husseinwasiti's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 56
7.3Avg. Review Rating

10
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

Scott Snyder crafts yet another incredible issue, with even the back-up story impressing me greatly. Camuncoli's art was beautiful and Snyder's writing proves once again why his Batman is going to be remembered for a long time. The tease of the big bad of this arc kicks into high gear, as we will find out next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

While Snyder does a good job crafting these stories, and is even better at letting his indie book voice sing through this arc, he needs to find a way to balance this well-established theme with the more traditional elements of the character. This issue satisfied me overall, and I'm excited for the stories going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #10

May 10, 2017

Snyder impresses with this fun, fresh Batman story set in Miami. It fits in with Snyder's aspirations for weird stories set within the DC Universe, but does so with a more accessible story and accompanying artwork. The back-up piqued my interest, and I hope the writers can pull it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

We get a slightly horror-themed issue of Aquaman here, and it worked very well. Abnett teases an intriguing mystery and his mature, confident storytelling rubs off on the main character. Briones' art was excellent as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

There honestly wasn't much wrong with this issue. Abnett's story keeps building and building, with the writer excellently using the horror elements he presents and crafts a tight, very human-driven story with Aquaman making sporadic appearances here and there. The art was fantastic and the mystery deepens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

A Bane-centric issue is what we needed to really add more dimensions to the character, as well as fleshing out his perspective of this story. I can't help but understand where he's coming from based on his story. Finch's art was beyond excellent, but King continues to add little details with his dialogue that I didn't feel mattered in the end, and somewhat detracted from the overall story presented here. I shouldn't be giggling when Bane is very seriously crushing bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

Doing little to advance the story forward, this issue spends time with the characters getting back to the way things used to be, which makes for some satisfying moments but doesn't feel as memorable as the last arc. The art was lacking as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

In what should have been the first issue of the arc, Terry acts like an idiot while Bruce sheds some emotional light on his absence. Chang's art was good but felt lacking during the action scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 24, 2017

If you're not picking this book up, you should start now. The story is fun and ties back into Batman's current status quo in a really fun and inventive way. The art is fantastic and the final page will make you want more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 19, 2017

Bennett and Tynion IV clearly care about the character of Batwoman and want to do right by her, but the very nature of her story here is contrived, mostly because of the Night of the Monster Men story looming ever so ominously over the title. Kate's mysterious past lacks a spark, and the story wasn't engaging. The one saving grace was Epting's art, which was genuinely great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #3

May 17, 2017

The Monster Men story seems to be on hold, as Batwoman has her sights on liberating Coryana, resulting in a pretty typical, white saviour plot. With two issues left in this opening arc, I can't see how this storyline will conclude in a clean, satisfying manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Aside from the art and the recap, there isn't much to this issue. We know a lot of the information given to us, but this set-up has me excited for the story going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

If anything, this series is a vessel for incredible art. Otto Schmidt is great but Juan Ferreyra's scope cannot be questioned. The story moves along nicely and we get to see how Ollie is affected by the Ninth Circle, which may or may not drive his allies away. And they're who he needs right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

The story picks up quite a bit here, which feels rawer and more earned as Oliver begins to fall to the mind games Broderick and the Ninth Circle have been playing. The art is near perfect, which I'll never get tired of saying.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #21

Apr 19, 2017

While my emotional investment in the story was stunted as a result of the rushed ending, I still somewhat enjoyed the read. The art is fantastic and it's clear that while Humphries didn't know what to do with the story, he still poured as much heart as he could into the character of Simon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #22

May 3, 2017

This is the much-needed boost the series has been lacking the past ten or so issues. A fun story taking advantage of these characters is what makes the book shine, and we get this here. The art was fun and seeing beloved characters from the perspective of the rookies was handled very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #23

May 17, 2017

While a lot of fun, Volthoom's plans stopped the issue from reaching full greatness. Seeing Guy and Kyle train the rookies was very fun, and I wouldn't mind having either of them show up in this book down the line since they were such a fun presence here. Pansica's art was missed and looked great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #16

Mar 8, 2017

Despite its flaws, the third instalment of the Quest for Hope storyline fleshes out the universe more while reuniting former friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

Robert Venditti and Ethan Van Sciver craft the best issue of the series so far, which is unsurprising given it spends most of its time focusing on the characters, their relationships, and the bigger Rebirth implications presented here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #18

Apr 12, 2017

While the ending was very interesting, the slow progression of the series has really gotten to me. Everything that happened in the first half of this issue, all of the conflict between the Green and Yellow Lanterns, should have been resolved by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #19

Apr 26, 2017

While there wasn't anything really wrong with this issue, it didn't do anything to wow me and seems to be setting up next issue's big action scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #20

May 10, 2017

I've found myself not knowing what to say whenever a new issue of this series comes out. Not much happens in each instalment, which makes for a slow pace and an uninteresting story. The art was brilliant, but it needs to tell a good, fun story with these great characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #21

May 24, 2017

While this issue doesn't exactly fizzle out, it deflates the story being told with how quickly and easily the threat was dispatched, making the past few issues almost seem like filler. Marion's art was great though, and I'd like to see him on the book more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 15, 2017

This arc has so far unsuccessfully juggled three different storylines all at once, and this issue also falls prey to the muddled pacing. However, the bits involving Harley were a lot of fun, unlike the vampire and the future story, which we get in such small doses that they seem like filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 5, 2017

Paul Dini's back-up was fun but couldn't save this slog of an issue. The cannibal/homeless people storyline fizzled out in the previous arc, so it failed before it even technically began. The art was passable and the story moved very slowly, even at 15 or so pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #18

Apr 19, 2017

Aside from the way over-the-top sexualisation of the Batman: The Animated Series version of Harley, this issue provided a lot of fun on both fronts with some nice art and wacky characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #19

May 3, 2017

The series continues to go uphill as the team finishes up the storyline in a clean, satisfying way. The art on both ends impressed me greatly, with both artists adding more dynamic imagery that spiced up the story, with the first story in particular looking fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #20

May 17, 2017

This issue falls flat with the little story it provides, and what story it does provide simply isn't interesting or hasn't since the beginning, such as Harley Sinn's whole job. The art change bugged me a little too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

The arc is almost over but, given the strength of the earlier issues, I'm genuinely curious as to how this story will end. The art was mostly nice save for the horrendous faces, but the pacing was off and pages were wasted on completely meaningless storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

Hitch ends the best arc of the series so far with a fizzle of an ending, and not much else. There are some Rebirth teases here and there, but they offer nothing new that we don't know. A major plus was that the art was consistent across the arc, which is something DC should strive for when it comes to the rest of their series. What this book needs is a new writer, plain and simple.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #20

May 3, 2017

With both the art and writing off-kilter, Hitch proves once again he bases these stories on these giant-scale ideas that don't move nicely and don't feel satisfying once they're over. While there was a certain degree of fun, the typical Hitch nonsense still finds it way to irk me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League (2016) #21

May 17, 2017

Another arc, and another disappointing story. While Hitch's art wasn't bad and the story had a bit of a different structure than his previous stories, it still didn't deliver on character and plot. Things have been conveniently wrapping up recently when it comes to this series, and it needs to change.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #3

Mar 29, 2017

This issue digs the series' grave one step further. A boring read and an uninspired story, coupled with disappointing art, made this issue a tough one to sit through.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

I hope this series finds itself next issue. It has all the necessary elements for good stories with fun characters, but Orlando felt the need to drill it in our heads that this team is progressive and exists for the good of the people.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 26, 2017

While obviously made with good intentions when it comes to social justice, this issue sacrificed important storytelling for the sake of hammering home the point of the JLA being a more human and personal group. They seem to completely ignore the villain in order to conversate. The art was good but Reis' involvement seems to be for the sake of name recognition alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 10, 2017

While this was a better read due to the character moments, the story and art still frustrated me. The villains so far haven't been compelling in the slightest, and the inconsistent art is making it harder for me to be invested in the story. I appreciate Orlando keeping it fresh by utilising different characters for these confrontations, but they need to be more developed.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

Steve Orlando continues to confuse me, giving us this one-and-done setting up events and villains that aren't compelling in the slightest. I loved Jamal Campbell's art and hope he continues to get more DC work.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

This arc has been getting worse with each issue, and I hope that the next issue is able to build on the momentum of the awesome ending and provide a worthwhile conclusion. Javier Fernandez is very much the wrong artist for the title, which has been demonstrated with the arc's lacking art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Mar 8, 2017

A problem I thought I was going to have with the series was its apparent focus on Red Hood and Bizarro, with their relationship really forming the emotional spine of the book up until this point. Bizarro doesn't even show up in this issue, as Lobdell wisely develops the relationship and chemistry between Jason and Artemis. Despite the contrivances with the nature of their conversation, I found myself enjoying their banter and dialogue, since they haven't had a moment of peace together since they first met.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 12, 2017

Scott Lobdell has been defying expectations and proving his detractors wrong. Dexter Soy's art was incredible and this issue remarkably balanced its action and character development.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 10, 2017

Aside from a cool cliffhanger, there's not much to this issue. The characterisation remains strong and the art is great, but Lobdell seems to want to stress Jason's mental deterioration, which we already know is a big problem. He made it a bit more obvious with an extended hallucination sequence that I didn't really care for, so I hope he got it out of his system so we can move forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 8, 2017

An element of the plot that's been teased for quite some time is the presence of a spy in the Squad. We found out who the spy is in this issue, and it is entirely unexpected. I can't wait to see where Rob Williams takes it from here. Certain members of the Squad such as Hack and Deadshot are given more time to develop. We still have characters that need serious work, such as Rustam. I very much appreciate that he didn't end up in the dumpster following Justice League vs. Suicide Squad and is the villain of this arc, but he needs to do more than simply taunt Flag and Katana. I want to see him as an actual physical threat, someone who is genuinely a danger to the Squad and the world. We haven't been getting that, and it disappoints me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #14

Mar 22, 2017

This issue proves that it is by far the weakest double-shipped book that DC is currently putting out. While there is a foundation for a solid, interesting story, the division of the book into two parts, the bad art, and the unnatural pace of this arc just make this issue quite unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #15

Apr 12, 2017

With Tony S. Daniel coming on the book, and the team featuring General Zod, I really hope this series finds itself out of the dump brought onto it by Justice League vs. Suicide Squad. This issue, and this whole arc for that matter, was just not good at all. Eddy Barrows' art is the one saving grace, and there's not enough of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

Apr 26, 2017

With strong art and a great ending, Suicide Squad gets out of the rut it's been in for the past few months and tells a fun, simple story starring Lex Luthor.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #17

May 10, 2017

Zod's presence makes for a radically different, and significantly more entertaining, book. It's fresh and fun, and Williams is clearly having fun with the dialogue while also telling a serious story with characters that we love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #18

May 24, 2017

In a story tying into the current Action Comics arc featuring the Superman Revenge Squad, Williams crafts a tightly-paced and fun issue, and Daniel's art ever fails to impress.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad / The Banana Splits Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

The true star of this book, and the main reason why everyone should pick this up, is the Snagglepuss story by Mark Russell and Howard Porter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #2

Mar 15, 2017

The mystery of Kid Amazo continues, while Jon and Damian continue to bond in what is a near perfect balance of fun and serious storytelling. Tomasi and Jimenez provide such a warm take on the relationship between the superheroes in the making in what could be one of the top titles DC is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

The ending of this issue worried me. I absolutely will not spoil anything because people are very excited about this crossover and the questions we will be getting answered, but I'm concerned about the direction the character of Superman is going upon reaching the twist at the end of this issue. This issue is very strong and is the best issue of this crossover so far, but with one issue left, I'm officially worried.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

So far, the Godwatch storyline is a lot more impressive and personal than The Truth, which has been underwhelming so far, but seems to be picking up now that Diana has her identity back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

The straight-forward narrative of Godwatch has fortunately bled into The Truth, as this issue moved along fine and swiftly. The dialogue and the relationship between all the characters worked, especially with the excellent storytelling of the previous Godwatch issue. The surprising ending solidifies the threat of the Diana's enemies, and I hope it continues to impact the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

The team impresses yet again with another incredible issue. The art was Evely's best on the series so far, and the inclusion of a new character brought a huge amount of freshness to the story. Veronica Cale's character is the most developed in the book, making her very sympathetic, which excuses the lack of Wonder Woman in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

This was a very tight issue, story-wise. Not much happened aside from an amazing cliffhanger teasing next month's continuation of the story. Sharp's art is just brilliant on every level, and Rucka's build-up begins to pay off here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #22

May 10, 2017

In what felt like a filler issue, Rucka and guest artist Mirka Andolfo break the pace by telling a story that just didn't need to be told. Andolfo's art got me worried about her upcoming run on the title, but some sequences alleviated a bit of my worry.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #23

May 24, 2017

Rucka's storytelling skills are unquestioned and I'll miss his presence on the book. Here, his dialogue us stunning and contrasts very well to Sharp's mature, detailed art. The truth has been revealed, and I loved the answer we've been given.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More