Grant Stoye's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: CourtOfNerds Reviews: 73
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1

Jul 6, 2016

This was a great addition to what appears to be another successful Valiant crossover event - it added a legacy element to a long-time Valiant character, and gave pathos to a storyline that could've easily been too preachy. This is definitely worth a pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animosity #3

Nov 4, 2016

Animosity 3 is yet another stellar issue in a book that should be at the top of everyones pull list. The art is spectacular, the story powerful, the lettering sublime and editorial choices (big props to Aftershock founder and former Marvel editor Mike Marts for lending his skills to this story) daring. The crown jewel of Aftershock continues to shine like a diamond, and by God, that Harambe variant by Mike Rooth defies reason in its absolute dominance. I must have it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

Batman remains a strong book, full of three-dimensional characters and weaving plotlines. This just feels like book hinting at a much bigger payoff down the road, but in the meantime it's nearly impossible not to enjoy the scenery.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

I'm thrilled we get to read this book now - the wait has been nigh-unbearable. Janin has lived up to our expectations, if not exceeded them. King continues to weave stories that show a layered version of the Caped Crusader, as well as convey just how much he loves the DC universe. This was an absolute gem of an issue, so thank God we only have to wait two more weeks for the next tone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #10

Nov 3, 2016

This is a nice book that progresses the plot well, and we get Mikel Janin fulfilling all the promise that arose when it was first announced he'd be drawing Batman. King shows a deft touch with these characters, showing a unique side to them (I won't spoil the narrator identity - it's surprising after hearing how bloody that person's revenge was, how merciless. King makes you think it's one person and it ends up being another better than most in sequential art).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 20, 2017

This is as good an issue of Batman as weve seen in a while: Jason Fabok crams hyperkinetic energy and anxiety in nearly every panel. Brad Anderson renders the scenes beatifically. Tom King uses every trick he can to make a short narrative seem like an agonizingly long time. And theres still more story to go!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #22

May 4, 2017

The emotional resonance of this crossover continues to haunt readers; Its impossible not to feel anything when you see Dr. Thomas Wayne interact with Bruce, or the panic Flash feels when hes within the time stream. The entire creative team is operating on another level, and this issue is one of the highlights of Rebirth with an honest-to-god set of breath-taking moments. I cannot wait to see how this story wraps up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #5

Apr 14, 2016

This was honestly shaping up to be one of the best books in the series, but that ending, especially the dopey splash at the end, was more dissatisfying than a gut full of wet meat and onions. Here's hoping it concludes LIKE A BOSS.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #6

May 13, 2016

It won't leave you giving a standing ovation, but it was satisfying in a way where you can't be disappointed with it as a whole. Maybe this will work better as part of a trade, but Tynion and Williams gave a great effort, focused on their strengths, and made this crossover what we hoped it would be.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia #1

Sep 22, 2016

This is a terrific issue to capture the attention of unsuspecting readers. This is a beautiful, horrible thriller that takes HBO's 'Rome,' throws in a dash of Clive Owen's 'King Arthur,' adds a pinch of '300,' and mixes it all together with a blood-soaked toga. Milligan, Ryp, and company are weaving something totally unlike anything on the shelves today, and we're lucky the wait is finally over for issue one. Issue two, on the other hand, is too far away...

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #1

May 11, 2017

This is a book for unabashed fun, a book for people who want a Jack Kirby story filtered through some Allred trippiness. Its weird, matching the tone set in DCs Young Animal imprint, but it reaches out to longtime readers with a warm nostalgic hug. It's thoughtful without being condescending. Also? Actions with accompanying words.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Captain America: Steve Rogers #2

Jun 30, 2016

Kudos to Spencer for wading through all that horrible shit and showing that he does, in fact, know what he's doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #8

Jun 13, 2016

This issue is a real treat, as the story goes in unexpected places with so simple a premise. This is a great jumping-on point for new readers, especially with the surprise splash on the last page. I'm giving this issue

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 25, 2016

I can't thank DC enough for this book. Even if the next phase of Rebirth can't live up to this story (and Lord knows it will be nearly impossible to), this is a present for readers. This is the acknowledgement that long-time fans needed, the validation we wanted for our years of zeal. It's a book for fans, by fans, and so help me if this really is Geoff Johns last bit of comic writing, then by God did he hit a pitch-perfect note on the way out. Always leave them wanting more, and that's exactly what he did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #6

Mar 2, 2017

This was a really solid mini with some really good character exploration for the Rebirth universe. Also? That incredible variant cover from the great Bill Sienkiewicz. I mean, I cant help but be stoked by every new bit of artwork he contributes to DC (look at his Deathstroke work for Petes sake), but this cover was drop-dead (PUN INTENDED) gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death of X #4

Nov 23, 2016

Soule, Lemire, Kuder, and Garron were miracle workers, to say nothing of the work done by inkers Jay Leisten (and Garron himself), colorists Morry Hollowell & Jay David Ramons, and letterer Joe Sabino (whose work really was exquisite - with all the talking going on, the dialogue very easily could have become Bendis-level distracting with all the word balloons crowding the panels, but Sabino did a great job of enhancing the story instead of detracting from it). But this was ulitimately a frustrating close to a frustrating series, and that falls at the feet of Marvel Comics and the editorial teams. Cyclops deserved better. Readers deserved better. Hopefully ResurrXion restores what's been missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #11

Jan 27, 2017

It's a slick story in a slick series, and it's an absolute treat having Priest consistently deliver such nuanced narratives, not to mention the crazy-good comic veterans he often manages to corral. This is arguably one of DC's best books, and this issue demands that the reader takes a cold hard look at society and think.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke: Rebirth #1

Aug 11, 2016

This book was a joy to read, which is not something folks would normally convey about a remorseless killer who exhibits no empathy unless there's money on the line. I flew through this book in a way I didn't anticipate, and may have found a new series to add to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dejah Thoris #1

Feb 5, 2016

For a first issue " and new direction for an established character " this comic does a great job of setting the table. It utilizes one of my favorite storytelling elements, that of a character learning their world has an entire underbelly that was previously unknown to even exist. Now we the readers are in the same boat as the main protagonist, and it seems like it's gonna be a bumpy ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #935

Jun 23, 2016

Simply put, Detective Comics is setting up a prodigious storyline with two top-shelf talents operating at the peak of their powers. Why resist?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #1

Jul 20, 2016

I think that's what I like the most about this book: it takes hold of its connections to readers in a way that doesn't speak down to them. It's not afraid to be light-hearted. It grapples with real-life feelings and real-life routines. And again, it's just a fun book in a grim and gritty world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #5

Nov 4, 2016

Faith has been a blessing for Valiant, as has Houser, Roberts, and the rest, and theyre all shining here. Each story leads the reader down an innovative narrative thats familiar, yet presented in a new way that strikes an emotional chord. Dont be dissuaded from buying this book by your pre-conceived political biases, or from your proclivity to not buying something without rippling muscles. This is a quality book well worth your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #11

Nov 18, 2016

The climax was what you hoped for, again featuring incredible teamwork by Green Arrow, Black Canary, and Diggle, and a wonderful final moment with the two lovebirds. Although small, this arc was action-packed and tense, and reintroduced an integral character back into the Green Arrow mythos. It's a comforting feeling to know that this book will come out and consistently nail the tone that Percy & crew worked so hard on setting, and issue 11 embodies that perfectly: heavy action, sharp dialogue, breath-taking artwork, and a story you can lose yourself in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
GWAR: Orgasmageddon #1

Jun 8, 2017

Reading GWARs newest comic venture is a catharsis, a full embracing of over-the-top absurdity the band specializes in. Miner does a fantastic job of pacing the hypnotic ultra-gross to keep the story interesting throughout, Maguire injects the gonzo attitude of GWAR itself, Sawyers precise linework captures the spirit of the band, and Wygmans artistry captures the soul. If youre a fan of the band or a fan of gross-out humor and copious violence, this is absolutely the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hillbilly #1

Jul 4, 2016

This is a glorious way to restart Alabatross Funnybooks - Hillbilly is a table-setter of epic proportions, with art as haunting and touching as the story itself. You can really sense who invested Eric Powell is in his creation, and if the next 11 issues can keep that passion burning hot, then readers are in for a hell of a treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hulk (2016) #1

Jan 2, 2017

A solid opening to the newest Hulk opus, and heres hoping for some good SHULK SMASH in the coming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hulk (2016) #2

Jan 27, 2017

This issue is better than the first as it strikes many emotional chords; as someone who has to take medication for depression and anxiety, I really identified with the conflicting feeling Jen is juggling, and how she is desperately trying to keep her demons at bay. Tamaki, in this issue, presents a tour de force. I hope this series can maintain this striking emotional core as it progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Infamous Iron Man #1

Oct 19, 2016

This could be a good book. This could have been a really good book, but it falls flat in almost everything it's trying to do. Doom doesn't show remorse. Doom has never felt the need to justify himself to anyone. Doom does what is in Doom's best interest, and him showing concern for others in this book is very...unsettling. I'd steer clear of this until it (hopefully) turns things around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jackpot #3

Jul 6, 2016

This is a fun book in a sea of too-serious stories - it's thoughtful, energetic, deep, and wild. Fawkes and crew on are to something special, and I'm excited to see where it leads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #2

Mar 23, 2016

What a fun fucking book. Try to buy it if you can (only 4 total issues, boss!), but definitely read this ish.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Karnak #2

Feb 24, 2016

This issue was a masterpiece, and furthermore, David Aja continues generating hauntingly beautiful covers. He utilizes the negative space in such a clever way, where it shows out truly out of place Karnak is wherever he goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kill Or Be Killed #4

Nov 18, 2016

Kill or Be Killed is a hard book to read, what with its ultra-violent ideas, the cynicism its protagonist wields, and all the vices in between. It's a book that thrives once it gets its hooks in you, and if you are willing to let yourself be lost in the grimy nature of the book you will find one of the best comics on the market today.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Lucas Stand #1

Jun 22, 2016

I may check out the second issue, but it's got a lot of work to do to get me to follow up on the third.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Midnighter (2015) #11

Apr 7, 2016

So, we get some kickass fight scenes, some creepy Bendix posturing, a maniacally violent Midnighter using Afterthoughts powers for torture, and a shipping dream come true.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Midnighter And Apollo #1

Oct 6, 2016

Having ACO doing the covers and Orlando telling the story is a comforting notion for those who were extremely disappointed when Midnighter got the ax, and so far this story continues every bit of snark and violence that made the book so much fun. Now we get to see more about Midnighter as part of a loving couple, we get to see him unlock his emotions and dismantle any threat to him or his boyfriend. And it's all fast-paced and insane. God, I loved this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Motor Crush #1

Dec 7, 2016

Honestly, it's criminal this book may truly be under-ordered: this is a gorgeous first issue that allows easy access to any new reader, being up front with its narrative and its characters. This is escapism you'll want to hitch a ride with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nighthawk #5

Sep 29, 2016

This book is a goddamn treasure for Marvel: kickass action, incredible dialogue, unique art, and a cold hard look at modern social justice. Walker and Co should be extremely proud of what they're putting out, and this issue carries on the great work.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nighthawk #6

Oct 26, 2016

It's a crying shame Marvel pulled the plug on this book. Nighthawk dug deep into the problems of racial injustice, hatred, gentrification, and corruption that are all too prevalent on the news, and it did it in a way that wasn't forced. It was relatable in a way most super-hero comics are not, and it's a travesty that Marvel couldn't suck it up and let this book mature instead of axing it for several more Avengers titles. Walker and Villalobos finished their tale masterfully, but they should be allowed to do more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing: Rebirth #1

Jul 13, 2016

Paquette and Seeley hit an absolute home run with this book - this Dick Grayson is as light-hearted and sure-footed as he's ever been, even if he wears his emotions on his sleeve. I can't be happier when he dons the blue suit again, and I can't encourage you to pick this up hard enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prophet: Earth War #1

Feb 5, 2016

There is very little action in the book - the Crystal Worshippers send their champion against Brute John Prophet and three other warriors in a quick, simple battle to display their power - but it doesn't matter because of the gravity of this issue; there is SO much pent up here, the last gasp before the plunge. The tension is nearly palpable with the start of what we can only assume will be a sprawling epic following in the footsteps of the previous book. This book, beautiful to look at and beautiful to read, is the moment between the shifting of gears.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #1

Mar 3, 2017

Im just so damn happy to have these stinky, violent, crass, obnoxious ladies back in my life at their most stinky, violent, crass, and obnoxious best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Reborn #2

Nov 18, 2016

The only qualm I had is that Bonnie is taking this all a bit too in stride, but what the hell do I know? This is a brand new take on what happens when we leave the mortal coil, and in this world Millar and Capullo are the experts. I'm excited to see this story get more fleshed out, to see the motivations behind the peripheral characters, and to just lap up Capullo's art like a sloppy dog.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Renato Jones: Season 2 #1

May 11, 2017

Honestly, I could go another 1,000 words about Renato Jones: Freelancer #1, but that would be an injustice to this comic. From the awe-inspiring Spawn Variant to the progression of the plot to the insane action choreography, Andrews is back with a vengeance. This is arguably the best-looking action book in stores right now, and with a story that sees the stakes raise ever higher one can argue its one of the most sociologically sharp books as well. Its a blessing to have Renato Jones back in our lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Renato Jones: The One % #1

May 3, 2016

This is a completely gratifying ride with one of the best creators in the industry, tackling a topic that is red-hot right now. I cannot wait to see where this story is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Renato Jones: The One % #2

Jun 13, 2016

LOVE it. Based on the superior artwork, the stylistic choices, and the development of an absolutely enthralling story, I'm giving this issue a standing ovation and

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Renato Jones: The One % #3

Jul 6, 2016

Issue three of Renato Jones the ONE% is more dense than the previous two issues, and that's a good thing: the focus is on the present instead of the past, and the hints of future events are enticing. Andrews does an absolute hell of a job telling a story here, and his prose actually takes front and center over his art...which is NOT an easy thing to do. This book gruffly demands to be on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Renato Jones: The One % #5

Oct 27, 2016

Renato Jones: the One% has lived up to the sky-high expectations that were lofted on it pre-release. It's smart, stylish, and ****ing beautiful. The only qualm I have is that I want more RIGHT MEOW - That last page splash made me swear way too loud. I can't wait to get more of this $hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rough Riders #1

Apr 7, 2016

I'm satisfied and hooked, and can't wait for the next book. Easily worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Savage #1

Dec 7, 2016

This is a really thought-provoking book that has captured my interests immediatey: I love the different artistic styles, I love the real-world comparison, and I love how bold Valiant is being with these new ideas and comics. This is a book where society is scraped away by tooth and claw, and the journey from one point to the other looks like it'll be harrowing.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Secret Empire #3

Jun 1, 2017

This series just keeps digging its heels in, smacking readers across the face and telling them, "THIS IS GOOD YOU JUST DON'T GET IT." I'd normally stay the course, say "wait until the end!" But this is not fun. This is Zack Snyder-directing-Marvel-type of gritty, style-over-substance bullshit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #9

Jan 14, 2016

This is a truly wonderful ending to an Event that soured a lot of folks right off the bat. In fact, from the delays to the expansion to Marvel's inability to get the fucking book out to kick off their giant retooling, this book succeeds in spite of them. Pick it up, you don't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Shipwreck #1

Oct 5, 2016

This book is a hell of an introduction; the layers of plot, the stark representation of characters, and the overall vibe offer up an anxiousness to devour this story that I haven't felt since Planetary. Shipwreck is dark and forboding, and Ellis, Hester, and company have started weaving a tapestry that I for one can't wait to see unfurl.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #262

Apr 14, 2016

I love good nostalgia, and the two industry titans provided. Actually excited about the new direction of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Strayer #5

Jul 13, 2016

This book is really shaping up to be a story with a real scale to it - there are so many questions left unanswered, and with every revelation the reader only wants to know more. Jordan has crafted something really unique here, an epic that has a rich history waiting to be unfurled. The first arc may be over, and I can't wait to see where this is going to lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

Superman continues to tell a gripping story while focusing on the family of our once and future Superman - it's combining elements that are new to the Kents (and the reader), while still addressing a past that Clark shares with long-time readers. I can't get enough of this book, even though this ending took its toll on my heartbox...

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman: American Alien #7

May 19, 2016

This series was just fantastic ; It hit a series of emotional notes and incredible interpersonal dynamics that makes the reader furious that there were only small glimpses of this Superman in the entirety of the New 52 run. Along with Birthright and Earth One volume One, this story is a fresh bit of interpretation that cultivates a strong emotional connection to the character thats been sorely lacking in recent years. I give this issue:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #56

Mar 23, 2016

Love the new arc, love the mystery, and fucking LURVE Santolouco's triumphant resuming of artistic duties.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Autumnlands #11

Jun 23, 2016

There's so much in this narrative - it's so damn dense and elaborate, like a million-dollar tapestry, and just as cohesively beautiful. We live in a golden age of comics, where there are a slew of great books available to a wide audience. Autumnlands is one of the greatest of the great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #2

Feb 1, 2017

This might be the most interesting, and honestly unexpected, stories coming out of DC right now; and that is saying allot. So buy this book, or continue to buy it. It's that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Legacy Of Luther Strode #5

Mar 23, 2016

Tradd Moore shines in this issue unlike any other previous issue in this third volume of Strode " the fights are acrobatic and gory, visually stunning and cringe-worthy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Venom (2016) #6

Apr 20, 2017

This was a pretty mediocre issue despite its touting in the press releases: the story is stale and the art is inane. However, it does possess the seeds of better things in the future, like how Brock will deal with a symbiote that now thinks for itself, that has been broken like a wild horse. What will their driving mission be? Will Brocks development be truly lost? Will they start this we bullshit again?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Vision #5

Mar 10, 2016

A stellar issue that, while is extremely powerful and pefectly executed, can't match the sheer power of the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #9

Jul 13, 2016

This issue is a tour de force of emotional discomfort: I was uneasy flipping pages and watching what was happening, unable to help. But isn't that the hallmark of a great book? Engaging the reader so forcefully that he or she is compelled to do something?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #10

Aug 11, 2016

Ten issues in and there's not a question that this is Marvel's best book - nothing else has the emotional gravity, nor the density of story or characters, that this book has. Each issue sets up the next in a way that elicits as much dread as excitement, which is the most anyone can ask of a series; after that gut punch to the soul that issue 9 ended with, I had to read 10 first just because I have to know.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #12

Oct 26, 2016

Whatever we hope, we can't lose sight of the fact that this book is one of the best things Marvel has put out in over 20 years. It had pathos, it had tension, it had love, and it had a depth that so many other books can never hope to achieve. We're all better for having read this book, even if we're a little sadder for having done so.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Weapon X (2017) #1

Apr 17, 2017

All in all, the debut issue was a big disappointment: the story seems recycled, the narration is mediocre, the art is just serviceable, and now Im terrified for how X-23 and Warpath are going to be portrayed. Things better pick up pretty damn fast for this book to survive.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Weird Detective #1

Jun 14, 2016

This book presents a tremendous opportunity to hop onto something really special before it takes off, and to ignore it is to deny yourself a truly unique piece of art. Van Lente is one of the best in the biz, and Vilanova and crew will soon join those ranks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Weird Detective #2

Jul 21, 2016

In all, this issue expands on the narrative without going further into the nature of the REAL monsters, which I actually appreciate - any more exposition would make this feel too clunky, and it retains a breakneck pace that got me to the last page much quicker than I would have liked. This is such a unique, bonkers book that you'd be crazy not to like...or crazy if it starts to make too much sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wild Storm #1

Feb 16, 2017

This is one hell of a debut issue, sowing seeds of ulterior motives, dark agendas, secret actions, and fantastic powers. Ellis wanted to steep this reboot in a modern world of true-life fear and curiosity, and in this issue at least he succeeds immensely. The variant cover by WildStorm creator Jim Lee sure doesnt hurt, either

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wild Storm #3

Apr 20, 2017

This issue is just the sort of gear-shift this series needed to amp up the action and the intrigue. Davis-Hunt is a star in the making with his attention to detail and organic action. Buccellato shows true innovation with impossible events occurring in a bland modern world. And goddamn, does Warren Ellis have a feel for these characters that hasnt eroded in the years that have passed. I adore this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #1

Jun 22, 2016

She is elegance and violence, power and beauty. She is Wonder Woman, and thank goddess she's here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
World Reader #1

Apr 21, 2017

This is a great start to a title that will soon be getting more than its fair share of acclaim: Juan Does art is alternatingly beautiful and haunting. Rachel Deerings stylistic choices emphasize instead of fade to the background. Jeff Loveness shows a love and attention to detail for this story that makes it engrossing. World Reader is an eerie, mysterious blast into a complex cosmic opera. Youd be doing yourself a disservice not to dive in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Youngblood (2017) #1

May 4, 2017

This is just such a damn fun book: the story is captivating, the characters are enjoyable, the flashes to the past are great without being cloyingly nostalgic. Towe and Bowers are on the verge of something really special, and kudos to Rob Liefeld for being a great judge of talent and for assigning the right creators to his characters. This is a great throwback to Image's superhero roots, and I'm stoked to see where it's going.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More