Jules Boyle's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Comic Page Reviews: 48
8.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
'68: Rule of War #1

Apr 1, 2014

War is full of horror at the best of times, but Kidwell and Zornow are cranking it up just a little bit more here, with a comic that sits above the endless landfill zombie titles currently cluttering up the shelves. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bane: Conquest #1

May 3, 2017

Make no mistake, this is top quality stuff and even if you're an old-school Batman fan who's not picked up a comic in years, you need Bane: Conquest in your life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #1

Aug 18, 2016

If you've been a fan of these characters' previous books, this is a must-have. Even if you weren't, now's the time to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1

Jul 19, 2016

DC are just knocking it out the park with all their Rebirth titles and I'm pleased to say this is another home run. Get in on this one now, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #38

Jan 31, 2015

Make no mistake, this is a dream team for the Dark Knight. Snyder and Capullo are leading the charge for one of the strongest runs the Batman title has had in a long, long time and this issue sums up everything that is great about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chaos #1

May 6, 2014

With a new reboot of all the characters apart from Ernie, now's the perfect time to jump into the Chaos! universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clive Barker's Nightbreed #2

Jun 25, 2014

2 issues in and Nightbreed is already one of the best horror titles out there. Incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #17

Apr 19, 2017

The best DC book on the shelves right now? I think it just might be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke: Rebirth #1

Aug 11, 2016

I'm not sure if we need yet another fortnightly DC title, but this is a very, very strong effort and I'll be along for the ride anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Edgar Allan Poe's Morella And The Murders In The Rue Morgue #1

Jun 10, 2014

All horror fans need this comic in their lives. Simple as that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Evil Empire #1

Mar 6, 2014

It's the art that really shines in this first issue though. Ransom Getty's clean lines and expressive characters come over like a cross between Gary Frank and Rags Morales and really make this a debut issue that grabs the attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 24, 2016

Basically everything you need to know about The Flash is in here, so even if you've never read it before, just seen the TV show, or are an old follower of the Speed Force, you need The Flash in your life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

We're at the halfway point of The Button already, so unless it's the most unevenly weighted story ever, I suspect we're not going to get a huge amount of revelations by the end, but that's ok. This is quality stuff and gripping enough to have you gagging for the next part as soon as you get to the last page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hack/Slash: Son of Samhain #1

Jul 1, 2014

It was never as big a book as it should have been, but hopefully this is not just the start of new era for Hack/Slash, but the time for it to become a huge hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 29, 2017

Ethan Van Sciver's art is typically marvelous here, as it has been on every Green Lantern title he's tackled since bringing Hal back from the dead in 2004's Rebirth. He's got every character nailed, his world-building lives and breathes, he's equally as comfortable with the two things that a GL title needs, epic widescreen space action and multiple character interplay. Van Sciver is down with all of it and makes reading this book a real joy, with his art brilliantly enhanced by Jason Wright's vivid colours. Let's hope this is a team that, along with Venditti, are on board with this title for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #1

Aug 4, 2016

Harley Quinn might be in danger of overexposure this year, but as long as the quality is this strong, it won't matter. Amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellblazer: Rebirth #1

Jul 20, 2016

I'm in for the long haul with this one anyway. It's been a long time, but John Constantine is back.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jaegir One-Shot #1

Aug 26, 2014

This issue collects the full first story from the progs, but it won't be the last. Get on it now. It's one of the best new stories to come out of 2000AD in years, which is really saying something.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Judge Dredd #17

Mar 11, 2014

It's early doors with this storyline, with Swierczynskimerely getting all his ducks in a row with this issue. It's the next episodes that will determine whether the Dark Judge army has been a good idea or not, but it's off to a decent start.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judge Dredd: The Cursed Earth #1

Jul 13, 2016

That doesn't matter though, as the story is finally complete and it's all the better for it. Four classic episodes of McMahon and Bolland art restored to their rightful place?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #3

Aug 17, 2016

As launch stories go, this has got a lot going for it. Incomprehensible alien invasion? Accurate character portrayals? Widescreen action? Hopeless ‘do or die' scenarios? The world's greatest super-heroes?  Justice League is ticking all the boxes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Rebirth #1

Jul 9, 2016

It's early doors, but Hitch has pulled off a winner here, with arguably the best new Justice League launch since Grant Morrison reminded us all just how much we need the League too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lumberjanes #1

Apr 8, 2014

As much as there is to appeal to older readers, with it's overriding theme of “Friendship To The Max” and identifiable young characters, Lumberjanes is an ideal comic for kids to get into, so I can't wait to buy a copy to give to my daughter, but this is a comic that will strike a chord with anyone and everyone. Wonderful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Madame Frankenstein #1

May 6, 2014

If you ever thought Pygmalion would have been improved by Eliza Doolittle being a reanimated corpse, this is the comic for you. As far as I'm concerned, there's not many stories that reanimated corpses wouldn't improve, so I'm all over this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

Nightwing has been one of the stronger titles in the whole Rebirth world since it started and, if anything, it's still getting better all the time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing: Rebirth #1

Jul 13, 2016

DC'S Rebirth has been almost flawless for me so far, but this is probably the best of the bunch so far. If you only buy one DC title, it needs to be Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nosferatu Wars #1

Mar 12, 2014

My only criticism is that, after ending on such a cliffhanger, I'm desperate to see what happens next, but by the sounds of it, we could be in for a wait. Hopefully it won't be too long, as this is another potential classic in the making.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revival #17

Jan 28, 2014

Combining pitch-black noir with supernatural horror and well-realised character interaction, Revival is one of the hidden gems of the Image stable. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rogue Trooper #1

Mar 4, 2014

Rogue Trooper isn't a bad comic, but it's not a particularly exciting one either. It's only just begun though, so I'm prepared to stick with it and see how things develop, but it's not off to the best of starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Shutter #1

Apr 8, 2014

It's early doors with Shutter, so it might get going, but at the moment it's not doing much.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Six Million Dollar Man Season 6 #1

Mar 11, 2014

Shameless nostalgia it might be, but Six Million Dollar Man Season 6 is also a quality comic in it's own right. Personally I can't wait for the next issue and hope that this is just the start of a long run. Welcome back, Steve.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad: Rebirth #1

Aug 4, 2016

Is a small complaint though, as Suicide Squad is firing on all cylinders here. It's immense stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superwoman #1

Aug 11, 2016

Regardless of quality, it's much harder for ancillary titles like these to gain any kind of traction, but this is one that really, really deserves your attention. I'll admit, I wasn't that excited about it initially, but Superwoman has moved right up amongst my favourite DC titles. If you're remotely a fan of Superman, get in on this now. If you're not, and never liked him for being overpowered, this is the title for you. Either way, buy Superwoman. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Blood Queen #1

Jun 10, 2014

It's excellent stuff, with writer Troy Brownfield creating a believable fantasy world, one that you can imagine has a real history and is populated by actual people. Fantasy comics seem to be a hard sell, but this one, if given room to breathe could blossom into something pretty special. Oh and the first arc is called Reign In Blood, after the Slayer album. Extra thumbs up just for that alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Darkness: Close Your Eyes #1

Jun 3, 2014

Ales Kot has crafted a real winner here. Love, death and The Darkness. It's a perfect combination.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Goon: One For the Road #1

Jun 24, 2014

As gorgeous as his art is, it's Powell's scripts that really make the Goon work, with every page having at least one laugh-out-loud moment. Other stories on this series have been a touch more serious, but One For The Road is purely going for the gags and it gets them spot-on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Last Broadcast #1

May 20, 2014

Buy this comic. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Terminator Enemy Of My Enemy #1

Feb 18, 2014

This first issue draws up more questions than it answers, but it's more intriguing than infuriating and makes for a good set-up. I'll be there for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #9

Feb 12, 2014

IDW have really got something special with this run of The X-Files. The shows finale left a lot to be desired and these comics, while being a direct continuation of it, feels much more like the classic era of the series. Great stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #10

Mar 12, 2014

So far, X-Files Season 10 has been a textbook example of how to continue a TV property and this is no different. Amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampirella (2014) #1

Jun 3, 2014

It's a shame, as Vampi is a comic I want to enjoy, but this is just average. Here's hoping it picks up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weird Love #1

May 13, 2014

It does make you think that Dr Fredrick Wertham should have targeted the Romance comics instead of the Horror ones though. The ideas in Weird Love are *much* more likely to corrupt and rot the brains of impressionable youths!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Witchblade #175

Jun 3, 2014

Saying that, Ron Marz is always worth reading, so I'm going to stick around for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Files Annual 2014 #1

Apr 15, 2014

It's another quality addition to what is shaping up to be a real classic run for IDW.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X-Files Conspiracy #2

Mar 25, 2014

I've loved this series, it's just a shame it fell at the final hurdle.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
X-Files Conspiracy: The Crow #1

Mar 11, 2014

It's all been building up to the big finale and so far, this is the only mid-step IDWhave taken along the way. Fingers crossed they pull it off, because with the exception of The Crow, this series has been a joy to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Files Conspiracy: TMNT #1

Feb 18, 2014

Some of these mash-ups sound stupid it's true, but the execution is anything but. This is already shaping up to be something really special indeed. Let's hope they can keep it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Files Conspiracy: Transformers #1

Feb 25, 2014

It's another great issue in what is turning out to be a top class mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More