Flame Hawk's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: NerdEnt.Net Reviews: 29
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.5
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 13, 2017

This issue might not be enough to save a comic on everyone's drop list but Jock breathes a new sense of life to All-Star Batman. Despite missteps in the writing mostly stemming from narration rather than dialog driven this comic adds an interesting take on Mr. Freeze. If you are one for art overshadowing the writing then this issue is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

Overall the addition to Tetch lets All-Star Batman #8 be inflated with Batman being trapped in Wonderland but is quickly deflated with an ending that does little but set up the next issue. I am interested to see where the Duke subplot goes after being escalated in between the Mad Hatter. The art comes into save the day with varying art styles suited for the ever changing mood of Tetch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Amazing Spider-Man #25

Dec 31, 1969

Amazing Spider-Man #25 feels more like an annual with the added content being tacked on the end which might justify the hefty price tag added on this issue. As for "The Osborn Identity – Part One: Bug Hunt” there is plenty of surprising twists which are perfectly illustrated by Immonen leading to a promising arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2016) #1

Jan 1, 2017

This series is a nice changing of the guard taking off where the previous series took off and adding new twists such as Avengers striking Kang first. The Kang threat looms as a large threat as the Avengers membership has dwindled since the events of Civil War II.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 3, 2017

Batman #16 delivers what the fans asked for…One Pissed off Bane. King connects this issue in with all the previous storylines leading for I Am Bane to have a bright future. The only slight drawback is in the artwork that makes the background characters look extremely generic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

Overall this issue doesn't do a lot but just enough to spark Batwoman into her own series. Writing heavily relied upon exposition of her past and previous Batman arcs. Senior artist Epting does his thing and adds solid art while Ben Oliver had some input on flashback panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Civil War II #8

Jan 1, 2017

Though it isn't over as the effects of Civil War II can be felt in many continuing series from Occupy Avengers to Great Lake Avengers. I wish this series could just go away quietly so I would be able to push this off as a fever dream but that looks unlikely.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deadpool (2015) #26

Feb 2, 2017

This issue is just another Valentine'sDay in the world of Wade Wilson getting stabbed, getting a special gift from Madcap, and more. This wasn't a great story but every aspectwas enjoyable adding touches of Romantic Comedy mixed with a little Detective Noir leading this issueinto your heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #949

Jan 28, 2017

This issue was good despite it being short as it allows Batwoman to spin-off into her own series where the philosophical difference Bruce and Kate will be explored. I.e wanting to end crime vs wanting to end war.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #951

Feb 22, 2017

Detective Comics 951 does its job by starting the "League of Shadows" arc, but doesn't do anything further deciding to retcon the previous arcs. Art is passable, but again doesn't do much to further it from being average. This issue looks too much to the future than to the present.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Doctor Strange (2015) #17

Feb 16, 2017

After "Blood in the Aether" Doctor Strange #17 ,the start of "State of Misery", is disappointing with rehashed topics pointing to a great showdown between old friends down the road. Having Irving filling in for Bachalo does little to help the issue that is disappointing from head to toe. We have already seen Misery become a player in this series and this upcoming arc looks to further that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #14

Jan 5, 2017

While the writing comes off as redundant in times the art provided by Eduardo Pansica and Ronan Cliquet gives this issue the pop it needs. The vibrant colors and penciling compliment each other well and allows this issue to guide the pages along flow with ease. Paneling is done masterfully as most of the page is covered not allowing any wasted space giving readers the most bang for the buck.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 23, 2017

Overall Iron Fist #1 offers just enough to make it an interesting read. Though the story seems to be going through the motions, in the beginning, I have a feeling things will pick up once Rand arrives on Liu-Shi. The art captures Bisson's tone accurately using lining and coloring to depict a dejected Iron Fist. The art also provides better fighting choreography than the show but to be fair that isn't saying much.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
IvX #6

Mar 8, 2017

IvX is worse than Civil War II story wise as it often leans upon common tropes and lazy storytelling making it barely tie together. However, since Civil War II had a greater impact on Marvel Comics affecting many comics by either tie-ins or revolving around the aftermath. Inhumans vs X-Men will still be felt with the X-Men Prime and Inhuman Prime but can they be any worse"I'm seriously asking here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Jan 1, 2017

I have been missing Fabok's art styling in this Rebirth saga but now he is here when it counts the first event, Justice League vs Suicide Squad. The level of detailing that goes along with his art shines brightly with every character being sharp and well drawn. He has been able to take the different feeling between the Justice League and Suicide Squad making it gritty and light within the same page.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 8, 2017

While I was expecting more out of this issue due to Stine's writing and Peralta's art I knew there would be a learning curve. As this series progresses expect it to get exponentially better each issue before becoming an outstanding book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #13

Jan 19, 2017

Overall I'm happy to see where this series goes from here as Nightwing #13 upped the ante. Despite the art being standard, the plot makes up for it plenty with the revealing of the killer plus Nightwing in hot water. I am excited to see where this series goes from here as it is a crucial point in the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #42

Jan 26, 2017

This issue has a lot of graphic material within the pages but what else would we expect from Vaughan. This may turn some readers off that they would include such material. However, there are plenty that like this comic as it is grounded for a fantasy series making it Image's #2 series only behind The Walking Dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Star Wars (2014) #27

Jan 25, 2017

While this issue might have fallen short (get it Yoda) there is stillpromise that the next few issues will pick up both from the writing side and the art aspect. Yoda is in a vulnerable state and will have to do some soul searching in the next issue on his way to the Heart of the Mountain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #29

Mar 2, 2017

Luke's appearance marks the close of this saga which has been marked creative but disappointing. In this issue, we see improvements in the art department and Aaron's storytelling despite disappointment in the fight scene between Yoda and the mountain. I think many will just be happy when this arc comes to a close.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #3

Jan 20, 2017

Kev Walker's art is dim and gritty which fits Gillen's writing but personally, I can't help but ask is there a better style that would've worked better. The styling for Darth Vader personally would make this series slightly better but doing so wouldn't allow for Doctor Aphra to step out of Vader's shadow.Thick penciling dominates the art as the coloring is often dim and on the grayscale. Basic paneling also makes this issue very standard as there is no panel that has that wow factor.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #1

Feb 16, 2017

Super Sons was an anticipated title since itsannouncement and fans should be glad it doesn't disappoint. Tomasi perfectly captures that kid vibe balancing social life and school in addition to their super powers.Jimenez's art was a great addition to the issue as it captures expressions perfectly. This is one of the comics I will definitely be adding to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Great Lakes Avengers #1

Jan 1, 2017

So there you have it the worst Avengers, ever, are back cause of Civil War II (making me detest the event a little less). Overall, I'm interested in seeing how this series progresses and seeing Good Boy joining the team and the triumphant return of Mr. Immortal as he escapes from his grave.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unworthy Thor #3

Jan 6, 2017

We all know this will lead to an all-out battle in the next issue and in the final issue Odinson will pick up the hammer rebecoming Thor. It's not about the story at this point because we are nearing the end of the and can see the ending. What this issue came off as was little more than stretching the series and showing a broken down Odinson. These next two issues I predict Thor will regain his worthiness by making a valiant act and a massive fight scene between the three parties.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unworthy Thor #5

Mar 22, 2017

I am surprised I enjoyed this read as the whisper was greatly disappointing. Numerous storylines in this ending made this issue as we get to see Odinson, Thanos, and the Collector make their next move. Additionally, War Thor is an interesting mystery as we have little information about the character currently. Art from all artists have improved over the course of the series leading to this issue have pleasing aesthetics and made this issue work, In the end waiting too long to reveal the information led to a damned if you do and damned if you don't scenario.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Walking Dead #162

Jan 5, 2017

While this issue doesn't add the impact many fans were looking for to redeem the 'Whisperer War' saga it sets up 'Conquered' to be an epic arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Walking Dead #163

Feb 3, 2017

The“Conquered” storyline provides some memorable moments that were expected to be in the last arcThe WhispererWar”. Kirkman and Adlard team up to provide another issue ofThe Walking Deadwhich the fans crave for.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venom (2016) #1

Jan 1, 2017

So it is safe to say that I'm not a fan of Costa's take on Venom; his fast-paced storytelling uses the same stale tropes. There also are many things in the first issue that could have been saved for later down the road, such as Lee's backstory which felt forced and shoehorned in unnecessarily.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #1

Dec 31, 1969

I had little idea what I was walking into when I first read this issue having little information on the character. As I began to read throughout I couldn't find one thing wrong with anything done. From the easy landing pad for new readers while not giving up the lore of the character to the vivid art of Giorello who creates wonders in each panel this is the ideal comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More