Joshua Davison's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Bleeding Cool Reviews: 33
7.2Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Aquaman (2016) #24

Jun 10, 2017

But really, why is an ancient Atlantean weapon named after a Biblical reference?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther & the Crew #3

Jun 18, 2017

Anyway, everyone should be reading Black Panther & The Crew. If you havent been on board since the beginning, I cant blame you for wanting to wait for the trade, since the hangman has already called for this series. That being said, with a brilliant script, a smart story, and great art, I cant help but recommend this book. It tells an important story and centers on a great cast of characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther (2016) #14

May 29, 2017

Panther manages to firmly hold my interest through this new installment, and I can't wait to see it continued next month. If you're not on board the Ta-Nehisi Coates"Black Panther train, then now is a good time as any. Give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #9

May 31, 2017

Its a wild comic, and it might be a little confusing at first if you, like myself, hadnt read any of the recent issues. However, you will likely get a kick out of it if youre looking for a weird and action-packed ride. Give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Cable (2017) #1

Jun 6, 2017

Cable #1 showed some promise and fun in its first few pages, but it falls apart in the second half with confusing fight sequences and an ending that is just tiresome. Give this one a hard pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America: Sam Wilson #22

Jun 3, 2017

This is a decent comic. It's not among the best of the series, but it is functional and provides a character-driven, if depressing, read. Pick it up if you've been following the series, are a fan of Sam Wilson, or just want a peek into the everyday world of the Secret Empire.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Champions #9

Jun 11, 2017

Champions remains a delightfully consistent Marvel title. Champions #9is easily recommendable and makes for a good one-off story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Conan: The Slayer #9

Jun 4, 2017

That being said, Conan the Slayer provides largely compelling reading. The main character is fun, the art is gorgeous, and the mystery of the city is interesting for the most part. If barbarians, swords, and sorcery are your thing, check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Daredevil (2015) #21

Jun 11, 2017

Daredevil is still a Marvel staple that has helped maintain hold together its stable of titles. Charles Soule and Goran Sudzuka are a good team, and hopefully the hits will keep on coming. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 17, 2017

As previously stated, I am very aware that this book has already received a lot of praise from a lot of people. I take no umbrage with that. However, reading it, for me personally, was an arduous and frustrating task. It didn't work on any level, and it left me beyond unsatisfied and with no initiative to dive deeper into its perfunctory mystery. I cannot do anything but recommend passing on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Defenders (2017) #1

Jun 6, 2017

The action is non-stop but paced well. The characters are lovable, and the art is fantastic. Pick this one up when it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #21

Jun 3, 2017

It was a weird, funny, and action-packed tale. It shows a lot of promise for the future of Stephen Strange, and it is definitely recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #24

Jun 10, 2017

This is not a comic that is particularly kind to its political opposition. If you can look past that, it is a quality book. This one comes recommended in spite of its caveats.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #24

Jun 11, 2017

As stated above, Green Lanterns is one of DCs best comics on the shelves at the moment, and Green Lanterns #24 continues the series hot streak. Give it a read. You wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Fist (2017) #4

Jun 11, 2017

Get this book. It is a great series that knows exactly what it wants to do and accomplishes it, concern for the future of the series aside. It is a martial arts epic, and you should definitely give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Luke Cage (2017) #1

May 28, 2017

Weird lettering complaints and continuity questions aside, Ilovedthis book. It was a fun read, and I cant wait to see what adventures lie ahead of Luke Cage in this series. Pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Luke Cage (2017) #2

Jun 24, 2017

It truly pains me to be this hard on a Cage comic, especially on one that I cant say is unequivocally bad. However, with a slow pace and less focus on character, this issue is not the follow-up that #1 deserved. I still recommend Luke Cage #2, because this series is showing the potential to be truly great, but this particular issue will probably be considered the weak point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Occupy Avengers #7

Jun 3, 2017

This is a great addition to a great series. It's almost advisable to simply wait for the trade paperback collection at this point, but if you can't wait, it's out on shelves now. It also has a fighting robot van in it, which is van-tastic. Occupy Avengers is definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #1

Jun 23, 2017

Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #1 is easily a recommendable book. Its a lot of fun. It feels like a back-to-basics Spider-Man story, and it manages to fit a lot of story into its pages. Give it a try if youre interested in a good Spider-Man book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Royals #4

Jun 23, 2017

This issue was fairly good. It wasnt great, but it had enjoyable moments. The pacing was askew, and the art gets a bit distracting. But if you have a great love of the Inhuman Royal Family, Ronan the Accuser, or the Marvel cosmic story, you'll have a great time. However, for anyone else, you might want to give it a pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #2

May 28, 2017

That being said, the Cube and this Steve may still play a role in overthrowing the Empire and not fixing the evil Steve Rogers problem itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire: Underground #1

Jun 22, 2017

Secret Empire: Underground #1 was a very charming adventure comic. The protagonists are likable, the action is cool, and the story manages to conclude itself in this single issue, meaning you dont even really need to read Secret Empire to understand everything that is going on. I can recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fun time with a team of underused Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Secret Empire: Uprising #1

Jun 2, 2017

There was a lot of potential with this book. It could have been something heartfelt and great, but it only flounders and relies on winking, sarcastic humor to badly characterize a story where it is not appropriate. Give this a hard pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #31

May 31, 2017

Star Wars #31and its series are easily recommendable. Its been consistently great since the beginning, and shows no sign of stopping here. Despite the pacing problems in this particular issue, this book remains one of Marvels best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #7

Jun 5, 2017

This is a great continuation to the Screaming Citadel story arc, and it is recommendable to any Star Wars fan and comic book reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Mighty Captain Marvel #5

May 30, 2017

It's still a pleasant read, even if it won't necessarily blow your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans (2016) #12

Jun 17, 2017

This isnt a bad issue to pick up if youre just hopping on Titans, and its not a bad overall issue. However, it is the weakest of this series by far. Give it a read if you love these characters or want to try out this book, but hopefully the next issue will be back to its high standard of quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates 2 (2016) #8

Jun 23, 2017

Regardless, this is a another great chapter to a really cool story. I have been engrossed in this series from the get-go, and its never been in danger of losing my interest. I recommend this to anyone. Its a fantastic comic, and one of Marvels absolute best books on the market right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #24

Jun 18, 2017

Is Uncanny Avengersgreat? No, not really. Is it a serviceably fun time if you like these characters? Yes. Id say give it a try if you have an interest in this book, but it will likely be more worth your money when Secret Empire ends and we get to see what Jim Zub will be doing with the future of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unholy Grail #1

Jun 5, 2017

Unholy Grail is a fantastic tale, and is quite worthy of your time and money. Look out for this one when it comes out; it is quite a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Weapon X (2017) #4

Jun 19, 2017

I dont like tearing into this thing. I love the writer. I love the cast. Even the premise is kind of cool. However, none of these things coalesce into a good read. X-Men: Gold, X-Men: Blue, and All-New Wolverine all provide far better X-centric reads (thats a pun, by the way. Youre welcome). Iceman is actually pretty damn good; go read that instead. And hopefully Astonishing X-Men will turn out good. Give Weapon X #4 a wide berth.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman (2016) Annual #1

Jun 2, 2017

It's fun, warm, and manages to stray from the expected tropes of stories like this. Wonder Woman Annual #1 comes highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
X-Men: Gold (2017) #5

Jun 11, 2017

I cant not recommend this book to X-Men fans, but X-Men Gold #5 is easily the weakest issue so far. The art has plenty of missteps, the message is almost superficial in its simplicity, and the plot is advanced very minutely.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More