husseinwasiti's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 13
7.9Avg. Review Rating

10
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

Scott Snyder crafts yet another incredible issue, with even the back-up story impressing me greatly. Camuncoli's art was beautiful and Snyder's writing proves once again why his Batman is going to be remembered for a long time. The tease of the big bad of this arc kicks into high gear, as we will find out next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

A Bane-centric issue is what we needed to really add more dimensions to the character, as well as fleshing out his perspective of this story. I can't help but understand where he's coming from based on his story. Finch's art was beyond excellent, but King continues to add little details with his dialogue that I didn't feel mattered in the end, and somewhat detracted from the overall story presented here. I shouldn't be giggling when Bane is very seriously crushing bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

Doing little to advance the story forward, this issue spends time with the characters getting back to the way things used to be, which makes for some satisfying moments but doesn't feel as memorable as the last arc. The art was lacking as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #16

Mar 8, 2017

Despite its flaws, the third instalment of the Quest for Hope storyline fleshes out the universe more while reuniting former friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

Robert Venditti and Ethan Van Sciver craft the best issue of the series so far, which is unsurprising given it spends most of its time focusing on the characters, their relationships, and the bigger Rebirth implications presented here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 15, 2017

This arc has so far unsuccessfully juggled three different storylines all at once, and this issue also falls prey to the muddled pacing. However, the bits involving Harley were a lot of fun, unlike the vampire and the future story, which we get in such small doses that they seem like filler.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Mar 8, 2017

A problem I thought I was going to have with the series was its apparent focus on Red Hood and Bizarro, with their relationship really forming the emotional spine of the book up until this point. Bizarro doesn't even show up in this issue, as Lobdell wisely develops the relationship and chemistry between Jason and Artemis. Despite the contrivances with the nature of their conversation, I found myself enjoying their banter and dialogue, since they haven't had a moment of peace together since they first met.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 8, 2017

An element of the plot that's been teased for quite some time is the presence of a spy in the Squad. We found out who the spy is in this issue, and it is entirely unexpected. I can't wait to see where Rob Williams takes it from here. Certain members of the Squad such as Hack and Deadshot are given more time to develop. We still have characters that need serious work, such as Rustam. I very much appreciate that he didn't end up in the dumpster following Justice League vs. Suicide Squad and is the villain of this arc, but he needs to do more than simply taunt Flag and Katana. I want to see him as an actual physical threat, someone who is genuinely a danger to the Squad and the world. We haven't been getting that, and it disappoints me.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #14

Mar 22, 2017

This issue proves that it is by far the weakest double-shipped book that DC is currently putting out. While there is a foundation for a solid, interesting story, the division of the book into two parts, the bad art, and the unnatural pace of this arc just make this issue quite unsatisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Super Sons #2

Mar 15, 2017

The mystery of Kid Amazo continues, while Jon and Damian continue to bond in what is a near perfect balance of fun and serious storytelling. Tomasi and Jimenez provide such a warm take on the relationship between the superheroes in the making in what could be one of the top titles DC is putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

The ending of this issue worried me. I absolutely will not spoil anything because people are very excited about this crossover and the questions we will be getting answered, but I'm concerned about the direction the character of Superman is going upon reaching the twist at the end of this issue. This issue is very strong and is the best issue of this crossover so far, but with one issue left, I'm officially worried.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

So far, the Godwatch storyline is a lot more impressive and personal than The Truth, which has been underwhelming so far, but seems to be picking up now that Diana has her identity back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

The straight-forward narrative of Godwatch has fortunately bled into The Truth, as this issue moved along fine and swiftly. The dialogue and the relationship between all the characters worked, especially with the excellent storytelling of the previous Godwatch issue. The surprising ending solidifies the threat of the Diana's enemies, and I hope it continues to impact the character.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

February

More