Jason Laframboise's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 68
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
4001 A.D. #2

Jun 3, 2016

To sum everything up I enjoyed the issue, the art is awesome and I can't wait for the next issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D. #3

Jul 28, 2016

The series is coming to an end soon with just one more month till the summer event is over. It's been all positive and I'm glad to along for these quality books we are getting month after month. If you've read Rai since the beginning then I highly recommend reading this book, if not, wait for the trade of the mini series but we aware that you do need some knowledge of the previous Rai arc's otherwise there might be some confusion. Great book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D. #4

Aug 31, 2016

The issue on it's own was pretty good. I really love the future timeline in the Valiant Universe, so having not one but two series set there plus 4 one shots, has all lead to an enjoyable story for me. It's been a great summer for Valiant, and hopefully that continues on into the fall. The issue was good, the series was great overall a win.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
4001 A.D.: Bloodshot #1

Jun 8, 2016

This issue doesn't feel as connected to the rest of the 4001 AD story as everything else that's been put out so far does, but based on the ending that could change. Either way this was a good read and I highly recommend it. Maybe my favourite single issue Valiant has put out this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Shadowman #1

Jul 6, 2016

This book would be an enjoyable book that I would love even if it didn't tie into 4001 AD or the Valiant universe it's self. I've loved everything that has come out for this summer event, and this book kept the ball rolling. I wish this was an ongoing, but I will take this issue over the previous Shadowman series. Read this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Warmother #1

Aug 3, 2016

Like everything from this summer event 4001 AD, War Mother was a good read that introduced some cool new concepts. I recommend reading this one, and for what it's worth the person working behind the counter at my local comic book shop said that this was a hot book and was probably going to sell out. Hopefully this is a great seller for Valiant and we get more of the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #2

Apr 17, 2016

All and all I enjoyed this second issue, it is a vast improvement over the first instalment. Art that I'm not a fan of is easy to ignore when the story is well written and engaging. I am looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #4

Jun 15, 2016

The series is growing on me. I'm a fan of comedy in comics, so this should be up my alley. I can get over the art. The story was good and it was an enjoyable read with a satisfying ending. The feeling of adventure and fun is the key here and I await next month's adventure!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #5

Jul 21, 2016

To close this one out, I enjoyed the issue it was a fun stand alone story, and I am looking forward to the next issue, the start of the new story arc, which if it goes anything like the first meeting we have of Armstrong's wife in the original series, might be a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #6

Aug 10, 2016

Overall I love the direction of this book. Rafer Roberts has taken the established Archer and Armstrong and put his own stamp on the characters in quick fashion. I can't wait for the next issue and to see where this crazy story goes. I highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot U.S.A. #1

Nov 2, 2016

Overall it was another solid issue of the Bloodshot, and I can't wait to read the rest of the mini series. It's the best of both worlds, strong storytelling and awesome action. If you love action movies then this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 23, 2017

Hurry up September, I need more Bloodshot. Again this series has been probably my highest rated, very rarely going below a 9, and this last issue is no different. I loved it. I am sad about this break but big things are coming, so stay tuned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #12

Apr 20, 2016

This series has been awesome so far. Jeff Lemire has masterfully told his story to this point. I am a little confused about how this fits into the continuity of the Valiant Universe. Some things that have happened in past issues of this arc don't really jive with the future events we were shown in the Book of Death's Fall of.... books. There is speculation from some of the Valiant faithful that this is all a dream or more implanted memories. Either way this was a great issue and it will be exciting to see the conclusion of the Analogue Man story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #14

Jun 29, 2016

Every arc we've had so far in this book has been great. It's a deep story that is really one of the most engaging books on the market today, and if you aren't reading you should start as soon as possible because it is a great series, and a great issue that I can't recommend enough

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #15

Jul 13, 2016

The art was awesome, the writing was great. This was a great read. We have gotten 3 stellar issues in a row from Jeff Lemaire in less then a month. My only complaint is now I have to wait a month to read more. This week was a big week for Valiant with 3 of their main titles out, and this one is probably the highlight for me. It's great and you should be reading it. Now, go buy it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bloodshot: Reborn #16

Sep 9, 2016

This book is such a compelling read, and every week when it is on the shelf it's a great week. I look forward to it every month and I can't wait to see where we are heading. Not to spoil my star rating but this would be 10 based entirely on the art. It would also be a 10 based on the writing. I wish I could give the book an 11. Please buy this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #17

Oct 4, 2016

I've enjoyed this story, this entire series since the first issue. Jeff Lemaire has taken a character that was only half fleshed out, a character that was really nothing more then a shoot em up action hero into a flawed but compelling character. Issue by issue, we have been treated to a brilliant series that is probably Valiant's best series. There's debate in boxing and MMA about the pound for pound best fighters, well Bloodshot Reborn is the pound for pound best book I have the pleasure of reading each month. I hope we get some answers about how Kay ended up in the hands of Rising Spirit. The epilogue comes out the following week so we won't have to wait long for these answers hopefully. The series will be transitioning into the Bloodshot USA story next month, and that story is set up at the end of this issue. So the story continues shortly, and we got a great story arc here, excellent read with amazing art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #18

Oct 8, 2016

Over all it was a good read that serves it's purpose. We are set up nicely for Bloodshot USA, as I said in my review of Bloodshot 17, this book is the best pound for pound comic that Valiant puts out. It's brilliantly written and drawn, and is a absolute pleasure to read each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Britannia #1

Sep 22, 2016

Great first issue with a lot of story and great art to match. Valiant has been putting out quality books since day one, and this one lives up to that. I recommend buying this one if you find it, if not you will want the trade if it keeps going like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke: Rebirth #1

Aug 13, 2016

It was an okay book that while I did like it, it maybe suffered from me overhyping it in my mind. I was expecting something really awesome, an action packed thrill ride. What we got was some great character development, with a bit of action that was actually a better mix than what I would have done. So to conclude it was a good read, with a good direction, by a good writer. A good book that will hopefully continue to build to better things in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Divinity II #1

Apr 27, 2016

The story was well written and flowed nicely to the conclusion. It is the opener so I am not sure where this one is going yet, but Matt Kindt on Valiant books has not let me down. There was a lot to unpack in this issue and there will probably a lot more to come next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Divinity II #3

Jun 22, 2016

Divinity has been such an interesting book thus far. I am speaking of both mini series right now. It really has been a great science fiction story so far. I am confused but it's a good confused, I can't wait to read the last issue then go back and read the series as one whole story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Divinity II #4

Jul 28, 2016

I had high hopes for this series, and while I enjoyed the story, I feel like there could have been more to it. The setting is great, the characters are great and hopefully when we get Divinity III we get more. It was good but ended a little flat for my tastes. This could all just be leading to something bigger so I will wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity III: Escape From Gulag 396 #1

Mar 17, 2017

It's weird that this doppelgänger story might be one of the better portrayals I've read of Archer thus far in the current Valiant universe. The story was simple and very enjoyable. It was just a well told alternate reality tale that strikes the right cord with this reader. A fun read, and added more to the Divinity storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity III: Stalinverse #3

Feb 27, 2017

Overall this was a great issue that is leading to what I assume will be an outstanding finale. The art hit all the right beats with me, and the story has so much depth on so many levels. If you see Matt Kindt on the title of a Valiant book, you are going to get your money's worth as all of his books have been great world building titles. Great Stuff!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity III: Stalinverse #4

Mar 29, 2017

Another great Divinity mini series has closed out. We got a teaser in the back of the book for a new series Eternity. I tend to not read previews, so I am not sure exactly what this book is going to be, but I hope that it's the next chapter for these characters. I loved the series and I hope other people also buy it, and enjoy it. I cannot recommend this series more, you need to read it. Fantastic!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doc Savage: Ring Of Fire #1

Mar 30, 2017

All and all it was a fun read. It captured the spirit of it's source material and was well crafted. It might not be everyone's cup of tea, and I am biased because of my love of the character, but honestly you couldn't go wrong picking this one up. Keep in mind it is just the first issue, and it might read better as a trade, but I liked it enough to suggest it. A good book from the folks at Dynamite.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doc Savage: Ring Of Fire #2

Apr 28, 2017

Once again a very fun enjoyable issue that presented the characters in the right way. I am leaving it a happy satisfied, hungry for next issue customer. Do yourself a favour and buy this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #1

Jul 21, 2016

Overall an enjoyable issue. It's light and fun in contrast to most of the other books in the line. It's a good book and I hope that it keeps up the momentum from the mini series and gives Valiant a big win sales wise. Good issue looking forward to reading more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #2

Aug 25, 2016

Overall it was a pretty good second issue. I really like where this series is heading. Faith is in very capable hands with Jody House and I look forward to reading the next issue. I'm excited that we are getting so many series with the Harbinger characters, with Faith, Generation Zero and in November a new Harbinger series which I do believe that Faith will be a part of. I would recommend adding this one to your buy pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #4

Nov 2, 2016

As I've said before this is the biggest book in Valliant's entire line of comics. It's a unique book, maybe one of the truly different books out there, and does so by capturing the feel of a classic comic book. A feeling which is sadly missing in other books. I'm not the target market for Faith, and that I can see how good this book is, not just in quality but also just good for Valiant in general. It is generating the positive buzz that Valiant really needs being a smaller company. I have to recommend this book. It's one that is a good read for everyone from teenage girls to grandpa, if they love comics they will love Faith.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #5

Nov 8, 2016

Although this issue may not have gotten the mainstream buzz that Valiant was hoping for in my opinion, the book itself is such a huge plus for the company that it doesn't even matter. Not just an great book for Valiant and it's fans, but a huge plus for the industry as a whole. It was a fun book, just like most issues of the series. I once again strongly recommend buying this, if not for yourself then for the comic fan in your life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #7

Jan 7, 2017

Oveall another fantastic issue of this great series. Every issue I'm becoming more fond of the series. We are getting a long running story that should pay off soon, and everything has been done so well. I can't recommend this book more highly.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faith #8

Feb 1, 2017

This book really helped turn a pretty awful week into one a little bit brighter(if you don't know what's going on consider yourself lucky and don't pick up a newspaper). I am happy this book is out there. It is the opposite of the dark books that we get a lot of time now. Honestly this is an old school super hero book and it really appeals to me. It might partially be my nostalgia for my childhood, but it is a great read, and deserves all the praise that it gets. It's by far my favourite book I've read so far in this young year, and I hope it continues along this same awesome positive path.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #10

Apr 8, 2017

Valiant has a book they should be proud to publish every month. I say that without even taking into consideration Faith's body, which to me is a non issue, but the book is just so well written and is such an enjoyable read. It isn't my favourite book I read every month (Ninjak), but it's the most fun book I read. I actually look forward to reading it every month more then most of my pull list. I wish the sales would reflect the quality of the series. If someone asks me to recommend a comic to get them into comics, this is probably the book I would suggest. It's good for all ages, which is nice in modern comics. In closing I love this issue and I wait for the next one with the excitement of a child on Easter morning.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Generation Zero #1

Aug 24, 2016

We have been without a Harbinger book for so long and now Valiant seems to be giving us a lot of Harbinger, with Harbinger Renegades, Faith and Generation Zero. Now with Gen Zero in the very capable hands of Fred Van Lente we will finally get some real depth to these characters and not just looking at the cool powers stuff. I've loved every thing else Van Lente has done with Valiant and after issue one I have no reason to feel anything different. I'm really interested in what everyone else thought of it, but in my opnion it was great. Fantastic issue, and a must buy!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Generation Zero #2

Sep 28, 2016

It was a good issue and I like the direction of the book so far. I know some people in the Valiant fan community weren't happy with the first issue of Generation Zero, but I have to respectfully disagree with them. I like the way the characters are being portrayed here, I like the way they are being shown as rebellious youth and I think I will continue to enjoy this comic series. I recommend buying it yourself and making up your mind yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Immortal Brothers: The Tale of the Green Knight #1

Apr 14, 2017

Overall a great one-shot issue that hit all the right character beats for me. There was no silly out of character stuff with this one. It was a tight well told story by someone who knows these people. Just a solid book that told a complete story with one issue which is a nice change of pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #2

Feb 8, 2017

I hate being negative but I feel this is justified with this book. I'm a fan of both franchises, I grew up in the 90's when Power Rangers were the hottest kids show, so I am left wondering once again: who is this for? I am sure there are some people happy with it, but personally as a fan I am left with a bad taste in my mouth. It wasn't good, it was boring and predictable. Such a waste.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

I keep hoping that this book will end strongly, or at least one issue with get a passing grade from me, but that hope is dying a slow agonizing death with each turn of the page. I want it to be good, I want to see the Justice League fighting giant monsters along side the Megazord. What I don't want is to read about the Flash, Superman and Wonder Woman chat with teenagers. No thank you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mycroft Holmes #1

Aug 5, 2016

Mycroft Holmes and the Apocalypse Handbook opens with a class of school boys touring the British Musuem in 1874 London, the musuem is destroyed by a mysterious device of unknown origin. We then get Mycroft Holmes in school being, well Mycroft arogant and agressively smart. He gets expelled, then sleeps with his proffessors wife, and then is kidnapped. Also his kid brother Sherlock shows up.I'm going to start with the stuff I didn't like in this book. First of all the main character is throughly unlikeable. Mycroft Holmes has never really been protrayed as a likeable person. Interesting maybe but I find it hard to root for someone so pompus. I suppose that's not really a critizism of this book, but of the character in general. As for the book at hand, I'm not a fan of having nudity in a book for the sake of having nudity. I'm not a prude or anything it's just it didn't add anything to the plot and was done for a joke that I didn't find funny. The nudity a

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #16

Jun 8, 2016

I enjoyed the issue, Ninjak is one of my favourite characters and this series has been excellent so far. Hopefully next issue finally gets around to the big fight and it seems we are going to get some answers to questions raised during the first story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #17

Jul 13, 2016

I liked the way the Siege on King's Castle story wrapped up, still there a couple threads to take us into the next arc, like is Colin King still rich? Is Ninjak still working for MI-6? What's up with him and Livewire? These questions aren't addressed so we wait for issue 18 I guess. Also the ending will need to be addressed at some point. What happened to that thing that I don't want to spoil.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #18

Aug 11, 2016

The new story arc looks like it will be okay, but not stellar. I guess after months of this being one of my favourite books it looks like it might take a step back for a bit, but still an okay read. Probably should wait for the trade for this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ninjak #19

Sep 9, 2016

Overall the issue was weak, and my rating will reflect that. I would skip this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #20

Nov 2, 2016

We can expect big things from Ninjak next year, with the youtube series starting and it looks like we will be getting a confrontation with Master Darque who hasn't been seen since the Book of Death series so there are exciting things coming up for our favourite British Ninja. A good issue, after a lackluster couple of issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #24

Feb 9, 2017

Kindt has taken a frankly one dimensional typical 90's character in Ninjak and has crafted an Akira Kurosawa style story, that has really exceeded all expectations and has left this reader happy and excited for the next issue. By far my favourite book of this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #25

Mar 30, 2017

The book was perfectly balanced with action, drama and horror. I couldn't ask for a better book if I tried. I can't wait till next month for the second half of the story. This is a great book that you should be reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #26

Apr 21, 2017

I feel like I'm repeating myself every month with this book. It is brilliantly written. It has great art. This is a book that you should be reading, and it's shameful that so many great books like this one escape the mainstream attention they deserve just because it doesn't have Batman, Deadpool or Wolverine in it. Do yourself a favour pick up the trades, buy the single issues, anything just read this book. I am not bitter that it's selling in the low numbers, even if it sounds like it. I am frustrated for the people that missing out on this great book. I feel bad for you if you are missing this book. A ringing endorsement from this reviewer

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #27

May 18, 2017

Although I'm sad to see this one come to an end, it's not like the character of Ninjak is going anywhere. If anything Ninjak is going to be everywhere over the next year or so with the Rapture mini series, a new ongoing series later this year and at some point the web series Ninjak vs the Valiant Universe will drop. So we won't be at a loss for Ninjak. With that being said this book has been one of my favourites this year and if not for the excellent Bloodshot Reborn, would have been my top book. It was a good finale and I can't wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rai #15

Jul 25, 2016

Next issue seems like it will give us the origin of the current Rai, but I'm just guessing based on the cover preview. So basically there is one more issue till we go on another break sadly. I've loved 4001 AD so far, loved all the new concepts. There has been a lot of universe building for future 4001 timeline stories, a lot of really exciting stuff for future writers to mine! It will be sad when the summer is over. Buy this one for the art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rai #16

Aug 26, 2016

I loved this book. It had all the ingredients that appeal to me. Great writing, great art work and great characters. It's been good ride and it's sad that the series is once again going on hiatus. I await the return of the series in a few months. If you get a chance this volume is definitely worth it, so pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage #1

Dec 5, 2016

So as much as I'm concerned with the whole Tarzan/Turok pastiche thing, the book on it's own was a good read. I'm waiting for a unexpected turn like they are all dead or something dumb like that, but honestly I hope this book just is what is seems to be, a wild jungle man story that happens to have dinosaurs instead of tigers or bears. Again this has been an archetypal character in literature since Burroughs and Kipling, to the ingredients are all there for a fun adventure. Let's see where we go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Savage #4

Feb 18, 2017

Overall what could have ended up as a silly Turok knockoff turned out to be a fantastic series that ended up using a completely different genre then I was expecting, and it exceeded my expectations greatly. This one is action heavy so pick up the trade paper back, it's a highly recommended quick read. Before I started writing this review I re-read the first 3 issues, and I finished them in about 10 minutes, so this won't take a huge time commitment, but would be totally worth if it was.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Han Solo #2

Jul 6, 2016

The book was good, maybe not one that I'm going to go out of my way to buy, but I will read the rest of the series once it's on Marvel unlimited or maybe in trade paper back. Still if you like Star Wars you probably will be happy to pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #4

Jul 7, 2016

When I got this book I wasn't really sure if I would like it, if I would want to keep reading the series. I can say after 4 issues I am in, I will keep up with this one. It wasanice surpriseEven if you aren't a Star Wars fan there is a lot to like about this issue, so I 100% suggest picking it up, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #1

Feb 1, 2017

Thus far it has captured the spirit of the old school Spirit stories, and for a fan of the character such as myself that is a huge plus. The Spirit has been around for decades now so telling unique stories with is, I imagine quite hard. He has probably been published by more comic book companies then any other characters, including Quality, DC, Harvey, now Dynamite and even was carried in 20 Sunday Newspaper comic strips. This is a character that has had one of the most legendary people in all of comics create him and write him, so it probably is a daunting task to throw yourself into a book like this, but Francavilla did a great job with this first issue. A great read that I highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #2

Mar 24, 2017

I wish there was more to say about this issue, but it's hard when the story is decompressed like this. That is not to say that it wasn't a good issue, or that I'm not enjoying the story, because I did. This story will read better as a trade, so I do recommend waiting for that to come out, or sit down and read the entire mini at once and I feel that it will flow much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #6

Apr 18, 2016

The art is stellar. The story is slowly moving from point A to C back to B, but it's been a fun ride so far. The return of a classic Valiant villain is exciting. If you like blood in your comics this one is for you. This is not a book for children. Excited for the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #8

Jun 15, 2016

The combination of excellent art, great writing and the one thing I want out of the Eternal Warrior, action, made this a great issue. The little things that Venditti has put in this one have me excited for the future of this book, which has already lasted more issues then the previous Eternal Warrior comic. Good stuff this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #9

Jul 14, 2016

It's a good book and I'm enjoying this take on the Eternal Warrior. I'm willing to give Venditti a chance to grow into the book. It's just we seem to be taking forever to get from point a to point b. I recommend reading the book but wait for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #10

Aug 17, 2016

All in all, we got a good final issue to a good story. I love the direction Venditti is taking the series. After a couple false starts with the character it finally feels like the Eternal Warrior is finally carving out his place solo in the Valiant Universe. With that being said, I wouldn't suggest buying or reading this one in single issues, wait for the trade to come out and get the full complete story as it is worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #46

Apr 20, 2016

X-O Manowar will be ending with issue 50 so next issue will start this runs last story arc. I can't wait to read the exciting conclusion. If Venditti was to never have written another book with Valiant he would have left a huge mark on the Valiant Universe, a lot of really cool concepts have come from this title. This issue was a good quick action packed read. I recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #47

Jun 29, 2016

There's a lot I want to say about the series as a whole, but I will save that for the post-mortem of issue 50. For now I will just say I enjoyed this book, and it's going to be a long month waiting for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #48

Jul 28, 2016

I'm sad that the new Valiant's first series, it's only series that has been with us since the relanch is coming to an end, but we are ending on a high note so far. The issue was good and I have high hopes that this will have a great ending. If you are interested in reading this, start with issue one and work your way to 50, you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar #49

Sep 9, 2016

We are all set up for an epic last issue. Every thing will be wrapped up in a month, and the longest running new Valiant series will come to an end. What's next for the characters? Will we find out? Every thing will hopefully be answered. Either way this book has been great and is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar #50

Oct 4, 2016

We get everything that made this series the fantastic read that is has been. Epic battles, Buck Rogers/Flash Gordon style space opera, great characters, the quiet moments that made it all work, and of course the hero at the centre of it all. And that really is the point of the whole book. It wasn't a story about super heroes, aliens, or monsters. It had all those elements, but at the heart of the book was the growth of the simple time lost warrior Aric. He has come a long way from his brash quick to anger and fight self in the first issue to the regal King and saviour of not only his people but also the alien race he fought against. It was a great story and this was the perfect way to end it. Joe Bennett's art is good, we get some really good pages here. The last panel of the main story.....it is awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

The stellar long term story telling as been with the new X-O since the beginning, and I am thankful that based entirely on his previous work, Matt Kindt is great at long term storytelling. I've yet to be disappointed by anything he's written for Valiant, and couple of his books are probably among my favorites of all time. So I will place my trust as a reader in Kindt's hands once again, and I trust that this book will play out in a very satisfactory creative work, that will leave this fan happy. To summarize I am weary of the changes to the character, but I enjoyed the issue so much that it really didn't matter. I hope that it is a success for all involved.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More