Jonathan Edwards's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 8
6.8Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Dept. H #9

Dec 21, 2016

There's not too much more to say about this issue. In terms of art, it's pretty much par for the aforementioned course. There are some really nice panel layouts to be seen, with a great juxtaposition between color (particularly multicolor in some areas) and gray scale throughout. In conclusion, if you've been digging the series so far, I think you'll like this one. If you haven't, I doubt it'll change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Justice League/Power Rangers is an all-around mediocre but inoffensive read. I don't think I ever cared enough about what was going on to get angry at it. The only people I'd recommend this too are the diehard Power Rangers fans. And even then, I'd suggest maybe waiting for the trade. Because, I don't think there's enough going on here to justify waiting a month to find out what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Atom Rebirth #1

Jan 4, 2017

To be frank, I don't know if Orlando's Justice League of America will be any good. However, I liked this book, and I fully intend to check out Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1 next week, and probably at least The Ray after that. If you're into DC and/or what they're doing with Rebirth, I think this'll be up you're alley. If not, I still think it's worth picking up. And if you dig it, there's more to look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 18, 2017

I'll be honest, I'm sold on Orlando's JLA one-shots. Are they the type of comic that'll change your life? No, I don't think so. However, the way in which they've been rooted so firmly in their title characters is something I respect. It'll be interesting to see if Orlando applies that same idea to the main book. And if he does, how will he adapt it to fit a team of seven? At this point, I really do see these less as one-shots and more as a series, so I think my previous recommendations stand for all of them now. Should you pick it up? If you're a fan of DC or the characters, go for it, especially if you intended to read Justice League of America.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: Vixen Rebirth #1

Jan 11, 2017

Score 4/5Writers: Jody Houser, Steve OrlandoArtist: Jamal CampbellPublisher: DC Comics

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Klaus & The Witch Of Winter (One Shot) #1

Dec 21, 2016

If you were a fan of Klaus, then I think this is worth picking up. It still earnestly believes in the goodness of Santa and Klaus himself for doing everything he does simply to help people. If you didn't read the original but are interested, you might test the waters with this one. And if you dig it, Boom! Studios released a hardcover collection of the full limited series last month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Jan 4, 2017

I could see how the end of the issue might hook someone, but for me it honestly fell a bit flat. I couldn't help but feel like not quite as much happened as I would've like, and I don't think I liked the characters quite as much as I'm sure they would've liked. I get why Kara is characterized the way she is, but I can't say it makes her all that interesting to follow. Despite that, will I read the second issue? Sure. It's a slow start, but it feels like it can go somewhere interesting. Would I recommend picking it up? Only if the premise sounds particularly interesting. Otherwise, maybe hold off on this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Few #1

Jan 18, 2017

Overall, The Few #1 was good, but it wasn't really hooking me. That is, until I got to the last page. I'd still hesitate to use the word "hook", but when I read that, it changed my entire expectation for the direction of the story. I don't want to overhype it, but I'm definitely going to check out issue two because of it. If you're into post-apocalyptic stuff, you'll probably get a solid kick out of this. If, like me, you're not really, I'd say you could check it out if you want, but you really don't have to.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More