Kyle Pinion's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Beat Reviews: 29
7.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2016) #976

Mar 22, 2017

For the sheer exhilaration of seeing the character's proper history fully restored, more or less, I'd say this is worth a buy. Just don't expect a ton of answers beyond hand-wavery on the specifics of how we got here or how the pieces all fit together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 11, 2017

This is my favorite issue of All-Star Batman so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #1

Nov 23, 2016

This is a fun kick-off, and a great all-ages tale that should appeal to both the parents that grew up loving these shows and their kids who they've probably at least tried to share it with at some point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

The bottom line here is, if you're enjoying this arc, this is a good closer and marks a step-up from the already good, if somewhat scattered, "I Am Gotham" storyline. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this Catwoman two-parter with Mitch Gerads and "I Am Bane" pull everything together in the coming months. I'll call this one a buy, as hope springs eternal as clearly the final moments here will prove important for what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

It's a very quick read, as these things go, and that's sort of helped along by some lovely, but heavy action paneling by Fabok. Honestly, one might feel a little short-changed by the overall lack of familial bonding, but Williamson gets in just enough emotional payoff to make this jaunt worthwhile.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

This is a great comic book, the best issue of King's run, and the best Bat-comic I've had the pleasure of reading in quite some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyborg (2016) #11

Apr 5, 2017

If nothing else, this book makes me long for another Bronze Age go-to: the old "Plot by/Dialogue by" writing split. It'd make a world of difference.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Rebirth Holiday Special #1

Dec 14, 2016

I'm selling this way hard, I know, but wow I loved this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #950

Feb 8, 2017

Just what are these "dark days" that are ahead for us in 2017? After almost a year of really fun Batman books, with Detective at the head of the class, I can't wait to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #20

Apr 12, 2017

As The Flash is on the precipice of entering a two-part crossover that's going to put everything on hold, Williamson has to make the the most of the narrative real estate here, and he does so pretty expertly, giving a relatively fresh angle on the current goings-on in Central City by way of Iris' journalistic perspective, as well as her budding relationship with Barry. It's not exactly going to give you any new insights into her character, but for a book that's been so burned into Barry's anguish related to the loss of his parents, the betrayal of one of his best friends, and his only just recent building of trust with Wally, any kind of perspective shift is a good one " especially for a generally well adjusted character like Iris.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Future Quest #10

Feb 22, 2017

I think this issue on its own makes for a satisfying enough read, it's just that you had to fight through some of the more sloggy middle offerings to get here and fully appreciate where this series is going. BUT, on the bright side, Parker and Shaner stand reunited for these final two issues, barring any unannounced changes that I can tell, so perhaps these readjustments will all prove worthwhile with the whiz bang finale that I, and lots of other kids at heart, have been waiting for. I just kinda wish this title had lived up to its massive potential more often, rather than just in fits and spurts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 14, 2016

Perhaps it's not a book for everybody, but man is it ever a book for me when its respective strengths are at the forefront. I'm glad to have this team back!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

This has been a really enjoyable run thus far, and this opening issue to the new arc is no exception. It continues to restore the Green Arrow long-time fans know and love, it has just enough of a hint of the television support team and corporate villain that new fans can hop in and get a bit of something they recognize, and it looks terrific while doing all of that. Give it a shot, it's not a bad starting place either.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #22

May 3, 2017

I'm not sure if Green Lanterns is the most improved book over the course of Rebirth's first year, but it's definitely in the conversation. I'm glad I stuck with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

The torchbearer is back, and it's pretty darn exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 8, 2017

It's a great start to the new wave of three debuting DC books this month. I highly recommend getting on board this series from the outset, it looks to be going really wild places within the margins of the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 21, 2016

As a Wednesday read, it's fine. Big, dumb, Michael Bay-esque superheroics that's real easy on the eyes. You could do worse, and honestly, I probably enjoyed this more than the current Suicide Squad book. I wouldn't put at the top of my pile personally, but if you just gotta be in the know about what's to come, or you just really miss Maxwell Lord (he is pretty great after all, just not on Supergirl), it's probably worth picking up. Give it a browse anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kamandi Challenge #1

Jan 25, 2017

The first half is driven by Dan DiDio and Keith Giffen, and before you scurry off, allow me to remind you that their OMAC was one of the best New 52 comics, and also a pretty great Kirby tribute on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Superman #7

Jan 11, 2017

Not many Rebirth books attempt to break too much away from the typical superhero mold, which is understandable, but New Super-Man is playing just a bit more to a younger crowd and I think that sort of effort should always be welcomed, especially when done in an entertaining fashion.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #1

Jan 25, 2017

Odyssey of the Amazons, in an attempt to strike that sort of cinematic "epic" tone, utilizes narration to tell you exactly what's happening as its happening. In cinema, this works because exposition is required to catch you up and its usually done in a sparing fashion. But in this initial issue, more than half of the panels contain this omniscient narration filled to the brim with purple prose. It's as if the script doesn't trust Ryan Benjamin to be able to translate the story visually without these text boxes telling you exactly what's happening as it happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #8

Mar 8, 2017

I have to admit, my nit-picks aside, I do enjoy reading this book more than I should. Jason Todd, as the sort of "extreme" Batman character is a decent fit for Lobdell's scripting, and now that he's relegated to just that character rather than working with the original Outlaws line-up that populated the initial New 52 series, he's seemed to have found a solid niche. It's not high art, but I'll take it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shade, the Changing Girl #7

Apr 5, 2017

This is such a good book, why aren't you reading it? You should be reading it. I'm willing to bet it's better than whatever you have next in your stack. Open up your mind and let this one just wash over you. It's worth it, I promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl (2016) #8

Apr 12, 2017

Come for the great Clark-Kara stuff and what should be a pretty fun team-up next issue, just don't expect much of what the cover tries to sell you. Regardless, the good here is definitely good enough to keep me going, but your mileage may vary.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Dec 28, 2016

It's a beautiful, exuberant blast of positivity in a comic, and it sure made me feel a tiny bit better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

Gosh, I love this book, I really do. Don't be missing out on the most affecting Superman stories in years, seriously. Plus, did I mention the Multiversity sequel part? It bears repeating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superwoman #8

Mar 8, 2017

While the Superman line is easily the "most improved" of the entire DC Rebirth relaunch, I feel like Phil Jimenez's work on Superwoman has flown under the radar. This little tale of Lana Lang and her dangerous powerset and the emotional toil it takes on her already existing personal demons has proven to be one of the most compelling DC titles offered.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Teen Titans (2016) #8

May 17, 2017

"The Lazarus Contract" has bits and pieces that work, but I get the feeling the stand-out chapter will be its conclusion, as I'd be lying if I didn't say I had some significant interest in a Priest-written super-speed enhanced Slade Wilson (and what sort of internalized journey he'll go through). But the getting there has felt like more work than needed, especially in how it stopped each of its respective series dead cold.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

There's promise of course, that's inherent in the concept itself and that alone is an improvement on the previous Batman/Superman and Superman/Wonder Woman comics, but I wouldn't recommend this beyond the lovely art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #17

Feb 22, 2017

These little choices can be easily scanned over quickly without much thought, but if you take the time to really zero in on just how much energy Rucka, Sharp and Martin place into the themes and visual timbre of this title, it's all the more impressive.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More