James Portis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 27
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Aquaman (2016) #16

Feb 7, 2017

So, I feel proud to give this book for being a solid read. It wasnt over the top, but it was a great start to a new chapter for Aquaman with some amazing artwork. Hopefully this next arc isnt longer than the last.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #17

Mar 7, 2017

I can honestly say that Im enjoying this new direction and Im enjoying this new villain hopefully he can be a good threat moving forward. Till we find out more I feel very good about this issue. No real major flaws. A nice flash forward to see what kind of threat Aquaman is going to face but also showing the progression of peace that is continuing. And Aquafans. Gotta love em.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #18

Mar 17, 2017

This was a nice little arc. It ended not as I wanted, but it ended in a way that could build on events moving forward which I enjoy. I love stories that take pieces from the past. So, I will recommend this issue as well as the 3. This arc is very well written just a little anti climatic in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther (2016) #13

May 1, 2017

This issue is a great jumping off point for old Black Panther fans but not the best for new ones. The old comic reader idea that you can just hop on a book at the beginning of a new arc really doesn't apply here. The story so far has been so intense that if you jump on now, youll be lost. I recommend picking up the trade paperbacks volumes 1-3 if you wish to catch up. The art is good and compliments the story well enough that it doesn't hurt it, but Brian Stelfreezes style is absent here and it worries me that hes left the title. Other than that, if you have been following this series, keep going, if not, back track in the trades it's definitely worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Immortal Brothers: The Tale of the Green Knight #1

Apr 11, 2017

Like I said this is a one shot. Meaning until Valiant says otherwise, there wont be anymore. So, for a one issue book, its very good. It rewrites a little history for the sake of the valiant universe and I can honestly say if youve been hesitant to get into Valiant, this might convince you to consider titles like Archer and Armstrong, Ivar Timewalker, and Eternal Warrior. So definitely check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #1

May 4, 2017

Look. At the end of the day, This is a good book. No matter how you view the Captain Hydra situation, this is a very well built up, very well executed event that honestly has me confused and excited for more. For instance, finding out why Odinson, Scarlet Witch and Vision are aligned with Hydra will be a great discovery unveil. If you're a Marvel fan and have wondered if Secret Empire is worth your time then rejoice. It's compelling, confusing, and enjoyable for the comic reader with enough context to understand and enjoy it. Until issue 2 and the impending tie ins, I can honestly say, Hail Hydra. A new day has come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #15

May 1, 2017

This isnt much of a new beginning but more of an epilogue to the Sittin in a tree crossover that just occurred, but it's so well done that I really wanted to begin my review series with this issue because of how well it does its job of storytelling. Its not essential to read this issue before #16, but I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Man (2016) #16

May 8, 2017

Spider-man #16 is an essential read for any new reader to Miles Morales, especially if youre adding this to your pull list until its eventual cancellation due to the approaching Marvel Legacy. The story is well done, the one major action scene is something I haven't seen in a comic in awhile, and I'm very excited for the future of Spider-man. So much better than Amazing. Dont read Amazing. Peter Parker isnt cool anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #10

Feb 3, 2017

Suicide Squad #10 is a short but good epilogue to the crossover event this title just came off of but, also gives some backstory about Amanda Waller. The art isa little odd. Not bad but there were random things. Like excess crying from Coretta, Deadshots hair being the longest Ive ever seen it that if Waller wouldnt have called him Deadshot I would have thought it was a different villain all together. So, the art was average to me. One big thing that Im concerned with is that yes enchantress was not in this issue, but besides Harley, Deadshot, and Captain Boomerang, the rest of the squad should be expendable warriors. Were getting to a point that Task Force X is having a staple cast when it shouldnt. So hopefully this changes as the comic Continues. I feel comfortable giving this book was a very good read and it expanded the story with some okay artwork. Catch you folks next time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #11

Mar 10, 2017

The artIt sucks. I know that a good amount of people enjoy Romita Jrs artwork but honestly, the only semi good quality about it is the fact that he isnt the one coloring so it doesnt look as bland as it usually does. The way he draws the characters is horrendous, the laziness in the detail is bothersome, and it makes me miss Jim Lee on this title more than words can describeApparently Romita Jr is going to be the artist for the next 4 issues so I shall try to not let his art affect my rating next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #12

Mar 10, 2017

Hopefully this story picks up and ends up having a good ending. The wall is gone and the team is falling apart especially with the reveal of a spy within the ranksI gotta stop spoiling stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 20, 2017

Im not going to even beat the dead horse of the art. If you want to know how I feel, see my Suicide Squad #11 review. the story however is very well done, Flagg and Katanas capture and the persuasion of Rustam, Harleys sadness of the betrayal of Deadshot, the surprise ended that has me stuttering in confusion. Very good read, I cant wait for the next issue and I cant wait to be rid of John Romita Jr off my book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #15

Apr 12, 2017

Again, this conclusion is very well done, there are twists and turns and Amanda Waller is back on the throne where she belongs. It was a nice arc. I honestly dont think in the history of comics, Waller has died on the job and if she has, I have no memory of it. Where this books falls is John Romita Jr. I feel as if that if they had let Eddy Barrows do the art for the entire issue especially when Romita Jr makes an armatrary change like give Waller sunglasses at the begining that she didnt have at the end of the last issue in Barrowss panels, it Im very excited for the future of this series and I cant wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

May 1, 2017

This is indeed a return to form. Amazing writing combined with phenominal art (other than one weirdly drawn Boomerang head) makes for a comic that Im glad I paid full price for. Thanks for shooting the breeze with me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #17

May 14, 2017

The Suicide Squad is supposed to get rid of basically anyone that isnt Deadshot, Harley, or Boomerang. Here, we have the entire movie cast minus El Diablo for some reason and theyre doing the job, but the missing factor of expendable forces still remains. Regardless I feel comfortable recommending this book. Very well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #7

Mar 7, 2017

All things considered, It was pretty good nothing over the top but solid with allot of development. No new plots are introduced, nothing goes out of its way to confuse readers and thats good. Very solid filler. Thanks for reading and Ill catch you guys next time

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #8

Mar 7, 2017

At the end of the day, the arts great and the story progresses so well that other than the forgetting certain characters in the general whole of the book, its still a very good book and I cant wait till one of my favorite villain teams comes back into the spotlight in issue 9. Oh snap did I say that?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #9

Mar 19, 2017

This series is still very good and very solid, and just great synergy between the team like the amazing camaraderie with Wally and Dick and theres even a bit were The Titans use Arsenals wisdom of addiction, almost as if being a villain is an addiction, and they use it to decide their next move in regards to the Fives intentions. I will always recommend this series for anyone who enjoys a consistent comic and loved old DC Comics history.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #10

Apr 12, 2017

Titans #10 is a good wrap up, but not as good as I thought it would be. Somewhat anticlimactic but not necessarily bad. It was enjoyable and an average end to a 3-part story. With a 3-book crossover coming up, maybe this was meant to be contextual filler I dont know but Ill accept it. COMMENCE THE EVENT!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Titans (2016) #11

May 10, 2017

Now with Lazarus Contract, we have a golden opportunity to break new ground on a story that yes was told in a different universe, but now can be told without creepy statutory rape, and without the needed involvement of plot threads like Brother Blood or Terra in general because her existence has no bearing on this story from what can be seen. So we can have a new continuity with a new retelling of one of the most impactful stories in DC Comics history, and so far it has been being executed excellently.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
U.S.Avengers #1

Jan 10, 2017

When picking up this book, I thought it was just going to be that "'Murica eff yea" book that everyone was asking for. But on the contrary not only does this give us a fresh batch of Avengers, it also gives us people who feel they have a right to be American. No matter what their differences are. Well except for Maverick, he's as white and privileged as it gets. But that's the point. This country is such a melting pot that this book is kind of what we need. It just didn't do a good job publicizing that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
U.S.Avengers #2

Feb 3, 2017

U.S. Avengers is a lot of exposition with a little bit of humor. It goes in depth about the villain and where he and this futuristic Captain America come from and builds well making him a pretty good new low class enemy with a somewhat larger scheme. The art by Paco Medina is very stylized. Much like Brett Booth, penciler for DC's Titans, I love when artists dont try to hard and give me comics that have a stylized touch that lets you know theyre drawn characters but arent trying too hard to simulate real life or so animated that it feels too much like a television show. Wish all this in mind I deem US Avengers #2 a very good read. Catch you guys next time and God bless the USA.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Apr 7, 2017

Again, its hard not to go into this book with high expectations because of all the torment the X-men have gone through because of movie rights that shouldnt affect comic books. The stories not bad but its average. The only really intriguing parts are the growth that characters have gone through like Storm, Kitty, and Rachel especially. Though the random hate for mutants again thats justified by oh they have different genes so lets hate them is so odd. Especially nowadays with a million and one metahumans, and Inhumans running around daily. It just seems weird. Hopefully this series goes from average to amazing because right now, its what Marvel needs to honestly secure my money.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #2

May 1, 2017

Rehash Gold #2 is the definition of Meh. you feel like you got X-menish things out of it, but nothing felt intrguing nothing inivative. Its the kind of thing that makes people leave mainstreem comics. They see nothing but the same thing, but to this degree of rehash is almost shameless. If youre an X-men fan youll enjoy it, but its not the kind of thing a casual person would enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #3

May 19, 2017

X-men Gold #3 isn't bad by any means. I feel like Marc Guggenheim needed time to get into a stride of storytelling here. Which is fine but it did make the first few issues suffer greatly. Ive seen other titles flow into their first arcs at an amazing pace. This just is the definition of meh from the perspective of a long time X-men fan whos seen crazy starts like Wolverine and the X-men. Now that weve started to get somewhere, Ill stay on for the next arc and see what happens. Oh who am I kidding its X-men I have no choice but to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 14, 2017

Overall, I give X-O Manowar issue 1 a perfect score. Rarely will you everEVER give a book a perfect score, but its so well written, so beautifully drawn, and it makes you crave more the minute you read that last panel. I cant wait to see where this story goes from here and I am so thankful for the return of my favorite hero from Valiant Entertainment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #2

Apr 23, 2017

There's not much more to be said about X-O manowar #2. Part of me feels off giving books 10/10s but like I have said, it's so well done and such a departure from the norm of not just previous stories but comic books in general, that you cant help but love it immensely. I highly reccommend this comic along with issue #1. Issue 2 comes out this week on Wednesday, April 26th.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More