Kittie Pop's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 35
8.3Avg. Review Rating

2.0
Aliens: Life and Death #1

Sep 22, 2016

I know a lot of artists and creators that would completely soil their underoos at a chance to work on something regarded as highly as the Aliens franchise, especially the comic book form of it. But it just seemed like everyone on this project didn't care, and I take it as disrespect. Do something justice, or don't do it at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Angel City #1

Oct 5, 2016

Overall, this whole thing was kind of bleh, and it's not something I would desire to read again. It could have really showcased some kick ass girl power, but here's hoping that Angel City #1 is just getting a bit of a late start, and can live up to its potential in issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Angry Birds Comics: Game Play #1

Jan 18, 2017

It seems that my attempt at trying to get into this world failed, and if your children like this kind of thing, please direct them towards something that is less racist. Comic books can do a number of things " inspire, enthrall, motivate, etc, but none of those things should contain racism in a positive light.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Astrid: Cult of the Volcanic Moon #1

Nov 30, 2016

All in all, I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter in the series, and learning more about Astrid and the creatures she finds along her journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Betty Boop #1

Oct 5, 2016

I did not think I would ever have a Betty Boop comic in my pull file, I'll be honest. But this first issue is so peculiar and strange that I genuinely do like it. I hate surprises, but good ones are acceptable. This is the part where I do the Betty catchphrase, but that would be too cliche, and I need to go get a refill on my pumpkin spice latte. *hair flip*

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Comics: Bombshells Annual #1

Sep 6, 2016

All in all, I love this story so much I want to hug it, but I'm strictly against comic book abuse! I can't wait to read the next issue and see where it takes me! Four out of five stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #4

Feb 15, 2017

This book is one of the easiest five stars across the board issues I've ever seen, and you can damn near taste the hard work and passion that went into it. Is that weird? Probably"Good. If I've learned anything from Ether #4, it's that being a little strange is something we all need now and then.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faith #6

Dec 8, 2016

I need more of this book, period.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Frostbite #2

Nov 3, 2016

Story: 5 StarsIllustrations: 5 StarsColors: 5 StarsCover: 5 Stars

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Glitterbomb #2

Oct 12, 2016

Let's see, the good parts of this book. Well, the cover is nice. Not awful but not completely memorable, and not close to the level of issue #1. There are some interesting points in the story, though I wish it had been edited in a different direction. Is it going in my personal collection? No. But if I'm ever in acid rehab, I'll probably read the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Glitterbomb #3

Nov 10, 2016

So I'm significantly more impressed with this issue than the last, but it's still not enough for me to be excited about it. I'm wondering how many issues it will take for the story to finally bud, and for now it seems like we're seeing a lot of setting up of the story and characters. The cover is pretty interesting, and I love the pops of red to really set the hiding horror theme over the edge. Cover A is a lot more striking than the alternative cover, and I wish to see that kind of quality appearing in the main story soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Grimm Fairy Tales: Apocalypse #2

Sep 28, 2016

Writing: 4 starsArtwork: 5 starsColors: 5 starsCover: 3 stars4.25/5

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 3 #3

Mar 15, 2017

Overall I really enjoyed this story, and the ending was wrapped up quite nicely. It didn't conclude how I was predicting, and Pat Shand has a certain knack for adding details and twists like that with his work. This story got the same special treatment, and I would definitely recommend it to those fellow horror fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Hot Damn #5

Sep 15, 2016

All in all, it was an okay read. Will I go out and buy the series? No. But I will check out more of Ramon's artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House of Penance #6

Sep 14, 2016

Like I said above, I really had no idea what was going on, but I loved it. Sometimes less is more, and the ability to edit and take away only made this book better. It easily casts an eerie yet warm emotion over the reader, and all parties who worked on this book should be incredibly proud of themselves. In a phrase, we need more books like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invader Zim #13

Sep 22, 2016

Invader Zim #13 is silly, lighthearted, and ridiculous, which is exactly how the series and this character's story is supposed to be. It is entertaining and zany, and is a nice break from so many stories that are hellbent on being dark and serious. As someone who was dreading a series that was without its original creator behind it, I have been very happy and satisfied with what I've read. Jhonen does serve as "Control Brain", which is probably the best title I've ever read in a credits page of a comic book. It definitely shows, and I'm glad the series is continuing to be so great, with issue #13 as proof.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jem and the Holograms #20

Oct 20, 2016

This could of course just been "one of those issues" where it's piecing the story along, and is a bit confusing. But if a first time reader of Jem picked this book up, they'd have no idea what the hell was going on, or who the characters are supposed to be. One thing that stays consistently great are the different covers, which are all executed beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem: The Misfits #1

Dec 21, 2016

I always thought there must be a backstory of why Pizzazz is the way she is " mouthy, determined, and a little bit of a brat sometimes. Seeing a peek into her life and what she did to really make The Misfits a reality is a great introduction to this book, and the covers are a true representation of that. I would pick a favorite, but I can't. All of them are gorgeous, and this is a great introduction to what is most definitely going to be a fantabulous series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #1

Nov 16, 2016

I do firmly believe that Mother Panic will please a wide variety of readers, and this series is setting up to be such a grand and unique work of art all its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
No Angel #1

Dec 5, 2016

I didn't honestly know where this book was leading, and it seemed like it was just going to be a first issue that set up the characters and a bit of the setting without delving too much into the storyline. Surprisingly, Adrianne and Eric Palicki make good use of nice segways into each segment without feeling like it's being thrown at you. As the book goes on, things definitely start picking up, and little details are added in.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us #1

Mar 7, 2017

This is a Kickstarter-born project, and naturally I want every single backer reward there is, especially that MAW plush. But this book also includes extras and tidbits from the whole nine year journey of Johnny Wander and is available with a gorgeous Slipcase. I can't tell which way I want to display this: Harcover only showing or with the slippy. Though each contrast each other starkly, they both come together to make a beautiful presentation. In this case, you can definitely judge a book by its cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Over The Garden Wall #10

Jan 25, 2017

Pat McHale's imaginative creation takes on a different form in the comic book Over the Garden Wall Vol.2 #10, and this particular issue is vastly different than what the audience is used to seeing on television. It's all about Kitty, a cat that just doesn't do cat things to her parent's liking. Her cat mom and dad try their best to teach Kitty their ways, but she's just different than all their other children. Sounds like another Kittie I know.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Powerpuff Girls (2016) #5

Dec 13, 2016

Powerpuff Girls has always been a somewhat light-hearted show, save for a few villains that just made us go Wtf. Remember "Him"? I still legit get nightmares about that thing, so meowin' creepy. But in this story, it is nothing but complete balance and cuteness that is everything Powerpuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rick and Morty #23

Mar 6, 2017

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it made my shwifty little heart swell with toilet humor and silliness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
She Wolf #6

Feb 22, 2017

The covers on She Wolf are usually very simplistic, and Tomasso uses large blocked areas of red with contrasting white or black for each issue. When an artist goes simple with a piece, more times than not it comes out looking half-finished, but nothing is incomplete with Tomasso. Everything is exactly in its right place, and it's a treat for the reader every time. For those who enjoy the weird and wonderful, She Wolf is definitely a must for any collector and for those just wishing to find something fun and strange to pick their brains with.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spell On Wheels #1

Oct 12, 2016

I do also like that the entire team working on this book seems very cohesive, and sometimes it's just so obvious when a book is thrown together from sources that are not united. But an all female team working on a book about lady witches seems like a dream come true, and I'm very pleased to say it's working out amazingly in their favor.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spirit Hunters #2

Dec 22, 2016

Basically, I liked this book a lot more than I thought I would, but I'm quite the pessimistic optimist, or something like that. Point being, it was great and I needs me some mores.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Strawberry Shortcake #8

Jan 4, 2017

Traditionally, Strawberry Shortcake is seen as a "girl thing", but I think that's just utter ridiculousness. There should be no gender labeling on children's stories and characters, and this book is a superb example of a good message with fun characters, regardless of who is male versus female. I enjoyed this more than I thought I would, and though I cannot call myself a diehard SS fan, I'm glad I got such a big glimpse into a world that I knew close to nothing of, and it's just a reminder of how great comics can be for people of all ages and genders.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tank Girl: Gold #2

Nov 30, 2016

She is not for everybody, and Tank Girl has been around for a long time. But the fact that her loveable honey Booga and her other friends are in this book is pretty fantastic. The covers are also pretty rad, though I supremely dislike that one variant makes her look like a tired meth addict. Tank Girl is always getting into trouble and cons

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Adventures of Augusta Wind: The Last Story #4

Nov 10, 2016

The main issue is: it just could have been so much better. Every aspect of the book is unfinished, and the parts that could have been good get overshadowed by shoddy work. I do dearly enjoy books that try to do something different, but this is a particular example of why things aren't done in this fashion: it's not good, Boo. I can't focus on the art because I'm distracted by the writing, and vice versa. But I do think it can be polished up and something great could come out of the heart because it does have potential. Unfortunately potential just doesn't cut it for poor Augusta.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Circle (2016) #1

Nov 3, 2016

Overall, I like this story and I do hope to read more of it. It's interesting and unique, and the world Damon has written for us is one I hope to be able to live in for a good while.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Circle (2016) #2

Jan 18, 2017

The trippy scenes of The Circle #2 are realistic while still being hazy, and we really get to see Alyzia's talent with color come into play. It's frightening but engaging, and when dealing with supernatural elements, it can be terribly easy to lose sight of the character's "real" world, but there is a really beautiful balance here. Panels are laid out clearly and cleverly, and I can't get enough of the way Alyzia illustrates the faces of these characters. Forlorn and quirky, she and Damon really merge together to create a two-person team that whips up a fantastic piece of art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Few and Cursed #1

Oct 27, 2016

I recommend the hell out of this book, and it's definitely one of the best things I've read so far. It's engaging and the post-apocalyptic story is something out of a video game that needs to be made.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 6, 2017

I desperately must see what happens in this series because with the present team working together and the premise, we're definitely going to have a winner on our paws.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.4
Vampblade #8

Sep 28, 2016

Story: 0 starsArtwork: 0 starsColors: 0 starsCover: 3 stars1.2/5

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More