Justin Swenson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: PopnComics Reviews: 10
8.9Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Batwoman (2017) #4

Jun 21, 2017

This is becoming an unintentional comedy in my honest opinion. There is not a whole lot to think about in this issue other than some brief history of Tahani. As well as some double crossing going on at the end. I will continue to read it because I can picture this getting good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jul 4, 2017

A solid issue with superb writing and radiant artwork throughout. Tynion IV has done a stellar job in his ability to convey an interesting story and to bring these wonderful characters to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 12, 2017

We are going to have some epic runs once all of our current comics that are being released have laid the foundation for this huge event that is coming. Detective Comics #960 does it's part 100%. Pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #961

Jul 26, 2017

This was a great read. Slow to start, and little action. But that's perfectly okay. Tynion IV is setting up some major stuff, and he's not rushing it. The art is great, full of dark tones, but a very colorful fight scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 6, 2017

The dialogue between characters is so well written that it puts you as the reader right there in the story with them. I don't even care what happened to Simon and Jessica at this point, I want to read more about the first Green Lanterns and how they stopped Volthoom. I highly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

This book is getting better and better. I have to give this issue a 10/10 because it peaks my interests in so many ways. From the A.I. to the Life Energy, this story is crazy interesting, the art is pretty creative. The creatures/landscape both paint a believable "10 billion years ago" picture. Humphries kills it with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League (2016) #23

Jun 21, 2017

In issue #23 of Justice League, we get to see Tom DeFalco take over writing as Shea Fontana wrote issue #22. DeFalco has written for titles such as G.I. Joe, Spiderman, and over a dozen graphic novels. I was truly intrigued to find out what he was going to bring to the great and wonderful Justice League. I must say, of the characters in this issue, he represented them quite well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

The artwork is fantastic and the colors are not very bright. I don't mean this in a bad way, I'm just pointing out that everything looks dim against the dark gray sky in the background. Which really is quite fitting for what's happening, and it sets the tone for the issue. So a big thumbs up to Adriano Lucas for proper coloring, and to Ian Churchill for wonderful art. Dan Abnet guest writes this issue and I think he did a pretty good job. The writing and story are pretty usual of a Justice League comic and I feel like it's setting up for something really cool. I recommend picking this book up in your pull for the week. I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League (2016) #25

Jul 20, 2017

This whole issue feels rushed from the setting up of Metal tie-ins to a villain who was introduced and defeated in a matter of a couple pages. You can tell they are trying to make Molly seem like this dark, mysterious, badass who knows....things....but I can't take her seriously no matter how hard I try.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

Scott Lobdell's writing in Red Hood and the Outlaws has been unprecedented. The flow of the story and character interaction has expressed a high degree of realism. Red Hood and The Outlaws #11 does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

2nd

July

June

More