John Hagmann's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 54
7.7Avg. Review Rating

6.5
Batman '66 #24

Jul 23, 2015

1966 Batman purists will no doubt be concerned with expansion outside television canon. Expansion within the Batman '66 comic series, however, was inevitable. In three seasons, television's Batman only faced 33 villains. Expansion into Batman's rogues gallery is how Batman '66 can evolve " and that's a good thing. Digital readers know we will be seeing more rogues given the Batman '66 treatment soon. I believe this will enhance and enlarge interest in this series and thus keep the style and sensibilities of the 1960's Batman alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman '66 #26

Aug 28, 2015

Overall, Batman '66 #26 was surprisingly disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman '66 #27

Sep 24, 2015

Sadly, Batman '66 #27 starts the countdown to issue #30, recently announced to be the series' last. I will miss this lighthearted and nostalgic version of the Caped Crusader, with its fun gadgets and over-the-top writing style. Hopefully, for 1960s Batman fans and younger readers, future "one-shot" episodes (Man from U.N.C.L.E., etc) and special editions willcome along in time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman '66 #28

Oct 29, 2015

Much like the final season of the classic television series, this issue seems overly simplistic. No cliffhangers, few creative devices, and the villains fall far too quickly without placing our heroes in peril. The writing wains a bit due to its brevity. As Batman '66 moves toward its final curtain, the series feel like it's grasping " introducing new villains at the expense of telling great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 #29

Nov 19, 2015

Batman '66 says farewell in issue #30, so check back for our review next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman '66 #30

Dec 18, 2015

Batman '66 had its share of brilliant issues, along with some lackluster. However, it was always fun. Batman '66was a colorful series suitable for almost all ages. This issue is a wonderfully fitting end to a fun-filled series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #28

Jan 14, 2016

As a new Batman/Superman reader, this was an excellent first introduction to the title. Although it is a throwback story, set prior to the up-til-now Batman/Superman continuity, the compelling storytelling, known villains, surprising twists, a sweeping plot and grand settings lure this reader toward wanting more. The art is great in some spots and not-so-great in others. However, the good far outweighs the bad in Batman/Superman #28.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #29

Feb 10, 2016

Batman/Superman #29 shines in all the right places. Writing and plot, art and action all come together for one of the best comics I've read and reviewed in quite some time. This one is all-around awesome, and well worth the attention of DC readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #30

Mar 9, 2016

Batman/Superman #30 wraps the three-part story in brilliant fashion. Its twists and turns, beautifully rendered art, and depth of character development shine through. I, for one, cannot wait to see what the next arch brings for this dynamic title.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #31

Apr 16, 2016

Batman/Superman #31 is a good read that would have been enhanced if given a heads-up in the previous issue. I can only assume reading Part 1 would alleviate some of the plot gaps regular readers might experience. Having Superman deal with cancer is poignant on many levels. Most Americans can relate to courageous struggles malignant cells " either themselves or vicariously through someone the know and love. May this story bring hope!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #32

May 7, 2016

If one follows the "Final Days of Superman" cross-over, Part 5 may be incredibly important. To readers who follow the Batman/Superman title, it is difficult to follow. On its own, Batman/Superman #32 looks good, reads well, and contains incredible action. As part of the Batman/Superman continuity, it is incredibly difficult to read with any understanding

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #1

Jul 21, 2016

Justice League #1 was thoroughly enjoyable. As a first issue, it set the stage well for a large, sweeping narrative and a seemingly impossible-to-defeat enemy that requires an incredible response from the heroes in the League. While the proof of the quality of this story arch will be in upcoming issues, Justice League #1 is an attention-worthy launching point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #2

Aug 4, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue, and have a peaked interest in what Hitch and company comes up with next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #3

Aug 18, 2016

This reader was engrossed in the story of Justice League #3. I was left with an eager anticipation of subsequent issues and resolution to the story arch. Justice League #3 is a wonderful stand alone issue that I believe will have center-piece significance in an eventual collected volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #4

Sep 7, 2016

In Justice League #4, I found myself yearning for resolution; a glimpse of daylight in this currently dark, chaotic story. These past few issues have been a roller coaster ride " a good one at that! However, I am anxious to see some sort of "win" for the heroes. Still, there is much more Justice League ahead " and I cannot wait to see how this story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #5

Sep 21, 2016

“Extinction Machines” was an interesting story arch. Initially, I found myself disappointed itdidn't wrap the story lines in a nice, neat bow. On reflection, however, its grand scope and loose ends leads me to believe “Extinction Machines” sets up a larger narrative that will play out acrossthe pages of future issues of Justice League. Each character had a role to play and readers saw development in characters – Jessica Cruz, in particular. This was an epic story that kicked off the next era of Justice League extremely well. I am a fan of this creative combination of Bryan Hitch and Tony Daniels, and can't wait to see what tiesare woven from this story to the next in upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #6

Oct 5, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed "State of Fear," Part 1 and look forward to seeing the further impact of this mysterious foe on the team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

So, what happens when the people with the power to change worlds are governed by their fears?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #8

Nov 4, 2016

Justice League #8 gets a new storyline off to a good start. The cinematic panels and plot devices work well. What happens if the League isturned on itself? How will they fight off an unseen enemy? I look forward to seeing how the storyline moves and fits into Hitch's newly established continuity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #9

Nov 16, 2016

While I enjoyed this issue for what it was, the "Outbreak" story feels a bit slow. Thus far, it lacks the emotion and depth found so prevalently in“State of Fear.” I would love to see a more overtconnection with the previous arc. Justice League #9 is still an early entry into a new story, so we must remain patient and allow the story to develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #3

Aug 28, 2015

For me, this is the beauty of comic books " true works of art and literature that allow us to gain perspective. Faith, hope, and love are not relegated to the religious, but belong to humanity. And, this story arch continued in JLA #3 is giving us a chance to work out what it means to be truly human.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #4

Oct 14, 2015

Hitch continues to deliver crisp storytelling and vibrant art work with JLA. Readers are getting closer to discovering the truth behind Rao's sudden appearance on Earth, and the backstory to his alluded involvement in ancient Kryptonian affairs. My interest is peaked and I'm excited to see where this story leadsand how these beloved JLA characters continue to develop through this story arch over the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2015) #6

Dec 23, 2015

Perhaps in hindsight, this issue will help fill gaps and provide much needed context for the story arch to make sense? After a laterelease built anticipation, though, this issue felt lacking in stand alone substance " the kind that moves readers to have that "I can't wait for the next issue!" feeling. I'm still hopeful for a strong storyline for "Power & Glory," but will need at least another issue's worth of context and content to be sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2015) #7

Jan 29, 2016

JLA: Justice League of America #7 returns this story arch to excitement. The issue moves the story forward in major ways and connects the dots from previous issues. The payoff is worth the wait. JLA: Justice League of America #7 asks big, ethical questions that leave one thinking long after the pages are closed. In doing so, however, it provides satisfying answers to plot questions and moves our heroes toward saving the day. I am eagerly awaiting the next episode.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2015) #8

Mar 31, 2016

With beautiful art, compelling story, and intense action, JLA: Justice League of America #8 leaves little wanting. It's an amazing issue that brings the story to its zenith and raises the level of anticipation for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #9

Aug 31, 2016

It took some revisiting of past issues to reclaim the ground lost in the time between issues. However, the effort was worth it. This is an epic story arch, and I am happy to see it continuing despite attention shifting to other titles. There were a few surprises in this issue, ones I believe will prove to be integral to the ongoing story. In all, it's nice to have this story back and moving toward its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #1

Feb 23, 2017

Justice League of America #1 depicts a teamstruggling with well-founded trust issues, and lacking in skill, experience, and courage under fire. Whilethe team faces internal conflict, they are also up against formidable foes. This Justice League is not the traditional team-up we're used to; it's fraught with relational dynamics that make this a much more intriguing title. Justice League of America #1 was an enjoyable issue, and leaves readers with baited breath as this team and storyline develops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #2

Mar 8, 2017

While gaps still exist, Justice League of America #2 gives readers piecesof the backstory ofLord Havok and the Extremists. The threat level is high and the narrative is gaining significance and depth. Despite a change in artist, the issue is still beautiful. Although some of the panels are a bit too graphic for my taste, the action carries the story. The background of the Extremists is intriguingand leaves readers eager to fill the gaps in their story. However, their immediate, gracious reception by the people of Kravia leaves too muchunresolved. It remains to be seen how the Extremists' story will impact the new Justice League and its ongoing development as an eclectic team in an ever-changing world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2017) #3

Mar 29, 2017

Justice League of America #3 was truly enjoyable. The writing was solid and the art, exquisite. Lord Havok is portrayed as amore politically-minded villain. He threatens to wield his considerable power, but leverages it to gain political allies. Each Extremists is locked upwith their Justice League counterpart. Some fight valiantly; others seem swayed from Havok's ideology. The action and intrigue heat up as the story arch reaches its zenith. Dreamslayer is a very intriguing character I look forward to seeing again. The story is progressing well, but it remains to be seen which Extremists turns on Havok and how the League is being shaped by this initial encounter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 8, 2017

While the new team is odd, it provides a unique perspective on what it means to be a hero. The addition of Lobo and Killer Frost alongside rookies and veteran heroes alike affords Orlando plenty of fodder for intriguing narrative. The inclusion of unique characters in Justice League of America Rebirth #1 leaves readers imagining what tales, and troubles, this new team will encounter. After all, with friends like these…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Rebirth #1

Jul 8, 2016

Justice League: Rebirth #1 is a solid issue and a good starting point for this newly titled, ongoing series. As a longtime fan of the Justice League, I am excited about the future of this newly formed team. The addition of new heroes makes for interesting character dynamics moving forward. This bodes well for subsequent issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) Annual #2

Jul 1, 2016

I really enjoyed this issue. It's complete as a contained story within an issue. At the same time, it ties past issues together for a big reveal. The writing is good, the art is crisp. The issue seems to move forward or at least add flesh to current storylines. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #16

Jan 28, 2016

While Teen Titans #16 was a bit cumbersome for this newcomer, it was a fun issue with a solid start of a much bigger feeling story:

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #17

Feb 25, 2016

Teen Titans #17 is a good introduction of Pak's new direction. I suspect it will only get better from here with new twists and turns awaiting our heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #18

Mar 26, 2016

Teen Titans #18 does features a very beautiful variant cover by PhilJimenez and Romulo Fajardo, Jr.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #19

May 1, 2016

Nevertheless, Cassie Sandsmark is Wonder Girl…and a good one at that. I had high hopes for the “Who is Wonder Girl?” story, but was disappointed. Here's hoping we get more storiesthat play to the strengths of the Teen Titans as they mature as a team in the near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #20

May 26, 2016

Teen Titans has traditionally been a seminal title at DC. It has tackled youthful issues unique to its moniker – identity, coming of age, becoming more than just sidekicks, working on a team – with all the challenges those brings. I am hopeful the Rebirth narrative will moveTitans back toward the spotlight and give it something meaningful to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) #21

Jun 23, 2016

Overall, I thought Teen Titans #21 was an improvement over the last few. The story had some distinctive moments that made sense as they moved the team toward a potential new plot twist and direction. The art was solid and the allowed readers to move swiftly through the panels and pages. It left me intrigued to see where Red Robin's story will move next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #22

Jul 28, 2016

Teen Titans #22 is a pleasantly surprising issue. It fits squarely within the ongoing story arch, but could also be a fine stand alone issue. The premise of the team's development is a welcomed one. The Titans are beginning to come into their own as a team-using not just their powers, but their wits as well. Seeing Tanya's character tip-toeing into a new role and seeing the other Titans respond to her bodes well for future stories. The art was beautiful and the pacing was brisk.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #23

Aug 26, 2016

All told, Teen Titans #23 told a pretty solid, self-contained story. I enjoyed the issue and it moved the Titans arch forward into new territory, as they are no longer fugitives. The team continues to grow and develop, especially Tim's Red Robin. For me, Tim Drake is being positioned to assume larger responsibilities in the DCU, much like Dick Grayson's leadership of the Titans did for his character in yesteryear. This is a welcomed move, and I would love to see Tim get more recognition and storylines in other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #24

Sep 14, 2016

If readers felt Teen Titans #24 had the toneand gravitas offinality – they aren't wrong. Those dynamics teased in the final panels will have to play out in a different book, as #24 is the final issue of the Teen Titans (2016) title. This last issue is a fitting end for the team – with the potential for rebirth, but its future left in suspense. Power Girl's <klik> of the light switch was an appropriate and poignant panel that delicately captured the moment for this iteration of the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 28, 2016

Damian longs to emerge from the shadow of both the Bat and the Dragon. As he moves into adolescence, Damian faces the challenge of finding himself while carrying the incredible weight of expectation and legacy. I really enjoy Damian in this new role. He is a good fit with these Titans and I suspect readers will see himdevelopinto an importantcharacter moving forward. I found myself loving his exchanges of dialogue and his complete disregard for social etiquette. This iteration ofTeen Titans can go in numerous directions and I look forward to seeing which one the creative team takes. I enjoyed Teen Titans #1 and feel this title is off to a fast, fun start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #2

Nov 23, 2016

Through compelling stories and artistic style, Teen Titansis setting the stageto reclaim the itsimportant position in the DCU.The inclusion of major villains like Ra's and Talia lend credibility to this title and to the position of this team within the larger continuity. The result is agood mix of youthful characters andcoming-of-age tales, which can give Teen Titansjust the boost it needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #3

Dec 28, 2016

Teen Titans #3 is a solid book. It moves the story forward by examining the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #4

Jan 25, 2017

The story in Teen Titans #4 is straightforward and predictable. Still, seeing the new Teen Titans come together was entertaining. The short-lived matchbetween Damian and Mara over a lava pit was equally fun. Teen Titans continues to explore the intricacies and development of a young Damian Wayne. I am interested to see how his character growsas a result of this narrative arch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Feb 24, 2017

Teen Titans #5 moves the narrative along an unexpected trajectory. The team is drawn closer together through its vulnerability. The Titans' becoming a unit has tremendous impact on its ability to defend, but also exemplifies what life with powers might be for its adversaries. This is a unique and unexpected angle to the story, and lends itself to ongoing intrigue. The appearance of a major character enhances its depth and the tease of an additional member in upcoming issues is tantalizing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

The first issue sets up a new Teen Titans series well. It establishes characters and gives foundations and insight into stories to come. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this issue and can't wait to see where this creative team takes the story next. My first exposure to Ben Percy and Jonboy Meyers certainly did not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

Perhaps our heroes will come to learn despitetheir distinctions, they share the same substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 19, 2016

Next up is: “Murder in Gotham,” which leads me to believe each character will be led through a version of their past to explore their identity and, perhaps, to gain some sense of closure? If my hunch is correct, I would welcome this storyline and look forward to where Francis Manapul takes these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Trinity (2016) #3

Nov 16, 2016

Trinity #3 continues to impress. It is incredibly beautiful withan insightful story. Seeing these quintessential heroes explore their psyche under the influence of a powerful villainess is truly compelling. I am blown away by this storyline and title right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #4

Dec 21, 2016

In conclusion, Trinity #4 is a solid issue. It moves the story forward, reveals the primary villain, and creates intrigue for subsequent issues. The art is pleasing to the eye and the narrative is fair. Trinity has been an incredibly stunning title thus far. As a result,Trinity #4was likely held to an unfairly high standard. In comparison, for this reader, it was a step down from the previous issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #5

Jan 19, 2017

Trinity #5 was an enjoyable encounter with a uniquely sympathetic and humanized villain, Poison Ivy. The issue is absolutely stunning and smoothly paced. However, the trajectory of the story veers sharply.The true nature of Mongul's plot and the roles Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman will play in them remain unseen. The addition of a new character added emotion, but raised more questions than answers. Still, Francis Manapul is a trustworthy creator/artist. I suspect the story will progress seamlessly in subsequent issues, but this onefelt disjointed from the others. Despite lingering questions and seemingly new direction of the arch, the beauty of Trinity #5 earns it high praise.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #6

Feb 15, 2017

Trinity #6 tidily wraps Manapul's “Better Together” narrative in a neat bow. The issue is solid on its own, but falls short of the high standards established by previous issues. Yet, as “Better Together” ends it leaves plenty of new beginnings for future Trinity stories. This new title is impressive, and I anticipate more intrigue and success in its bright future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #7

Mar 15, 2017

Surprisingly, in Trinity #7 the titular heroesare all but missing. Outside of one-panel memories, only villains appear in this issue. However, Bunn uses these three villains to write the beginnings of one compelling drama. I found myself incredibly impressed with the substance and feel of Trinity #7. I enjoyed this issue way more than I thought I would. Consequently, Trinity #7 is a terrific start to a new narrativearch.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More