Kalem Lalonde's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 147
8.3Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Action Comics (2011) #35

Oct 5, 2014

Overall, I can feel Pak bringing Action Comics back to the standards of the first arc. There are no other writers influencing the plot and it seems that we’ll be returning to the same weird, fun tone Pak established before Doomed. The phenomenal character work and clever ideas made up for the relatively slow plot of this issue forming my favourite entry since the beginning of Doomed. If what’s coming is anything like what came before it, we’re in for something special!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2011) #39

Feb 5, 2015

This is a Superman comic that shows a great understand of the character while providing great theories of depth on its own. Slowly, Pak is climbing back to the quality of the first arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2011) #40

Mar 13, 2015

Actions Comics #40 is a comic that I would recommend to everyone. It’s completely unfettered from continuity. The story concerns itself so little with previous stories that it doesn’t even give us context to why Superman landed in the Bizarro world. This is an incredibly fun and funny tale that rightfully laughs at Bizarro but pays respects to the character as well. Greg Pak’s fervor for this world and these characters translates directly into this comic and that’s what makes it so great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All New Fathom (2017) #1

Feb 8, 2017

Well that book ended exactly how I thought it would start and end. I never read or knew about this book, so admittedly I probably don't fully have an appreciation for the relationships in the book. For me it was really straight forward, which doesn't make that a bad thing but doesn't really feel like it would attract new readers into the story, The most interesting thing was seeing Milo, Cenk Uygur, Jonathan Pie, Ana Kasparian and a whole lot of political commentators. However, for people that have no idea who any of these guys are, even I didn't know all of them, it does look like random people commenting on something so randomly. Maybe it will end up attracting new readers and old readers may enjoy, but for me it's not a book I would be looking forward to reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Captain America #2

Dec 21, 2014

Plot twists, chase sequences, twisted villains and incredible action, this book has all the aspects of a great Captain America story. Sam Wilson is proving to be a perfect fit for the Captain America mantle leading us through an adventurous and fun comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New Hawkeye #1

Mar 4, 2015

If you were worried that Hawkeye wouldn’t live on past Fraction and Aja, you needn’t worry any longer. Jeff Lemire and Ramon Perez are here to show us just that these characters can live on past their defining creative team. Lemire and Perez’s debut issue pays respect to its predecessor while finding its own powerful and unique voice. This is one of the best debuts of the year by two creators who are at the top of their game. Hop on board Hawkeye fans, you won’t be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-Star Section 8 #1

Jun 11, 2015

Section 8 is a book that needs to be written by Garth Ennis. It’s odd, over-the-top and most importantly, extremely unique. Unfortunately these strong elements aren’t enough to compensate for an overall clunky script that would’ve been great, with a little bit of cleanup. This title has potential for a great future, but for now, I’m still questioning whether I’ll be there to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #9

Nov 10, 2014

After a few (in my opinion) ephemeral issues, Amazing Spider-Man has kicked into gear with the start of this event. My prognosis is that Spider-Verse will not fall into Marvel’s common trend of lackluster events. Slott has isolated all the Spider-Men to their own corner of the Marvel multiverse, allowing him to focus on our compelling heroes. The event if off to a fantastic start and given that this issue is mostly set-up, it’ll only go upwards from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ant-Man #1

Jan 8, 2015

I don’t think Ant-Man #1 is a perfect issue, but I feel like given it a 9 wouldn’t be downgrading the comic’s greatness. Nick Spencer has put Ant-Man on the radar and started his climb towards becoming an A-Lister. Handing in one of the best scripts of his career, Spencer restores the humor and tone that made us all fall in love with Superior Foes. Ant-Man is hilarious and bittersweet while giving us the human story of a broken family life. This is exactly what an Ant-Man comic staring Scott Lang should be and more. This issue merits my full endorsement and praise, underdog superhero stories don’t get any better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ant-Man #2

Feb 8, 2015

To bring Spencer's script to life is Ramon Rosanas I truly hope that Marvel can keep this guy on one book. It's becoming increasingly rare to have an artist work on a sole project at Marvel and I'm hoping that Rosanas can work his magic for Ant-Man every month, until the series meets its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ant-Man #3

Mar 15, 2015

You would be hard pressed to find a comic more enjoyable than Ant-Man. I’m calling it right now, this is going to be an iconic Ant-Man run and maybe even the definitive one. Ant-Man #3 succeeds with every page and every panel. If you like comics, you owe it to yourself to pick up this series, it’s that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ant-Man #4

Apr 17, 2015

Ant-Man #4 continues this series’ incredible hot-streak by introducing a new compelling c-lister and moving the plot along at a great pace. Nick Spencer has made Ant-Man a charming family drama at the core and that’s what makes it so special. Ant-Man is laugh-out-loud funny, fun and engaging but the underlying theme of family elevates this comic onto Marvel’s throne. Hickman’s Avengers titles are done, it’s time for Ant-Man to take my top spot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2011) #41

Jun 24, 2015

I don’t think many comic readers still look at Aquaman as DC’s laughing stock. He’s become a very well respected character in the new 52 and it looks like Cullen Bunn is here to make sure that status remains. Bunn portrays Aquaman as a vulnerable and powerful figure that feels more human than ever. Aquaman #41 shows Bunn taking over the world of Atlantis with ease as he excellently begins what is likely to be yet another memorable Aquaman run.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers & X-Men: Axis #1

Oct 8, 2014

I was expecting so much from Axis and rightfully so. Rick Remender is one of the strongest writers in comics and his leads up series to this was incredible. Maybe he crumbled under the pressure of writing such a big event. I heard in an interview that it was originally a 6-part story and was elongated to 9 issues. Maybe, the extra content damaged this story’s original plan. Nevertheless, a jumbled story and rushed artwork don’t merit a recommendation from me. Event fatigue is getting heavy on readers shoulders and Axis may just be increasing the weight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #35

Sep 20, 2014

Overall, Avengers #35 was a great issue. Despite its lack of focus and cohesion, Hickman revitalizes the book with this new setting. There is a lot of set-up for his upcoming finale and but this issue will have you eager to read the next one. The payoff is imminent and it will most likely astonish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2012) #37

Nov 22, 2014

Overall, Avengers #37 is my favourite issue of Time Runs Out due to awesome characterization, interesting plot advancements and an unexpectedly exciting twist.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Avengers (2012) #40

Jan 18, 2015

Avengers #40 is the issue of this series that I didn’t know I wanted to read. A certain plot-line that’s been sidelined since August came back to the fore-front in the most satisfying way possible. A truly beautiful way to seemingly end one of the most compelling rivalries in comics. The end is nigh and Hickman is headed towards it in full force.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #41

Feb 8, 2015

Overall, Avengers #40 may have slowed things down, but I’m astonished at how much it raised the stakes for this story. Hickman isn’t done building and once he is, he will bring the highest quality of storytelling Marvel Now! has seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Avengers (2012) #42

Mar 7, 2015

The Secret Wars are imminent and I couldn’t be more excited. After a small rough patch, Hickman has restored this series to its former quality with Avengers #42. We were given a set-up issue that took advantage of its nature to give us powerful moments and incredible characterizations. This issue really felt like the beginning of the final chunk of this series and if this is an indicator of what’s to come, we’re in for treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2012) #43

Apr 4, 2015

Avengers #43 sets this series up for a crazy finale leading into Secret Wars. Hickman is done building and we’re now start to get the payoff of this series and it’s not letting me down. This series could’ve benefited from more visual consistency in its final issues but the quality remains high all the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

There is a new rule in comics: Tom King can do no wrong. Everywhere this man goes, comic book gold surfaces. Batman #1 has solidified this rule as King does not even falter when taking the reins to DC’s most daunting title. Batman’s world is written with a finesse and quietness here that feels just right. King has put the gears in motion for another comic classic. DC had some massive shoes to fill once Snyder left this title. They surprisingly seemed to have pulled off the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #4

Aug 5, 2016

Batman #4 does not reach the heights of its preceding issue due to some wonky set-up but it remains a good comic nonetheless. Tom King is using this series to explore the relationship between Gotham and its heroes in a fascinating manner. David Finch draws an astounding comic with haunting visuals and phenomenal character work. If King could just make this book’s plot as interesting as its themes, it could be one the best Batman stories of the decade. We’re not quite there yet but issue #4 gives the feeling that King is inching his way there.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

Batman #5 is typical Tom King which, as previously stated, is nothing short of spectacular. There is no awkward set-up for The Monster Men or sluggish pacing. Instead, there is remarkable character work, gloomy foreshadowing, and a beautiful statement on the relationship between Batman and Gotham. It took King a few issues but he has truly achieved excellence here. I have not been this optimistic for the future of Batman in quite some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

Batman #23 is a triumphant one-shot from one of the greatest comic-duos in the industry. All the strengths of Tom King’s thoughtful character study and Mitch Gerads’ emotional storytelling merge into what is likely to be a contender for issue of the year. It does not matter if you have never heard of either creator. It does not matter if you have not read a single Batman comic. Go to a store and buy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Tom King is a writing force of nature and Batman: Rebirth #1 shows why. His blending of imagery, character work and darkness make for some of the most interesting writing in comics. Teaming him up with Scott Snyder only resulted in a fantastic way to set-up the new writer’s upcoming story and get everyone excited for where King will take Batman. Mikel Janin shows once again why he is one of the best artistic talents of the year in this brilliantly pencilled issue that greatly captures the essence of the writing. We’re looking at something special with Batman’s new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

Batwoman: Rebirth #1 is a great introduction to the character of Batwoman. Tynion has done wonders for Batwoman in Detective Comics and shows that he and Marguerite Bennett are going to continue making her one of the most compelling characters in the Bat-family. I wrote mostly about character in this review and that’s what I want youto take away from it. That’s what this issue is about and that’s what this series will be about. Building Kate Kane into a character that you care about and want to follow. Books can have great ideas and plots but everything begins with who you’re following down those paths. This is only the beginning and I hope to be following this rendition of Batwoman for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Widow (2016) #2

Apr 6, 2016

This may not be the peak for Waid's prolific career but two issues in and this is looking like Chris Samnee is in the process of creating his masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #2

May 20, 2015

Bloodshot Reborn #2 is the sophomore issue that solidifies this series as one of Valiant’s most interesting titles. Jeff Lemire’s new character-driven series makes Bloodshot one of the most compelling and complex characters in the Valiant Universe by portraying him as a tortured and potentially insane man. Lemire’s story has yet to truly develop but the sense of mystery is enough to keep readers interested in the plot. This is a great book that I would recommend to everyone, especially fans of the Punisher.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #3

Jun 15, 2015

Every piece comes together perfectly to create one of my favourite issues of Valiant comics in recent memory. The art, the characters, the story all work in unison to create an emotionally resonant chapter for a story with the best kind of hero. The vulnerable one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Book Of Death #1

Jul 15, 2015

Book of Death #1 is continuing proof that Valiant Comics isn’t a company to be overlooked. Robert Venditti knows how to tell an epic story without crumbling under the pressure that comes with telling such an important story. Book of Death is a fun and entertaining comic that has a lingering sense of dread to accompany the grandiose nature of a comic event. Valiant may, yet again, have another successful event in their hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America: Steve Rogers #6

Oct 26, 2016

Look if you aren’t convinced already I can’t say anything more to make you pick this book up. I am positive that it will have an essential place in the history of Captain America 20 years from now. Nick Spencer has not betrayed Captain America by making him a Hydra agent, he has made him even more pure and profound. This is the best book by the two major publishers right now. There, I said it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Chrononauts #1

Mar 18, 2015

I did not love the first issue of Chrononauts but that isn’t to say I’m not extremely intrigued. It took Millar a little too long to take off but when he did, he demonstrated great depth in his protagonist and the opportunity for a century spanning epic. If the latter half of this issue is a teaser for what’s to come, then I’m completely on board with this series. And if not, at least we’ll have Sean Murphy’s georgous art to gape at.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Civil War II #2

Jun 17, 2016

Ultimately though, the great portrayal of Stark, strong character interactions, and phenomenal art are not enough to elevate this comic to greatness. The conflict feels too weak for something that wants to be so big.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2014) #10

Nov 23, 2014

This issue was a change of pace for the usually cheerful and upbeat tone Daredevil has to offer. It evokes sadness in the reader with effective moments of silence and an astounding definition of depression. Daredevil continues to be one of the strongest comics on the stand and with Waid’s run coming to an end, he’s amping up the emotion for an explosive finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2014) #13

Feb 26, 2015

At this point, I would be mind-blown if I read a bad issue of Daredevil. Every single issue has made me smile and I will sorely miss Waid’s handle on Matt Murdock’s world come June. Daredevil #13 kicked off Waid’s final arc on the book with strong set-up and brilliant character moments. He doesn’t dwell on planting the seeds for his finale as he gives this issue the life, heart and character that has made this book so special. Once again, Waid and Samnee knock it out the park.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2014) #14

Mar 28, 2015

It’s unfortunate that 2 weeks before Daredevil’s Netflix series debuts, we get one of the weakest issues of this series to date. However, this is still a good read. Mark Waid has set the bar so high that even when he’s not at the top of his game, he’s still good. I’m hoping that his swan song to this book will jump back up to the regular quality and I’m sure it will. This is just a small stumble on the way there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadly Class #8

Oct 15, 2014

Deadly Class continues to impress with issue #8. The plot barely budges but the amount of character placed into this issue makes up for it. This is a story about pain, depression and the fear one has of sharing their feelings at a young age. It’s a brutally honest story about the struggles of a teenager and humans in general as well. Remender is telling a deep and profound story with Deadly Class and this series’ intensity hasn’t faltered yet. It’s not for the faint of heart but it’s an incredible experience for those who are up to it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadly Class #9

Nov 19, 2014

Deadly Class is amazing representation of young adults. It’s a profound story that will make you reflect on your teenage years and analyze the mindset of someone who is coming into their own as a person. Insecurities are a devastating circle and there aren’t many other comics that put this on display as well as Deadly Class.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Descender #1

Mar 3, 2015

Descender #1 begins Lemire’s next indie-title fantastically. This is a comic created by a man with great imagination and a keen sense of the human spirit. Lemire has set-up an adventure through space that will surely captivate all readers who love the genre. And if Lemire’s writing isn’t enough, you’ll also have Dustin Nguyen’s incredible pencils to make the journey even greater. This story has mountains of potential and I don’t doubt that Lemire will live up to that potential in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Detective Comics (2016) #948

Jan 11, 2017

Detective Comics #948 is simultaneously frustrating and satisfying. When we are in the past exploring the origins of Batwoman, we are shown just how good this arc could end up being. Unfortunately, the rest of the issue seems to betray the concept of a Year One arc and raises questions as to whether we will ultimately get a rewarding origin story. I am faithful that the creative team will deliver but for now, this arc is a slight disappointment.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 14, 2016

Doom Patrol #1 has a good protagonist, very good art, and an incredibly confusing structure. A lot of the good aspects of the book are weighed down by the overall feeling that nothing really makes sense. I’m sure the very talented Gerard Way has better things in store for this book down the line, but for now I certainly am disappointed with the way Doom Patrol #1 turned out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #15

Sep 11, 2014

Overall, this was an amazing finale to the first year and arc of East of West. It set-up the future, established new threats for this world and exacerbated its already critical state. If you like complex, yet rewarding series, East of West is not one you should pass up on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #17

Feb 3, 2015

When it comes to scale and imagination, I don’t think many books outclass East of West. Jonathan Hickman’s powerful mind is completely unfettered in this book. The results are a diverse cast of characters and cultures, alongside a grandiose and complex story. With issue #17, East of West continues to be a must-buy while elevating itself back to the top of my reading-pile. It became completely evident to me this week that this is Jonathan Hickman’s Game of Thrones and in terms of creativity, it just might be his masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
East of West #19

May 12, 2015

East of West is a comic of epic proportions told through a diverse and vast cast of characters. The beauty of this issue is that, on its own, it’s a relatively small and unsettling story about the brainwashing of an innocent boy. But it simultaneously adds so much to the scale of Hickman’s ongoing narrative as well. East of West #19 is the beginning of a curious and endearing boy’s unnerving descend into sadism that will frighten you with its compelling and thoughtful character development. Hickman may be slowing the story down, but if we continue to get issues such as these, I’ll welcome the pacing with open arms.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 22, 2016

Ultimately, The Flash #1 still remains under the level of greatness I want it to be but that does not mean it is not a great comic. Williamson’s characterization alone is worth the read. He is writing fleshed out and complex characters that will undoubtedly keep me reading this book no matter what I think of the plot. DC: Rebirth still has yet to fail us.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #3

Jul 27, 2016

Flash #3 is putting the pieces in motion to raise this comic to the heights of its potential. Williamson’s slow-build approach might turn some readers off but I know it will reward those who stuck around when the payoff arrives. This issue showed us how carefully Williamson is building the tension between August and Barry, convincing me that when these two reach their ultimate split, it will be well worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 8, 2016

The Flash: Rebirth #1 starts off this series with a slightly jumbled issue that also proves Joshua Williamson has a strong handle on Barry Allen. By rooting the conflict of this comic in the tragic origin of his hero, Williamson is able to effectively recap the character’s origin and introduce new readers to the centre of his heart. This basic understanding of what makes Barry complex as a character shows me that Williamson is going to be delivering great character work in the future of this series. However, it is yet to be determined whether the writer will be able to make the science fiction aspects of this comic easy to read. If Williamson is able to focus on the strengths of this issue, he could be striking gold with this Flash run. That is why everyone should at least give this comic a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2011) #37

Dec 7, 2014

Godhead has been one massive story. I’m always very impressed by an event that can sustain over 10 issues of quality and Godhead falls into that category. We’ve got a grandiose scale, imposing villains and a set of awesome characters who are allocated many great moments. Issue #37’s main attraction is an awesome new portrayal of Black Hand that hopefully won’t be neglected in the upcoming storylines. This is by far Venditti’s best work on the title, and if you stopped reading this book when Johns left, Godhead is the time to jump back on, it won’t disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #38

Jan 11, 2015

Green Lantern #38 is the subdued issue that this book needed following the events of Godhead. Venditti doesn’t squander his down time though, taking the time to set-up Hal’s compelling new character arc and leave Hal and Carol’s future in a state of uncertainty and hope. Hal has always been a very confident character and seeing him question his identity feels like a natural next step for his growth. Robert Venditti’s unique take on Hal Jordan shines bright in Green Lantern #38 and if you hoped on for Godhead this issue will warrant your continuing attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2011) #39

Feb 8, 2015

The comic opens with an extremely intriguing sequence that suggests the upcoming storyline will be exploring magic and mystical forces. The idea has me hooked and has me anticipating Venditti's next epic (especially since I won't have to buy 4 other series). And, after a month's break, Billy Tan returns to pencil this issue. I've liked Tan's work on this series but his Hal did prove to be a little inconsistent throughout this issue. Though, it still is a fine looking comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern (2011) #40

Mar 8, 2015

Green Lantern #40 wrapped up Hal Jordan’s major character arc in the most satisfying way possible. Robert Venditti has made his mark on the Green Lantern universe and with this issue, he’s made his mark on Hal Jordan. I’m beyond excited to see where this story is headed in June as Venditti has set-up an incredible new status-quo that feels true to his protagonist while opening the doors for so many great stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy & X-Men: The Black Vortex Alpha #1

Feb 5, 2015

I read this comic twice. First time was around 11h30 P.M. last night and I actually ended up enjoying it quite a bit. But my brain was completely turned off. I read it again this morning and the critic in me seemed to be a bit more intact and I didn’t enjoy it all that much. So, if you want to get a book that can be enjoyable if you don’t put much thought into it, I would recommend Black Vortex. Sam Humphries does a great job of writing funny banter and goofy characters but aside from that, this book, unfortunately, lacks substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #19

Sep 28, 2014

Guardians of the Galaxy #19 isn’t a terrible comic, just an elongated one. The dialogue renders the comic entertaining but your enjoyment may decrease once you start to ponder it. Here’s hoping that Bendis and Mcguinness can stick the landing next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #21

Nov 23, 2014

If I could describe this issue (story wise) in one word, it would be average. There is very little flair to this comic. The plot is merely set-up and the cliff hanger, despite being a cool idea, will most likely lead to an overlong fight scene taking up half the pages in the subsequent issue. When Bendis is inspired, he can be one of the best writers in comics and unfortunately, I don’t see much inspiration here. Valerio Schiti’s sublime art can only do so much to make this comic enjoyable but with such a dull script, I can’t give it a recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infamous Iron Man #4

Jan 25, 2017

Infamous Iron Man #4 overcomes a tedious opening scene with a characterization of Doom that shows the beloved villain still resides within this new version of the character. I still maintain that Bendis is not the right man to steer this new Doom into the Marvel Universe but he’s not completely screwing it up so far, it’s actually somewhat decent. Though make no mistake, Alex Maleev is the real star of this book and I would say you should pick this book up for his art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Injection #3

Jul 10, 2015

Warren Ellis' Injection was an unexpected book. Ellis is a master of engaging readers in his stories without giving them ample information. Injection is the perfect example of that and while issue #3 delves into a lot of exposition, this sense of mystery still remains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #36

Nov 20, 2014

Overall, Justice League #36 is a great issue that sets up an intriguing plot for the Amazo Virus. Luthor continues to shine under Johns’ pen, emphasizing the writer’s strengths. The art is also beautiful to look at with fantastically rendered character and detailed pages. If you have yet to hop on to this series, this issue is your chance, you won’t be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #38

Jan 23, 2015

Justice League #38 was a solid character piece for Lex Luthor and a great pandemic story. Geoff Johns is always at his best when working with complex villain and this comic is no exception. Johns is creating one of the best Lex Luthor stories of all time with a storyline that no DC fan should miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #40

Apr 29, 2015

Justice League #40 is a prologue to the upcoming Darkseid War but that doesn’t hold this comic back from being awesome. Geoff Johns is setting up an epic story that feels like the event DC fans deserve. His always excellent characterization helps boost an issue full of grand scope and compelling ideas to a level that he rarely achieves with set-up issues. Any fan of continuity and the DC universe should look into this accessible issue that is a reminder that Geoff Johns should be the only writer penning events at DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Legendary Star-Lord #6

Dec 6, 2014

Legendary Star-Lord is Marvel’s underdog series that deserves so much more love. No one reviews it, barely anyone talks about it and I’m guessing the sales aren’t excellent either. I want to help this book out because it’s so fun to read and it’s by far my favourite Guardians ongoing series. It isn’t very profound or complex but the simplicity works due to the character-focused issues presenting a clumsy and loveable hero. We get further developments for Peter here and while there are some clunky elements to the plot I still had a blast reading the issue and I’m sure you would to. Maybe if this book sells well-enough, we could get Sam Humphries on the Guardians’ main book, now that’s the dream. Please, give this book a chance and spread the word!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Legendary Star-Lord #9

Feb 19, 2015

I don’t think the Black Vortex should be such a huge crossover. Though, Humphries writes some really fun interactions and creates an entertaining and chaotic tone there is too little material presented here to have any strong draw. The plot is extremely one-note and has barely budged since the first issue. I can already tell that this is another elongated event by Marvel. Too bad, one of my favourite books has to be part of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Loki: Agent of Asgard #6

Sep 28, 2014

Overall, Loki: Agent of Asgard continues to impress. I must emphasize that Al Ewing is such a clever writer and should be given a chance writing some bigger titles. He aptly captures every character’s voice and knows how to build a series around their specific tone. Where this issue lacked in Loki content, it made up for in Doom. If you haven’t starting picking this series up, I implore you to jump on board before it’s too late. Welcome back Loki, we missed you!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Loki: Agent of Asgard #7

Oct 18, 2014

Loki: Agent of Asgard #7 is an excellent Doctor Doom comic. Ewing does such an excellent job at portraying the egotistical genius and any fan of Doom should pick this comic up. It’s got great writing, cool art and wit spread throughout. All we need now is a solo Doom book so he won’t hijack Loki’s title, Marvel make that happen!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Loose Ends (2017) #1

Jan 25, 2017

Honestly, I think this review might make me come across as totally lost but I want to be as honest as possible about the way I felt about this comic. I did not enjoy this issue and I think someone who has just as little context for the story before reading the issue will not enjoy it either. In my opinion, you should pick up Loose Ends #1. Pick up Loose Ends #1 from 2011 and get a better introduction to this world than this issue provides. I did not find this comic to be accessible but I did not think it was bad. I will be reading the previous Loose Ends mini-series and returning to this book to see if my opinion changes. I recommend you do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nameless #1

Feb 3, 2015

Nameless #1 brings the great quality you would expect from a comic by Grant Morrison and Chris Burnham. We’re introduced a typically complex and confusing plot, through the eyes of a fantastic protagonist. Though I have my issues with this book, I am already invested in this story and haven’t questioned once whether I should purchase the second issue. Grant Morrison is on to something here and I don’t doubt that with each coming issue, I will appreciate the full story more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nameless #2

Mar 3, 2015

If you’re a Grant Morrison fan, you’re obviously picking this series up. And I doubt that you’re regretting your purchase. Nameless is comic that is driven by a complex and enigmatic plot that will most likely blow our minds once it reaches its conclusion. But we aren’t near that point yet. This is a book for readers for are looking for long-term payoff. Which isn’t to say that the set-up isn’t great, but it definitely takes its time. I’m eager to see where this story is headed and with Chris Burnham to bring it to life, it will look fantastic every step of the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New Avengers (2013) #21

Nov 23, 2014

Overall this was one of Hickman’s best issues of New Avengers to date. It was emotionally heavy and philosophical. The exploration of heroic values in contrast to the values of kings was a captivating subject, explored through great dialogue. This comic isn’t for everyone but for the target audience it continues to astonish, provoke thought and amaze with every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #22

Nov 23, 2014

New Avengers #22 was a great aftermath issue. The conflicts that were building between characters finally come to the forefront in an emotionally powerful and brutal battle between fallen angels. Phase one of New Avengers is certainly ending with its stronger set of issues yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New Avengers (2013) #23

Nov 22, 2014

Overall, this issue was an expertly written character study and Hickman even manages to thicken the plot some more by the end of it. The art wasn’t perfect but the writting warrants a perfect score. The payoff to the illuminati’s actions is stunning, shocking, flabbergasting any way you would like to put it. This issue is a example of why you should stick with Hickman’s books when they falter, the payoff is always incredible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #24

Sep 27, 2014

New Avengers #24 was an amazing issue. The phenomenal character moments, grandiose scale and killer dialogue meshed into what is one of Jonathan Hickman’s best Avengers issues to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers (2013) #25

Oct 20, 2014

New Avengers #25 continues this series’ revitalized momentum with Time Runs Out. It has now begun to closely intersect with the events of Avengers and reading both series is a requirement at this point. It’s a phenomenal series with high concept ideas, poignant situations and amazing character drama. Issue #25 takes a look into what the Illuminati have been up recently without delving straight into their doings. There’s a new sense of mystery created, leaving me eager to read the forthcoming issues. It’s a slow burn, but greatness can’t be rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #26

Nov 22, 2014

New Avengers is a very tightly plotted book. A grandiose story that doesn’t forget to give us incredible characters. Tension continues to build while Hickman presents us with one of the most unpredictable stories I’ve ever read. This is a daunting series to tackle but for those who wish to, it’s tremendously rewarding.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers (2013) #27

Nov 29, 2014

New Avengers #27 wasn’t the best issue of Time Runs Out. Some clunky transitions and lack of necessary exposition held the comic back from being amazing. It’s still a great comic and a worth the price of admission but it c could have easily been a 9 if it was cleaned up a little. The battle set-up here is going to be an incredible one and Hickman has me on the edge of my seat waiting for this series’ plot-lines to payoff. If you like complex plots filled with imagination and bewilderment, New Avengers will surely mesmerize you, it's a special comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #29

Jan 28, 2015

Time Runs Out is Hickman at his best and New Avengers #29 was a testament to how good Hickman’s best truly is. Few books are able to hold onto my attention for very long but New Avengers has remained at the top of my reading pile since I first started buying it. It’s a grandiose story with human suffering at the dead center of it. Hickman isn’t the kind of writer that will make you smile from bittersweet moments, but he will keep you on the edge of your seat and make you ponder his stories. I can’t wait to see what he brings next and I’m sure I’ll be thinking about it greatly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Avengers (2013) #30

Feb 25, 2015

I usually have more to say about issues of New Avengers and Avengers but this issue felt too one-note for a long review. Hickman gave us one huge dose of exposition and while there are some really good ideas and interesting developments, he couldn’t latch on to my attention for too long. Hickman hasn’t gone very far in terms of plot since Avengers #40 and this story really needs to pick up if it’s going to regain my undivided attention. I don’t doubt that it will, but I’m hoping that it’ll be soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #31

Mar 11, 2015

I’m very pleased with March’s weekly Avengers schedule. February wasn’t a strong month for the story and Hickman has returned this story to its former glory. New Avengers #31 was a great action-oriented issue staring the sorcerer supreme, a character who deserves the spotlight because he truly shines under Hickman’s pen. Though, every panel of this issue builds towards a huge reveal that felt perfect in every regard. Hickman is finally giving us answers and as expected, they’re fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Avengers (2013) #32

Mar 25, 2015

New Avengers is coming to a close. I’ll dearly miss this book once it’s done but Hickman is ending the book at the top of its game. Issue #32 provides a true introduction to the threat that is the Beyonders but it doesn’t forget to give us strong character beats for everyone included in the issue. This felt like a penultimate issue as Hickman has begun racing to the finish. This is the payoff we were waiting for and it’s awesome!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers (2013) #33

May 1, 2015

New Avengers #33 is not a conclusion but rather a necessary exposition issue heading into Secret Wars. The comic succeeds in bringing Hickman’s excellent handle on Doom to the forefront, making the twists and story beats all the better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Superman #6

Dec 14, 2016

New Super-Man #6 closes out Kong Kenan's great origin story with excitement, tragedy, and promise for the future of the series. If you are a fan of Kamala Khan, you will likely enjoy this book. It implements culture and political intrigue into a coming-of-age story about a phenomenal lead character who promises to become even more compelling as the story unfolds. New Super-Man is a winner for DC and a winner for comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #3

May 21, 2015

With its 3 storylines, all focusing on a well-rounded character, Ninjak is managing to define its protagonist while exploring many different ways to write him. Kindt’s love for the character translates so well onto the page and that’s what makes this series a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nova (2016) #3

Feb 2, 2017

Nova #3 is another total win for the most underrated book of Marvel Now!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Logan #1

May 27, 2015

Old Man Logan is a sequel that deserves to exist. The first series left the story open for more and Brian Michael Bendis is here to give us exactly that. Unfortunately, Bendis doesn’t tap into the scale that Millar set-up and paces this story a little too sluggishly if it’s compared to its predecessor. Though, in this first issue, Bendis writes a great portrayal of his protagonist and contributes great ideas to the development of this desolate version of the Marvel Universe. This could be the sequel that fans deserves but it doesn’t quite reach that status yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Original Sin #1

Nov 23, 2014

Overall, in spite of its slow pace, Original Sin is off to a great start. The intriguing mystery alongside the great character work is captivating. Mike Deodato has a strong showing, bolstering the script with his awesome artwork!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Original Sin #2

Nov 23, 2014

Overall, Original Sin is shaping up decently. Aaron may have put a bit too much on his plate for him to handle. The pairings are fun, however the amount of pairings detract from the quality of the series. One can only move a plot along so much when you have to catch up with 4 groups of characters every issue. Deodato remains a perfect fit for this series despite the awkward character design near the end of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Original Sin #3

Nov 23, 2014

Overall, Original Sin #3 is the series' best entry yet. Some of the past issues problems remain however, the pacing greatly accelerates and that was what this series really needed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Original Sin #4

Nov 23, 2014

Hopefully, Original Sin will live up to its potential in its second half. The first half ends decently, setting up the future well and putting the pieces into play for an interesting tale to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Plutona #5

Jun 30, 2016

The art is the saving grace of a final issue that has failed the excellent characters of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #2

Mar 19, 2016

This series is slowly climbing its way up to essential Luke Cage and Iron Fist reading material!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Royals #1

Apr 5, 2017

Royals #1 fails to build on the momentum of Inhumans: Prime mainly due to its sluggish set-up. Royals would have been better off starting a few days into the journey and using flashbacks to get through the necessary set-up. Instead, we start with an awesome framing device and a lackluster introduction to what was promised to be an awesome journey. I know this series has a brighter future but it's unfortunate that a dying franchise began its relaunch with such an uninspiring comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Saga #26

Mar 8, 2015

Overall, Vaughan’s incredible character work mostly makes up for the sluggish plot in Saga #26. Saga has lost of bit of momentum, but it’s the still the fantastically unique book we adore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #0

Apr 19, 2017

Secret Empire #0 is the beginning of something big. It is the beginning of an important moment for Marvel. After struggling for the last year to please audiences, Marvel really needs this event to attract readers rather than repel them. I have been on board Nick Spencer’s Cap epic since day one so they had a guaranteed reader in me but I truly think this issue will be able to draw the interest of most comic readers. Nick Spencer is about to drop a massive bomb on the fabric of the Marvel Universe and has promised in this prologue issue that it will be epic, emotional, and most importantly memorable. If this streak continues, we will have a great event on our hands. I can’t wait to get a hold of the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Empire #1

May 3, 2017

It comes at no surprise that after a stellar 0 issue, Secret Empire #1 is able to deliver on the promise of Captain America: Steve Rogers #1. After a year of fantastic build-up, Steve has taken over America and turned it into a fascist nation. This event is succeeding on the back of its brilliant lead character and unique world-building. Captain America’s hydra has taken over the Marvel line and you should not miss out. Marvel and Nick Spencer may actually deliver a fantastic event from beginning to end. What a breath of fresh air.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire #2

May 17, 2017

Not every issue of Secret Empire will be as epic as #0 and #1 and that’s okay. Secret Empire #2 slows the war down to focus on the dividing lines in the resistance and to start paving the way for Steve’s return. What Nick Spencer brilliantly does is make you question whether Steve will actually survive long enough to turn back into his true self. That sort of unpredictability in Secret Empire is why it has overcome the boring event trend. The stakes are high, the characters are compelling, and I truly have no clue what is going to happen in issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #1

May 7, 2015

A lot of people were worried that Secret Wars was going to fall under Marvel’s trend of mediocre events. I never doubted it, because I have learned to trust Jonathan Hickman. Secret Wars #1 may be the end of everything but it is also the beginning to what will undoubtedly be a fantastic event. Hickman writes with an impressive sense of scope, while portraying the chaos of the situation so adeptly by constantly moving from character to character. And with all of that, Hickman still manages to bring us small character moments that give this book a lot of personality. Secret Wars truly is the payoff Avengers fans have been waiting for.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #2

May 14, 2015

There has never been a Hickman-created world that didn’t feel complete. From culture, to history, to politics, Hickman truly does think of it all. Saying that Battleworld may be his most interesting world yet is quite the achievement. The Marvel Universe is dead and what we are left with is a brilliantly realized world reminiscent of Westeros. In 2 issues, Secret Wars ended the MU and replaced with something even more interesting. That’s more than most events can accomplish in 8 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #3

Jun 3, 2015

Jonathan Hickman is my favourite writer in comics and his Avengers run was what won him that status. It got me into monthly comics and helped me understand why I love superheroes so much. It’s a story that I will always remember. Secret Wars had a lot to live up to when I opened its first page and it exceeded my expectations. This is why I read Superhero comics and this is why Doctor Doom is my favourite villain of all time. Secret Wars #3 was an intimate issue that gave us the perfect down time necessary following its explosive predecessors but most importantly, it maintained their quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #4

Jul 1, 2015

Secret Wars is an event comic that perfectly mixes the small and the large and that’s why I think it succeeds so much. Many events tend to get lost in how epic they’re trying to be and lose the emotional core that great stories need to have. The core of Secret Wars is the struggles of Doctor Doom. And even though Doctor Doom is a god in this series, he’s never been more human because all he’s struggling with is fear and insecurity. This shows in the incredible final page of this issue that set the stage for the main plot that will drive Secret Wars forward. This is the peak of Marvel events, we couldn’t have asked for anything better than Secret Wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #5

Aug 12, 2015

After a short delay, Esad Ribic's art remains as grand and beautiful as ever. He portrays the guilt of Doom in his posture while making him imposing and powerful. Without Ribic this series would never have found the success it has.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #5

Oct 29, 2014

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Southern Bastards is a masterpiece. You’ll be hard pressed to find a comic as grounded, heartbreaking and profound as this one. The character are compelling and complex and they live in a town with its own personality. This comic is an experience of creators working in perfect tandem to achieve the height of comic book storytelling

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #6

Dec 10, 2014

Southern Bastards is one of the best comics on the stands, maybe even the best. Jason Aaron is pouring everything he’s got into this series and the result is some of the highest quality storytelling I’ve ever read. When I’m old and gray, this is the comic that I’ll be telling young comic fans I was around to read in issues. At this point if you haven’t read Southern Bastards, you’re doing yourself an immense disservice, it truly is a peak of comic-book storytelling. Something no one should miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #7

Feb 10, 2015

Southern Bastards #7 continues to explore the brutal origin of one of the scariest villains in comics, Coach Boss. This is an amazing story about an abused teenager who has nothing to live for but Football and will consequently do anything to cling onto it. Jason Aaron is creating an incredibly multi-faceted character with this arc but is ignoring the present day story a little too much to my liking. Though, this is my least favourite issue yet, it still bring the intensity and depth one would come to expect from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #8

Mar 31, 2015

Jason Aaron and Jason Latour have given us another amazing conclusion to a Southern Bastards arc. This issue captured Euless Boss’ transformation into the man that he is and Aaron couldn’t have made it any more tragic. This is a tragic character who is also extremely intimidating and horrifying. He could potentially be the best antagonist in any series hitting the stands today thanks to Aaron’s origin story and ability to capture his voice so well. And in addition to all the terrific character work, Aaron has set-up this series’ third arc to be the best one yet. This series is a modern classic and this issue shows exactly why.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Southern Bastards #9

Jun 18, 2015

There are some stories that I could spend entire days experiencing. Where I can sit and read/watch for hours and still be fascinated by everything that I see. Southern Bastards is at the top of that list. This is a grounded, powerful and riveting book that continues to astonish me with every issue. I didn’t know if the Jasons could hold up the incredible quality of this book past the second arc but issue #9 guarantees they will. Southern Bastards is a special kind of story and no one should miss out on something this special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Southern Bastards #10

Jul 28, 2015

Southern Bastards continues its streak of excellence with issue #10 despite lacking the depth of its preceding issue. I always go into Southern Bastards expecting a small dip in quality because the standards have been set SO high. Issue #10 may not be a contender for issue of the year (like issue #9) but Aaron and Latour’s vision of this world and its characters is more powerful and brilliant than 90% of comics out there, even in its lesser issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Woman (2014) #5

Mar 8, 2015

Dennis Hopeless has done the biggest turnaround in recent memory with Spider-Woman #5. This is the real beginning of this series and this looks like it’ll be the Spider-Woman book that we were hoping for. It’s fun, light-hearted and best of all character driven. If you haven’t checked out this book or dropped it during Spider-Verse, I would recommend you come back to check it out, it’s awesome!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #1

Mar 7, 2015

After years of great treatment at Dark Horse, Star Wars has returned to Marvel. Being the highest selling comic in 20 years with an all-star creative team, this issue had a lot to live up to. And boy, does it deliver. Jason Aaron has an excellent handle on the Star Wars universe and characters, evoking the adventurous tone that made you fall in love with the franchise in the first place. When Jason Aaron is on point, he knocks it out of the park and this issue accentuates what I love so much about him. Snappy one liners that speak with the character’s voices and a thrilling plot make me feel like I'm reading a Star Wars movie. The art also is quite strong despite being outshone by the writing. Cassaday draws an incredible Han Solo but when it comes to other characters such as Leia and Chewbacca, his art isn’t as refined. Overall, this is an issue that NO Star Wars fan should pass up on. Marvel aren't holding back and this is just the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #2

Feb 4, 2015

If you’re a Star Wars fan and you aren’t reading this comic yet, you’re making a huge mistake. This is a Star Wars comic that feels like a movie due to its cinematic art, adventurous tone and great renditions of the characters we know and love. Marvel hit the mark with their first Star Wars series that continues to impress in its sophomore issue. The only thing holding this series back is an underwhelming portrayal of Darth Vader, but that’s quite a small complaint in comparison to all the praise I can give this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #3

Mar 13, 2015

I’ve always loved Star Wars. The universe is so rich, imaginative and iconic. Though, interest does tend to dissipate when you read/watch a lot of stories. This comic has completely reinvigorated my interest in this classic franchise. Jason Aaron understands why Star Wars connects with people and he brings that to the comic page so perfectly that sometimes I think I’m watching a Star Wars film rather than reading a comic. Issue #3 may be his strongest issue to date and I can’t wait to see what’s next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #4

Apr 23, 2015

Jason Aaron has a strong handle on the Star Wars universe. His characterizations are mostly flawless and the tone he gives this comic makes it feel like Star Wars more than anything. His first arc was an acion-packed thrill ride filled with great character moments and stunning fight sequences. Star Wars #4 is a filler issue between the interesting stories we know Aaron is capable of writing. Aaron’s fourth issue is so concerned with setting up so many stories that it ends up feeling jumbled and unfocused. There’s no doubt that this book will jump back to its previous quality but this issue hurt the momentum too much to be exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars (2014) #5

May 21, 2015

Star Wars #5 corrects the issues with its predecessor right away by giving a tighter and more original story. Aaron’s comic feels so much like Star Wars from tone to pacing to character voices this comic is doing an incredible job of emulating the original trilogy. With great visuals and awesome writing, Star Wars remains the best of its line with issue #5.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #6

Jun 3, 2015

Star Wars #6 was a bit of a mixed bag at times but ended with the goods outweighing the bads. Aaron brings forth a huge twist in Star Wars canon that will undoubtedly be controversial and fortunately, I feel indifferent towards it so far. Aaron is taking advantage of the time period he was given by offering big moments in the life of Darth Vader (and another) but also falters due to this. The prequel element of this comic removes a lot of the tension from half of this issue and ultimately drops it down from the series’ regular quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #1

Feb 11, 2015

Darth Vader #1 expands upon Marvel’s great new Star Wars brand with a great portrayal of the best character in this universe. Kieron Gillen is a writer who fathoms this complex character and writes him to perfection. He remains as frightening and subtle as he was in the original trilogy and proves to be a strong lead. Though, this issue’s story failed to captivate me in the way Marvel’s first Star Wars books has. Gillen has yet to pave a clear direction for this story but hopefully he’s not lacking in ideas because his shinning portrayal of Vader won’t be able to carry this comic forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #2

Mar 2, 2015

Overall, Darth Vader #2 solidified this series as one of the best possible series for Vader in terms of character. The character-driven approach is a solid choice and propels this issue to a strong quality, but there isn’t enough going on for this book to reach amazing heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #3

Mar 26, 2015

If you were waiting for this series to find a stronger footing in terms of the story, this is the issue you were waiting for. After spending two issues of setting up the tone and setting of this series, Kieron Gillen is getting to his real story. Although, this issue is merely a set-up for that but it remains great nonetheless. This comic captures Vader in every way that you would hope for and that’s what makes it so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #4

Apr 18, 2015

Darth Vader’s solo book has been a wonderful look into the Dark Lord of the Sith. Gillen and Lorroca handle the character masterfully and inject aspects of relatability with the supporting crew. We’re finally starting to explore the story more and that’s all this book needed to jump into a higher realm of greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Star Wars: Darth Vader #6

Jun 6, 2015

Darth Vader #6 is the book that makes me worry for Marvel’s Star Wars line. These book have been tightly tied together and that is working out to be more of a flaw than a strength. The final scene is being regarded as one the best scenes of this series and while it may be a great writing achievement, I also feel that it’s a big editorial slipup. It also doesn’t make up for the sluggish and uninteresting first half. Ultimately, this was a decent entry in this series but could’ve been infinitely better and that’s why it disappointed me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Lando #1

Jul 8, 2015

Charles Soule and Alex Maleev’s “Lando” succeeds in its first outing with a witty, charming and most importantly fun issue. Soule captures the magic of the character while creating a story that naturally lends itself to its protagonist. While giving us mostly set-up, Soule doesn’t dwell on any dull moments as Lando #1 is a fast-paced issue that gets straight to the point and opens up the overall story while doing so. Marvel’s Star Wars line continues to grow at full throttle with Lando #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Princess Leia #1

Mar 6, 2015

Marvel's Star Wars line has been nothing short of fantastic and though Princess Leia may not live up to standards, it's still quite a strong comic. Waid mostly strives on a strong and relevant plot that substantially picked up in the second half of this issue. And through the end, he convinced me that this mini-series will be worth it in the long-haul because he's putting aside what didn't work and bringing what did to the forefront.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Super Sons #1

Feb 15, 2017

Super Sons #1 sees two super-kids getting into trouble together because they just can’t help themselves. Peter J. Tomasi hit a goldmine when he teamed these two characters together in Superman and he gets to continue to dig with Super Sons #1. The dichotomy between Jon and Damian rivals the one between Batman and Superman. This book has such strong leads that I couldn’t see any fan of superhero comics turn it down. DC Rebirth. It just doesn’t get any better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Iron Man #1

Nov 12, 2014

Superior Iron Man #1 is a comic that will make you despise its main character. He’s an egotistical, supercilious and sordid man. What impresses me about this debut is the extent to which Tony has fallen. There is no lack of moral characters though, with Daredevil and Pepper Pots allowing Taylor to have some voice of reason. If you love to hate evil and nasty characters, this is a series for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2011) #37

Dec 25, 2014

Under Johns and Romita Jr., Superman has been an impressive title. Johns is playing to his strengths in this series by expanding Superman’s mythologies and creating a complex rivalry between two men who are truly friends. This issue particularly plays to the strength of the creative team, exploring contrasting philosophies and depicting a new world’s architecture. As a result, we’re presented with the team’s best issue yet. This is a Superman title that should not be missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #38

Feb 5, 2015

Superman #38 concludes Geoff Johns and John Romita Jr. first arc on a strong note. While the pacing was off at times, Johns displayed some amazing character work with Superman, Ulysses and even Jimmy Olsen. I can feel Geoff Johns slowly building an epic and lengthy story with this Superman book and I wouldn’t recommend missing out on it

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2011) #39

Mar 18, 2015

Superman #39 is the epilogue to Geoff Johns’ run and you have to go in thinking about that. There aren’t any grand moment or big twists. This is a small-scaled story about a powerless Superman’s day. Though, this issue strives because of Johns’ powerful understanding of the Man of Steel and the love he shows for the character. If you’re a fan of Superman, this is an issue that you must read. It has so much about the character that I love in one of the best moments I have ever read from a Superman comic. Goodbye Geoff Johns, I’m going to miss you.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superman (2011) #40

Apr 29, 2015

Superman #40 is a comic that tries to feel like “The Avengers” and miserably fails. John Romita Jr. shows no respect for the characters he is writing and makes this issue simultaneously feel like a bad sitcom and a cringe-worthy Superman comic. When I see other reviewers give comics 3/10, I usually think that maybe they’re being a little extreme, but not with Superman #40. This comic is the worst issue I’ve read in the last year, maybe 2. That is why I implore you all not to purchase this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #41

Jun 28, 2015

This wasn’t one of my most anticipated titles of DC’s new line but Gene Luen Yang’s debut issue gives us reason to be excited about Superman going forward. We know where the story is going (Action Comics) but it’s still thrilling to see how it got there because there isn’t much focused placed on Clark’s identity. If you like journalist Superman stories, Superman #41 is a comic I highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2011) #51

Apr 6, 2016

Based on the perfect characterization of its title hero alone I can recommend Superman #51 to any Superman fan. Visually, Mikel Janin also brings a great livelihood to this book to accompany its human hero. I now am very hopeful for Superman’s future and what Peter J. Tomasi will bring to the book come June!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

Superman #1 is the issue I have been wanting from Peter J. Tomasi. By focusing on Superman’s family-life and putting Jon in the spotlight, Tomasi is able to create a fresh and heartfelt comic. Patrick Gleason’s shinning visuals elevate the issue to the heights of the story’s full potential. If Tomasi continues to give us issues like these rather than issues like the previous one, we will be looking at a great Superman run. DC Rebirth continues its streak of excellence.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Superman: Rebirth #1 may not be the best Peter J. Tomasi has to offer with his rendition of Superman but there are moments of greatness that give me faith in the future of this series. In this issue, Tomasi fails to truly differentiate this new Superman by not included the most intriguing element of his character. Though, his understanding of Superman as a symbol of hope and some strong character interactions make this issue a decent read. The real reason to read this book is Doug Mahnke’s gorgeous art. Despite this issues shortcomings, I still remain faithful in the new Superman book solely due to Tomasi’s strong premise and great interpretation of the man of steel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Autumnlands #1

Nov 8, 2014

Tooth & Claw #1 is a 48 page comic for $2.99. If you’re not already considering the purchase, then I can reassure you that this book is a great debut for an ambitious, layered and imaginative story that is bound to grow into a great one. It has its issues but they will most certainly be addressed in the coming month so go out and pick this one up if you haven’t already!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dying and the Dead #1

Jan 26, 2015

There are some comics that feel special from the first few pages. Comics that enthrall me, comics that make me want to sit down and read for my entire day. The Dying and the Dead is one of those comics. I’ve been a huge Jonathan Hickman fan ever since I read New Avengers #1 but this is Hickman writing a new kind of story. An adventure story following a man who is desperately clinging on to the life of the sole person he’s ever loved. It’s a story about what we all do to keep that flame ignited even though it may not be for the best of us. This tale is a personal one that a wise and profound writer is telling with heart and evident inspiration. Hickman has outdone himself with the Dying and the Dead. A series that deserves everyone’s attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dying and the Dead #2

Mar 31, 2015

The wait for this issue was painful but Jonathan Hickman and Ryan Bodenheim made it worth the wait. This is a series that thrives because of its powerful characters and themes. The plot hasn’t even kicked into gear yet and it’s already a fantastic read that captivates me with every panel. Its sophomore issue established that the high quality of this series wasn’t just for the debut. This is some of Hickman’s best work yet and that’s saying something.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fix #1

Apr 6, 2016

The Fix #1 is a remarkable debut from the funniest creative team working in comics today. Spencer and Lieber create the funniest comic of the year with a fantastic and unique protagonist. This is a comic where two creators take something we’ve seen before and sign their personalities all over it. This is a rare story about crooked cops that feels, largely because of Spencer and Lieber’s distinct vision, fresh and new. Both artist and writer are obviously injecting mountains of passion in this comic that simply oozes off the page. The Fix #1 is a delightful and engaging read that no fans of comedy, or even comics, should miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fix #3

Jun 8, 2016

The Fix #3 is another wonderful issue in one of the best comics of 2016. Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber expertly merge comedy with drama in an issue that will engage any reader. The electric tone of the book is maintained through the tragic story of a child celebrity due to Lieber mood and Spencer’s fantastic jokes. If you are a fan of laughing, this is a comic for you. There is not a comic out there that will make you burst out laughing as much as The Fix, I guarantee it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Infinity Gauntlet #1

May 29, 2015

Infinity Gauntlet #1 by Gerry Duggan and Dustin Weaver is not the comic you would expect from the title and the cover. I thought I was going into a Nova comic and while the Nova Corps is certainly involved in some way, this was a powerful post-apocalyptic family drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #5

Apr 6, 2016

If you are looking for a light-hearted fun comic, Sheriff of Babylon is something you should steer clear of. Sheriff of Babylon is a heavy and complex read that demands thinking of its readers and rewards them greatly for it. Its violence, honesty, and complex characters come together to create one the best war comics ever written. Issue #5 may be King and Gerard’s strongest issue to date, equally making me feel hollow, disgusted, and hopeful. As all great war stories should.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Totally Awesome Hulk #4

Mar 25, 2016

The Totally Awesome Hulk #4 mixes a powerful flashback with beautifully drawn action sequences and dynamic character work. Greg Pak’s return to the Hulk has been a wonderful breath of fresh air to a character who has always been hard to get right and that is exactly what this issue does.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2014) #1

Oct 2, 2014

Thor #1 debuts very strong. While the plot is simple, there is some amazing character work on display here. Unfortunately it may not be the character you wanted to see. Overall, this issue is a great continuation of God of Thunder but a weak primer to the new Thor

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Thor: God of Thunder #25

Sep 22, 2014

All in all, Thor: God of Thunder #25 closed off the series in disappointing fashion. A solid Malekith story and beautifully rendered pages by Esad Ribic saved the issue from becoming bad. It teased and set-up future storylines while forgetting to give us a satisfying conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny Inhumans #0

Apr 3, 2015

Marvel have been trying to push the Inhumans into higher status in the last year and it hasn't caught on all that much. However, if Charles Soule can maintain the quality of this issue with this series, it could finally spark the popularity that Marvel are searching for. Black Bolt is a fantastic character and Charles Soule uses an excellent portrayal of him to drive this series to its high quality. I don't know what this series will be like when issue #1 comes out, but if it's anything like this, count me onboard.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Where Monsters Dwell #1

May 28, 2015

Where Monsters Dwell really distinguishes itself from all of other Secret Wars tie-ins in its first issue. Really, this should not have been billed as a tie-in because it never even mentions Battleworld. However, this really works for the comic because it wouldn’t fit very well into Battleworld. This is a fun adventure with planes and dinosaurs told through two great protagonists and awesome art. Garth Ennis never fails to disappoint and this comic proves its worth with one issue. This is a series to look out for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wytches #2

Nov 14, 2014

Wytches is a scary series but doesn’t lack the keen emotion Scott Snyder is capable of writing. There’s an alarming sense of urgency throughout this comic that brings out the best of the horror genre. If you’re a fan of Scott Snyder or horror comics you owe it to yourself to pick this series up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wytches #3

Dec 20, 2014

Wytches #3 slows things down for this series. Good character work with Charlie and the regular eerie atmosphere definitely make this comic an enjoyable read, however it is my least favourite outing for Wytches thus far. Snyder is holding back on the mythology exposition, creating a good sense of mystery but the plot is lacking in comparison to the writing’s other amazing aspects. I have faith in this series and considering the cliffhanger here, we may start to get more notable events in the coming issues. Overall, a good (not great) read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wytches #4

Feb 3, 2015

Wytches returns this week with an issue that will strongly resonate with readers. Snyder is so adept at digging deep into fear and insecurities that he doesn’t need any supernatural elements to scare us. This is a genre that he understands and we all benefit from that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-O Manowar #33

Feb 6, 2015

X-O Manowar #33 is definitely a good issue, although it’s a little underwhelming for new readers. Robert Venditti does a good job at establishing Aric’s character throughout a long flashback sequence, but the slow story and set-up nature of this issue hold it back from being truly captivating. I’ll be back next month, though. I know that Robert Venditti won’t fail to provide us with a grandiose and epic story. Bring on Dead Hand!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-O Manowar #34

Mar 3, 2015

I don’t know what I would think of this comic if I were a long time reader, but as a new-comer, this issue didn’t hook me as much as I wanted it too. Though, there are still some really good ideas spread throughout this comic. Dead Hand, is an extremely appealing villain force and his (their?) sheer power is displayed with great weight. I’m almost positive this story arc will turn out great, but this issue felt too brief to captivate me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #36

May 12, 2015

X-O Manowar #36 sets up the epic battle to come heading into the conclusion of this grand space-epic. Robert Venditti’s handle on this world and this character are extremely compelling and he takes this slower issue to let this situation sink in as he builds the characters. Venditti is a writer that continuously finds ways to top himself in terms of scale and Dead Hand feels like one of the most epic comics he has ever written.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #37

Jun 17, 2015

All in all, this was a strong closer for Dead Hand that gave us an epic battle which on the downside felt too easy for our heroes. With this issue Dead Hand proved that it is the epic story you would expect when the antagonist is a sentient Death Star.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More