Justin Klinger's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 11
7.6Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Astonishing X-Men (2017) #1

Jul 22, 2017

I haven't been this excited about the X-Men in years

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #1

Jun 20, 2017

For people like me who love their Daredevil dark and gritty, this new series feels like a welcome return to the glory days of Bendis/Maleev, with enough changes to keep it from feeling like a retread. Not all the changes in Daredevils life are explained (Why is he back in New York? How is he allowed to practice law again? What morally ambiguous decision did Matt make to reclaim his secret identity?) but the issue is so effective at throwing us right into the new status quo that I didnt have time to care. Soule, Garney, and Milla appear to gel very well together and have a clear vision of what they want this book to be. If they maintain this level of quality throughout their run, were in for a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #1

Jun 20, 2017

For people like me who love their Daredevil dark and gritty, this new series feels like a welcome return to the glory days of Bendis/Maleev, with enough changes to keep it feeling like a retread. Not all the changes in Daredevils life are explained (Why is he back in New York? How is he allowed to practice law again? What morally ambiguous decision did Matt make to reclaim his secret identity?) but the issue is so effective at throwing us right into the new status quo that I didnt have time to care. Soule, Garney, and Milla appear to gel very well together and have a very clear vision of what they want this book to be. If they maintain this level of quality throughout their run, were in for a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2015) #21

Jun 24, 2017

Not the strongest start to a story arc I've ever seen in my life, but even when it's frustrating, Daredevil remains compelling. And me gusta the art mucho.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #22

Jun 26, 2017

Still waiting for this storyline to kick into high gear, but a fun issue that sets the stage for drama to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (2015) #23

Jul 7, 2017

Not an aggressively terrible issue, but super boring. Which is probably worse. This storyline needs something, anything, to happen ASAP.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.8
Daredevil (2015) #24

Jul 27, 2017

Not even the return of Foggy and Matt's friendship is enough to put out this grease fire.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Warriors (2017) #3

Jul 1, 2017

I don't really know what the point of this title is yet, other than an excuse to see a bunch of grumpy characters bicker with one another, but that's kinda enough for me at this point. Serves as a nice counterbalance to the dark and depressing (though largely excellent) main Secret empire title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Secret Warriors (2017) #4

Jul 17, 2017

The stakes finally got higher this issue- killing a tween will do that, typically- and Daisy's controversial style of leadership made this issue the best of the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Secret Warriors (2017) #5

Aug 14, 2017

I started this series with low expectations and mild curiosity, but its turned into one of my most anticipated books each month. If you arent reading, you should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
U.S.Avengers #8

Jul 25, 2017

A mildly entertaining but pretty forgettable issue, which is what I could say about the issue as a whole. Hopefully next issue we'll see Berto kicking ass and taking names.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More