husseinwasiti's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 36
7.3Avg. Review Rating

10
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

Scott Snyder crafts yet another incredible issue, with even the back-up story impressing me greatly. Camuncoli's art was beautiful and Snyder's writing proves once again why his Batman is going to be remembered for a long time. The tease of the big bad of this arc kicks into high gear, as we will find out next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

While Snyder does a good job crafting these stories, and is even better at letting his indie book voice sing through this arc, he needs to find a way to balance this well-established theme with the more traditional elements of the character. This issue satisfied me overall, and I'm excited for the stories going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

We get a slightly horror-themed issue of Aquaman here, and it worked very well. Abnett teases an intriguing mystery and his mature, confident storytelling rubs off on the main character. Briones' art was excellent as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

There honestly wasn't much wrong with this issue. Abnett's story keeps building and building, with the writer excellently using the horror elements he presents and crafts a tight, very human-driven story with Aquaman making sporadic appearances here and there. The art was fantastic and the mystery deepens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

A Bane-centric issue is what we needed to really add more dimensions to the character, as well as fleshing out his perspective of this story. I can't help but understand where he's coming from based on his story. Finch's art was beyond excellent, but King continues to add little details with his dialogue that I didn't feel mattered in the end, and somewhat detracted from the overall story presented here. I shouldn't be giggling when Bane is very seriously crushing bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

Doing little to advance the story forward, this issue spends time with the characters getting back to the way things used to be, which makes for some satisfying moments but doesn't feel as memorable as the last arc. The art was lacking as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

In what should have been the first issue of the arc, Terry acts like an idiot while Bruce sheds some emotional light on his absence. Chang's art was good but felt lacking during the action scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 19, 2017

Bennett and Tynion IV clearly care about the character of Batwoman and want to do right by her, but the very nature of her story here is contrived, mostly because of the Night of the Monster Men story looming ever so ominously over the title. Kate's mysterious past lacks a spark, and the story wasn't engaging. The one saving grace was Epting's art, which was genuinely great.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Aside from the art and the recap, there isn't much to this issue. We know a lot of the information given to us, but this set-up has me excited for the story going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #21

Apr 19, 2017

While my emotional investment in the story was stunted as a result of the rushed ending, I still somewhat enjoyed the read. The art is fantastic and it's clear that while Humphries didn't know what to do with the story, he still poured as much heart as he could into the character of Simon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #16

Mar 8, 2017

Despite its flaws, the third instalment of the Quest for Hope storyline fleshes out the universe more while reuniting former friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

Robert Venditti and Ethan Van Sciver craft the best issue of the series so far, which is unsurprising given it spends most of its time focusing on the characters, their relationships, and the bigger Rebirth implications presented here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #18

Apr 12, 2017

While the ending was very interesting, the slow progression of the series has really gotten to me. Everything that happened in the first half of this issue, all of the conflict between the Green and Yellow Lanterns, should have been resolved by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #19

Apr 26, 2017

While there wasn't anything really wrong with this issue, it didn't do anything to wow me and seems to be setting up next issue's big action scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 15, 2017

This arc has so far unsuccessfully juggled three different storylines all at once, and this issue also falls prey to the muddled pacing. However, the bits involving Harley were a lot of fun, unlike the vampire and the future story, which we get in such small doses that they seem like filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 5, 2017

Paul Dini's back-up was fun but couldn't save this slog of an issue. The cannibal/homeless people storyline fizzled out in the previous arc, so it failed before it even technically began. The art was passable and the story moved very slowly, even at 15 or so pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #18

Apr 19, 2017

Aside from the way over-the-top sexualisation of the Batman: The Animated Series version of Harley, this issue provided a lot of fun on both fronts with some nice art and wacky characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

The arc is almost over but, given the strength of the earlier issues, I'm genuinely curious as to how this story will end. The art was mostly nice save for the horrendous faces, but the pacing was off and pages were wasted on completely meaningless storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

Hitch ends the best arc of the series so far with a fizzle of an ending, and not much else. There are some Rebirth teases here and there, but they offer nothing new that we don't know. A major plus was that the art was consistent across the arc, which is something DC should strive for when it comes to the rest of their series. What this book needs is a new writer, plain and simple.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #3

Mar 29, 2017

This issue digs the series' grave one step further. A boring read and an uninspired story, coupled with disappointing art, made this issue a tough one to sit through.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

I hope this series finds itself next issue. It has all the necessary elements for good stories with fun characters, but Orlando felt the need to drill it in our heads that this team is progressive and exists for the good of the people.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 26, 2017

While obviously made with good intentions when it comes to social justice, this issue sacrificed important storytelling for the sake of hammering home the point of the JLA being a more human and personal group. They seem to completely ignore the villain in order to conversate. The art was good but Reis' involvement seems to be for the sake of name recognition alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

This arc has been getting worse with each issue, and I hope that the next issue is able to build on the momentum of the awesome ending and provide a worthwhile conclusion. Javier Fernandez is very much the wrong artist for the title, which has been demonstrated with the arc's lacking art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Mar 8, 2017

A problem I thought I was going to have with the series was its apparent focus on Red Hood and Bizarro, with their relationship really forming the emotional spine of the book up until this point. Bizarro doesn't even show up in this issue, as Lobdell wisely develops the relationship and chemistry between Jason and Artemis. Despite the contrivances with the nature of their conversation, I found myself enjoying their banter and dialogue, since they haven't had a moment of peace together since they first met.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 12, 2017

Scott Lobdell has been defying expectations and proving his detractors wrong. Dexter Soy's art was incredible and this issue remarkably balanced its action and character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 8, 2017

An element of the plot that's been teased for quite some time is the presence of a spy in the Squad. We found out who the spy is in this issue, and it is entirely unexpected. I can't wait to see where Rob Williams takes it from here. Certain members of the Squad such as Hack and Deadshot are given more time to develop. We still have characters that need serious work, such as Rustam. I very much appreciate that he didn't end up in the dumpster following Justice League vs. Suicide Squad and is the villain of this arc, but he needs to do more than simply taunt Flag and Katana. I want to see him as an actual physical threat, someone who is genuinely a danger to the Squad and the world. We haven't been getting that, and it disappoints me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #14

Mar 22, 2017

This issue proves that it is by far the weakest double-shipped book that DC is currently putting out. While there is a foundation for a solid, interesting story, the division of the book into two parts, the bad art, and the unnatural pace of this arc just make this issue quite unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #15

Apr 12, 2017

With Tony S. Daniel coming on the book, and the team featuring General Zod, I really hope this series finds itself out of the dump brought onto it by Justice League vs. Suicide Squad. This issue, and this whole arc for that matter, was just not good at all. Eddy Barrows' art is the one saving grace, and there's not enough of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

Apr 26, 2017

With strong art and a great ending, Suicide Squad gets out of the rut it's been in for the past few months and tells a fun, simple story starring Lex Luthor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad / The Banana Splits Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

The true star of this book, and the main reason why everyone should pick this up, is the Snagglepuss story by Mark Russell and Howard Porter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #2

Mar 15, 2017

The mystery of Kid Amazo continues, while Jon and Damian continue to bond in what is a near perfect balance of fun and serious storytelling. Tomasi and Jimenez provide such a warm take on the relationship between the superheroes in the making in what could be one of the top titles DC is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

The ending of this issue worried me. I absolutely will not spoil anything because people are very excited about this crossover and the questions we will be getting answered, but I'm concerned about the direction the character of Superman is going upon reaching the twist at the end of this issue. This issue is very strong and is the best issue of this crossover so far, but with one issue left, I'm officially worried.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

So far, the Godwatch storyline is a lot more impressive and personal than The Truth, which has been underwhelming so far, but seems to be picking up now that Diana has her identity back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

The straight-forward narrative of Godwatch has fortunately bled into The Truth, as this issue moved along fine and swiftly. The dialogue and the relationship between all the characters worked, especially with the excellent storytelling of the previous Godwatch issue. The surprising ending solidifies the threat of the Diana's enemies, and I hope it continues to impact the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

The team impresses yet again with another incredible issue. The art was Evely's best on the series so far, and the inclusion of a new character brought a huge amount of freshness to the story. Veronica Cale's character is the most developed in the book, making her very sympathetic, which excuses the lack of Wonder Woman in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

This was a very tight issue, story-wise. Not much happened aside from an amazing cliffhanger teasing next month's continuation of the story. Sharp's art is just brilliant on every level, and Rucka's build-up begins to pay off here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More