Forrest Hollingsworth's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 70
7.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Aliens: Defiance #1

Mar 30, 2016

It's a stellar sci-fi horror comic in its own right, and it's a hell of an Aliens one, too. I'm excited for where Hendricks and Davis are headed even if they have no right to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
ApocalyptiGirl: An Aria for the End Times #1

May 21, 2015

It’s masterful, just masterful. A fully encapsulated story that could go a million directions but settles on one that’s real, authentic and still, surprising.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Arcadia #1

May 6, 2015

There’s some missteps but ultimately, readers should be able to forgive them simply because Arcadia tries really hard to throw us into something big and bold and, for the most part, succeeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #2

Jan 28, 2015

Bitch Planet is obviously about gender theory at its broadest and about feminism and female identity on a personal level at its narrowest. It wears those messages on its sleeve. What it doesn't do, though, is pander. This is a complex and layered story that someone could enjoy without thinking about its connections to the real world at all. It's merely strengthened by its poignant nature, not weighed down by it. The pacing is right, the message is honest and earnest and the art is beautiful. Don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bitch Planet #3

Feb 18, 2015

This is a good standalone story that, after seeing Penny in the context of Kogo’s “main” story, I would’ve liked much more. It’s really too early to be doing things like this no matter how inspired and good it is because, again, it still is very good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer Annual #1

Jan 18, 2017

Ultimately, this giant and delightfully indulgent issue serves to flesh out both the world our heroes lived in, and fought for, before meeting their untimely farm imprisonment as well as the inhabitants themselves. It's not an issue for new readers like some might expect, but it is a hell of an issue for what was probably the best new comic of 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Black Road #1

Apr 14, 2016

Ultimately it’s a beautiful and bleak introduction whose story doesn’t totally grab you. A half good and half misstep of a first issue, it may take an issue or two but Wood fans will probably find something to like and Brown's art is certainly worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Broken World #1

Jun 3, 2015

This is a great introductory issue that sets up the second issue to reel us in the rest of the way. There’s some obvious dialogue and maybe too much of it but, in the end, I’ll be coming back for Broken World #2 and, you should, too. How couldn’t you after that ending?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Copperhead #6

Apr 8, 2015

This arc is off to an interesting, if different, start. The narrative is less focused but still wonderfully expressive and, human. There’s a lot going on in the small mining town of Copperhead and I fully trust these creators to do what they do best in bringing it to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Copperhead #7

May 13, 2015

Ultimately, it’s just another day in Copperhead. It’s about bad guys and good guys. It’s about space and about people. And? It’s just as good as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
D4VE (IDW) #1

Feb 25, 2015

This is a crisp, fun book that hinges on an old narrative structure but carries an important lesson. If you missed out on it digitally, you don’t want to now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
D4VE (IDW) #2

Mar 25, 2015

D4VE #2 isn’t as strong as the first one but it’s still a funny, likeable comic that has a real heart to it. If you haven’t read this before, you should be reading it now. If you have already read it, maybe it’s time to revisit D4VE’s world anyways.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dept. H #1

Apr 21, 2016

There’s the occasional fault, mainly in introducing so many characters in such a quick succession, but for the most part it’s a beautiful, enticing read of a first issue that fans of Mind MGMT can rest assured is in keeping with Kindt’s other beautiful, strange and poetic works.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity #1

Feb 11, 2015

Ultimately, Divinity shows two things. One of them is that these old origin tropes still offer a lot of room for creativity and inspiration. The second, and more apparent, is that Valiant is fully capable of publishing heavy hitting books that, despite their flaws, are interesting and refreshing reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Divinity #2

Mar 18, 2015

It’s the kind of narrative misstep that cheapens the rest of the issue which is really, really good. It’s unfortunate but not issue breaking in the end. There’s a lot of good, interesting and unique storytelling and world building here at the expense of a lonely Russian man and, ultimately, I suggest you pick it up Valiant fan or not.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Empty Zone #1

Jun 17, 2015

Ultimately, Alexander succeeds in creating a world I’m interested in visiting again. Especially so, with the immediacy of the art and how rewarding each page is to look at. He doesn’t succeed however, in introducing us to an interesting story in that world. The Empty Zone’s first issue ends up being a beautifully dark but, hollow introduction that relies too much on trickery and not actual suspense.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fight Club 2 #1

Apr 29, 2015

Overall, Fight Club 2 is a worthy, if over-the-top, follow up so far. There’s a lot to love if you can get past the parts that are too in your face and accept that it's ultimatelty a lot like the original with little remorse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
God Country #1

Jan 11, 2017

With the cohesiveness and promise of this first issue, I, for one, am along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harrow County #1

May 13, 2015

Welcome to Harrow County, you’ll love your stay even if the characters don't and, that's the whole point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harrow County #3

Jul 8, 2015

Harrow County is my new favorite on-going series. It has its issues with pacing and the rare misstep in art but, for the most part and in the best ways possible, it is a dark, deep and endlessly entertaining look at a place that pulls you in with its country charm and, holds onto you with its bloody claws.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harrow County #4

Aug 12, 2015

It’s impossible to talk about this issue more without spoiling things but suffice to say it’s a warmer look at Harrow County than we’ve seen, it’s a look at Emmy’s heart and, it’s a hint of what’s to come. You can’t ask for much else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Heartthrob #1

Apr 14, 2016

This is an honest, emotional first issue with a twist that will probably make or break it for readers but works for me. The team here is firing on all cylinders and I’m eager to see where it’s headed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1952 #3

Feb 4, 2015

This issue is a little more disjointed than previous ones in the arc but it introduces a variety of elements that are sure to pay off soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1952 #4

Mar 4, 2015

I love Hellboy. I love Mignola, Arcudi and Maleev. I don’t love this comic. Maybe, just maybe something crazy and substantial will happen in the last issue of this run but as of now, it’s hard to see why this story exists at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1952 #5

Apr 4, 2015

It’s not a perfect issue, but it does undo the worst parts of the previous issue at the very least by giving context to Hellboy’s storied past. True Mignola or Hellboy fans will enjoy the look into the character’s youth as well as his first step toward becoming the thing he is now but, there’s this lingering feeling of missing out on something truly important or defining.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellbreak #1

Mar 11, 2015

Ultimately, this is a good first issue but it isn’t a great one. There’s some inconsistencies in both art and storytelling that I can only hope get addressed so that we can more fully enjoy the truly original and exciting concept at the heart of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellbreak #2

Apr 30, 2015

Issue two doesn’t really make or break Hellbreak yet. It adds a little depth and flexibility to an interesting premise and shows that these creators are honing in on something special. But, it doesn’t deliver on the characterizations that this concept deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
High Crimes #1

May 28, 2015

This is a truly great first issue. One that’s built on a unique idea but that is driven by its people, not its plot. That’s the best thing a comic can be. A vehicle for mediation of the human condition even on a 29 thousand foot tall mountain. This is a hell of comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
High Crimes #2

May 28, 2015

Right near the end of this issue, the narration veers a little too close to poetic for my tastes but then, it’s perfectly grounded again. These two creators are totally, perfectly in control of this story and, they’re both really good at what they’re doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
High Crimes #3

May 28, 2015

Ultimately, this issue struggles a bit more than the first two and could use some breathing room but, it’s still a thrilling installment and I couldn’t be more scared and excited for what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hit: 1957 #1

Mar 25, 2015

Hit 1957 is not for people who haven't read the original series. Right now it's a decent, dark and efficent story that follows up the original well but makes some missteps in execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
House of Penance #1

Apr 14, 2016

It’s a beautiful, weird, first issue that I liked a lot but is desperately trying to outpace readers who may not be familiar with what’s going on here. Fans of horror, graphic and psychological will find a lot to like here but others might not.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invisible Republic #1

Mar 17, 2015

Invisible Republic is going to be a comic version of The Road, it seems and I’m all for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Low #6

Feb 25, 2015

This single issue is strong enough to stand on its own, it could be the first issue of Low honestly, but it isn’t and that’s saying something. The emotional buildup and payoff that these creators have established is simply impressive and they show no signs of stopping now.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Material #1

May 27, 2015

There’s a lot here but, there’s also very little. This book might materialize into a lot more than it is right now as these interesting but overwhelmingly dense stories make their way into something more solid but, it’s hard for me to recommend this book in its current state.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mayday #1

Apr 29, 2015

When Kanye said “Cause who the kids gon listen to huh? I guess me, if it isn’t you” he was talking about Lauryn Hill. When Pires and Peterson say the same thing with Mayday, they’re talking about Hunter S. Thompson and maybe even Fitzgerald a bit. I love them for it and, that comparison is intentionally over the top as much as Mayday itself is over the top, Which is to say, wonderfully so.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mayday #2

May 27, 2015

Less comic book and more meditation on western culture through a self-aware satirical lens, Mayday is a book I think I’ll remember for a long time. Something between a philosophy text book and Fast and the Furious does Fear and Loathing mashup, it’s a smart thing that demonstrates the strengths of the creators here in the best ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mayday #3

Jun 24, 2015

This is a near perfect issue held back only by its erratic nature which some readers might have no problem with at all. Mayday is the comic book form of reading Nietzsche while shot-gunning beers and picking up prostitutes for sacrifice to some higher power. Don’t miss this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Motor Crush #2

Jan 11, 2017

Ultimately, I think the book as a way to go in terms of developing into a story with real pull, but all of the elements are so cohesive and finely tuned otherwise that I can't fault it too much. I'm still invested in Motor Crush, and I think you should be, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Negative Space #1

Jun 14, 2015

This first issue is a dark, gritty book that toys with your emotions and perceptions. It’s well written and intriguing and, it shows no sign of stopping now as Guy heads down a dark, twisted and conspiracy-laden path with very real monsters waiting for him at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Neverboy #1

Mar 5, 2015

It’s a book that relies heavily on a twist. Once that twist is revealed, the whole thing ends really abruptly. Less like cliffhanger and more like a road block but it’s got my attention enough to hold off til the next issue before I pass any real judgment on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
No Mercy #1

Apr 1, 2015

No Mercy is a rough first outing, it's hard to tell what these creators were going for and it's hard to find many redeeming qualities when the book hits you over the head with its worst parts. If they reign it in, hone some stuff and focus on one specific direction, they might have a thrilling tale of survival and human nature but right now, it's nothing close to that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Past Aways #1

Mar 25, 2015

Past Aways is stronger in idea than it is in presence. As the story unfolds, it might become something worth picking up but right now? You might be better holding off unless you’re a devoted fan of these creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Plunder #1

Feb 17, 2015

Ultimately, Plunder is a book that will either make itself or defeat itself. If these creators can pump out more of the smart writing and pacing with more horrors to see, it'll become a short story I can see myself coming back to. If the dialogue continues to be inconsistent and the art has brief moments of obvious misstep, though, then it's just another horror story in a big pool of them. They only have 3 issues to pull it off. But, right now, it's looking like they can do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rasputin #4

Jan 29, 2015

As we move more and more into the real life events that Rasputin is known for, I’m confident that these creators can tell a moving and rewarding story so long as they hone the backstory or flash-forward elements even just a little bit more. History hasn’t been this fun for me in a long, long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rasputin #5

Feb 25, 2015

This issue won’t sway you one way or the other on Rasputin and it shouldn’t have led into a hiatus but it has a couple surprises and will definitely keep readers that are already invested interested enough to pick it up when it returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Rat God #1

Feb 4, 2015

This is a promising story with poor execution. I'm interested in seeing what happens but I can't help but think that Corben would've produced a better book if he had someone else he was working with on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rebels (2015) #1

Apr 8, 2015

This first issue is just a stepping stone but it’s a carefully crafted one. Everything we know about Seth and America and Britain and war and peace and violence and humanity from this first issue will be expanded in the coming ones, I have no doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rebels (2015) #2

May 13, 2015

Ultimately, Wood and Mutti might not succeed in telling a perfectly cohesive and concise story. What they do incredibly well, however, is bringing this world to life in a way that none of us will ever be able to experience elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rumble #2

Jan 21, 2015

Rumble isn’t really here or there yet. It has interesting characters, fun and believable dialogue, dark and humorous elements and, a muddled plot. I wouldn’t jump on board just yet unless you have faith in these creators or are truly curious.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rumble #3

Feb 18, 2015

This is a good, complex and fun issue that introduces a lot of new and refreshing elements to the previously cryptic story. It’s Rumble’s best, by far. Different from the two previous issues in the right ways but still holding true to the tone established in those, it’s an issue that finally hints at what these creators are going for. If they keep it up this way, Rathraq may become a character people remember for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Identities #1

Feb 18, 2015

Secret Identities #1 is a complex, refreshing issue that introduces us to age old ideas in a new way. It’s held back by being too large in scope but, the initial legwork is done. Now, it’s time to run with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Identities #2

Mar 17, 2015

Overall, it’s not as a strong of an issue as the first one mostly because the problems of the first issue are more severe here and the Crosswind story isn't really here or there yet. However, everything that was good about that initial issue is good here too, maybe even better. If you’re looking for less than conventional hero stories, try this. If you can’t handle a mosaic approach, wait until the book becomes more focused or decisive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Southern Cross #4

Jun 24, 2015

Like Alex and her sister, I want to haunt that icy moon of Titan and I want Cloonan et al to take me there.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spread #5

Jan 21, 2015

Spread kind of feels like it’s treading water but also has a lot of elements that carry promise. They just need to be used to their true potential. Every issue, this one included, has felt like a set up for the next and it’s not really paying off yet. The enigmatic potential and energy is there, it just needs to be honed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Kanan #2

May 8, 2015

Sure, this comic is all the stronger if you’re familiar with Rebels but it’s a good read even if you’re not and, that’s an accomplishment worthy of note in and of itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Empty #1

Feb 11, 2015

The Empty simply has too much of an unpolished feel right now for me to suggest you pick it up just yet. I will say however, that with Image's track record as of late, I wouldn't write it off completely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fiction #1

Jun 16, 2015

This is a book with a lot of potential that’s executed quite well by these creators. I’m not convinced that we’re going to get a fully fleshed out story here in only 4 issues but, I have the utmost faith in Pires as a creator and, Rubin is an equally exceptional artist that makes me believe they may just pull it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Ghost Fleet #4

Feb 4, 2015

This book, more and more, is about the brutality of man and the trials he must face for being so brutal. However, it's also about redemption. Everything is on the wheel, it seems.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Ghost Fleet #5

Mar 4, 2015

This comic isn't about trucks as much as it tries to make you think it is sometimes. They're simply the vehicle of a bigger story. That story is one of intrigue, mystery, frustration, brokenness and violence. Yes, sometimes it's a little over the top but, if you haven't read any of this book yet, I suggest you pick up the 1-4 pack on DH's website as well as this new issue available digitally today. If you're already on board, I'll see you next month because after this set up, I'm sure you're not going anywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Ghost Fleet #6

Apr 1, 2015

This is, in my eyes, a perfect issue. Get out of the way, wait for the boom.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Ghost Fleet #7

May 6, 2015

I’ve never re-read a comic as soon as I was finished with it before. This time I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Ghost Fleet #8

Jun 1, 2015

It’s a tongue-in-cheek thing. It’s the dial that goes all the way to eleven. It’s the perfect send-off for a book that was always about way more than trucks. It’s also damn near the closest thing this industry should have as a golden standard for blockbuster, action comics making with a real, oily and nitrous heart at the center.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Surface #1

Mar 11, 2015

The Surface is built on an interesting idea, it just needs some room to breathe and hone in because right now it’s a massive undertaking to even see if you’re interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Tomorrows #1

Jun 14, 2015

The Tomorrows is retro, smart, brightly colored and unrepentantly fun look at a dystopia unlike any other in comics right now. There's some stuff that you've seen or heard before but, the stuff that's new is so wonderfully inspired and smart that you can look past the bluntness with ease. I have no idea where it's going but, a book that talks about Bowie, Warhol and has laser powered motorcycles can only be going somewhere good. Especially so, under the direction of creators that operate on a truly different level than most working now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Tomorrows #2

Aug 26, 2015

The Tomorrows, even in lighter issues like this, is something different. Something equal parts homage and unique. Pires knows what he's doing and seeing all of these issues and their varying art collected together will really be something special. For now, though, enjoy the ride. I am.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Tomorrows #4

Oct 28, 2015

That's what this book is, really. A series of looks, through different lenses, at our world a few years from now, at the repercussions of our current course, and a call to arms. Pires, MacLean and others have done something really special here that won't make any sense without the issues before it, but also makes perfect sense completely on its own. It's an anomaly, one you have to read for yourself but one I enjoyed very much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Witcher: Fox Children #1

Apr 1, 2015

This is in no way a good introduction to The Witcher series but that’s not its intent. It’s a good, if somewhat hollow, book that expands Geralt’s story without taking away from his character or making leaps that the games wouldn’t. I have no large complaints here and I would be hard pressed to see why any other fan would either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
UFOlogy #1

Apr 1, 2015

There’s something here but right now, it’s less than interesting. If you’re committed to the creative team behind this book or you have a genuine interest in full, unrepentant character building this early on, I would suggest you pick it up. If you’re looking for a high octane X-Files, Ex Machinia type thing, you might want to wait and see how other issues turn out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
We Can Never Go Home #2

May 6, 2015

I have no idea where they’re headed but, neither do they, and that’s what’s keeping this book so genuine and interesting. Realism filtered through ink and color.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More