JJ Travers's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 19
8.4Avg. Review Rating

10
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Mar 28, 2017

It would be a disservice to yourself as a comic fan to miss this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aquaman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

There's a gang of ten plus assailants against Arthur and Mera; things aren't looking particularly good for them. Yet because one man yielded it's suddenly a time out to a life or death fight. I'm going to need more than that to fully buy in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 24, 2017

Dan Jurgens' Batman Beyond has everything I'm looking for in a Batman comic: ninjas, gadgets, surprises and a badass super villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Cloud #2

May 10, 2017

Latour and Brandon have flipped the script and I find myself excited to tumble further down the rabbit hole.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 24, 2017

I'm sad to say this story is rather unfriendly to new readers. While it's clear that Spoiler recently had a less than amicable split from her former teammates and Batman, that's about all I can put together. I get that it's a set up issue, but that doesn't give a free pass to the writing team. Hopefully things improve from here, otherwise it's not a story I'll recommend to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lanterns #23

May 17, 2017

With the release of Green Lantern: Rebirth, a new mythos for the Green Lantern character was created. Lately it's felt a bit like everything Rebirth created has been heavily flushed out and explored. So it's really refreshing to see Humphries step in over ten years later and provide us with a new and exciting piece of lore to dig into.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #18

Apr 12, 2017

Robert Venditti has many balls in the air, but is giving every story thread the attention it needs. Great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hellblazer (2016) #1

Aug 25, 2016

Moritat's art style isn't my favorite but it's clean, simple and consistent throughout the issue. As far as a first issue goes, the setup was acceptable but I wasn't blown away by the writing. I enjoy crossovers like anyone else, but the writing feels a little lazy using that and a flashback to set the stage. But hey, this is the first issue and I need to be patient. Hopefully Oliver will pleasantly surprise me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellblazer (2016) #2

Oct 1, 2016

This issue does a fantastic job developing the characters and the looming confrontation with the dangerous Marid. Even though there was little to no action throughout the majority of the comic, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer (2016) #3

Oct 30, 2016

Theology tells us the Djinn are one of the three sapient creations of God. As with human beings, they can be good, evil, or neutral. Thus as with humans, they possess free will. They were to have been created from smokeless and scorching fire. They're also immortal, can easily rip a man in half and are powerful to the point that they've terrified every member of the supernatural in London. I can't wait to see where Oliver takes us with Marid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

Although a bit formulaic, a well written story with exciting artwork makes Danny Rand's introduction a successful one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Iron Fist (2017) #3

May 3, 2017

Iron Fist #3 is jam packed with action from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Low #16

Mar 9, 2017

The story is relatively short but manages to pack in plenty of action, violence and colorful language. The balance in the writing is beautifully put on display. I'm always impressed with Remender's ability to mix a deeper philosophical message of hope with giant sea monsters, pirates and gladiators. IO could mean a lot to the overall story–either way, it shows me that Remender's not even close to being out of original ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Low #17

Apr 19, 2017

With masterful artwork and a wonderfully executed setup, Low just keeps getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Low #18

May 17, 2017

I need to stop telling myself Rick Remender can't possibly one up himself with Low, because he just keeps proving me wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #12

Mar 15, 2017

Action-packed, beautifully drawn and well written, though the story arc is starting to feel like it's dragging a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #13

Apr 19, 2017

This is the Star Wars comic every fan should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #14

May 3, 2017

Charles Soule writes a beautiful tribute to a truly special person that countless people around the world loved, looked up to, and idolized.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Screaming Citadel #1

May 10, 2017

It's hard to call a first issueperfect but Kieron Gillen comes about as close to the line as you can get.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More