Jonathan Edwards's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 57
6.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #12

Feb 1, 2017

I feel like this review is a bit more sparse than usual, but this is a pretty cut and dry conclusion. Not that that's a bad thing. When I was in the middle issues of A&A, I wasn't liking it quite as much, and I considered dropping the book. However, issue #12 makes me glad that I didn't. At the very least, it told a solid story with some nuance and subplots that do all come together in the end. And, that's something that's not as common as it should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 15, 2017

Batwoman is a series I was excited for, wanted to like, and thought I would, yet this first installment fell short. I'll probably at least give it a few more issues and hope it improves, but unless you're an avid fan of the character, or want to read everything that relates to the current Detective Comics run, this is a title you can probably get away with skipping.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cannibal #5

May 10, 2017

I'm so excited Cannibal is back, and I can't wait for issue #6. I will say, unlike some other books that take breaks for a couple months, I don't necessarily think this is a great jumping on point. If you're still interested, I'd recommend checking out the trade that came out back in March. As far as I'm concerned, it's totally worth checking out, even if you don't end up digging the book. But if you've read and liked the previous issues, I'm going to say you definitely should pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #8

Mar 31, 2017

This series wasn't good, still isn't good, and it won't ever be good. I'm certain the last issue will do nothing to change that. If, for some reason, you like all the nothing that's been done so far, or if you're reading for the morbid curiosity of it (like me) I guess picks this up. Otherwise, you can, and should, steer clear of this one. I can't wait to see the conclusion that won't actually be a conclusion and only lead into more of Miller's mad ramblings.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #9

Jun 7, 2017

In conclusion, not just to this review but also the series, is the eponymous "master race" supposed to be referring to the Kandorians? That would be my first guess, but I'm never sure when Miller's involved. Furthermore, I could be wrong, but the Kandorians actions really just don't seem equivalent enough to warrant such a loaded comparison. Mostly, it's just "let us rule the world or else." Then again, it could always just be tasteless shock value attempting to hook readers. And truthfully, they were probably successful in that regard. DK3 is not a series I think is ultimately worth reading, but at least it doesn't end on a mean-spirited and awful note. Instead, it's much more of a "meh, alright I guess."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkness Visible #2

Mar 15, 2017

I think it's safe to say that Darkness Visible has me hooked. Maybe not for the long run, but for a few more issues at least. There's a lot of potential here as long as the writing doesn't get sloppy. If you picked up the first issue and liked it, you'll definitely want to grab this one too. If you're looking for something completely different, this probably isn't the book for you. But, for a solid read complete with some contemporary fantasy world building, I think this is worth checking out. Plus, I can't think of any reason you'd really have to have read the previous installment to get the full enjoyment of this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Darkness Visible #3

Apr 5, 2017

In the end, Darkness Visible #3 is a pretty enjoyable issue. Although, that doesn't stop it from coming out of left field. Really, it makes me want a different series set in the same world where we can actually see all of the Shaitan's contributions to the war effort. But, it also doesn't prevent me from wanting to see where Daniel Aston's story goes. Hopefully, they keep it on course from here on out and not make anymore needless departures.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dept. H #9

Dec 21, 2016

There's not too much more to say about this issue. In terms of art, it's pretty much par for the aforementioned course. There are some really nice panel layouts to be seen, with a great juxtaposition between color (particularly multicolor in some areas) and gray scale throughout. In conclusion, if you've been digging the series so far, I think you'll like this one. If you haven't, I doubt it'll change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Helena Crash #1

Mar 22, 2017

For me, Helena Crash ends up falling in the niche of entertaining, face-paced, and streamlined enough that I do want to read more, so I know I'll be coming back for at least one more issue. If you're looking for something to get a bit of a kick out of without having to think too hard, and/or if you get a least a little chuckle out of the idea of illegal coffee, I'd say this is probably worth taking a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Helena Crash #2

Apr 14, 2017

Helena Crash thankfully seems to be moving in the right direction. Definitely grab this if you dug the first issue. In fact, I'd say it's still worth checking out even if, like me, it didn't quite pull you in. I'm excited to see what they do with issue #3. But if I'm not hooked after that, I might not come back for #4.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Helena Crash #3

May 3, 2017

Y'know, it's funny. I always end up feeling like my reviews for Helena Crash are on the light and simple side. But then I remember, that's kind of what the book itself is. It's a fun, engaging little romp that doesn't make you think to hard but is also far from brainless. Helena Crash knows what it is, wants you to know what it is, and wants you to enjoy it for what it is. Personally, I do, and if you haven't already, I think it's worth checking out to see if you do too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Helena Crash #4

Jun 14, 2017

Perhaps some will look at the very end of Helena Crash and say it's some kind of cop out, but I'm inclined to disagree. Without spoiling those final moments, I will say that it is still does fully result from Helena's actions. There just happened to be an added bonus she didn't consider at the time. And, I think there's some poetry in that. Before, Helena refused to take sides in order to maintain her comfort and get by, but by going against both Rojo and White Demon for the sake of saving Hemingway, she ended up on top. I have to say, that might be the perfect ending for Helena, and that's why I'm not sure I want a sequel. If you haven't checked out any of Helena Crash, I suggest you give it a shot. The trade paperback will be out in a few months, and at this point, reading all four issues back to back is probably the way to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Justice League/Power Rangers is an all-around mediocre but inoffensive read. I don't think I ever cared enough about what was going on to get angry at it. The only people I'd recommend this too are the diehard Power Rangers fans. And even then, I'd suggest maybe waiting for the trade. Because, I don't think there's enough going on here to justify waiting a month to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #2

Feb 8, 2017

One last gripe. Zedd manages to get some "monsters" to "make grow", but they didn't even come up with more than one design. So, when he sends multiple of them out to attack, we just get the same generic octopus monster repeatedly. That is so boring and disappointing, especially considering that the various Power Rangers series have tended to provide numerous monsters with specific and unique designs. So yeah, you don't need to read this book. And if you want to anyway, seriously, just wait for the trade. It's clearly written for that, and, once again, there's just not enough here to bother waiting a month in-between installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 8, 2017

The single best thing about this issue is the idea Billy (the Blue Ranger) comes up with for how to get back to the Rangers' universe, and it's not because the idea makes any sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

May 17, 2017

Having got past the Hadron Collider shit, this issue actually wasn't as bad as the last one. However, I still hesitate to call it anything more than mediocre. Equipping the Rangers with semi-iconic accoutrements of DC characters is an aggrandizing gimmick that really feels a bit insulting given how little they've collectively done thus far to earn it. Furthermore, it's absurd that no one in the Justice League would voice any concerns over Cyborg plugging directly into Braniac's machinery. It's fine if he does it because the situation requires him to, despite how dangerous it is. But when that danger isn't even acknowledged in the first place, my only reaction to that plan backfiring is "well, what did you think was going to happen?"

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #1

Feb 22, 2017

In conclusion, I have a question. What the hell, Steve Orlando? Was there some standing order at DC demanding that, because Bryan Hitch's Justice League and Justice League/Power Rangers both sucked, this had to suck too? Otherwise, this is a dropped ball if I've ever seen one. I don't even know who to recommend this too. It's not like it's sinfully bad, and I'm sure someone out there would get some sort of enjoyment out of it. I just don't know who.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #2

Mar 8, 2017

Thanks to some really specific plot convenience, Lord Havok gains control of an entire country, and any aggression toward The Extremists can now be considered an act of war. This is another potentially interesting direction for the story, but I'm honestly not convinced it'll pay off any better than the book's other squandered opportunities.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #3

Apr 3, 2017

If I didn't know any better, I'd say Steve Orlando literally doesn't understand Batman at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

And with that, the first storyline of Steve Orlando's Justice League of America comes to a close. Don't buy it. Not now, and not after the trade comes out. More so than the money, it's just not worth the money. The only reason I'm not scoring it lower is because the art is legitimately good, and it always has been. As for me, this might be where I call it quits with reviewing JLA. It's really been a journey, starting with so much hope then ending up here. Of course, it all depends on what happens next issue. If things manage to get even worse (or somehow get substantially better) you better believe I'll be back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 26, 2017

This is easily the weakest issue of JLA to date, and the more this series falls apart, the easier it ends up being to write extensively about it. It should go without saying that I still don't recommend this to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 10, 2017

I've asked a lot of questions in this review, and just about all of those were rhetorical. The reality is that they're not just nitpicks or me not letting my suspension of disbelief kick in. It's stuff that kept popping in my head while I was reading, as well as follow up questions that cropped up when I stopped to think about those initial ones. They are things so glaring that the reading experience becomes completely unenjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

The execution remains as rife with flaws as ever, but at least Orlando displayed some ideas that could have worked this time around.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Justice League of America (2017) #8

Jun 15, 2017

This issue feels like a whole new low in the perpetual suck that is this series. On top of characters being dumb, inconsistent, and poorly written, loads of development happening offpanel, a shitton of sloppy exposition telling us about said development, as well as an entirely artificial and manufactured conflict regarding the "hypocrisy" of Batman, Justice League of America #8 has the most convoluted train wreck of a story to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 25, 2017

And with that, all that's left is to wait for the main attraction, Justice League of America: Rebirth #1, to be released in a couple of weeks. Really, this has been a whole month of setup, and I'm looking forward to see where all of that will lead. Despite its difference from them, I still think you should check this out if you've been enjoying the other JSA one-shots. Additionally, if you've been following Justice League Vs. Suicide Squad, I'd recommend grabbing this as well. Because, it's really does feel like an epilogue of sorts to the whole event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 8, 2017

This book is really the fifth and final JLA prologue one-shot, and with the team having been successfully formed by the end of this issue, I'm hoping Orlando will start delving into some more substantial storytelling with the new Justice League of America ongoing series coming out at the end of the month. I'm definitely going to be checking that one out, even if I don't end up reviewing it. But frankly, I don't think this book will convince anyone to pick up that one. It's pretty much the same deal as all of the JLA one-shots have been (save for maybe Killer Frost). Pick it up if you're already interested and want some supplementary material.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Atom Rebirth #1

Jan 4, 2017

To be frank, I don't know if Orlando's Justice League of America will be any good. However, I liked this book, and I fully intend to check out Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1 next week, and probably at least The Ray after that. If you're into DC and/or what they're doing with Rebirth, I think this'll be up you're alley. If not, I still think it's worth picking up. And if you dig it, there's more to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 18, 2017

I'll be honest, I'm sold on Orlando's JLA one-shots. Are they the type of comic that'll change your life? No, I don't think so. However, the way in which they've been rooted so firmly in their title characters is something I respect. It'll be interesting to see if Orlando applies that same idea to the main book. And if he does, how will he adapt it to fit a team of seven? At this point, I really do see these less as one-shots and more as a series, so I think my previous recommendations stand for all of them now. Should you pick it up? If you're a fan of DC or the characters, go for it, especially if you intended to read Justice League of America.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1

Jan 11, 2017

Score 4/5Writers: Jody Houser, Steve OrlandoArtist: Jamal CampbellPublisher: DC Comics

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Klaus & The Witch Of Winter (One Shot) #1

Dec 21, 2016

If you were a fan of Klaus, then I think this is worth picking up. It still earnestly believes in the goodness of Santa and Klaus himself for doing everything he does simply to help people. If you didn't read the original but are interested, you might test the waters with this one. And if you dig it, Boom! Studios released a hardcover collection of the full limited series last month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mighty Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 5, 2017

This was by no means nothing special. But, I did very much enjoy reading it. I don't know if someone actively following Larsen's books would. Then again, if this matches what he usually does with his work, they'd probably love it. If you've never read any of Larsen's work, maybe check this out. Even if it's not spectacular or life changing, something still might click. I for one know I'm more open to checking out more of his work in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers Annual #2017

May 31, 2017

I'm glad I decided to check this annual out. Like I said, I don't think I'll be picking up the main book, but that was never my reason for reading this one. I wanted to see what BOOM! had to offer in terms of good Power Rangers books, and boy do they have their fair share of quality offerings. If you have any interest at all in the Power Rangers, or just kind of superhero stuff in general, I'd recommend checking this one out. Those who haven't been reading prior might not dig the first story as much. But then again, it could very well make someone want to go back and pick up Mighty Morphin Power Rangers from issue #1 (or I think maybe there was a zero issue before that?). Either way, the remaining stories stand well enough on their own to make it an overall worthwhile read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mighty Mouse #1

Jun 7, 2017

For a book with an Alex Ross cover, Mighty Mouse #1 is surprisingly average. It's execution is overtly straightforward, and it does little to actually get you invested in the story or characters. But, what's really discouraging is that there doesn't appear to be much of an attempt to use or reinvent the character in any meaningful way. You could swap in any cartoon hero, and it wouldn't change a thing. It's fully possible the plot will pick up in the next one, and as it stands, it's not really bad. But for now, I'm finding it hard to recommend to anyone except, I guess, any of the Mighty Mouse super fans (like Joey) that probably do exist.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #2

Feb 15, 2017

At the end of the day, this book leaves me with more questions than answers. Why can the Amazons and Vikings immediately communicate with one another when they should be speaking totally different languages? Why do these Amazons get to return to Themyscira when, as I understood it, those who left were not supposed to be able to find their way back? At what point in history is this story m0eant to take place (because, I can't shake the feeling that there's some anachronism going on)? I don't really care about any of the characters or what's going on, so there's not much of a reason for me to keep reading. Maybe check this out if you're super into anything fantasy. For everyone else, you can probably pass, and Wonder Woman fans ought to look elsewhere for more interesting and in depth looks into her mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 1, 2017

Do not pick up this book. Don't even wait for the trade. It's a soulless cash-in, and I'm not sure if I'm more upset at BOOM!, DC, or both of them for it. The whole thing amounts to little more than the half-baked result of smashing together surface elements from two preexisting stories and forgetting to add any kind of substance. Y'know, I can tend to give books I didn't quite care for a second, even third, issue to redeem themselves. Not this time. I don't care.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #1

Apr 19, 2017

Plastic #1 is a strong and intriguing start, providing nuance to what could easily be pure exploitation. It feels like some punches are being pulled for the sake of easing us in, but it also serves to titillate with the question of just how hard they're going to nail us later. This book is, of course, not for everyone. But, if you can stomach the likes of Nailbiter and the similarly dark and gruesome, I highly recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #2

May 24, 2017

I'll be honest. Though I did really like the first issue, I was slightly anxious of Plastic potentially taking a sudden turn into inferior territory with this one. But, it absolutely didn't. I am so fucking sold on this series, and I will read all five God damn issues. It's still very true that this book isn't for everyone given the gore, dark tone, and subject matter. However, I do recommend this. If you haven't read the first issue, I'd urge you to find it and pick it up first, or, if necessary, wait for the trade. Because, you either want to miss all of this one or absolutely none of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Plastic #3

Jun 21, 2017

I know I've said it before, but I personally feel that the aforementioned depiction of sexual assault calls for one more reiteration. As much as I love this book for the unique worldview it presents, I recognize that it's really not for everyone. And, to anyone trepidatious to read due to the graphic content, honestly, you probably shouldn't. Look out for yourself first. But for everyone else, read this fucking book. I don't care if you wait for the trade in a few months, just give it a shot. Because, you're going to be hard-pressed to find another book that does the stuff Plastic does in the way that it does it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #1

Mar 1, 2017

If it isn't already obvious, let me be frank. I'm on board with this series, and it would take some substantial missteps to change my mind. As far as recommendations go, I'd say this is just worth checking out. I'm sure there'll be people who don't dig it, but this is shaping up to be a substantial story that I think you'd be remiss to not at least give a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #2

Apr 19, 2017

I was already on board with this series from the get go, but this issue reconvinced me to be on board. If you're reading this book, my recommendation is too keep reading, and if you're not, start. At least give it an issue and your honest effort. Hell, you could probably get away with starting here if you don't want to hunt down the first one. I was originally inclined to take my own bias toward Royal City with a grain a salt when scoring this issue, but the Patrick and Greta stuff is what really pushes it past the threshold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #3

May 17, 2017

I really don't have much else to say. This book is really good, and I'd thoroughly encourage anyone who hasn't checked it out to promptly do so. At this point, you might need to pick up some back issues to get the full experience or wait a few additional months and pick up the trade. Well, that or you could do what I'm going to probably end up doing and just buy all of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #4

Jun 21, 2017

If you're not reading Royal City but want to, I'm going to suggest you wait for either the first trade paperback or the first issue of the second arc (which will be issue #6) to jump on. For now, there's only one left to go, and from Image's description that "the secrets of the Pike family are finally exposed," I have a feeling that this issue might've just been the calm before the storm. And, that storm is going to be a strange and surreal one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
She Wolf #5

Jan 25, 2017

Honestly, I'll probably still at least check out the next issue, if not review it. I'm somewhat curious to see where Tommaso takes the different direction and themes of Lizzie's story. That being said, it's hard for me to really recommend She Wolf #5. If you're someone who's been reading and enjoying it despite the generally lukewarm critical reception, or maybe if the art really grabs you, I guess pick it up. But if neither of those are the case, there's probably nothing here for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
She Wolf #6

Feb 22, 2017

While I did like this issue better than the last, I can't imagine how lost someone who hadn't been reading since the beginning would be if they picked this up. I don't even think I can really recommend this on the merit of the art alone. So, if you've been reading, this is probably one of the better issues and worth grabbing yourself. I think this is going to be my last review for this series. I'll probably keep reading, but unless something super crazy happens that recontextualizes everything, I really don't know what else I can say about this book that I haven't already.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Jan 4, 2017

I could see how the end of the issue might hook someone, but for me it honestly fell a bit flat. I couldn't help but feel like not quite as much happened as I would've like, and I don't think I liked the characters quite as much as I'm sure they would've liked. I get why Kara is characterized the way she is, but I can't say it makes her all that interesting to follow. Despite that, will I read the second issue? Sure. It's a slow start, but it feels like it can go somewhere interesting. Would I recommend picking it up? Only if the premise sounds particularly interesting. Otherwise, maybe hold off on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #2

Feb 22, 2017

Unless you're particularly opposed to Supergirl or DC, I think this issue is worth checking out, even if you didn't read the first one. Obviously, you'd have to infer some context, but I can't think of anything really integral that'd be missed by jumping on here. And if you read and liked issue #1, you definitely need to pick this one up. As for me, I'm invested. So barring any huge missteps in issue #3, I want to see how this series pans out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #3

May 4, 2017

There's one issue left, and I cannot wait to read it. Every issue has gotten substantially better than the last, and I have a feeling there's going to be at least one big fight before this book calls it quits. If you haven't been keeping up with Supergirl: Being Super I'd definitely recommend giving it a shot, whether that means picking up back issues or grabbing the trade when it comes out. I'll probably be doing that myself, as I, stupidly, decided against buying actual physical copies for myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #4

Jun 28, 2017

At the end of the day, Supergirl: Being Super has enough slice of life charm, as well as thoughtful maturity in its handling of more serious subject matters, to be a pretty good read. Does it do as much for Supergirl as something like Superman: Birthright did for Superman? Not quite. But to be fair, that latter series was three times longer than this one. If you've been reading along, I hope you enjoy this ending at least as much as I did. And if you haven't gotten the chance to check this book out yet, I'd recommend giving the whole thing a shot when it comes to trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari #1

Feb 15, 2017

No, you don't need to buy this. I recommend this to no one. Not because it's bad per se. It's just goddamn pointless. At first I thought I might recommend it to anyone who super loved the film or any horror enthusiasts who were particularly interested in the early twentieth century. But then, I realized they would probably just be insulted by it. If you'd never heard of Caligari and the story itself interests you, just go watch the film. It's in the public domain, so the whole thing, color tinting fully restored, is available to watch for free on YouTube.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Few #1

Jan 18, 2017

Overall, The Few #1 was good, but it wasn't really hooking me. That is, until I got to the last page. I'd still hesitate to use the word "hook", but when I read that, it changed my entire expectation for the direction of the story. I don't want to overhype it, but I'm definitely going to check out issue two because of it. If you're into post-apocalyptic stuff, you'll probably get a solid kick out of this. If, like me, you're not really, I'd say you could check it out if you want, but you really don't have to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Few #2

Feb 22, 2017

If you liked what all Lewis started in the first issue, I'm sure you'll like where he take it with this one. If you haven't been reading but are into the post-apocalyptic scene, this is probably worth taking a look. Really, I think this is one of those issues that serve as a nice barometer for the book as a whole. If you're not really digging the series by the end, it's probably safe to say you don't need to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Once And Future Queen #1

Mar 1, 2017

There's also a, perhaps unintentionally, Shrek reference, and that was weird. There're other little things I could harp on throughout, but at the end of the day, my impression of this book is more indifference than irritation. At the very least, it seems like everything, even the stuff I don't think quite works, is coming from the right place. Plus, I feel like there are definitely people who would pick this up and really dig it. If you're someone who's really into Arthurian Legend, I doubt this will really challenge you. But, if you're grandly unfamiliar and interested in seeing more equal representation in comics, this might be worth taking a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Once And Future Queen #2

Apr 12, 2017

I presume we're going to be seeing the Lady of the Lake at some point soon. Really, if she doesn't appear than something is wrong. I'm also not too keen on the apparent downgrade of Morgan le Fay to a more subordinate role. It also rings odd to me that, if Morgan Pari is meant to be connected to the Fae (spoiler: she is, but that should be more than obvious), that she would write books where she portrays the Fae as "Dark Faeries." Rani makes the comparison in the first narration box of the issue, specifically using the term "extra-nasty." And, that would imply that the Dark Faeries are already nasty in the context of Pari's book. But, why would she demonize her own people? Is that meant to be foreshadowing for her being some sort of double agent? If it is, I'm going to be mad.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

At the end of the day, this book is going to do little more than reinforce how you feel about the series. If you've been into it so far, you'll probably dig this one. If you dropped it, I don't think this is going to make you pick it back up. And if you never started but are interested, maybe skip this one. Either grab the first trade, find a copy of Trinity #9 from a couple weeks ago, or wait until the start of the next story arc instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Underwinter #1

Mar 22, 2017

Yes, unless you are specifically opposed to moody sensuality in your horror (or musicians), I'd say this one is worth picking up for yourself. There's the earlier presumed "demon shenanigans" to uncover in their full extant and character who feel like they've got a little more going on with them than it might appear. And once again, even if you don't end up digging Ray Fawkes for his writing, you'll still be getting the visual spectacle that is his art.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Underwinter #2

May 1, 2017

I'll be honest, this issue did have me rethink the book a bit. If you read the last one and didn't quite care for it, you probably don't need to keep reading. If you did like it, you can probably go ahead and pick this one up. Although, I would keep in mind that Fawkes's writing is perhaps preferencing the trade over monthly reading, but issue #3 could prove me wrong. But for what's it's worth, Underwinter #2 didn't kill for me, and I will be back for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Winnebago Graveyard #1

May 22, 2017

In the end, it's hard for me to call this book bad. I don't know if I'll come back for the next one, but I could easily someone enjoying it. As for recommending it, if you're a really big Steve Niles fan and/or the premise sounds particularly intriguing to you, I'd say maybe pick it up. Otherwise, I'd maybe look elsewhere to satisfy your horror fix.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More