comics I will definitely be adding to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Great Lakes Avengers #1

Jan 1, 2017

So there you have it the worst Avengers, ever, are back cause of Civil War II (making me detest the event a little less). Overall, I'm interested in seeing how this series progresses and seeing Good Boy joining the team and the triumphant return of Mr. Immortal as he escapes from his grave.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unworthy Thor #3

Jan 6, 2017

We all know this will lead to an all-out battle in the next issue and in the final issue Odinson will pick up the hammer rebecoming Thor. It's not about the story at this point because we are nearing the end of the and can see the ending. What this issue came off as was little more than stretching the series and showing a broken down Odinson. These next two issues I predict Thor will regain his worthiness by making a valiant act and a massive fight scene between the three parties.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unworthy Thor #5

Mar 22, 2017

I am surprised I enjoyed this read as the whisper was greatly disappointing. Numerous storylines in this ending made this issue as we get to see Odinson, Thanos, and the Collector make their next move. Additionally, War Thor is an interesting mystery as we have little information about the character currently. Art from all artists have improved over the course of the series leading to this issue have pleasing aesthetics and made this issue work, In the end waiting too long to reveal the information led to a damned if you do and damned if you don't scenario.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Walking Dead #162

Jan 5, 2017

While this issue doesn't add the impact many fans were looking for to redeem the 'Whisperer War' saga it sets up 'Conquered' to be an epic arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead #163

Feb 3, 2017

The“Conquered” storyline provides some memorable moments that were expected to be in the last arcThe WhispererWar”. Kirkman and Adlard team up to provide another issue ofThe Walking Deadwhich the fans crave for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venom (2016) #1

Jan 1, 2017

So it is safe to say that I'm not a fan of Costa's take on Venom; his fast-paced storytelling uses the same stale tropes. There also are many things in the first issue that could have been saved for later down the road, such as Lee's backstory which felt forced and shoehorned in unnecessarily.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 12, 2017

X-Men Blue #1 is a very generic X-Men teen story offering little story until the ending panel. There is plenty of things to dislike from the lackluster art to the stagnant story but this has many of the qualities that made X-Men popular by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Dec 31, 1969

For a comic that says it wants to move forward it really spends a lot of time getting back to the 90s. ResurreXionis taking the right steps to draw back the bloated Marvel universe that needs to be trimmed down. There are many things to enjoy from this issue like Kitty trying to become the next Xavier despite some setbacks. The story seems to be written before, although Guggenheim makes references noticing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #1

Dec 31, 1969

I had little idea what I was walking into when I first read this issue having little information on the character. As I began to read throughout I couldn't find one thing wrong with anything done. From the easy landing pad for new readers while not giving up the lore of the character to the vivid art of Giorello who creates wonders in each panel this is the ideal comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Yo-Kai Watch #1

May 18, 2017

Yo-Kai Watch #1 wasn't a bad first issue but something felt off as it transitioned from Japanese mediums to an American one. Esquivel does an admirable job of tying this in with the anime allowing the youth readers to make the connection between them. The art team decides to Americanize the anime giving the panels a Scooby Doo type feel.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More