Kyle Malone's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 9
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Britannia: We Who Are About to Die #1

Jul 6, 2017

Instead, the issue draws to a close with our heroes surrounded on all sides by spear-points and shields. Well have to wait until issue #3 to see can they fight their way free!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Dragon Age: Knight Errant #2

Jun 15, 2017

Husband and wife duo Nunzio DeFilippis and Christina Weir team up once again to write the second instalment. While their opening narrative was gripping, their pace almost breakneck, here the pair opted to delve further into Vaea's past. At first it seemed a strange move, as they had this reader so hooked I hadn't even paused to consider a backstory. Very quickly however, they justified their choice, with each whisper from the past paired cleverly with an action sequence in the present.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dragon Age: Knight Errant #3

Jul 12, 2017

But with Ser Aaron accused of stealing, and the alarm raised that the dungeons have been breached, will issue #4 bring us even more excitement than we bargained for?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Magdalena (2017) #1

May 10, 2017

And if this issue promises anything, it's a great harmony between artist Christian DiBari and the rest of the team. Gone are the glossy, lick-your-lips images of Magdalena we've seen before. Instead, DiBari scratches at the page, draws a world as grainy and as weary as the reality Patience wakes up to. It's what makes this re-boot stand out for me. Change is good, change is hard. But I'm excited to see what's in store next time for our heroines.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #2

May 15, 2017

Issue #2 feels less like a tidal wave of action, more like a bridge over troubled waters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #4

May 12, 2017

In these opening panels in particular, rich earthen tones are set against light-soaked backgrounds to good effect, grounding the reader in the world of Valhalla just as easy as any mention of Thor, Odin or Freyja ever could. All the same, the Norse Gods give the plot a certain flavour, an air of mysticism DC fans will feel treads the border of popular fantasy. What is perhaps a weakness is that Grevioux fails to put that same pedal to the floor when it comes to dialogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Guard #1

May 11, 2017

The opening narrative is evocative, a series of trade-offs of Andy in war versus her intimate experiences in the bedroom. Fernndez gives us a wealth of battle images from theatres such as the Mediterranean, Persia and mainland Europe, the only consistency between them all a fine use of black, of a nothing-colour, to bring Rucka's story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Pestilence #1

May 25, 2017

By the time we reach the last panel, we understand that the Church want more from Roderick and his men than they may have signed up for. Yes, they survived the Crusades. Now, they have to survive the Black Death.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spread #21

Jun 2, 2017

Overall, it's a series that's no longer gnawing on bones as it once was. Instead, it seems as if the monster is retreating. I'll likely read on until the comic finishes, but in this case, perhaps Spread just had one too many twists in its red tale.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

2nd

July

June

More