Jay Loving's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 16
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #2

Jun 28, 2016

The back cover of this issue categorizes the title as Crime/Humor. That may seem an odd pairing at first blush, but there is no better way to describe 4 Kids Walk Into A Bank. Black Mask Studios has scored a win with this book. It is edgy, original and certainly worth your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Angel City #3

Dec 17, 2016

Angel City is bringing a fresh perspective to the well established genre of the crime noir detective story. It offers an interesting story, but it true strength is its characterization, particularly Dolores. I find myself anticipating the next issue, and that is what any good title should do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animosity #1

Aug 4, 2016

Regardless of how you feel about this book, I feel fairly certain that it is one you won't easily get out of your head. I'll readily admit, it's going to take a number of issues for me to decide exactly what I think of Animosity, but I do look forward to the next installment. Marguerite Bennett has unquestionably established herself as one of the premier writers in comics and one who will take risks and expand the boundaries of what comics can do. It only seems natural to expect more of the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #2

Dec 1, 2016

Battlestar Galactica:Gods & Monsters is a potentially good idea that falls flat. It may have appeal to hardcore fans of the series who are ulcerating for any new Battlestar Galactica material, but I cannot see it having any interest for a casual fan or any newcomer to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Eyed Kids #8

Nov 25, 2016

Black Eyed Kids continues to be a terrifying, thought provoking and thoroughly entertaining story. I know it to be among the top favorites of the Aftershock fans I speak to regularly. A worthy consideration for any fan, not only of horror comics, but comics of any nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blood Blister #1

Feb 11, 2017

Blood Blister has all the components of a great comic book series. As with any work, it will take a few issues to see how it develops, but the track record of the creative team suggests that this will be a book worth ones time. Stay tuned.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Blue Hour #1

Aug 14, 2016

I like the possibilities that could be explored on a planet where human beings are the aliens. It is a refreshing idea and one I would find interesting if pursued. There is certainly the possibility of a good story here. It remains to be seen if Blue Hour can exploit that possibility and last more than a few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Britannia #4

Dec 14, 2016

Britannia is a complex, multi-layered story. On the surface we have a horrific murder mystery. Antonius' struggle to know precisely who is doing the murders. But interwoven and supporting this are elements that examine the nature of reality and a subtle but relevant story of loss and redemption. Readers who don't mind a bit of grappling to understand a story should find it a compelling and worthwhile read. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dept. H #4

Jul 22, 2016

For fans to Kindt's previous work MIND MGMT. this series promises to be equally satisfying. If you are unfamiliar with Matt Kindt, or if you only know his work for Valiant, Dept. H is well worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dept. H #5

Aug 22, 2016

Dept. H #5 was not the most interesting of the young series and seemed a bit disjointed in places, but is a good read nonetheless. This is still a series that is well worth your consideration if you've not read ventured into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity II #4

Jul 28, 2016

Divinity II ultimately succeeds in bringing a satisfying end to story but also leaving plenty of room open for future stories. Valiant has already announced Divinity III for December, 2016. These characters are now fully established members of the Valiant universe and they will have much to say going forward. That is good news for us all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harbinger: Renegade #2

Dec 21, 2016

Valiant fans have been long anticipating more stories of the Renegades from Harbinger. Crafting a narrative that is satisfying to both new and veteran readers of these characters cannot be an easy task, but the creative team on this title seems to be doing just that. Or doing it as well as anyone can reasonably expect. With Harbinger Renegade, Valiant is adding another solid, character driven book to it's legacy. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Illuminati Transport #1

Mar 13, 2017

There is a lot packed into Illuminati Transport. Demons, gnomes, evil genies, zombies, a chupacabra, a hot lab chick, and a teenage girl with an astonishing knowledge of mid twentieth century TV programs. I strongly suggest you talk to your local comic shop or do whatever is needed to get this comic book when it comes out. It is not one you want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jackpot #3

Jul 13, 2016

One will almost certainly find oneself in anticipation of the next issue, when, it's assumed, we will finally learn more about the so-called "Gods on Earth" and the offer they have for Dominique. One thing is certain. With Jackpot, Aftershock is continuing it's commitment to bringing together the best creative talent available to create compelling and eminently satisfying comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kim & Kim #2

Sep 1, 2016

Highly recommended. Kim & Kim is an important book, and not because of it's somewhat ground breaking dealings with gender. It's simply a good story, with unique, complex characters who are, after all, like any of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rough Riders: Riders on the Storm #1

Feb 20, 2017

Bottom LineRough Riders: Riders On The Storm is off to a good start. Once again blending historical fact with the fanciful. That cannot be an easy task to achieve, but the track record of this creative team is there, and I expect they will deliver admirably once again. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More