Hussein Wasiti's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 47
7.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
All-Star Batman #11

Jun 21, 2017

Snyder continues to prove that he's the best Batman writer of the last few years, tying together Alfred's past with a new threat here to haunt Batman. Albuquerque's art was stellar and the story is very engaging. Buy it for the main story, ignore the back-up if you want.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #26

Jul 19, 2017

While the art wasn't as strong in this issue, it still delivered with well-drawn dialogue scenes. Abnett seems to be having a lot of fun with this story, which looks to be the best Aquaman arc since Geoff Johns' conclusion in the New 52, despite some of the shortcomings in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 24, 2017

If you're not picking this book up, you should start now. The story is fun and ties back into Batman's current status quo in a really fun and inventive way. The art is fantastic and the final page will make you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 28, 2017

In the strongest issue of the arc so far, Terry and Damian battle it out. The fight has a certain symbolic significance and I'm glad Jurgens recognises it, as he and Chang craft quite the showdown. I'm really excited to see where the story goes from here, and I'm curious to see what other story Jurgens and Chang will tackle next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

If a comic can make me laugh and think at the same time, then it's a comic worth buying. Rush out, get this, and read it. It plays up to King's strengths and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Ignore the back-up, the Fudd/Batman story is worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 21, 2017

The ending to Batwoman's first Rebirth arc was a severe disappointment. It certainly tied things together, but the story being told isn't very interesting and can sometimes be very convoluted. Epting's art was great but it's doubtful he'll ever contribute to the series again.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman (2017) #5

Jul 19, 2017

In one of the most skippable issues I've ever read, Bennett and Tynion decide to go back to Coryana for yet another story featuring Safiyah and Tahani. Hans' art is worth looking at but you should avoid this issue entirely.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Crosswind #1

Jun 21, 2017

This issue surprised me. I had no expectations and the story that Simone and Staggs are telling looks to be a lot of fun, with Staggs' art in particular being a standout.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 14, 2017

This issue is a promising start to this new Azrael-focused arc, but Tynion's persistent dialogue and pacing problems arise again here. The art team of Martinez and Anderson shines here though, and I'm looking forward to what they do with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #23

May 31, 2017

Williamson provides the very best issue of this series yet, as he teases us with the presence of Reverse-Flash in a creepy and brilliant way. It's nice to have Di Giandomenico back on the book since his artwork is always sublime, and I'm so pumped for this summer's big arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

I'm looking forward to where the story's going but I felt a bit sour when I finished this issue. I didn't exactly feel cheated by the ending, but I expected more. Going into it further will result in me spoiling it so I'm curious to know what people think of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

This over-sized issue is light on new developments and heavy on exposition. While not necessarily a bad thing, it does get in the way of providing a proper epilogue to The Rise of the Star City storyline that just wrapped up. Schmidt's art was missed and it's as gorgeous as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #26

Jul 5, 2017

This was one of the most fun issues of the series yet, which was slightly bogged down by the art. Byrne isn't as good as Juan Ferreyra and Otto Schmidt, although his art had moments of greatness. Branching out this book to have Oliver interact with a bunch of DC heroes is something I'm looking forward to see, which will make for a nice Green Arrow summer read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Arrow (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

In a very politically-charged and gorgeous issue, Benjamin Percy and Jamal Campbell join forces and team Green Arrow up with Wonder Woman. Their banter and relationship is a lot better established and genuine than Oliver's relationship with the Flash in the last issue, and the art was pretty gorgeous.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #24

Jun 7, 2017

This book provides to provide surface-level fun but nothing else. The characters aren't changing, they're being tested in the most menial ways, and they continue to have no solid identity as characters 24 issues in. Barbieri's art was a welcome breathe of goodness and I hope the story can finally move on from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #25

Jun 21, 2017

In a somewhat middling issue made more tolerable by its ending, Humphries finally moves along his Volthoom/Rami story by injecting some tension into the mix. Rocha's art was fantastic as usual, and I hope to see more of his work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

This issue really picks up the series, as it almost seemed like Sam Humphries didn't know what to do with his own characters. Here the pieces he set up begin to make sense and fall into place, though I wish he did set everything up in a better way before. Cliquet's art was fantastic too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #21

May 24, 2017

While this issue doesn't exactly fizzle out, it deflates the story being told with how quickly and easily the threat was dispatched, making the past few issues almost seem like filler. Marion's art was great though, and I'd like to see him on the book more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #22

Jun 14, 2017

Despite it's weirdly stuttering start, Venditti told a smaller scale story which I think this series needs more of. Ethan Van Sciver's art is the cherry on top, and the cliffhanger got me really excited for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #23

Jun 28, 2017

Venditti chooses to frame this murder mystery in the mindset of John and his desperation to keep the two Lantern Corps united. Despite this, the story was still on the predictable side and I wish it could have been more dynamic. Van Sciver's art is still epic, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #24

Jul 12, 2017

Aside from a rushed ending and a confusing heel turn, Robert Venditti dials up the tension and adds some much-needed adrenaline to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #21

Jun 7, 2017

This issue really does a good job at making me care for this story again because the last issue simply fizzled. The story was fun and the reveal is sure to get people talking. Still, the art inconsistencies are unforgivable and they detract from the overall experience. The back-up provides such little doses of fun that I don't really see the need for them anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 21, 2017

The only saving grace of this issue was Bret Blevins' back-up art. In all other respects, the issue was dull and boring, presenting storylines that aren't interesting in the slightest while ignoring plot beats ripe for awesome stories that can be a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 7, 2017

Shea Fontana and Philippe Briones come aboard the series for a simple one-shot story, and manage to fit a slightly chunkier story into one issue. The smaller moments are the ones that shine and the artwork was consistent throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

In this tie-in to the current Aquaman storyline, Dan Abnett deflates Mera's journey in this unnecessary action-heavy issue, which is made up for by Ian Churchill's awesome art.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

With this issue, we're given a stark reminder as to what evil we've been dealing with for the past year: Bryan Hitch, an immortal being who can't write dialogue to save his life. This over-sized issue is poorly paced and makes little to no sense, and is genuinely one of the worst issues of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

Steve Orlando continues to confuse me, giving us this one-and-done setting up events and villains that aren't compelling in the slightest. I loved Jamal Campbell's art and hope he continues to get more DC work.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #8

Jun 14, 2017

Orlando's new story fizzles almost immediately, which is due to his terrible plotting and supremely awful exposition. I liked mostly nothing about this issue. Watanabe's art was mediocre but mostly readable.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #9

Jun 28, 2017

In what might be the worse issue of the series, Orlando continuously demonstrates his poor plotting and awful storytelling. His dialogue wasn't as annoying as it normally is but I didn't understand what Orlando was even trying to say with this story. It made no sense as well. Watanabe's art was good-looking but flawed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League of America (2017) #10

Jul 12, 2017

Orlando provides a simply dull and boring issue, with little-to-no sensical explanation of what the Kingbutcher is all about. MacDonald's art was good but nothing special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #12

Jun 14, 2017

This is another strong outing for the series. Kong's rivalry with Super-Man Zero begins here and I'm excited to see how their relationship develops. Tan's art was great, as usual, and the cliffhanger should entice some more readers to finally hop into the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #13

Jul 12, 2017

I wouldn't say you should skip this issue, because you shouldn't, but not much happens aside from the nice teaser ending. Tan's art is as good as ever and Super-Man's character development remains the major draw of this book for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

There just isn't much to talk about here, since Scott Lobdell obviously doesn't care. This story needed to be longer and delve deeper into Artemis as a character. The art was nice, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #12

Jul 12, 2017

This issue jumpstarted the series for me, providing a fun, emotional, and worthwhile issue that read really quickly. The art was superbly stellar, and this is a great jumping-on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016): Homecoming #1

Jul 10, 2017

Everything from the score to the cinematography to the supporting cast were top notch here. If Marvel keeps this up, this can easily be their flagship franchise. My worries post-Infinity War have suddenly been quelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #18

May 24, 2017

In a story tying into the current Action Comics arc featuring the Superman Revenge Squad, Williams crafts a tightly-paced and fun issue, and Daniel's art ever fails to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #19

Jun 14, 2017

Williams wraps up this short arc in a fun, explosive way, one that'll see a couple of characters really deal with the events in the stories to come. The art couldn't hold up to Daniel's previous work but Edwards was the best replacement they could have found.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #20

Jun 28, 2017

This one-shot explored some the dynamics between the characters in the Suicide Squad, with the standout being Sejic's art, who is quickly becoming one of my favourite artists. Pick this issue up, as well as Aquaman #25 to really see what I'm talking about. I think this story was necessary to provide a bit of breathing room and to let this book have its own story as opposed to playing second fiddle to other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #21

Jul 12, 2017

For those looking to jump in on the series, this issue is for you. For regular readers, you're going to find a lot to like here in the new direction for Harley's character, as well as an awesome art team. The issue was fun throughout too, and I'm excited for this story to move forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #5

Jun 21, 2017

In a mostly fun interlude, Tomasi falls into the same old trap of having Jon and Damian needlessly fight, while also counteracting this with a pretty great series of scenes near the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #6

Jul 19, 2017

In a somewhat confusing yet fun issue, the Teen Titans get in the way of Jon and Damian's night out. This issue is worth it just for the brilliant art and fantastic scenes between the titular characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

If you're going to pick up one of the three annuals releasing today, I'd recommend this one. It feels the most complete since it's a singular story that doesn't require much prior reading, and you can jump in right here. I'm curious as to where the story will go but the ending got me pretty excited for the upcoming story. The art by March was strong and Williams' dialogue was great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #23

May 24, 2017

Rucka's storytelling skills are unquestioned and I'll miss his presence on the book. Here, his dialogue us stunning and contrasts very well to Sharp's mature, detailed art. The truth has been revealed, and I loved the answer we've been given.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #24

Jun 14, 2017

This issue was quite sublime. Rucka does a great job at tying up some loose ends and setting up character motivations and story beats for other writers, or himself eventually, to take on in due time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #25

Jun 28, 2017

With Shea Fontana doing a short run on the title before James Robinson advancing the Jason storyline, I'm looking forward for the book to move past this storyline and try something new. As for this issue, it left a sour taste in my mouth and I'm bummed that Rucka's run had to end on a whimper.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

In a less-than-standard issue, Fontana and Andolfo debut in full force. While I was disappointed with the issue, I recommend new readers, to comics or Wonder Woman in general, to check this issue out. It's a fine starting point with the character, especially for those jumping off from the new film.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

Annuals are hard to sell, but I recommend this one. The first story alone might be worth the price of admission itself since the art is so good. The art in the rest of the book has some highs and lows, but doesn't stand up to the quality of the first story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More